Customer Reviews for

The Rest of Her Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting perspective on the complexities of the mother daughter relationship

This book had me continually reflecting on my own relationship with my 12 year old daughter, and my relationship with my mother. While I enjoyed the story line as well, the thinking it provoked about my own life and interpersonal relationships kept me thinking long aft...
This book had me continually reflecting on my own relationship with my 12 year old daughter, and my relationship with my mother. While I enjoyed the story line as well, the thinking it provoked about my own life and interpersonal relationships kept me thinking long after the book was finished.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tough to finish

Now that I've finished this book, I'm wondering why I wasted my time. The author spent too much time flashing back to the character's past. The best part of the book was the last 20 pages and then it just ended. I hope the ending wasn't done this way for a sequel. I...
Now that I've finished this book, I'm wondering why I wasted my time. The author spent too much time flashing back to the character's past. The best part of the book was the last 20 pages and then it just ended. I hope the ending wasn't done this way for a sequel. I found it to be very disappointing...a wasted read for me.

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Good mother/daughter book

    I enjoyed this book. It made me think about my own experience as a mother and as having a difficult adult relationship with my mother. I reflected on the scene of Leigh understanding that her own mother really did think that she was a good mother and never learned how to become a better mother. Leigh has to really look at herself and understand herself to get through this part of her life. I enjoyed the character growth of several of the family memebers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Interesting perspective on the complexities of the mother daughter relationship

    This book had me continually reflecting on my own relationship with my 12 year old daughter, and my relationship with my mother. While I enjoyed the story line as well, the thinking it provoked about my own life and interpersonal relationships kept me thinking long after the book was finished.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Eye-Opener

    'The Rest of Her Life' by Laura Moriarty was definitely an eye-opener for me. I am in my twenties and am often texting or calling while driving. The fact that the story is based on an 18-year-old accidentally killing someone with her car is very realistic. Unfortunately, just recently near my hometown, a 17-year-old boy struck and killed a 50-year-old man while driving. The boy was speeding, and apparently not watching the road, and struck the man while he was standing looking at a vehicle for sale. This book made me look at the situation differently than I would have. It definitely gave me the chance to step back and ask myself, "What would I do?" I also ask myself, "What can I do to prevent it from happening?"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Rest of Her Life

    I bought The Rest of Her Life mainly because of all the fantastic reviews on the front and back cover, especially the one written by Jodi Picoult whos books I love. As the book progessed, I really began to relate to the main character Leigh, who has overcome a tragic past, and is now a mother of an 18 year old girl, Kara. This book is mostly about how Leigh struggles to be the great mother that she wants to be for Kara, and when Kara runs over and kills a pedestrian at the begining of the book, Leighs job gets much harder. This book really makes you question what you would do in Leighs shoes; its definatly thought provoking. Overall, this book was good. It held my attention and kept me wanting more, although the ending was a little disapointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Good novel

    I found this to be a very enjoyable read; Moriarty is a gifted writer, reminiscent of Jodi Piccoult. As you read it you wonder how you would act if put in a similar situation. Having a teenage daughter myself, I could really identify with the emotions of the mother in the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written story on a tragic situation

    Ms. Moriarty's characters are realistic and well developed, which makes this book a good read. Although the story is tragic, the characters make it interesting and well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    Liked it

    I couldn't put it down, as a new mom it really made me think about how I would act in a similar situation. It reminded me a lot of Jodi Piccoult books, which are some of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Great author.

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Rest of her life

    Well written, a book for mothers of daughters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    this was a great book

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. The characters were real & I connected with them<BR/>I love the writer's style. <BR/>I read The Center of Everything & can't wait for her to write a new one. This book would have been perfect for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1