BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Rest of Her Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting perspective on the complexities of the mother daughter relationship

This book had me continually reflecting on my own relationship with my 12 year old daughter, and my relationship with my mother. While I enjoyed the story line as well, the thinking it provoked about my own life and interpersonal relationships kept me thinking long aft...
This book had me continually reflecting on my own relationship with my 12 year old daughter, and my relationship with my mother. While I enjoyed the story line as well, the thinking it provoked about my own life and interpersonal relationships kept me thinking long after the book was finished.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tough to finish

Now that I've finished this book, I'm wondering why I wasted my time. The author spent too much time flashing back to the character's past. The best part of the book was the last 20 pages and then it just ended. I hope the ending wasn't done this way for a sequel. I...
Now that I've finished this book, I'm wondering why I wasted my time. The author spent too much time flashing back to the character's past. The best part of the book was the last 20 pages and then it just ended. I hope the ending wasn't done this way for a sequel. I found it to be very disappointing...a wasted read for me.

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    So real, so human

    This book articulated the complex relationships involved in a family without being melodramatic. It was beautiful as the author showed the humanness , assets and liabilities of each individual in the family and how they come together in a crisis.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Refreshing Story, Amazing Writing

    It has been a long time since I have read a book that I could not put down. I was pulling this one out at stoplights! The story is written from the point of view of a mother who yearns for a connection with her teenage daughter, yet cannot quite determine how to make it happen. An accident occurs that causes the entire family to reconsider their relationships. This book was written in a manner that delves into the mom's past as well as the present time, thus weaving a story that could be true for any of us. The feelings and emotions in this book are so real that the characters jump off the page. After finishing, I feel as though I have taken a little bit of each of them with me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good mother daughter read...

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well-developed, particularly Leigh. I really liked the transition between past and present, which gave you more insight to why the way Leigh is the Mother she is today. The tragedy at the beginning of the book sets the tone, and it keeps you engaged and wanting to find out what happens. If you like Jodi Picoult, you will like this book too. i was only slightly disappointed with something that happens in the end...(all I will say is that I wanted to know hat was in the letters!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    The Rest of Her Life

    The Rest of Her Life is a provocative novel about the relationship between a mother and a daughter that often goes so wrong. The story takes place in a small town called Danby, Kansas where a high school senior's life is tragically altered by a single accident. From that day on, she and her mother will try to relate to each other and each time finding only a wider canyon to cross. As each one grows, the story becomes more compelling, with each layer of their personality starting to peel away to see the true soul that resides within each woman.
    Towards the middle of the novel, there comes a part where a glimpse is given into the mother's life. The author writes with a bitterness that transforms the novel, changing the mother from this out of sync character who manages to always make a situation awkward, into a complex woman who has overcome so many obstacles as best she could in a situation that gave little to no hope. The author managed to create a soul, spell it out into words, and change the entire previous notion of the novel in one flashback. The scene is so well written that you becomes absorbed into the novel, taking every second the woman walks through and feeling as though you are literally walking with her as she makes decisions and mistakes that not only affect her, but you as well.
    Also, there is a section of the book where the mother confronts a woman about the accident that happened in the beginning. Again, the author is genius in taking a flat character who has only been observed from afar and giving her such a multi-layered personality, one is left reeling from the sudden onslaught of emotion. The author creates a woman who is so ravaged by loss, heart strings are not only pulled, it feels as if they have been ripped. Anger that had been built upon earlier happenings is dissipated in one conversation between two characters. The lives of the characters have become so entwined with your own it becomes hard to put the book down.
    In the end, the book is an emotional masterpiece. Not only are the characters lives altered and transformed, but as the reader, you can't help but walk away from the story feeling as though some part of yourself has changed as well. The story teaches you that life is what shapes a person, and accidents can have an everlasting effect on many people. I recommend this book to all people who allow themselves to be transported into the story, and want to walk away with a life lesson learned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Loved this book

    A wonderful story- you could really feel for the characters. I couldn't put this book down. I had to see how it ended. It was great to see the relationship between a mother and a daughter focused on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Life changing

    This book may have its faults ie the ending was way tooooo quick, but the message changed my life as i know it. The moral of this story to me is.......Dont ,give your loved.ones what YOU Want and need...but what they NEED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1