BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Resurrection After Rape

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    A great book, one of the best for survivors of rape I have read

    This is a great book for all survivors of rape and sexual abuse. It is well written, highly readable and is full of useful exercises and helpful 'real life' examples. After struggling for many years to work through what had happened to me, this book was extremely helpful on my path to healing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Highly recommended- an invaluable tool for survivors and family/friends of survivors

    This book is a must-have for survivors. Matt Atkinson has created a volume that speaks to the hearts of survivors with understanding, candor, and compassion. The author and contributors have put together a project of such beauty and with such a wealth of knowledge, that it is an invaluable resource for survivors. The dedication that the author has shown in his field of study and the courage which with the contributing writers shared their stories are evident on every page. Matt Atkinson is making leaps and bounds in the arena of creating a safer and more understanding world for survivors. He and his works should be heralded for the amazing amount of support and strength that they provide for those who are dealing with such painful circumstances.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Highly Recommend - Well Worth Your Time!

    It's an amazingly accurate portrayal of rape survivors, their emotions from fear to anger to forgiveness. Using personal stories the Author is able to hit home the fact that we are not alone, going crazy or are hopeless. A part of this book will touch all survivors. It's a must read whether you are in therapy or working through this on your own. The personalized stories and positive reassurances were the most helpful to me. I would highly recommend this to anyone survivor or supporter. Understanding is key to healing and this book does a wonderful job helping with that. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK YOU MUST READ IT!!!

    This book is amazing, it transformed me and my life. It saved me. There are so many books out there that claim to help those who have been raped or sexually abused but those books are cold and extremely clinical. Resurrection After Rape will help you understand the clinical and medical side of what you are experiencing but there is a warm "human element" to it. Not only is the Author's compassion and warmth clear to see and feel while reading it, but there are so many rape survivors who had a share in the book, helping you along the way to see that you are not alone in what you are feeling. This book will truly help you out on your journey to becoming a rape survivor. Get it for you, for your friend, for a loved one, get it to help understand your loved one who was raped. There is no other way to put this except that Resurrection After Rape SAVES LIVES.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Now regarded as the "gold standard" for books on the t

    Now regarded as the "gold standard" for books on the treatment of rape trauma. Used by treatment programs, crisis centers, and graduate classrooms nationwide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have to be honest with you when I first found this book I had serious doubts that a man could truly understand and offer any insight into what I had suffered. After reading this book I realized how truly wrong I was. Matt Atkinson truly does understand and gives of himself to help so many women heal. I can't tell you how much this book has helped me cope with all the issues and triggers I have. It gets me through the long nights and tough days until my next therapy session. Matt's words have helped me to understand and participate better in my own therapy. If I hadn't found and read this book I would have given up hope and walked away from my therapy. I now have hope that one day I can truly be healed and call myself a survivor. Thank you so much for writing this book as it has helped me more then you know. It has helped to transform my life as I continue on my path to healing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    A must-read for those attempting recovery from the trauma associated with rape. No other book out there to date, even comes close!

    I have read book upon book on rape recovery. I have shelves lined with them. There is one book MISSING from those shelves. Resurrection After Rape is not going to be found on my bookshelf, because...it is a sourcebook that I use too often to shelve. It is filled with tremendous amounts of information. And, it is a book that you "work" through. It is not a "skimmable" text. You cannot move from page to page without becoming engaged in the words on the page. So, you find yourself looking at each section, working the journaling assignments -- and then, you find yourself working them again. Each time you work through a section, and you move on to the next, there are powerful things that seem to pop off the page - things that seem to morph over time. You see, this journey we are on is a changing thing. As we begin to heal, our words and actions change. It isn't time that makes the changes, it is US...we change. We grow. We begin to see healing as a thing we actually can hope for. What once felt like a desperately lonely and frightening thing, now seems like a community. The people in that community have common issues with us. We find that the "freakish" things we once believed were only true of us, are shared by more people than we ever even realized had been victimized too. The concept of "comfort in numbers" isn't the only thing we end up with. We find value in realizing that those "numbers" are actual people who not only share "rape" as part of their history, but so many things that are part of the trauma rape leaves with us. We are NOT alone in the trauma, and we are not alone in combatting it. This book is that kind of book. There is a place on my shelf FOR the book, it just hasn't quite made it onto the shelf yet. I hope that becomes true for you as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Excellent book for rape survivors

    This is the best workbook I've seen for rape survivors. Personal stories coupled with helpful exercises. Written by someone who knows what he's talking about. Highly recommend you pick this up if you're healing from rape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    The absolute best healing tool i have found.

    This book is amazing! It is linked to a whole network of understanding women and an understanding man who "gets it". I would recommend it to (and have) any woman who has experienced any form of SA. I have had my book for almost a year and it is very used and taken on trips each time... I call it my "map for healing". It is not an easy read due to the topic but it is so worth the effort (if you are ready). Take the time to put yourself first and experience what healing and recovery can truely be...let this book be "your map". My best to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    21st Century Resource for Survivors of Sexual Violence

    Atkinson has created a excellent, real world guide to healing from rape and sexual abuse. This handbook is timely and based on current methodologies and research. The writing style is accessible and not judgmental, while still helping the survivor down the healing road. Rather than just hearing a therapist's viewpoint for 311 pages, readers benefit from the experiences of other survivors in healing as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1