Customer Reviews for

Resurrection in May

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Resurrection in May

    It took me a long time to read this book. I started it once but couldn't get into it and was so reluctant to try again. I'm glad I did; this book was amazing. I don't want to get too much into the plot because a lot of what happens is so unexpected, so I will say instead that this book is about the triumph of the human spirit. To quote my beloved Indigo Girls, "You can't keep a spirit down who wants to get up again."

    Like most of us, May has had bad things happen to her. Unlike most of us, they are REALLY bad things. In the early 1990s, she was in Rwanda. (I don't think I need to be more specific, do I?) And when she returns home, she's a shell of her former self. Fortunately, she has a place to go---Claudius, the man who saved her once before. This would be enough to fill an entire book, but it's nowhere near the entire story.

    I loved the characters in this book---May, obviously, but also Claudius and Eli and Callie and Glen and all the animals. Bad things happen in this book, awful, heartbreaking things. But good things happen, too. There's love and friendship and respect and change. And faith.

    Absolutely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Resurrection in May by Lisa Samson

    When I first saw the cover of Resurrection in May when it came in post, I didn't really want to read it. I opened the book, scanned the typography and the font size (Yea, I do that), it was still appearing lame to me.

    But then, after some days, I said to myself that I should read it, let's see how it goes. And it was truly astonishing! The characters, the story, the way it's told - everything!

    It was a real page-turner, and if you sat with it that lazy afternoon, then the chances are that you may just have your dinner at the place you are sitting and reading it. Yea, it's that awesome.

    The Story

    It's the story of May who was found by a farmer called Claudius on the road. She is completely in a bad condition, and he takes her to his farm. There, after healing, May stays till its time for her to go to Africa (Rwanda) where she has to attend a Church program.

    Meanwhile, Claudius is really sad that May isn't living with him anymore. But then he discovers something that makes him more depressed - there is a turmoil going on in Rwanda. One group of people are killing the other.

    While a UN jeep comes to escort May to the airport so that she can go back to America again, she refuses that offer and chooses to be with the villagers. But the decision is the bad decision for her. Soon after the killers reach their village and start killing everyone, rape women, even kill children. But May somehow survives and lives on anything she can find. She cremates every villager with the traditional Christian customs.

    And soon the UN jeeps comes again and sends her back to her home country. She lives with her parents, but doesn't seem to have any energy. She has deep scars on her arms and legs. After seeing the condition of her daughter, her father sends her to Claudius again. Claudius treats her like his own grand-daughter. May enjoys herself thoroughly.

    But soon conditions change, and May's life changes forever.

    Conclusion

    This is must read for every book lover. You won't find such a book, with so much emotions and an awesome story, anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Great Christian Fiction!

    This book has amazing depth and the ability to make you think about your life and surroundings, even though it takes place in another country. It also has an amazing power to make you feel closer to God and to reevaluate your relationship with Him! It is a fantastic work of Christian fiction and I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Resurrection in May

    Why somethings in life happen, no one will ever know. Lisa Samson has written a wonderful story of how those things happen to good people, often derailing them for life.
    May Seymour was a bright young woman, who was floundering. A bit spoiled, as the only child of parents who were well off, not filthy rich, but comfortable. After a night of drinking she is found crawling on a country road by a kind old man, named Claudius.
    Claudius, has a story of his own. A child born, with no daddy in the picture, to a white momma, his black skin, often made him a target for cruelness from other children. After his momma married a good man, while he was still a baby, Claudius had a wonderful example of a father and was loved deeply by his momma and daddy. Now he is old and has learned lessons in life, that keep him and help others.
    Taking May in for the summer was a good thing for Claudius, a good thing for May also. Neither of them knew that after her mission trip to Rwanda that she would come back a scarred and broken person. The horrors of being the only survivor in a village, brutally killed by rebels. She herself hacked at with a machete, raped, and beaten and left for dead. She will never be the same carefree young woman she was when she arrived in Rwanda.
    Will May ever be able to live life again. Will she stay on Claudius's farm and wither away, like the plants do? This story will have you in tears as you relive the horrors of a civil war torn country, as you realize that May is never going to be the same. A book that will raise your awareness of what people face in horrible situations. A book of redemption! Definitely a book to read! 322 pages $14.99 4 stars

    This book was provided for review purposes only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Definately Worth the Read

    Resurrection in May
    I just finished a book from the blogger book club that I am in--and it was fiction for a change. I really recommend the book, because it made me take a mirror to my own life. Resurrection in May is a novel authored by Lisa Samson.

    Revolving around the main character, May, we are able to witness the transformation from frivolous, self-centered young woman to contemplative, God-loving soul. In between, May travels to Africa on a missions trip, and witnesses severe tragedy that wounds her deeply and puts her into an emotional, social, and spiritual coma for years.

    Through the unassuming love of the people God puts in her path, and the beauty of a secluded farm and animals, May slowly comes back to "life."

    She must choose between trying to protect her wounded heart from further sorrow and living a life that includes loving and vulnerability.

    While questioning the evil that surrounded her in Africa and why it was allowed by a loving God, May chooses to give up and become a hermit. She was challenged by a loving friend, "You can't accept that. You participate in making things better. The only way we can see how
    God works is when we join in."

    The way I see it is that everyday I make a choice to choose life or hopelessness. Am I watching where God is working around me and joining Him, or am I living a life that revolves around my selfish endeavors?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Resurrection in May or Maybe Even August

    I've been all out of sorts lately in that I haven't had time to read and for me that is like not being able to breath. Resurrection in May, by Lisa Samson published by Thomas Nelson has been sitting on my reading shelf for some time. I would walk past it and gently caress it as I walked by on my way to another seminar or mindless chore. Finally I had a few spare moments. I stole away into a nook with all intentions of reading just a few pages to get started. The next thing I knew I was reading the words "the end".
    May Seymour graduated from college misguided and misdirected. She has spent her youth worrying way too much about what's on the outside instead of what's on the inside. She meets an older gentleman, Claudius Borne, who takes her in and gives her a new outlook.
    She didn't know what else to do with her life, no job prospects and not sure about the world she decides on a mission trip to Rwanda. May ended up in the wrong place at the wrong time and suffered through the losses and tragedies of Rwanda. She lost everything including her faith in the genocide.
    She returns back to Claudius' farm where she heals outwardly. The story takes us through her struggles with her faith, herself and the outside world. We learn with her to trust and love again.
    This was such a sweet tale to envelope myself in for an afternoon of reading. If you are looking for a sweet tale of reconnection then I recommend "Resurrection in May."
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Live your life, a review of Resurrection in May

    On statement in the book, Resurrection in May, struck a chord with me. Lisa Sampson wrote " Your life lives you. You don't live it." This simple statement during a discussion between two of the characters summarizes the choices everyone makes during their lifetime.

    Resurrection in May by Lisa Sampson examines the life of May. May goes from a lost college graduate to a survivor of the genocide in Rwanda. Her journey from sheltered young adult to post traumatic stress syndrome patient is one questioning and struggle. At times she see divine inspiration in the simplest of life's pleasures but often questions the goodness in the people around her.

    Throughout the novel, May questions why she was allowed to survive the tragedies in Rwanda when everyone else in the village perished. Her recovery on a small farm with the help of caring and supportive friends is long journey. What May discovers over time is that she must go with the opportunities that life presents her. Whether she strives to do more or is willing to wallow in self doubt, life lives her.

    May exemplifies the struggles many of us have in our lives. We may question what path is better or worth, but in the end all options can lead to self-fulfillment and grace



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Resurrection in May Book Review

    Resurrection in May, by Lisa Samson, is truly a remarkable book. The writer takes you on a journey of how your life can be changed right before your very eyes in a moments notice. The book focuses on the simple things in life that can get us through tragedy. Losing faith and finding it once again can be difficult but Lisa Samsom made this journey one that I am honored to have read about.

    May Seymour is a spoiled young woman who has just graduated college and has no real plans for her future. We follow her as she goes on a mission trip to Rwanda and experiences the horror and tragedy of witnessing everyone she knows be murdered there. She would never be the same again as you can very well imagine. We journey with her as she must struggle to find the meaning in her life and the will to survive again as she goes back home to live on the farm of a recently new found friend, an old man named Claudius Bourne, who has never married and has very rarely left his farm other than to go to church and sell his crops.

    May has an old college flame, Eli, that just happens to be kin to Claudius. Years change the life of Eli in many ways also. He nor May will ever be the young, carefree teenagers that they once were. We even get visit death row in an unexpected way that I would not have imagined.

    As I read through the novel, my heart ached for May as she struggled with regaining her life. She had lost all faith by what she had witnessed and lived through. It was a very hard process for her to try to regain her faith and trust in God again.

    This book is a page turner that you will not want to put down for too long, it is very inspiring and a must read! This is the first book by Lisa Samson that I have read. She has many others that I cannot wait to read. Very touching book! Highly Recommended!

    This book was sent to me for review, free of charge, compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers. The thoughts and opinions are completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Resurrection in May"

    May has graduated from college and doesn't really know what she wants to do with her life. She is floundering in relationships and in life until the decision to go help the people in Rwanda. Before leaving on her journey, May meets Claudius and learns that life can truly be peaceful. But, Rwanda ends in a nightmare that May can't get beyond. Death was not what she wanted to witness. As she returns home to Claudius' farm, May begins to find the healing spring available to all. And, as she meets Eli again, finds she has that to share with him. Can May and Eli help each other heal? Will they find their way back to each other?

    I found myself totally drawn into this story, finding the characters alive and believable. I think my favorite is wise, easy-going Claudius. He seems to have eyes that can see all, and helpful ways that move when others can't see them. This story of the renewal of life is a powerful one, one that can lift us all. I recommend it to single readers and groups alike. There is plenty here to discuss. Thank you to the BookSneeze program for the free book and opportunity to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Resurrection In May written by Lisa Samson

    Resurrection In May written by Lisa Samson tells the story of May Seymour who just graduated from college and have the whole life ahead of her when Claudius Borne stumble upon her. She was at a stage where she didn't know what to do with her life.

    Claudius Borne, was a gentle old man who can relate well with animals and plants rather than human. His whole world revolves around his farm. May had a friend in him.

    May left on a mission to Rwanda while waiting for result of her various applications for job. There she found love in loving other human beings and believing in God. That is until a tragedy struck and she "died".

    She was a walking and living corpse when she comes back to Claudius farm to heal. In helping her, Claudius also found himself a "daughter". She stayed for many years, reclusive.

    Years later she learns that her old college flame, Eli is in death row and refusing to appeal the sentence. She is determined to help Eli but instead this determination changed her life.

    I love this book. It's easy to read. The language flows by itself and meaningful

    It's thought provoking and emotionally charged. Not for those who likes to read the beginning and skipped to the ending type of person. Every page there is a message. The book is about faith, forgiveness, second chance and love.

    I would recommend this book to those who need "resurrection" in their faith and life. I received, read and enjoyed this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze bloggers program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    It resurrected new feelings in my heart!

    Lately I've been reading a lot of suspense novels, so having the chance to read Resurrection in May was a nice but extremely emotional break from all those adrenaline rushes. Lisa Samson is a new author for me, but one that is fabulous with her work. She is an author I will be checking into for more of her books.

    In this book, I felt a tug at my heart for May. She was a tender character full of love and compassion, questions and heartache. I wasn't overly fond of Eli at first introduction, but my heart softened towards him in the end. The characters, ALL of them, were the depth and soul of this novel. Between them and a movement of God, I needed to take stock in Kleenex with this one!

    I will be passing this book along to my family and friends with high kudos to Lisa Samson for an incredible story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Resurrection in May by Lisa Samson

    The unusual thing about Resurrection in May is that it brings you into what feels like a time warp, even though it isn't. The story takes place in this century.

    What gives this impression is that for most of the book, May Seymour, the centerpiece of the story, lives on a farm without a telephone, without a computer, without a car . . . She milks cows, gathers eggs and cooks up ol' fashioned wholesome food so you feel as if you're in Little-House-On-The-Prairie times.

    This all comes about because May-a spoilt young girl from a middle-class family-a girl who spent her college years partying and waywarding in every way-spends a season soul-searching in Rwanda during the war where she finds herself caught in the genocide, witnessing horror at its greatest. The farm, then, becomes her place of refuge, of reclusion-and where her faith is rekindled.

    May finds her deliverance in God's fatherly patience mirrored in the loving people He brings into her life-including an old friend who awaits his fate on death row. These people, along with the flowers and animals, bring May's healing.

    This book is a good read, intriguing and warm. However, as with many of the books I read recently, I found numerous spelling mistakes, typos and incomprehensible sentences. Need better copywriters if you ask me. ?

    Janey L. DeMeo, M.A.
    Copyright © August 2010
    founder-president -- www.orphanfirst.org
    author & speaker -- www.JaneyDeMeo.com
    www.twitter.com/JaneyDeMeo
    http://janey-demeo.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Inspirational Book

    Recently graduated from College, May Seymour has good looks, intelligence, friends and everything to look forward to. She just does not know yet what to do with her life.
    One day she meets Claudius, a caring elderly farmer who welcomes her in his home and his life for the summer and May discovers the simple joy of working the land alongside her new found friend.

    Summer comes to an end and she embarks on a mission to Rwanda. There she will find herself in the midst of civil war and will become a tragic victim whilst experiencing also deep love for the people surrounding her.

    After her return home May comes to Claudius's farm to heal and with his help and his friends, she finds a certain measure of peace yet becomes a recluse.

    Through correspondence she also renew her relationship with Eli, an old boyfriend whose life has taken a completely different path. May painfully rediscovers life and faith whilst accepting there is a reason behind God's plan for all of us. She will indeed resurrect!

    I reviewed this wonderful inspirational book whilst sitting on the porch of our little mountain cabin. I finished the last page and sat back for awhile, just thinking back on what Lisa Samson wrote in this book and all I can say is 'Wow!". This is truly the kind of writing that makes you think back and feel your faith.

    In her "About the Author's page" Lisa Samson speaks of liking nothing more than sitting around her kitchen table talking with friends and family.
    I found myself wandering what comes after "Resurrection in May"... I look forward to her next book and I give it a whole heart-ed 4 1/2 stars.

    I received this book free from Booksneeze as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    A Page Turning story filled with redemption

    I don't read a lot of fiction. In fact, I don't read a lot of Christian fiction.

    When I read the following description of Lisa Samson's newest novel, I had to admit I was a bit intrigued:

    May Seymour graduated from college with the world at her feet and no idea what to do with it. A mission trip to Rwanda brought her a sense of purpose in loving others. So when the genocide began she chose to remain in the village, which was subsequently slaughtered. Only May survived.

    So, May journeyed to heal on the farm of Claudius Borne, a sweet, innocent old man who understood plants and animals far better than people.

    Years later, having not stepped a foot off Claudius' farm, May learns an old college flame, now a death-row inmate, is refusing to appeal his sentence. Can she convince him to grab hold of life once again? Their surprising friendship turns the tables, for the prisoner, Eli Campbell, has a deeper faith from which to draw than she. Eli slowly begins to pull May from her cloistered existence. With the help of Eli, their tiny town, and ultimately a renewal of faith, May comes to life once again.

    I used the Thomas Nelson's book description because I don't want to give away any other details. I was a bit skeptical that this author could weave a story that had so many aspects and many seemingly unrelated.

    I must admit, this book was an "easy" read although at times very sad and poignant. It was also a page turner and yet I also had to set it aside for a bit as I absorbed the horrors of the genocide. It also caused me to think about my life and what I allow to get in the way of living with abandon.

    There is redemption in this book, of which I am always glad but it doesn't come in the package that you might imagine or even expect.

    I think that is precisely why this was simply a good book. Perhaps I will read a bit more fiction.and Christian fiction at that.

    Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I am grateful for the opportunity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining somewhat melancholy inspirational character study

    In 1994, having just graduated from college, May Seymour feels lost as to what to do next with her life as she spent much of her academia as a party animal. When May stumbles onto a street drunk, septuagenarian farmer Claudius Borne hits her. He takes her to his farm near Harmony, Kentucky to heal. They become more than friends as she is the granddaughter he never had and he is the grandfather she badly needs.

    A few months later, both are sad when May-May as he calls her leaves on a church a mission trip to Rwanda. When genocide erupts in the African nation, the United Nations begins to evacuate foreigners. May returns to what she considers home, Claudius and his Borne's Last Chance farm. She becomes as reclusive as her beloved mentor until she learns Eli Campbell, her boyfriend from college, is on death row wanting to die.

    This is an entertaining somewhat melancholy inspirational character study of an elderly male and a young female forming a strong relationship that each needs at a pivotal point in their lives. That warmth enables May to try to reach out to Eli in order to encourage him to embrace life and God with what time he has left. Although there is too many back stories detracting from the "present", sub-genre readers will appreciate this realistic portrayal of joy and sorrow simultaneously as God works in mysterious ways.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Ressurection

    This novel centers on a young woman named May who through the course of a brutal attack, returns home both broken and scarred. She's cared for by a wonderful farmer named Claudius who teaches her self reliance among other things. Years later still distancing herself from the world on the farm, she finds an unexpected friendship with an old flame. His unfortunate circumstance being key to her "resurrection".

    I enjoyed this novel it was poignant as well as vivid, I found myself teary eyed during May's ordeal and hungry for those rich home cookin' meals. And adored many of the characters who were instrumental in May's life. It's a beautifully written story of faith without being preachy. The only blotch I found was the story had many unnecessary background stories and routines that were repetitive. Beyond that I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone.

    I recieved this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Resurrection in May Review

    Resurrection in May is a story of a girl named May Seymour. After May graduates from college, she sets out on a journey that includes, loss, new friends, old friends and a search for spiritual answers. In the midst of this, she ends up on the farm of an old man named Claudius who plays a crucial part in the healing that must take place in her life. Through this journey, May encounters more than most people could imagine, but this journey transforms her life beyond what she could've ever expected.

    When thinking about my feelings toward this book, there are several emotions that begin to well up inside of me. First, I would have to say that this book brought forth a lot of depression and I never necessarily got much redemptive joy from it. From the title we can gather that this is supposed to be a story of resurrection, but I never felt like things really came back to life FULLY. I can't honestly say that this was a story that inspired or built my faith. In some ways it sent me into a quiet sadness filled with anything but joy. While the story had heart warming characters full of love and charm, they could not compensate for the utter sense of loss that overpowers you while you are reading and even when you finish. On a positive note, the writer's details and descriptions are exceptional and as far as her style of writing, I liked it very much. Sadly, this is probably not a book I would recommend to anyone. I like to finish a book with some sense of hope and joy, something that makes me look forward to life and this book did not give me that at all.
    ___________________________________________________

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A strange and wondrous friendship ignites the fire of love in May Seymour's life.

    Lovely and winsome May Seymour graduated from college with the world at her feet...and no idea what to do with it. A spontaneous mission trip to Africa brought a great surprise - love - and a strong sense of purpose. But in loving others there, she encountered a severe tragedy that left her deeply wounded.

    She comes to heal at the farm of Claudius Borne - a sweet, kind old man who understands plants and animals far better than people. And his farm becomes May's home.

    There on the farm, May renews a friendship with an old college flame name Eli whose path has taken unexpected turns too. As May tries to convince Eli to grab hold of life once again, he begins to pull May from her sheltered existence. Like old Claudius's farm in the Spring, May begins to blossom back into life. But no resurrection ever comes without sacrifice - and this sacrifice will forever transform May. (excerpt from back cover).

    My Review:

    Who would have ever thought that one's graduation night would completely and utterly change her life forever? Not only hers but the life of Claudius Borne as well. May's life of the college girl who has partied one too many times has finally caught up to her and finds herself staggering drunk on a deserted street about to be hit by Claudius Borne, a seventy two year old man who has lived alone his whole life.

    Compassion and mercy fall on May when Claudius takes her in and offers to help her get through the worst hang over in her life, back on his farm. He has spent all his life raising produce to supply his most basic needs with only a few farm animals to keep him company. Until May arrives and they both see they need one another more than a life alone. Claudius becomes a father to May and May offers him the life of having someone to care for and someone to care about him.

    The hardest part comes for both of them when May leaves for a mission trip to Rwanda to help the church. Claudius misses the very presence May brought into his life for a few short months and learns that turmoil is erupting in Rwanda that could cost May her life.

    I received the book, Resurrection In May by Lisa Samson, compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. It was one of the books that took me the longest to read, not because it wasn't interesting but because I was so deeply involved in the aspects of the lives of May and Claudius so much I really wanted to take my time. It was time well spent and a book, I would easily give 10 stars too! It's that great a book.

    It gives you back hope when you think that enduring a tragedy in your life can not be forgotten or forgiven. It offers you a look at the life of a man who truly took up his cross and followed in Jesus' footsteps in the life of Claudius Borne. He sacrificed all he has and owns to care for a perfect stranger without a second thought and in doing so teaches May the greatest life lesson anyone could, than that of someone who loves others more than himself.

    For more information on this heartwarming and wonderful book, the amazing author or even where to purchase a copy for yourself, please click on the link below:

    http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1595545441&title=Resurrection_in_May

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Resurrection in May by Lisa Samson

    This story takes places in the Kentucky Mountains and the writing is as beautiful as the scenery. It is the story of May, a typical college girl on a road to discover who she is. The road to self-discovery takes her to Rwanda, another area rich in scenery and life. During her self-discovery, she meets Claudius, who would enter her life not once, but twice during very different circumstances. As her life takes its inevitable turns, a third person enters the picture, a former classmate of May's now on death row. This is a story of self-discovery, life, death, forgiveness, love and renewal. The book keeps your attention right from the first page. You cannot wait to read what happens next as you are drawn in to May's life. The emotions run the whole gambit. Pulls at your heartstrings one moment and gets your right between the eyes at others as you cannot help but feel the similarities in general life experiences and feelings between May and you, the reader. I have read the book a few times and it is one I will continue to read time and again. One for the book club that is for sure. Great for the college-bound set too!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational Read, Resurrection In May

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and therefore, the book review is 100% my own opinion.

    Resurrection In May written by Lisa Samson revolves around May Seymour, a graduated from college with the world at her feet and no idea what to do with it. A mission trip to Rwanda brought her a sense of purpose in loving others. During the trip, the genocide began and she chose to remain in the village, which was subsequently slaughtered mercilessly. Only May survived the genocide, and she was completely traumatized by her entire experience.

    So, May journeyed to heal on the farm of Claudius Borne, a sweet, old man who understood plants and animals far better than people. She stayed there for many years.

    The story is then fast forward to years later and having not stepped a foot off Claudius' farm, May learns an old college flame, now a death-row inmate, is refusing to appeal his sentence. Can she convince him to grab hold of life once again?

    Their surprising friendship turns the tables, for the prisoner, Eli Campbell, has a deeper faith from which to draw than she. Eli slowly begins to pull May from her cloistered and recluse existence. With the help of Eli, their tiny town, and ultimately a renewal of faith, May comes to life once again.

    This book is a story about faith, liberation, hope, and second chances. This is also a story of love. How it sneaks into your heart when you're most unaware of it. I enjoyed the correspondence between may and Eli, and I must say, they're touching, and could really make you think.

    If you think that this book is a fluff of a fiction, then you're dead wrong. This is no ordinary easy read. It's emotional, melodramatic, and above all, eye-opening.

    Would I recommend this book to you? Yes, cuz it's not only beautifully and creatively written, but it's also thoughts provoking. Resurrection in May, is a beautiful story about redemption.

    I rate this 4 out of 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2