BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Retirementology: Rethinking the American Dream in a New Economy

Average Rating 3
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What's wrong wirh this book....

NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! Even if some of the material is a little dated I say BRAVO to B&N for offering it. Maybe some poor schmo will have an eye opening with this book and pick up more finance books. A free book on money.....no excuses to not educate...
NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! Even if some of the material is a little dated I say BRAVO to B&N for offering it. Maybe some poor schmo will have an eye opening with this book and pick up more finance books. A free book on money.....no excuses to not educate yourself on the topic now.

posted by corkykong on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

If it's free, sure, why not.

With a publication date of 4/25/10, this is already out of date. I found nothing new in the way of help in this book that any other financial self-help book (or one's own common sense for that matter) can offer. However, there are lots of good (meaning to say sad, of ...
With a publication date of 4/25/10, this is already out of date. I found nothing new in the way of help in this book that any other financial self-help book (or one's own common sense for that matter) can offer. However, there are lots of good (meaning to say sad, of course) stories about what's been happening in this terrible economy. Stories can be nice, I suppose. If you can get this book for free, as I did on Free Friday, sure, why not.

posted by miss_dobie on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    What's wrong wirh this book....

    NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! Even if some of the material is a little dated I say BRAVO to B&N for offering it. Maybe some poor schmo will have an eye opening with this book and pick up more finance books. A free book on money.....no excuses to not educate yourself on the topic now.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If it's free, sure, why not.

    With a publication date of 4/25/10, this is already out of date. I found nothing new in the way of help in this book that any other financial self-help book (or one's own common sense for that matter) can offer. However, there are lots of good (meaning to say sad, of course) stories about what's been happening in this terrible economy. Stories can be nice, I suppose. If you can get this book for free, as I did on Free Friday, sure, why not.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    ....

    Seems like a useless waste of space and ill be waiting yet another week for a potentially good book for free

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Useful

    A great useful book. Much better for free Friday than a useless romance novel or cheesy decades ols sci fi book.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Grateful

    Thank you to Barnes and Noble for thinking of us each and every Friday. For those of you that continue to complain, maybe you should borrow books from the library if you cannot afford to buy one. Have you realised that in addition to our weekly freebie this is one more thing that is unique to the Nook. For those of you that continue to complain, do you also complain when "every" library book was not published specifically for you?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Nothing New Here

    Don't waste your time reading this. It took 210 pages for him to tell you that you should have saved your money.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Superficial

    This book is too superficial. I didn't learn from it anything I didn't know already. How often does one need to hear that to accumulate a sizeable sum for retirement one has to start saving early and avoid high interest credit card debt? Yet it's sprinkled with amusing anecdotes, which would make it a pleasant enough read, if not for the fact that it soon turns into another right-wing rant against taxes and government spending. Those who like that kind of propaganda might as well just watch Fox News on cable TV. Not worth your time or money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    This is a good book

    Everyone needs to read a book like this. Its time to dig our heads out of the sand and be responsible for our future

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    free book..its ok

    I think its greaqt if someone gets swomething out of this book. Its free and i don't understand what all of these other people who want to comment on how bad it is are complaining about,DON'T DOWNLOAD IT IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT! Also quit complaining if the FREE BOOK is not to your liking. BUY A BOOK!!!
    everyone should be happy they even offer free books once a week let alone complain you don't like it , i have to wait for another book, you can download a book in less then 30 seconds so quit beinging cfheap and buy a book you like or quit complaning.
    as for me i didn't onload it i just checked it out on here but i think tis great hey offer a free book to begin with and i buy alit more hten i sownload for free, they have a great selection. this one was just not for me. i do believe their are people who do not wanto buy slef help books and this may help then in some way if they chose to read it. to everyone who is complaining your just ingrates!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Wow

    They need to replace this book... bad choice

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Seriously?

    I've read better coloring books

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good ideas to much politics

    I found some good advice in the book, it was just painful reading through the rants on taxes, bailouts, and big government.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eeryone in their 20s should read this book

    Not exactly groundbreaking, but if you're in your 20s this is must-read material. Older readers won't find much they don't already know (or SHOULD know).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Solid, common sense advice

    Interesting analysis of what drives financial decisions, along with an honest look at the current widespread financial irresponsibility (individual and government). A little repetitive, but good advice so perhaps it bears repeating. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Disappointing

    I cannot recommend this book. It gave good general advice, but nothing substantial. I came away not knowing anything I had not known before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book explaining the psychology behide investing

    As a Canadian most financial advise is not relevent. This book is great for both countries. By the 40th page I conquered my procrastination and took a sobering look at my finances and retirement saving. I am certainly not a procrastinator normally but the immediate needs always win over retirement saving. Thank you sir for offering the fabulous book on retirement ( and free ) I certainly will look for more books you have authored. JanHLCanada

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very dated and old misinformation

    The writer had some decent ideas (save up before you need to, retirment isn't a short term so plan for it, and know what you want to work on getting what you want) but gimicky phrases, bad misinformation touched with viciousness (43.3% of all Americans don't pay taxes is the first example that comes to my mind. Mostly because I do know two people who don't pay taxes, as their paychecks are less than $70 a week) and almost all of the information in a book published in 2009 caame from 08/07... but more of it came from the late 1990s/early 2000s. Doesn't really help anyone today anymore. Glad it was from a Free Friday, or I'd want my money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outdated advice, nothing original, glad I didn't actually pay for it

    First of all, most of this book is based on where the economy stood a few years ago, including a lot of quite wrong speculation of what the healthcare law was going to look like.

    Most of the advice you have heard before, and has been much better written by people like Suze Orman.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Nothing new here

    Let me save you an hour of your life: start early, be frugal, taxes are bad, healthcare is expensive...(all with an undertone that the government is cheating you). The final advice is to get an advisor or accountant to help you. How much will that cost detract from your total retirement when compounded over 40 years?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Very Timely

    I'm thinking of retiring in under 3 years and I'm glad to have this book for advice. People in their 30's should be reading this and planning now otherwise they will not have retirement. Thanx for this book ... a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11