Customer Reviews for

Retirementology: Rethinking the American Dream in a New Economy

Average Rating 3
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What's wrong wirh this book....

NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! Even if some of the material is a little dated I say BRAVO to B&N for offering it. Maybe some poor schmo will have an eye opening with this book and pick up more finance books. A free book on money.....no excuses to not educate...
NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! Even if some of the material is a little dated I say BRAVO to B&N for offering it. Maybe some poor schmo will have an eye opening with this book and pick up more finance books. A free book on money.....no excuses to not educate yourself on the topic now.

posted by corkykong on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

If it's free, sure, why not.

With a publication date of 4/25/10, this is already out of date. I found nothing new in the way of help in this book that any other financial self-help book (or one's own common sense for that matter) can offer. However, there are lots of good (meaning to say sad, of ...
With a publication date of 4/25/10, this is already out of date. I found nothing new in the way of help in this book that any other financial self-help book (or one's own common sense for that matter) can offer. However, there are lots of good (meaning to say sad, of course) stories about what's been happening in this terrible economy. Stories can be nice, I suppose. If you can get this book for free, as I did on Free Friday, sure, why not.

posted by miss_dobie on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    What's wrong wirh this book....

    NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! Even if some of the material is a little dated I say BRAVO to B&N for offering it. Maybe some poor schmo will have an eye opening with this book and pick up more finance books. A free book on money.....no excuses to not educate yourself on the topic now.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Useful

    A great useful book. Much better for free Friday than a useless romance novel or cheesy decades ols sci fi book.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Grateful

    Thank you to Barnes and Noble for thinking of us each and every Friday. For those of you that continue to complain, maybe you should borrow books from the library if you cannot afford to buy one. Have you realised that in addition to our weekly freebie this is one more thing that is unique to the Nook. For those of you that continue to complain, do you also complain when "every" library book was not published specifically for you?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    This is a good book

    Everyone needs to read a book like this. Its time to dig our heads out of the sand and be responsible for our future

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    free book..its ok

    I think its greaqt if someone gets swomething out of this book. Its free and i don't understand what all of these other people who want to comment on how bad it is are complaining about,DON'T DOWNLOAD IT IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT! Also quit complaining if the FREE BOOK is not to your liking. BUY A BOOK!!!
    everyone should be happy they even offer free books once a week let alone complain you don't like it , i have to wait for another book, you can download a book in less then 30 seconds so quit beinging cfheap and buy a book you like or quit complaning.
    as for me i didn't onload it i just checked it out on here but i think tis great hey offer a free book to begin with and i buy alit more hten i sownload for free, they have a great selection. this one was just not for me. i do believe their are people who do not wanto buy slef help books and this may help then in some way if they chose to read it. to everyone who is complaining your just ingrates!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book explaining the psychology behide investing

    As a Canadian most financial advise is not relevent. This book is great for both countries. By the 40th page I conquered my procrastination and took a sobering look at my finances and retirement saving. I am certainly not a procrastinator normally but the immediate needs always win over retirement saving. Thank you sir for offering the fabulous book on retirement ( and free ) I certainly will look for more books you have authored. JanHLCanada

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Retire smart!

    Very practicle advice you hear over and over again but never do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    trouble downloading

    for some reason it is not downloading properly. i get the message that it is a damaged file. it sounds like a great book. anyone else having trouble?
    I'm going to give it 5 stars just to be polite.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Strong words and ideas for this turmoil economy

    Baby boomers are worried because of the crash in stock market. This book provide many tools to them and planning is the key.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3