Customer Reviews for

Retribution

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE FUN BEGINS! FANTASTIC THRILLER!

    The story begins in 1988 as Chloe Larsen, a struggling young law student living in NYC and studying to take the bar exam. The point of view changes in 2000 to C. J. Townsend, an Assistant District Attorney in Miami, who was raped and tortured in 1988, while still in law school in New York, by an assailant she knows only as The Clown. He left her for dead; but she survived, and also managed to survive a nervous breakdown and twelve years of therapy afterward. She has relocated to south Florida, changed her name, and managed to erase her past. Then a man is pulled over for a routine traffic stop, and in the trunk of his car is found the tenth victim of the serial killer known as Cupid. Too many of the details of the case are all too familiar to Townsend, for they remind her of her own violation so many years before. Then, there is a recognizable scar, she notices in court, and knows she's prosecuting her own assailant.
    Fantastic! The fun begins!

    Others I will share, THE REMBRANDT AFFAIR, CRACKED HEARTS, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, 7th VICTIM.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Can't Put This Book Down!

    I could not put this book down. The storyline is gripping! The book pulls the reader in from Chapter One and does not let you go. It has lots of twists and turns and this ex-prosecutor was very impressed by the courtroom scenes and the author's ability to explain the legal arena and relevent caselaw with ease and a dramatic simplicity so that the reader does not need to be a criminal trial attorney to appreciate the story or to be scared out of their wits!.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    Great legal thriller

    Twelve years ago, Chloe was an average person worrying if she will pass the bar examination and hoping her boyfriend will propose to her. The night she thinks he is going to give her a ring; he gives her instead a diamond heart as an anniversary present. He wants to go up to her house but she is angry and tells him to leave her off at her apartment. When she wakes up in the middle of the night, a man wearing a clown costume rapes and tortures Chloe. <P>In the present, the serial killer who has raped, tortured, and killed ten blonde women ages eighteen to twenty five is caught with a dead body in the trunk by a rookie patrol officer in a routine traffic violation. Chloe, now going by the name of C.J. Townsend, is the prosecutor assigned the case. At the first hearing, she lays eyes on the face of William Robert Bantling and recognizes him as her rapist from his voice and a scar on his arm. She doesn¿t tell anyone that she should be excused. She decides to prosecute Robert seeking justice or is it retribution? <P>The new star in the legal horizon is Jilliane Hoffman if RETRIBUTION is any indication of her skills. If the answer is yes and more books as great as this follows, fans will discus her name along side of Patricia Cornwell, Linda Fairstein and Perri O¿Shaugnessy. The characters are well developed (especially the villain and avenging angel), and the storyline is original with spellbinding action. The trial scenes are particularly fabulous and quite polished as RETRIBUTION is on the way to the bestseller lists. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love it when I find a book that I become obssessed with and I can't think of anything else until I finish reading the last page. I didn't know what to expect at first but the author pulled me into a dark and terrifying world about a brilliant and successful prosecuter who is also a traumatized and haunted woman. The line between right and wrong suddenly becomes blurred when she comes face to face with her worst nightmare and gets a chance at revenge. Dark, thrilling, smart, and there's even romance. LOVED IT. There's a sequel: THE LAST WITNESS, which was also exceptional but not as good as the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    I picked up this book at my mother-in-law's house because I needed something to read. She told me that the book didn't capture her attention so she didn't finish it. I decided to read it anyway. I could not put this book down! I just finished it and immediately checked to see if Jilliane Hoffman had written more books. I cannot wait to read Last Witness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    AWESOME READ!

    i was enraptured by this book from the very first page to the very last page! i was ill and in bed when i started this one and it only lasted a few days in my hands...i couldn't put it down. it real page turner! the characters are all likable even though they are all suspects at one point or another!! there wasn't one that i didn't think was the killer at some point! i love books like this. i understand that jilliane has a new book coming out on may 5th. i will be first on line! its a sequel! i can't wait! jilliane hoffman is a fresh new author who seriously rivals patterson and rucka! andrea

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    What a refreshing ride!!!

    I went on a long trip & had heard this book was good - so I got it on audio book. Man oh man I wish I could explain how wonderful this book is! I loved the people in this book right away. I did not want my trip to end. I found myself sitting in my car listening to this book. Most people say 'It's a page turner' & it REALLY is, well in my case a 'Can't get out of the car yet' turner! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time! That is hard to do with an audio book sometimes, because your trying to pay attention & drive yet connect with the story line. With this book - NO PROBLEM!!! I can't wait for her next book! I felt so angry about what happened to Chloe then in the end..... Well let¿s just say the title of this book is perfect & so is the ending!! Total gratification!!!!!! Try it - You'll LOVE it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    One of the Five Best Books I've Ever Read!

    I don't normally comment on how good or bad I personally think a book is because it really is just a matter of perspective. But in this case, I felt like I just HAD to say something about this one. I read books more than most people watch TV and of all the books I've read (thousands), this book ranks in my top five! Jilliane Hoffman has captured, in her first book, everything a mystery, thrill-seeking, mind-challenging author can corral in one place. I know you've probably seen this before, but I literally COULD NOT put this book down! I just HAD to know what was coming next! I can honestly say that I believe this book (with very little cursing, by the way) can and SHOULD be made into a movie because no one could stand to NOT watch it. Read it. I PROMISE you you WON'T be disappointed. Jilliane, YOU GO GIRL! MORE, MORE, MORE, MORE......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Wonderful Ride!

    I purchased this a while ago based on the reviews of the book. I just had a hard time actually picking it up to start reading. Just wasn't sure if it was a book for me. I finally was ready to start a new book and told my husband to pick something off the shelf for me. Needless to say it was Retribution. FINE. I started the book and was immediatelly captivated by the unfolding story. I have spent 2 evenings up way past my bed time reading and finishing this book. I thought the story was excellent! I was concerned that this would be to technical, about courtroom drama and bore me. Never once was I even close to being bored or feeling overwhelmed with lawyer/courtroom jargon that I didn't understand. This is full of twists, like any suspense novel should be but this is definetly one of those nail biting ones that you can't read fast enough. The many characters you meet in this book all made you wonder if they were a part of this serial killers game. Who was it? One person or two? Do they have the right person? Was someone covering for someone else? Was it a set up? Just read it, it was amazing. WELL WORTH the hardback price!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    retribution is awesome!

    I recently had the pleasure of reading Rebrution by Jilliane Hoffman. This is the best book I've read in a long time and I read a lot of books. My husband is a truck driver and I went on a 5 day trip with him. I brought this book with me and I finished it on day 4. Its 420 pages long and I found myself wishing it was longer. Although I was anxious to see what happens next, at the same time I hated to finish the book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys detective/lawyer/trial type stories. On a scale of 1-10 I would give this book a 10+ and I hope Ms Hoffman writes another book real soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    A suspenseful page-turner.

    C. J. Townsend is the no nonsense prosecutor who never loses her cool during the tough cases, until she meets the accused serial killer¿ C. J.¿s new case should not be anything different from her previous cases, a vicious killer with a thirst for violence. The evidence is overwhelming considering the wealthy young man is found with the body in his trunk. This case should be open and shut, but a shocking discovery unlocks a terrifying secret from C. J.¿s past. As the case twist and turns, C. J. must work overtime to find closure with her past and hold herself together long enough to put a monster away forever. `Retribution¿ is one of the BEST first novels I have read in years. The interesting lead character and fast-paced plot grabbed hold early on and didn¿t let go. Smooth writing and shocking surprises made this page-turner even easier to stay up all night reading until I reached the explosive climax. Jilliane Hoffman has written an instant bestseller that fans of polished courtroom thrillers will love. Expect to see great things from Ms. Hoffman, who may just prove to be a new leader in popular fiction. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    THRILLING!

    Absolutely thrilling. I found myself pacing the house with book in hand - I was so nervous. Much better than Patricia Cornwell (when she was writing good stuff), and can be right up there with James Patterson if she continues to write like this! Looking forward to her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Awesome Book!!

    This book is great. It keeps you going and going. It never gets boring, it doesn't drag. I won't give details about the book cause other reviews have already done so but reading the reviews is nothing like reading the book. I recommended it to my sisters and they were like me they couldn't put it down. You literally have to force yourself to put the book down otherwise you won't get any sleep; that is if you are a night reader like us. Excellent Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    Retribution is Rivetting

    This book grabbed me on the first page. I am more than halfway through it and really don't want it to end. Hoffman brings C.J's raw emotions, sensitivity alive on each page. You can feel her anger, frustration, and fear. What a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    What an awesome book

    I was blown away by this book. I am such a sceptic and have been a sidney sheldon fan for years, but boy Juliane really rivals the best of them. I was very impressed with this her first attempt. I cannot wait to read more from her. Very very impressive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    A Real Page Turner

    This was one of the best books that I have ever read. She keeps you at the edge of your seat from the first page to the last! I can't wait to read her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Great effort

    I almost gave up after about 50 or 60 pages. I'm glad I didn't. Well worth the effort. Once it kicked in, I couldn't put it down. I'm eager to see her next offering. Great bad guys. Be sure not to miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Excellent reading all the way through

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish. Engrossing tale, just be prepared for explicit descriptions of rape and murder. I definitely look forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Great New Book and Author

    This is the debut novel from this author, who was previously an assistant state attorney in the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. Everything said by the critics was true, I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Excellent

    I found this book thrilling and a real page turner. Excellent reading for those of us who enjoy legal thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2