Customer Reviews for

Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 518 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #20) For Free

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #20) For Free From Here goo.gl/XiHK8

posted by 9114493 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #21) For Free

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #21) For Free From here goo.gl/XiHK8

posted by 9472829 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 521 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Terrible and extremely confusing

    I love the Dark Hunter series, but I agree with the majority of the people who reviewed this book it was terrible! I had such a hard time keeping the plot straight that I had to put it down several times. I think if she wanted to write a book about Native American history then she should have started a new series as this book had nothing to do with the Dark Hunter books. If she is going to continue writing in this direction I will not be buying any of her books in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Disappointed

    Let me start by saying that I love Kenyon's books. I've read every Dark Hunter & Dream Hunter. This one was not up to her normal caliber. It didn't live up to the hype. It felt forced & did not meet my expectations. My daughter has also read all of the books & she agrees with me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Very disappointed

    I really looked forward to this book and was very confused and disappointed! I have loved all of the Dark Hunter books and this one just seemed too off track. I thought the story became very disorganized and confusing at times. I also did not feel the relationship between Sundown and Abigail. I hope the next book is back on track and more like the previous Dark Hunter books. I did love the ending about Ash and Tory! This is the only part of the book that was worth buying. Maybe her future books will include even more about them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Oops

    Kenyon really missed the mark on this one. Where are all of the characters we are addicted to reading about, such as Ash, Nick, Artemis, and Stryker? Hope the next one is better or I'm done. Just awful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Not my favorite Dark Hunter book

    I have read all of the series - my favorite books multiple times - and I was disappointed in this one. I finished it but had to force myself. The story at the end of the birth of Ash's baby was much better and more interesting than all of Retribution. That said, as always, I look forward to more Dark Hunter novels.

    I agree with the people who say that the reviews are not the place to complain about Nook prices. I have always purchased new hardcover editions and I am very pleased with both the Nook and the prices.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    NOT MY FAVORITE

    I love this series, but this book just wasn't as good as the previous ones. I hope she'll go back to story lines similar to the previous books in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Just so-so

    I have read all of the Dark Hunter books and loved everyone of them! Even Ash's! However, this one was just "ok" for me. I didn't really feel the love connection between the two leads. I love any Native American story lines but this sub-story just didn't seem complete or very well thought out. The "bonus" at the end felt like an afterthought. This almost didn't even feel like Kenyon's writing. This may have been the last Dark Hunter adventure I read which is sad, because I really loved getting lost in their world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    This series is as good as it gets

    I really don't care about the price it's the quality of writing that makes the series so good. I have read all the books in paper back and now have a nook and starting to buy e-books and this is one series I will purcharse on my nook for a keeper.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    had me hooked. It was a great great read!

    had me hooked. It was a great great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Quite Bad

    I have to agree with other negative reviewers and am thankful that I managed to get a copy from the library instead of paying for it. If Ms. Kenyon wanted to explore her Native American roots, she should have started a new series. The hodgy podgy attempt to mix Greek mythology with the Native American one just didn't work. It also didn't help that the romance between Jesse and Abigail was weak. Abigail makes for a very unlikable heroine to begin with - she killed numerous Dark-Hunters, thus turning them into shades, which is supposed to be a fate worse than death (as per previous books), but here it only warrants a few frowns here and there, and that's it? Her supposed expression of remorse and guilt rang as deep as someone saying sorry for running a red light. I am sad to agree with those who think Ms. Kenyon is phoning in. If anyone is interested in good Native-American based fantasy/paranormal books, I suggest C. E. Murphy's Walker Papers series (the first book is 'Urban Shaman'). They are good examples of how to blend in mythologies with modern setting and come out strong.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    ????

    Are we sure she's the one who wrote the last few books because they have sucked and don't even read like her other books, they don't sound like her if you understand my meaning, it's like reading books by a completely different author, one I wouldn't buy. I love most of her books but stopped buying them after Acheron when they changed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    WHAT A MAJOR LET DOWN

    I love Sherrilyn Kenyons Dark hunter series but this one sucked. there was no connection it was so cheesy and didnt even feel like her writing. i had to make myself read it just because i do love her books so much. It nothing to do with the previous stuff going on and was so boring. It feels like a filler and it was by far the worst or only bad book in the series so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Worst dark hunter book yet!

    I agree, this isn't Kenyon's best work. Only one sex scene.....hardly worth the year I have been waiting....... Also the storyline didn't make much sense....what happened Kenyon?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    A little dissapointed. Not sure l like the direction shes turned. Having said that l loved the bonus at the end. I wish she'd go back to the dealings with Noir and the greek gods. We still have a dream god down there. What l love most about this series is how it could be believable. It got to be a bit much. I totally loved Andy and Sasha. They're a hoot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Good read

    Love her DarkHunter books and I have everyone of them but I didn't think this was as good as the rest of them. Still the price was wroth it. I've paid more for books that you can't get passed the first chapter. With everyone trying to do a vimpire nooks now days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Good but not great

    I was expecting a lot when i purchased this book, and i feel a little disappointed i have read just about everything Kenyon/Macgregor has written and I think this one falls a little short I just could not get wrapped up in the story like I am used to The first half was great and then it kind of lost some steam I will keep reading her series and just hope the next one is more to my liking The extra bonus material at the end was awesome! It makes me wonder what the next book will be about!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Her books always deserve the highest rating possible

    OK I agree arguing about the price here is not warranted however to the person looking at the price, Perhaps you should put on your glasses and realize how much you would be paying for it in hard cover $16-$20 compared to $12.99 on the nook and when it is finally released in paperback it will be even cheaper. You are saving money if you would just open your eyes and look. With the invention of the e-books authors still need to make their living too and if you truly are an avid reader and a fan you purchase the book for the enjoyment of reading it. I have Sherrilyns' entire collection and I would pay what was asked to continue the collection I just have to have the patience to wait til it comes out in paperback and the price is lower. Sincerely, Ldunk

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    What a waste!! KS has lost it!! Don't waste your time or money.

    What a waste!! KS has lost it!! Don't waste your time or money. She is not a romance writer but has become a tragedy writer who is stuck in that rut. I would only recommend her earlier novels. Her novels have turned to torture and raping of children. Her writing is unfocused and the romance is gone. EVERYONE who thought Acheron was a good book is simply sick in the head. Who enjoys that kind of BS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Always a fan. This is my first review ever but I felt the need t

    Always a fan. This is my first review ever but I felt the need to write my reviews. I am so glad that I did not listen to the negative reviews that has been posted for this book. I have always been a fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon and after reading this book I still am. I absolutely loved the humor in this book and all the twists and turns. I have come to love the Vegas group as much as I love all the other characters. I must admit I did miss Acheron but that's just me. I can't get enough of him. I loved Jess's story and could not turn the page fast enough. This book left me wanting more and remember why I love Serrilyn's work. So, to all the true DH fans who are hesitant to buy this book because of all the negative reviews...don't listen. Don't listen. Go out and buy this book. You will be thoroughly entertained. Also, loved the little snippet that included Simi...she is still trying to barbeque that heifer-goddess :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    This was not one of Sherrilyn's better books. I have read so man

    This was not one of Sherrilyn's better books. I have read so many of her books that kept me wanting more.
    I liked the idea of the character, but the book was boring and at the very end the book starts to get interesting, but only at the very end. I think she could rewrite this book to make it as interesting as the other books she has written. Her passion was missing!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 521 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27