BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #20) For Free

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #20) For Free From Here goo.gl/XiHK8

posted by 9114493 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #21) For Free

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #21) For Free From here goo.gl/XiHK8

posted by 9472829 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Slow and tedious...

    I have read the entire Dark Hunter series and have enjoyed them tremendously. This edition of the series left me feeling disappointed and bored. Of course when reading a series you can not leave one out and in this case that is really too bad. Maybe the next one will be better.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Not Kenyon's best

    I have read everyone of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Darkhunter/Dreamhunter books. While I thought Jess and Abby were a great couple, the story seemed very rushed. A lot of information and not a lot of explanation. Didn't flow well. This was not one of her best books.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    NOT MY FAVORITE

    I love this series, but this book just wasn't as good as the previous ones. I hope she'll go back to story lines similar to the previous books in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Good read

    Love her DarkHunter books and I have everyone of them but I didn't think this was as good as the rest of them. Still the price was wroth it. I've paid more for books that you can't get passed the first chapter. With everyone trying to do a vimpire nooks now days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Overall, liked it but.....

    Wasn't really that bad a book. Didnt care much for Abigail tho, to whiny and very undecisive. Always doubting herself, know she been thru alot, but still. She was to immature a character. Will was alright, stepping up to the front lines as a DH. I was hopin' she'd bring in more appearances of the other DH's, but she hasnt been doing that lately. Liked Ren, and I am a ancient history and folklore fanatic, so I liked reading her Native American lore. I seriously dont think this book measured up to her other DH's books, so i have to give it a 3. Hoping her next release goes bak to her DH's more. Would love to see Savitar get his book. Been waiting several years hoping she writes him a book. However, I will continue to read her books. Love the way she writes and love the dark hunters. Finished Styxx before i read this one, and that one was off the top of the charts, so read on readers, not really that baod of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Not the best but still a good read

    This may not be the best of the Dark Hunter books, but it i still worth reading. Jess was first introduced in the third book about Zarek, and I had completely forgotten about him. So it was nice to connect and learn more about the character. The love story between Jess and Aby was a little bit deflated, in my opinion and that weakened the story. But the Native American theme of the book was very enriching and I enjoyed it. My only complaint is that it was difficult at times to reconcile the Greek and Atlantean myths and characters with the Native American plot. The birth of Acheron's baby was included as a bonus chapter in the end for a reason. It was great to catch up with Acheron's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Hmm...

    As a big fan of The Dark Hunter series I was really looking forward to the next story. Sherrilyn Kenyon's foray into Native American folklore was both confusing and out of place given the previous books. While the famous humor is ever present and saves the story from being a total loss, the heroine of the story is less than likable. I mean she kills dark hunters and all is just forgiven? Hard to believe. I know Time Untime continues this story. I only hope after this we return to New Orleans and Ash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Ugh!

    I'm a total fan of S.K.'s books but this just didn't jive. Somehow N.American mythology just doesn't go with all the greek/olympian/egyptian/ stuff. I could see potential for a whole other series with the idea though. It also seemed to really lack a story line, I felt like I rolled off the top of a steep enbankment and tumbled all the way down hitting all sort of fantastic bumps the whole way down til I hit the bottom with a crash! Then it was over. Oh well, I'll still keep reading I'm totally hooked on her series :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Disappointing

    A literary critic said this about this book: A skillfully written and entertaining tale…rich with complex characters, snappy dialogue, and sweet moments.” —Tulsa World


    I could not disagree with this more. This was NOT skillfully written--it was a bunch of pieced together ideas that were put together in some order, but for the most part forced me--the reader-- to stretch my imagination--quite wide--in order to accept it. I know this is fiction, but all of the story must make sense--it must have a little bit of reality there in order to make the fiction good.

    Dark-hunters were being killed and just because sundown loved this woman, nobody cared--not Talan, not Zarak--geeze, not even Ash. So the poor guys are now shades, forever to suffer the angony of that existence--and we are to believe it's no big deal--

    As for complex characters--Kyrain, Talon, Valarius, Zarak, Vane--were complex characters---since those books unfortunately the characters have become common place and predictable. Even Ash's book--the first half was unbelievable--the best I had ever read--and the second half of the book--when Ash finds "true Love"--she turns him into some stranger I never knew.

    I will probably never purchase another book by this author--and that is sad--and end of a era for me....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I wouldnt skip any dark-hunter book!

    This book was good, just not 1 of my faves in the series. It branched out a little too much with the native mythology rather than the original gods aspect. I'm a huge kenyon fan though and wouldnt skip any of these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    NOT ONE OF MY FAVORITE DARK HUNTER BOOKS

    I just finished this book and I was left with a big 'HUH'. The Indian lore explanations of how things came about had my head spinning. The whole 'your fated lovers' but can't be together until the woman 'got tougher' seemed lame. And the tall Texan making out in the front seat of an Audi with wasps swarming outside while in a car wash scene! Please. Was it just me or was every character in this book over top, sarcastic wise a****? The squire irked big time whining about his wrecked car. And the cowboy, after all those years, should have been smarter than he was about falling into traps. Especially since that is what got him killed and obligated to Artemis as a Dark Hunter in the first place. Ms. Kenyon has a flair for words but this addition to the Dark Hunters rode off into the sunset w/o that warm fuzzy her other books instilled. Its one of the few where Archeron, my favorite character of all time, didn't make an appearance until the end and that was a bonus chapter. And it wasn't worth the effort adding him there as an after thought. Shame on her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good addition to the series

    I love to read about all of Kenyons Dark Hunters. There really isn't a bad book in the bunch. This one was not as intense for me as alot of the others were, however, I really enjoyed the american indian heritage she pulled into the story and am curious to see how she further developes that aspect of the books or if it creates another line of the books like the Dream Hunter series. Over all its worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    It was okay...

    I love Sherrilyn's books, but I wasn't expecting Sundown's story to go the way it did. I imagined Old West, honestly, and got far from it. That's not anyone's fault, just a surprise. And I didn't feel like I was reading a Dark-Hunter book. It was definitely a "stand alone" tale which only had Sin, Talon & Zarek in just a few pages. Sundown's story takes place in Nevada and is full of mind-body traveling spririts, world guardian betrayals, selfish curses, reincarnations? and casted plagues. Not forgetting to mention Sherrilyn's familiar humor making itself known again, with tons of sarcasm bouncing off the many of the characters. And while all that sounds great, for some reason 70% of the story fell flat. I didn't hate it, it was right down the middle for me with too many slow, confusing, explaining parts & a few giggling, exciting, fun parts, too. But! Most important - I do love me some hunky Sundown!!! Great character, SK! <3 My favorite DH books: Talon & Sunshine, Vane & Bride, Acheron & Tori, Tabitha & Valerious, Dev & Sam - and even Stryker. Most anxious for: the return of Nick!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Irritated

    People have the right to complain about the price. I would of liked to know I was paying for a novel and receiving a novella. There are only 235 pages and that is on the Nook. How small is the paperback? I have all her books and have enjoyed the series very much. I just don't want to be deceived about a product during these difficult financial times we are currently going through. I propse that the page count be part of the description of the book so that we can make a clear and fair decision.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Good Book

    I am a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon. This was a pretty good book. It had a great premise - love the indian lore. That being said - too much fluff in this book. I found myself skipping pages. So much more could have been done with the great spirit characters. A little disappointing for me because I love the Dark Hunter Series so much. Perhaps I just spoiled by her older work! Still a fan, not every book can be over the top and most of hers have been!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best part is Ash.

    Good story but with so many characters and the books being a year apart i usally dont rememer the main characters before hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4