BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #20) For Free

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #20) For Free From Here goo.gl/XiHK8

posted by 9114493 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #21) For Free

Download Retribution (Dark-Hunter Series #21) For Free From here goo.gl/XiHK8

posted by 9472829 on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    A little dissapointed. Not sure l like the direction shes turned. Having said that l loved the bonus at the end. I wish she'd go back to the dealings with Noir and the greek gods. We still have a dream god down there. What l love most about this series is how it could be believable. It got to be a bit much. I totally loved Andy and Sasha. They're a hoot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Good but not great

    I was expecting a lot when i purchased this book, and i feel a little disappointed i have read just about everything Kenyon/Macgregor has written and I think this one falls a little short I just could not get wrapped up in the story like I am used to The first half was great and then it kind of lost some steam I will keep reading her series and just hope the next one is more to my liking The extra bonus material at the end was awesome! It makes me wonder what the next book will be about!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Always a fan. This is my first review ever but I felt the need t

    Always a fan. This is my first review ever but I felt the need to write my reviews. I am so glad that I did not listen to the negative reviews that has been posted for this book. I have always been a fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon and after reading this book I still am. I absolutely loved the humor in this book and all the twists and turns. I have come to love the Vegas group as much as I love all the other characters. I must admit I did miss Acheron but that's just me. I can't get enough of him. I loved Jess's story and could not turn the page fast enough. This book left me wanting more and remember why I love Serrilyn's work. So, to all the true DH fans who are hesitant to buy this book because of all the negative reviews...don't listen. Don't listen. Go out and buy this book. You will be thoroughly entertained. Also, loved the little snippet that included Simi...she is still trying to barbeque that heifer-goddess :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Very entertaining read for new and established fans alike

    It's not brilliant prose, but it is what it's supposed to be: highly entertaining. Obviously, the reader is expected to suspend his or, more likely, her disbelief because, let's face it, men like these just don't exist. If you're expecting some gut-wrenching, life-altering work of literature, then what the heck are you doing in the paranormal romance section? If, however, you are looking for a fun escape from the real world without having to subject yourself to the hordes of vampire novels now flooding our media outlets, Kenyon's Dark-Hunter books are an excellent choice. Her creative blend of unique characters, such as Dark-Hunters, Squires, Dream-Hunters, Were-Hunters, etc, with various legends and myths borrowed from cultures both obscure and well-known creates a refreshingly different, but at the same time familiar, environment for the reader to explore. The characters are funny and charming, yet tortured and dark allowing the reader to empathize and form attachments. Kenyon's Dark-Hunter series is especially well-suited for readers who grow very attached to characters. While each book focuses on a different couple, characters from past books often reappear in later works, driving along a larger story line. This is satisfying for long-time fans who would like to keep tabs on their fictional "friends," but the larger story is not so prominent that it alienates casual readers not looking to read the series from start to the latest novel. The romances follow a pretty similar formula throughout most of the series, so of course, that part of the story-line will always be a bit predictable, but isn't that what readers in this genre are really looking for? The "love" scenes are hot without being overly trashy, especially in the later books of the series, and in the end you pretty much know the couple will live happily-ever-after upon over-coming some previously-thought impossible obstacle together. Personally, I used to think it was a waste of time to read anything but "serious literature" (thank you, now worthless English degree), but I picked up one of these as a joke one day last year, and now I own them all, along with several similar series by other authors. Just saying...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Awesome Book

    I read this book a while back and enjoyed it immensely. I am writing this review simply because the bad reviews were highly unfair to the story and Ms. Kenyon. For those of you who seem upset that she wrote about gods other than the greeks and introduced new characters-who have, in fact, been mentioned before (anyone remember Zarek's story?)- and it wasn't the same as the other novels, you should have looked at her website where she stated that this book, and the next (Time Untime) would be different than the others because she wanted to write about her Cherokee heritage and history and felt that the time around 12-21-12 would be perfect to do just that.
    I read the book twice, simply because the story becomes clearer with a second reading, just as Styxx's story did. With that said, I recommend this book to all Menyons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    if you like kresley cole

    it is a lot like kresley cole,eccept with mostly gods and godesses,and shifters.......but with its own unique twist that makes it it's own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommend

    As with all the books in the series...she can't write them fast enough. you get pulled in wondering what happens to the characters you've come to love to read about.
    This didn't disappoint.

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Stop complaining

    After reading some of these reviews, I have to say, I enjoyed this book. Some readers were upset about the addition of a fourth pantheon of gods. I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Good book, but definitely not her best.

    Good continuation of the series, but I have to say that it is not her best book. To me it read as a little rushed, and the character backstory was not as well developed as in her earlier books. And while I love sarcasam and snarky lines, in her last few books the characters go overboard and are not as likable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Recommend

    A good read until the end, I thought that it ended rather abruptly and left things hanging oddly. I thoroughly enjoy Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark-Hunter series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    highly recommended

    ms kenyon as usual succeeds with her dark hunter series, extremely enjoyable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jess @ Starcrossed

    There are some books that take forever to get really into, and then there are others that grab a hold of you and don't let go from the very first word. Retribution was such a book. In fact the beginning was actually my very favorite part of the book. It was as if I had been transported back in time and an old timer's radio was broadcasting their report on notorious outlaw Sundown Brady.

    I hadn't read anything on Sherrilyn Kenyon's latest book so I was pleasantly surprised that she had chosen to reveal Jess's story, after all every woman has a soft spot for a trouble making cowboy and that is exactly who Jess is. You can't help but love the Dark-Hunter as his past is revealed.

    True, it was repetitive, in the fact that the guy gets the girl in the end, he over comes the shadows of his past, but the wise cracks and the new curve Kenyon threw when she decided to introduce the Native American mythology it made up for the ending I knew was coming. I did enjoy the twists along the way as the characters pasts were dredged up and betrayal after betrayal came to light. I am ready and waiting for Sasha's story as he was my favorite character throughout his story and seemed to steal Jess's spotlight for me, altogether however, it was an excellent read as almost every story Sherrilyn Kenyon has woven has been. It is certainly on the shelf of books to re-read and recommend to fellow avid readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Story with a Great Reader

    I'll admit, I haven't read any of this series before. Actually, I've never read the author's work at all. Everyone else in our house has (Chronicles of Nick) but me. I was tempted to start from the beginning of the series, until I realized how many books are in the Dark Hunters series.yeah.then I realized you didn't have to read the others to make sense of them since they feature different characters. Yay for me! So on with the review.

    First off, I listened to the audiobook and now I think I will listen to anything that Holter Graham has done the audio for - he is freaking awesome. Best audiobook reader ever.

    This story was easy to get into and it started off so quickly, there was no time to be bored waiting for things to pick up. The characters are all amazing, even the ones you don't know a huge amount about. The stars of the book Jess and Abigail could have been the ones you despise, they have both done some pretty screwed up things, but Kenyon is able to take the monster inside of them (especially Jess in this aspect) and turn it into something more human and someone you will root for. This story is more than your basic paranormal tale as it takes mythology and mixes it with love and loss, action and humor. Kenyon is a master at blending all of these together seamlessly. Not once did any single aspect feel forced or contrived, but flowed effortlessly through each stage of the story. I've certainly been made a fan of her writing style and of the series and look forward to reading more of this series and all of her other works.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Great Story line!

    I have to say......I've been reading Sherrilyn's books since 2008 with my introduction to Acheron. And all I can say is that I love her work. Retribution was kinda slow in the middle but picked up pace. I enjoyed reading it,and re-read cause I felt like I missed something. It also made me research some American Indian folklore! I have recommended these books to friends and to some of my book clubs. And all I really want to know is....Will the next book be about Acheron's new born kid???? Inquiring minds want to know!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Good read, justnot nearly enough Ash!

    I am a big fan of this series. Retribution was good. I must admit I was not a fan of Jess' from previous books, but I definitely grew to like him more in this one. Though I did not feel Abby's fierceness, I do feel Kenyon match her and Jess very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 star for an interesting story.

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I realize now that this in number 20 in the Dark Hunters Series. This is good because it helps me realize why I was so lost at times in the reading. I think the books can be read out of order, but starting with 20 left me a bit confused at times.

    The story was entertaining and held my interest most of the time, only when the story switched from present to past it took me a minute to realize the shift. Lots of characters fill these pages, many names, shapes and animals with mystical powers and sorted pasts. Jess is a man that could get any women's heart pumping fast. Abigail on the other side is a bit too whiny. I really didn't care for her, Jess deserved better in my estimations. I did like the way the story started in the past and then today, the flow was good even with the time shifts.

    I entered a blog hop to win this book since I had never read this author before. I had heard of her and many of my friends on Goodreads had commented on her books. I'm trying to read things I don't usually pick up at the library, this is definitely one I would not have grabbed. That said I really am enjoying paranormal, especially the act that anything can happen and usually does.

    I would suggest this book to those who love paranormal romance and action stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Stupid!!!!

    I want my money back! This book was so stupid and predictable--I hated the dialog and the characters that were simply annoying--oh how can I be so hot for this man's body when I need to kill him to avenge my family? Please! I don't know how this book got good reviews. It is simply one of the worst books that I have read in a long time--and I read a lot! REFUND PLEASE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Refreshing book in the series

    This was a great story and refreshing for the series. Most of the books are placed around the characters in New Orleans. This one applies a twist and sight on the other side of the US with new characters and story directions. As I enjoy reading about Ash, Nick, Dark-Hunters and Were-Hunters it was nice to read something new this time but still have the Daimons and have old characters brought back.

    Great extra at the end of the book too, by the way!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Kenyon delivers again!

    As always there is a touch of romance, but more importantly Kenyon gives her readers a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Still razor sharp

    Darkhunters with a western twist. Very good character development and, as always, with excellent voice. Can't wait for the next one! (posted from my nook)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5