Customer Reviews for

Return of Tarzan (Illustrated)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Classic book, perfect ending

    When I reached the end of Tarzan of the Apes I was surprised, and relieved, to find that it was only the first in a series. The second book, The Return of Tarzan, delivers the same action and adventure while leaving the reader with a much more satisfied feeling at the novel's conclusion. While there are many books that follow this sequel, one only needs to read the first two books to experience the thrill, and the happy ending, that a story about a man raised by apes and thrust into civilization promises. Burroughs work contains the imagination, energy, and romance that defines truly great literature.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    A book you just have to like

    Oh the glory that is Edgar Rice Burroughs. He's vocabulary and imagination is absolutely flawless. I must admit that I have a deep compassion for semi-gruesome and action packed books that really keep you eager for more. Action, romance, twists and turns, friendship, betrayal, what doesn't this book have? Edgar Rice Burroughs never ceases to amaze. I would highly recommend this book to everyone, both male and female. If you have a love for long descriptive words like I do, this book is definitely for you. I love how he compares life with savage men and anthropoids to society today, and how truly wicked and corrupt we are today compared to that of our ancestors. Tarzan's personality always inspires me, and often surprises me. I often think, "I don't think I could ever do that" while reading this book. I still think Jayne is an idiot, but I believe that Rokoff is an even bigger one. He truly shows how corrupt our society is today, yet he's the man that kept this book interesting. I especially love all the different cultures displayed in this book. Arabs, savage African tribes, ancient and forgotten societies, what else do you need? It seems that everywhere Tarzan goes, trouble follows. Yet it also seems that everywhere he goes, there's a girl falling head over heels for him (but seriously, what girl wouldn't?). It is definitely a thrilling, stimulating, and original book. What man in his right mind would compose a book of a man of high class parents being raised by anthropoids during the early 1900s?! But I highly recommend this book to all of you action lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Should be read

    So much better than you think is going to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    The Return Of Tarzan (Tarzan 2)

    In the book, The Return of Tarzan, Edgar Rice Burroughs narrates the second series of journeys in Tarzan¿s life from where he left off in his first book, Tarzan of the Apes. Burroughs tells of Tarzan¿s decision not to claim his title and estates from his cousin, how he travels to Paris and joins their secret service after almost having an affair with the countess. Then, he is thrown overboard a cruise liner, ending up back in his native African jungle searching for the lost treasure of Opar. To finish it all off, his almost-fiancée Jane is only miles away suffering the harsh effects of stranded life in the merciless jungle. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy pulp fiction (not the movie!) and realistic fiction as well. I really enjoyed this book because the author created Tarzan as a strong character (both mentally and physically) that I could relate to. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat continuously because the question always remains - will Tarzan¿s story have a happy ending?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    I still remember them

    I think my headline says it all. I am now 34 and as a child I read every Tarzan book I could get my hands on by Edgar Rice Burroughs. At least 22 years have gone by and I still look for them in bookstores which is why I now am finding at least a couple of them online. I'm even a female and I love them and hope my son will also. I definitely recommend all of them. I read most of them twice and now love Fantasy literature and because of this writer, want to write my own series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Bookworm may 15,2013

    Love the book-found the numerous typos to be irritating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Return of Tarzan by Edgar Rice Bur­roughs is the sec­ond nov

    The Return of Tarzan by Edgar Rice Bur­roughs is the sec­ond novel in about the Lord of the Jun­gle. As its pre­de­ces­sor, the book was first pub­lished in a pulp mag­a­zine dur­ing 1913 and only later pub­lished in book for­mat (1915).

    The novel starts where Tarzan of the Apes ended, the ape man is recov­er­ing from his sac­ri­fice at mar­riage to Jane Porter and goes to visit Paul d’Arnot in France. On the ship Tarzan becomes involved in the affairs of Count­ess Olga de Coude and her hus­band, Count Raoul de Coude while two peo­ple try to prey on them.

    The two are Niko­las Rokoff and Alexis Paul­vitch and, as it turns out, Rokoff is the Count­ess’ no-good brother. Tarzan denies the vil­lains their scheme at every turn. In return, the Count finds Tarzan a job as a spe­cial agent in Alge­ria with the min­istry of war. After some adven­tures, Tarzan sails to Cape Town and finds that Hazel Strong, Jane’s friend, is one of the pas­sen­gers. How­ever, Rokoff and Paulovitch are also there and man­age to throw him overboard.

    Some­how Tarzan man­ages to swim ashore to find him­self in the coastal jun­gle where he was brought up. This time Tarzan ins smarter and befriends Busuli of the Waziri tribe which adopts him. Tarzan help the vil­lagers defend them­selves against ivory raiders and they elect him to replace their chief. The Waziri tell Tarzan where they obtain their gold, a lost city inhab­ited by beast-like men. The tribe takes Tarzan to the lost city where he is cap­tured and con­demned to be sac­ri­ficed to the sun god. The priest­ess is a beau­ti­ful woman named La, she speaks the lan­guage of the apes and tell Tarzan he is on the city of Opar.

    Will Tarzan escape?
    Will Jane marry Clay­ton?
    Will Rokoff get away with his evil schemes?

    As I was read­ing The Return of Tarzan by Edgar Rice Bur­roughs sev­eral things struck out at me almost imme­di­ately: I have read this book before, Bur­roughs can­not write dia­log, uses too much coin­ci­dences but Bur­roughs can sure spin a yarn and write action

    The moment I read the name “Rock­off” I knew I read this story before. I did not remem­ber par­tic­u­lars and vaguely the sto­ry­line but I’m sure I read it some­where around the ten­der age of 10 – where I was already a pro­lific reader. In this regard, read­ing this book was like vis­it­ing with a long­time old fried, reliv­ing adven­tures from the com­fort of your own home.

    Much of the dia­log was ridicu­lous; no-one speaks or has spo­ken like that. Rock­off, and man whose as bad as they come, has the best lines (curses: “Name of a name”) and d’Arnot is not far behind. I don’t know if Bur­roughs meant that as an over the top adven­ture, or just make it kid friendly as is done these days but to my ears the dia­log sounded wooden.

    There are coin­ci­dences galore in this novel. Tarzan just “hap­pened” to swim to his child­hood jun­gle, just “hap­pened” to be locked in a room with access to a tun­nel. Paul d’Arnot just “hap­pened” to be in the area, just “hap­pened” to inves­ti­gate the sea­side jun­gle etc. Once of twice to get out of a bind the author wrote him­self into is fine and accept­able, but I just came up with five exam­ples off the top of my head. Seems to me Bur­roughs employs the “just hap­pened to” method way to often in such a short book.

    That being said, this is a fun book. The action sequences are mag­nif­i­cent and excit­ing, the story bor­ders on the ridicu­lous­ness but Bur­roughs embraces that and guides the reader with an expert hand through­out. Some­times one just needs a sim­ple story, sus­pends belief and have a grand ol’ time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Good

    Lots of bad editing. Had to skip whole pages. But others i liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Tarzan is great

    The books are interesting and action packed I wanna read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Stupid & Unnessasary

    Only the first 'Tarzan' book is any good. The others are basicly just more adventures of Tarzan and since he becomes more 'civilized', he losses the 'id' personality as Edgar Rice Burroughs writes more and more books about him.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3