Customer Reviews for

Return of the Home Run Kid

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I dont like it i love it!

    Read the title. It says it all. I do not want to give it away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Love it

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Sequel-- It's better

    The book I read was called Return Of The Home-Run Kid by Matt Christopher. <BR/>It is the sequel to one of his previous books, The Home-Run Kid. This book is about <BR/>a kid named Sylvester Coddmyer the III. He meets this mysterious man called Cheeko,<BR/>who helps him become better, but also a dirty player. In the previous book, Sylvester could <BR/>only hit home runs, but things change when he meets Cheeko. Now everyone either sees him<BR/>as a bully or a hero to Hooper Junior High. Now, Sylvester realizes that he is <BR/>turning into something he's not, until he gets some help from an old friend.<BR/><BR/>I liked this book, even though it was a littler kid type of book. It wasn't really to <BR/>challenging for me. It didn't have any challenging words and the text and story<BR/>were very easy to understand. I would recommend this book to littler kids. It's not <BR/>a high school book; its more like a 7-12 year old book at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Is He Really Eddie Cicotte

    It is about a kid Sylvester who faces his challenge when he becomes a great baseball player again. When he meets a guy named cheeko that looks exactly like Eddie Cicotte that teaches him to play dirty unlike last seasons mentor George Baruth that looks exactly like Babe Ruth. They both taught him how to play but one teaches him to play fairly and the other does not.Also Eddie Cicotte and eight other players of the 1919 white sox were part of the BLACKSOX SCANDAL were players hit and played bad in the 1919 world seris. They did it because they were made at there coaching staff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Action packed book about baseball

    ¿Return Of The Homerun Kid,¿ by Matt Christopher, is about a young boy named Sylvester who plays baseball. The setting is mostly on a baseball field during or around today. During the story, two other characters come into the action. One, named Mr. Brauth, is one of his teachers. After Mr. Brauth is no longer in the story, one of Sylvester¿s friends, named Cheeko, comes into play. He helps Sylvester get his name as the ¿Homerun Kid¿ by teaching Sylvester how to play the game. One major conflict that happened is as Cheeko is coaching Sylvester, Sylvester started doing really good in his games and ended up getting a big head. After that lots of people started dislike him . Eventually Sylvester realizes that he was no longer liked, he then changes his attitude and becomes a team player once again. Christopher really did a good job on creating a picture of how the main character Sylvester acts and looks. ¿The Homerun Kid¿ really grabs the readers attention because of all the action that the baseball game expresses. One of the things that the reader might really enjoyed about the book is Christopher really did a great job in describing the characters and their surroundings. As a conclusion to this book, I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys an action packed baseball story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    If you like Matt Christoper you like return of the home run kid.

    The Return of the Home Run Kid is an easy book to read and to learn.The protagoist of the story is Jermey and Cocheo.The antagonist of the story is Robert.I would recommend this book to Elmentary and Middle school kids because it talks about a sport you do alot and that is baseball.This is a book that you can read over and over again. I really like this book because I like baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Ummmm... It was good

    Return of The Home Run Kid, by Matt Christopher is a good book. I gave it 4 stars because it wasn't the best book that i've ever read. Don't get me wrong though, because I think it's still a good book. I think you get the point. It's about a young boy, Sylvester, that loses his 'power' to hit home runs. In the presequel, The Kid That Can Only Hit Home Runs, a man named Mr. Baruth helps Sylvester with his hitting and fielding. The results surely showed when Sylvester started making alot of nice plays in the field and at the plate. I won't tell you any more, that would give it away. Well, all i have to say is that this is a good book, and any baseball loving fan would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1