Customer Reviews for

The Return of the Indian

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am in love with this seiries. ?

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as The Indian in the Cupboard

When I reviewed The Indian in the Cupboard I gave it a good rating. There are several sequels, the first of which is The Return of the Indian, where Omri decides to bring Little Bear back for one last time. However, the Indian has been shot in a French and Algonquin r...
When I reviewed The Indian in the Cupboard I gave it a good rating. There are several sequels, the first of which is The Return of the Indian, where Omri decides to bring Little Bear back for one last time. However, the Indian has been shot in a French and Algonquin raid on his Iroquois village and is dying. Omri and his friend Patrick must bring a plastic nurse figure to life in an attempt to save him. Then Little Bear demands that they bring a more modern army with deadlier weapons to life in an attempt to go back and save his village. What starts out as an attempt to help turns into a horrible nightmare.

posted by HomeSchoolBookReview on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am in love with this seiries.








    ?







    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Love it

    My teacher read the the frist book and i loved it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    It is an amazing book

    My reviewof the return of the indian is great.the return of the indian was a delightfull book that i had to read for this thing called battle of the books. This story is a really good book for kids 8-14. It tells about how friends help friends out all the time no matter what they go thourgh. It tells about and adventure inclife and i really think some kids will enjoy this book. So.......... read this book or buy it for your kids they will love it. Written by ania

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Awesome!

    Havnt read this yet but my teacher read the indian in the cupboard and its AMAZING"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Excited

    Im so excited to read it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    interesting book

    My class had already finished reading this book and we think this is the best book we ever read before.:):):):):)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Bagel

    Love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Anoymous

    I loved this book! It was a little better than the indian and the cuboard. But I loved them both and I can't wait to read the next one!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Awesome

    Boon is my favorite charecter

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Iloved it

    Fantastico

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Not as good as The Indian in the Cupboard

    When I reviewed The Indian in the Cupboard I gave it a good rating. There are several sequels, the first of which is The Return of the Indian, where Omri decides to bring Little Bear back for one last time. However, the Indian has been shot in a French and Algonquin raid on his Iroquois village and is dying. Omri and his friend Patrick must bring a plastic nurse figure to life in an attempt to save him. Then Little Bear demands that they bring a more modern army with deadlier weapons to life in an attempt to go back and save his village. What starts out as an attempt to help turns into a horrible nightmare.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    LOVE IT

    Bright star is pregnant OMG!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Awesome book

    An awesome adventure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    AMAZING!

    It was really good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    From the first page to the last, I was enthralled in this book!

    From the first page to the last, I was enthralled in this book! I remember reading the prequel "The Indian in the Cupboard" and thinking that it was a nice enough story, but it didn't leave a big impression on me. On the other hand, reading "The Return of the Indian" took Omri's amazing story to a completely different level.

    There's so much adventure and excitement packed into this one book. I almost couldn't stand the suspense in certain parts!

    It's the Perfect read for anyone who likes a bit of thrilling action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Recommended Read!

    The name of the book I¿m reviewing is The Return of the Indian by Lynne Reid Banks. I think this book deserves five stars because it is full of mystery and suspense. This book is about a boy named Omri who vowed to never use his magic cupboard again, which has the power to turn plastic figures alive! But they¿re not just living toys they¿re real people from different times! Omri does bring his plastic Indian, named Little Bear, and his friend Patrick¿s plastic cowboy named Boone. They have many exciting and dangerous adventures together. I recommend this book to anyone who read the first book, The Indian in the Cupboard.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Absoultly AWFUL

    Even though im on the first page i am bored to death

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wonderful!!!

    Luv this yu should read this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Awsome Book !!! : )

    LOL : )

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Fantasy lovers' find

    I enjoyed this book because it contained humor as well as well-thought predicaments. Even though the book was fantasy the author made it sound very realistic. The story begins as Omri, a boy, walks home. He had moved to a new and more dangerous neighborhood. When he got home he received a letter stating a book he wrote would be published and Omri would receive 300 pounds (British currency). Then Omri remembered how he got the idea for the story, the experience with the magical cupboard and the Indian, Little Bear. So Omri decided to see if the cupboard still worked. It did but there was one problem, Little Bear had been shot. Omri then tried to bring back a World War I medic but he was killed. There was only one hope, Omri's best friend Patrick. Patrick was trying to forget about the cupboard but Omri convinced him to help. They tried to ¿borrow¿ a surgeon figure from Patrick's cousin, but only managed to get a nurse. The nurse did, however, succeed in the operation. At that time they learned that Little Bear's wife, Bright Stars, would have a baby. They also decided to bring back a friend of Little Bear, a cowboy named Boone. While Boone settled in, Little Bear talked about the French raiding the Indian's village. They tried using modern day soldiers but that didn't work. They did succeed in using other Iroquois. They still needed to teach these Indians how to shoot modern day weapons. So they used a British Corporal named Fickits. Now they were ready to save the village, so Omri sent then back. At that time Boone had asked if the key was magical, and not the cupboard, while Bright Stars prepared to have her baby. Patrick tested it and it worked, you would be there but only as part of a nonliving object. Then Omri tested it and was part of a tepee (which is strange because Iroquois lived in long houses). While he was there, he discovered terrible news, Algonquin enemies would attack at night. They did come at night, but since there was nothing to steal, they tried to burn the village. They managed to burn the tepee, but then Little Bear's army attacked. During the battle, Omri was brought back but had a bloody nose and a burnt head. Two hours later, people tried raiding Omri's house. Fickits, however, ended that plan. There was still a few problems though, how would Omri explain this to his parents? How many survived the battle? I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy. This book is a great example of fantasy. I would also recommend this book to anyone interested in Native American battles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3