BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Return of the King (Lord of the Rings Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 679 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(578)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Penultimate

I first read the trilogy while in high school in the late 60s. I remember that when I finished The Two Towers the local bookstore had to special order The Return of the King. I had to wait almost two months for it to arrive, so I could devour it in one day. A simply ...
I first read the trilogy while in high school in the late 60s. I remember that when I finished The Two Towers the local bookstore had to special order The Return of the King. I had to wait almost two months for it to arrive, so I could devour it in one day. A simply superlative story, but when I got to the appendices with the backstory of the peoples, history and languages of Middle Earth, I became a true believer. Truly, this could not be fiction! I don't know how many times over the last 40-odd years I've re-read these books. My wife and all my now grown children lived in awe and fear of Dad's discussion of them. In every fantasy series I've read since then, I've seen Tolkien's hand in their conception. When the movies came out, I was torn between dread and anticipation. I'm glad to see happen what we once thought was inconceiveable - that The Lord of the Rings could be captured on screen. Not perfect, but good enough that a purist like me was more than satisfied. When Sam said at the end, "Well, I'm back", I cried in the theater. As close to perfection as humans can get. If you enjoyed, were tantalized by the films -- read the books. See in the written word what you missed visually. I guarantee you won't regret it.

posted by 2103905 on October 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Annonnomous

It was ok not much action

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    The Penultimate

    I first read the trilogy while in high school in the late 60s. I remember that when I finished The Two Towers the local bookstore had to special order The Return of the King. I had to wait almost two months for it to arrive, so I could devour it in one day. A simply superlative story, but when I got to the appendices with the backstory of the peoples, history and languages of Middle Earth, I became a true believer. Truly, this could not be fiction! I don't know how many times over the last 40-odd years I've re-read these books. My wife and all my now grown children lived in awe and fear of Dad's discussion of them. In every fantasy series I've read since then, I've seen Tolkien's hand in their conception. When the movies came out, I was torn between dread and anticipation. I'm glad to see happen what we once thought was inconceiveable - that The Lord of the Rings could be captured on screen. Not perfect, but good enough that a purist like me was more than satisfied. When Sam said at the end, "Well, I'm back", I cried in the theater. As close to perfection as humans can get. If you enjoyed, were tantalized by the films -- read the books. See in the written word what you missed visually. I guarantee you won't regret it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Conclusion to a True Fantasy World

    The Lord of the Rings novel (though sometimes called a trilogy) is perhaps the most recognized trendsetter in the arena of fantasy. The level of detail and character evolution is incredible with no limits spared. Tolkien is truly a gifted writer that has established a place in history for his endeavor to bring to the reader a completely new world. Each book in the series builds on the last until the reader finds they are unable to put the books down. While not directly part of the Lord of the Rings novel, a favorite book about Bilbo's adventures in The Hobbit or There and Back Again is a not-to-be-missed read for those hoping to understand how the adventures of the Hobbits and the Ring first began.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Excellent book, best of the series

    To appreciate Return of the King, you really must read The Fellowship of the Ring and The Two Towers beforehand. It is the third book in the series, bringing all the elements of the story together in a resounding finale. It starts out with the fellowship group that has divided not by choice, but by necessity. Frodo, the ring-bearer, knows he cannot risk his friends and he's not sure he can trust them, as the ring is effecting his thoughts. Gandalf the White and Pippin are preparing for a great battle, while Merry is helping lead a great army to the city, Minas Tirith. As the Dark Forces are preparing to annihilate all those who oppose the Dark Lord, Frodo and Sam are getting closer to Mount Doom and Mordor, the mountain of fire, where the ring can be destroyed. The Elves are preparing to rejoin the battle with all of their forces at the city of Minas Tirith. Aragorn lays waiting with the forces he has assembled, but they all know that if Frodo has failed, the battle is already lost. Will Frodo be able to separate himself from the ring or will the ring rule him? Will his once mortal wounds heal or without the ring and the magic of the elves will he die? All these answer can be found within the pages of Return of the King.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    Awesome book

    The book 'The Reutrn of the King' was a really good book that I loved reading. In this book, you have a continuation of the story from book one and book two of the trilogy. Frodo and Sam, the ring bearers, have ventured into Mordor in an attempt to destroy the ring. Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli, Gandalf, Meriadoc (Merry), and Peregrin (Pippin)have gone to war. Merry and Pippin are now directly serving the kings. One hobbit is at the side of the King of Rohan, while the other guards the Lord of Gondor, Steward of the king. The others have ridden directkly into the battle, slaying orcs as they go. Aragorn, bringing souls of traitors, liars, and theives from the paths of the dead so that they may fight and then be fully put to rest. I enjoyed this book because it was full of suspense. It leaves you hanging at some parts of the book so you keep on reading, but it answers most of your questions in the end of the book. Overall, I rate this book a 5 out of 5.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Classic fantasy masterpiece

    Most folks already know the story of Frodo's quest to destroy the one ring of power, so I won't bother summarizing it. Instead, let me focus on what I liked and disliked about the book. First, the plot is absolutely one of the most epic stories ever written, in a world so well-created that it has its own history and languages. It is rare to see an author take so much time and effort to breathe life into his creation. However, some of the detail is a downfall of the work as well. Characters are so numerous (and underdeveloped, in many places) that they can be easily confused. Side stories about the overworld's history are numerous and can also be confusing. Also, Tolkein really wasn't much of a writer, and his story is poorly paced and lopsided in many ways. Still, this book is a classic, mainly for the plot, and is well worth the effort. I thought the Fellowship of the Rings was the best of the trilogy, although I would rate Return of the Kings a close second. The Hobbit is by far Tolkien's best book, so read that if you haven't already. P. S. For those of you who have seen the movies (and who hasn't?) there is a lot of material in all three books that isn't in the movie, and that especially holds true for the end of Return of the King, when the hobbits return to the Shire only to find that everything is not exactly as they left it....

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    WOW

    GOOD BOOK

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Read this book

    Read it! The book is AWESOME!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Astonishing

    Hi

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Can't wait!

    I have read the Hobbit, the Fellowship of the Ring, and am almost done the Two Towers. I cannot wait to read this! I have read some of the reviews, and have a problem with some. Whoever said the book was way too long and made them hungry needs to listen to me. I understand that the books have alot of description, but that honestly does not bother me! That is one of the things that I love about these books! This is coming from a 13 year old. You just need to give them a chance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

    That's right, this book gets five stars AND five hearts! I first saw the Lord of the Rings movies when I was eight and as soon as I did I knew I had to read the books, and they've been my favorite ever since (and Return of the King is the best of them all)! As much as I love many of the other fantasy books that I've read, none will ever be as near and dear to my heart as Lord of the Rings.
    I've suggested LOTR to practically every person I know, so now I'm suggesting it to everyone else! If you like fantasy and you're a bookworm at heart, then LOTR is for you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    A great book for Fantasy Lovers

    You can't realy aprecciate Return of the King unless you have read the first two.It brings the whole story together and realy captures what Lord of the Rings is all about.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    To jack 1026

    I read this book in 5th grade so that shows you can read whenever you want! And this book was amazing!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I've seen all the movies.

    I fell in love with this series. Best ever. Love the movies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    The Lord of the Rings

    I saw every movie and each one made me just want to watch forever. They were totally awesome! I wanna read the book but it's sooo slow. It takes me five minutes to even read two pages. Great description but I'm gonna need to push myself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Great book

    Defintly a good read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Fabulous

    As with the entire trilogy, plus the Hobbit, I have read this over and over and never tire of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    ?

    These books live inside of me. I couldnt bear to finish them-even though I did- and cried when they were over. I am in seventh grade in advanced verbal linguistics an reccomend this book for everyone to read. To be honest i lived these books more than Harry Potter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Love it

    I have the books an the movies both gerrrrrrrat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Annonnomous

    It was ok not much action

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    To they screwed up the hobbit movies

    Thats your opinion so i wont yell at you but just to share, in one of the interviews for the hobbit, Richard Armitage, who plays Thorin, said there was conflict over the beards, but for thorin at least they kept his beard short in memory of the fire at erebor, where the beards burned shorter, and he would grow the beard when he become king...well now that i blabbed i hope that helped...or made you like it better...whatever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35