Customer Reviews for

The Return of the King: Being theThird Part of the Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 677 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(577)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Penultimate

I first read the trilogy while in high school in the late 60s. I remember that when I finished The Two Towers the local bookstore had to special order The Return of the King. I had to wait almost two months for it to arrive, so I could devour it in one day. A simply ...
I first read the trilogy while in high school in the late 60s. I remember that when I finished The Two Towers the local bookstore had to special order The Return of the King. I had to wait almost two months for it to arrive, so I could devour it in one day. A simply superlative story, but when I got to the appendices with the backstory of the peoples, history and languages of Middle Earth, I became a true believer. Truly, this could not be fiction! I don't know how many times over the last 40-odd years I've re-read these books. My wife and all my now grown children lived in awe and fear of Dad's discussion of them. In every fantasy series I've read since then, I've seen Tolkien's hand in their conception. When the movies came out, I was torn between dread and anticipation. I'm glad to see happen what we once thought was inconceiveable - that The Lord of the Rings could be captured on screen. Not perfect, but good enough that a purist like me was more than satisfied. When Sam said at the end, "Well, I'm back", I cried in the theater. As close to perfection as humans can get. If you enjoyed, were tantalized by the films -- read the books. See in the written word what you missed visually. I guarantee you won't regret it.

posted by 2103905 on October 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Annonnomous

It was ok not much action

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 682 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Lord of the rings RP!

    At fishing all results!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    One of my favorite books

    The Return of the King is an amazing book even though parts of it are hard to read. I have seen the Lord of the Rings movies and they are nearly as good. At the end of the third movie (and the book!) I nearly cried. My mom calls the movies to violent.
    I would recomend this book to anyone over the age of 10 just because it is very complicated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Enjoyable

    I believe this piece of literature is enjoyable to read. It is number three in the Lord of the Rings series, so you must read the first two in order to understand it. This book is easy to read and easy to follow. J.R.R. Tolkien is a great author, he created Middle Earth out of a sentence he imagined: ' In a hole in the ground, there lived a hobbit. ' To create a whole series of books and a imaginary world out of that sentence is pure genius. This is a piece of literature you must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    To Crusher

    Does Legolas get a girlfriend or anything close to that in the books or movies? Wanna see if i can like, break my gf's heart by telling her that her fav elf is taken. :D Please reply to 'Just wondering'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Classic

    A tiny joy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Chain

    And there are many paths to tread

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Crusher know it all here

    Advice is my thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Classic

    A great end to one of the best series in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Pippen is the best

    Team Pippen all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Hobbit Sword

    C:::::::]::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    what can i say that hasn't already been said about this book and

    what can i say that hasn't already been said about this book and series. Just amazing a must read for any one that likes this type of fiction. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Lets start chain

    Pippins song: home is behinde, the world is ahead

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Love it!!

    I may not b as crazy as some people are about it but i have 3 posters, 4 LEGO sets and all the books having to deal with middle earth and its vast history. Please follow me on instagram my username is reginafuster :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    mess up on typing

    ITS TLOTR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Great Book

    I am enjoying this book a lot. Awsome ending to a spectacular series. Worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Read this over a long weekend a long time ago. Couldn't put it down. Wanted to read it again, particularly after having enjoyed the movies. Excellent book. Caution: requires an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    My sword


    [======][]==============>----------------------

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    MY AWESOME SWORD

    (==}=============>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Gandalf is back

    I think this is the best book series ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Tap this

    Go to gazz we have clan advice now huring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 682 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35