Customer Reviews for

Return of the Rose

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!

If you pass this one up you will have missed a great treat. I read this book because of the reviews and they were right, it was great. I liked the action scenes, I was drawn in when the castle was attacked, I could see the action so clearly I held my breath. I almos...
If you pass this one up you will have missed a great treat. I read this book because of the reviews and they were right, it was great. I liked the action scenes, I was drawn in when the castle was attacked, I could see the action so clearly I held my breath. I almost got tired of Derek jumping back and forth but he pulled through. I liked Morgan, her character was a good combination, just strong enough and just loving enough. The ending was smashing! Really really cool. The only thing I had a little trouble with was the medival characters were way to comfortable with the modern language.

posted by 9839675 on September 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

good time travel

I really liked this story of time travel from modern day times to 1444. A little more romance than I like but the story was really good.

posted by teebee_47 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Awesome!!

    If you pass this one up you will have missed a great treat. I read this book because of the reviews and they were right, it was great. I liked the action scenes, I was drawn in when the castle was attacked, I could see the action so clearly I held my breath. I almost got tired of Derek jumping back and forth but he pulled through. I liked Morgan, her character was a good combination, just strong enough and just loving enough. The ending was smashing! Really really cool. The only thing I had a little trouble with was the medival characters were way to comfortable with the modern language.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    A wonderful surprise

    I don't usually write reviews on books, but this book was such a wonderful surprise that I had to let my fellow readers know about this find. If you love to read a book that takes you away to another time and makes you laugh and cry, you will not be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    A Fun Time Travel

    A nice twist in the beginning and end sets this time travel romance apart. A well written spin into Medieval England and a love story that a reader will enjoy. I sped through it, staying up well past my bedtime to finish. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    A fun escape from reality

    Theresa Ragan's debut novel is a light, breezy time travel to the medieval era. I've never been a fan of medieval romances because of the ick factor (they had to SMELL!), but Ms. Ragan's fun, fresh style allowed me to completely suspend disbelief for the entire time and not think about the lack of bathing. It was a lot of fun to pretend I was transported back in time, right along with Morgan. Ragan has an intimate writing style that makes you feel like you're reading a letter from an old friend. I truly loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Cute read!

    Was cute and a fun escape. Liked the characters and story line. Not totaly believable but thats kinda the point.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good time travel

    I really liked this story of time travel from modern day times to 1444. A little more romance than I like but the story was really good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    Awesome Characters!

    I fell in love with this book and all of the characters and I truly did not want the story to end. I hope there is a sequel someday. I laughed and cried.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Loved this book!!!!

    I laughter out loud and shed a tear or two. Couldn't put it down till I finished it. I hope Theresa Ragan writes a great many more books I plan on reading them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Easy Escape

    What's not to love about going back in time and catching the eye and heart of an esteemed knight? I enjoyed the storyline and thought it was an easy read. Nothing seemed choppy and you just seem to coast on smoothly through it. I thought the ending could have been better, not that it was aweful. But some of the books I find that flow nicely usually rush things at the end and leave questions for the reader. There was no crazy cliffhanger or anything....just thought it could have been better. The story itself seemed predictable at times, but I was entertained all the way through it. I couldn't give it five stars becuase that would imply perfection, but 4 to 4 1/2 seems logical for those looking for an easy escape. ; ) Keep an eye out for Emmon – he's my favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Love

    Beautiful story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    .

    .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Couldn't put it down! Great read am going to lend it to my best friend now....know she'll love it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Great read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    A really enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Really enjoyed!

    I really enjoyed this book. The beginning was a little sketchy because it happens really fast and not much background on Morgan. However I really enjoyed Morgans mishaps and adventures. I love that we got more background on Derek and I learned to really love him. I was kind of sad the book ended and seemed to want a little more. Overall very enjoyable!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    would love to see this develop into a series. Great story.

    would love to see this develop into a series. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Omg! I loved it.

    I loved this book, please read it. Derek and Morgans love story is so good, I wish it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    A fun, very light book

    I thought this was a fun, quick read for someone who likes the time travel theme and doesn't mind a heavy dose of romantic fiction. The attempts to mimic medieval language were really humorous sometimes though. In one part, someone starts the sentence with "Mayhaps", but ends by saying something is "certain". In another sentence, someone does something "mirthlessly", but the rest of the sentence makes it clear that there was definitely mirth involved. I get the impression of the author liberally sprinkling the novel of her idea of old-fashioned language based solely on her reading of other historical fiction. But really the book was perfect for what I wanted: light, fun, interesting (if sort of obvious) story line. I'd buy more from this author if I was in the right mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Very enjoyable! The perfect balance of a guilty pleasure and an

    Very enjoyable! The perfect balance of a guilty pleasure and an intricate-enough plot to keep you compelled to finish the book as quickly as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book had all my favorites, time travel, action and a love story. What more could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6