Customer Reviews for

Return to Eden: The Soulkeepers Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An eccentric slow dance Lucifer¿s plan is unfolding and time is

An eccentric slow dance

Lucifer’s plan is unfolding and time is short. Dr. Abigail Silva has waited over 10,000 years for a shot at redemption and a chance to touch the angel she loves. With the situation so dire, she finds herself doubting God’s word. Now she must ...
An eccentric slow dance

Lucifer’s plan is unfolding and time is short. Dr. Abigail Silva has waited over 10,000 years for a shot at redemption and a chance to touch the angel she loves. With the situation so dire, she finds herself doubting God’s word. Now she must decide whether making a deal with the devil will be more worthwhile than waiting for God’s plan.

I liken this book to an eccentric slow dance. It’s beautiful and well put together but the pace never stays the same throughout. It speeds up and slows down, but even at points where it’s slow, you still are on the edge of your seat. You can’t take your eyes off what’s unfolding in the pages before you. It ebbs and flows until the epic high point. I’m being general because I don’t want to spoil a single moment for you. The friends you’ve made in this series face huge decisions, New Soulkeepers will be introduced, lives are placed in peril and as always, G.P Ching tackles the tough subjects. It left me wanting more and yet at the same time hoping the characters get some sort of break after all of this. I guess I can imagine it while the next book is being written.

posted by MeteorFlower on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

Greatness, epic, and many other words to describe this book

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An eccentric slow dance Lucifer¿s plan is unfolding and time is

    An eccentric slow dance

    Lucifer’s plan is unfolding and time is short. Dr. Abigail Silva has waited over 10,000 years for a shot at redemption and a chance to touch the angel she loves. With the situation so dire, she finds herself doubting God’s word. Now she must decide whether making a deal with the devil will be more worthwhile than waiting for God’s plan.

    I liken this book to an eccentric slow dance. It’s beautiful and well put together but the pace never stays the same throughout. It speeds up and slows down, but even at points where it’s slow, you still are on the edge of your seat. You can’t take your eyes off what’s unfolding in the pages before you. It ebbs and flows until the epic high point. I’m being general because I don’t want to spoil a single moment for you. The friends you’ve made in this series face huge decisions, New Soulkeepers will be introduced, lives are placed in peril and as always, G.P Ching tackles the tough subjects. It left me wanting more and yet at the same time hoping the characters get some sort of break after all of this. I guess I can imagine it while the next book is being written.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Real Author means another oustanding book! I've mentioned befor

    Real Author means another oustanding book!

    I've mentioned before that authors so often spend the majority of their series builing one character at a time. Usually they lose sight of the other characters trying to develop one in particular, or one relationship in particular. Here we see yet another episode of true evolving of a story. Every character from the previous books are incorporated, distinguished, and given life in this text. I love being able to see them flourish as a group, and really depend on people. In real life we are constantly chosing paths based on those around us. I like the emphasis on the age of some of the soulkeepers as readers of all ages can really relate at any point in time.

    Can't wait for Soul Catcher!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The fight between good and evil..

    Amazing! I have been super pleased with this entire series. Gen Ching has a wonderful imagination and she does amazing things with it. In Return To Eden we get to know the characters much better. I really like how we get the POV from each couple. This book is based on making the right decisions, believing in yourself, each other and in your faith. In this book most of all I think you get the message to heart. It was interesting to see how each of them felt about certain situations or how they would handle them. Especially given the fact that the majority of them are just kids. Getting to know Gideon and Abigail was fantastic as we weren't that up close with them before. I was surprised to learn as much about them and what it was that I learned. The same with Mara and Death. The times spent with them are absolutely amazing. The descriptions are so perfect that I feel as if I've watched this entire story unfold in a movie. This is definitely a series that I would suggest to others and I hope with everything in me that there will be a 4th book! I can't wait for more from the Soulkeepers.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read this book a while ago but forgot to comment. Read the first ones before this. But it was a very good book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!

    This was a perfect ending to everything the best book that she has written yet cant wait ti see wgat else she comes up with an amazing writer i loved it

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great book:)

    This book was very good. When is the fourth coming out????!!!! march?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Loved it!

    The way we are allowed to really see into the heart of each character is amazing and I feel grateful that I was allowed the experience of this series. Cannot wait until the fourth book is released!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    book

    amazing book!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    U

    H

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Keep getting better and better!

    Keep getting better and better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Not bad

    I really liked the Soulseeker series. I have to be on the lookout for more books, by this author

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    What an intense journey! After THE SOULKEEPERS established the b

    What an intense journey! After THE SOULKEEPERS established the backdrop for this intense series, and WEAVING DESTINY kept the momentum going, RETURN TO EDEN is the dynamic showdown between Good and Evil.




    WEAVING DESTINY is a busy book. God's Army on Earth is preparing for battle, gathering up their forces, making their plans to defeat Lucifer. This book centers more on Abigail Silva, fallen angel who is now a Watcher. She is on the edge, and no one truly knows which side she'll fall on. Abigail has spent countless years trying to earn her way back into God's grace. The love between Abigail and Gideon is timeless, likely her only reason to hang on to the good inside her. I've always had a bit of a problem with Abigail, never trusted her. With this book, I learned to know her much better, but never knew where her loyalty truly lay until the very end of the book.




    Jacob and Malini, the center of the first two books in the series, are in a great place. They're still engaged in the fight against Lucifer, but their devotion to one another is clear. It's wonderful to see them at such ease. And even though enjoy Jacob and Malini, my favorite couple was by far, Henry and Mara. Oh, man. They are a truly swoon-worthy couple. At one point I did feel their relationship was a bit rushed, but with the devil breathing down their backs, who am I to judge.




    My single favorite, though, was Mara. She's strong, yet vulnerable. Trusting, yet wary. Seeing her fall in love with Henry was so sweet. And what a mouth! Her lines are truly the best:




    "Mara flipped him the finger. 'Suck it, Satan. Times have changed. Things are 'bout to get real tedious for you.' "

    If you're not a big fan of religiously heavy books, this may not be the book for you. I don't normally lean towards this type, but Ching's writing is so gorgeous. I noticed this when I read THE SOULKEEPERS, and she's managed to continue throughout the series. Her ability, to add tiny details that you wouldn't miss if they weren't there, but make you think "wow!" as you read her words, is second to none.




    RETURN TO EDEN is a lovely ending to such a meaningful series.




    Favorite Quote:




    "Silence wedged itself between them, but it wasn't there because there was nothing left to say. The words that waited in the corners had sharp edges. Words like that could do permanent damage if flung too hard at the one you loved." (ebook, 4%)




    "Lifting on her tiptoes, she met his lips with hers. It felt just as good as the night before. A walk in the moonlight. The flutter of raven wings. Dark water on a cold night. Thoughts that should have scared her filled her with wanting, a blazing fire beneath her sternum." (ebook, 14%)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    So good! Really enjoyed this series. Keep it up Ching!

    So good! Really enjoyed this series. Keep it up Ching!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Was OK

    It's a good read, just got boring after awhile. I'll stop on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    This series keeps getting better!

    This series keeps getting better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1