Customer Reviews for

A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of a Course in Miracles

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Life Changing!

Where do I even begin with this review? This book has entirely changed my life, my perspective, my attitude, my feelings about myself and others, I could go on and on. This is something that I cannot stop talking about. Anyone who is lost, confused about religion, who f...
Where do I even begin with this review? This book has entirely changed my life, my perspective, my attitude, my feelings about myself and others, I could go on and on. This is something that I cannot stop talking about. Anyone who is lost, confused about religion, who feels poorly about themselves or others, depressed, or just doesn't feel like life is much "fun" anymore.....read this book! I can't even tell you what a load it takes off and how wonderful it is to learn that God LOVES you, is not out to punish you, and only has your happiness in mind. I can suddenly walk into a room and feel GREAT about myself knowing that I am a BEAUTIFUL, wonderful child of God. It is the most amazing thing I have ever felt! From this book I have learned what life is about, and what it's not about. After reading it, I bought an additional 10 copies and hand them out to anyone who seems interested. My hope is that everyone can find this love that Maryanne teaches so that they may be as incredibly happy with themselves and their lives as I am today!
Thank you so much Maryanne, for changing my life!

posted by 1152982 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Cotton Candy Spirituality

Marianne Williamson is the unofficial public interpreter of A Course in Miracles, a book that claims its author (a New York psychologist) channeled Jesus Christ and the book is a continuation of the New Testament. A Course in Miracles is Williamson's reflections...
Marianne Williamson is the unofficial public interpreter of A Course in Miracles, a book that claims its author (a New York psychologist) channeled Jesus Christ and the book is a continuation of the New Testament. A Course in Miracles is Williamson's reflections on the principles explored in the text. Very feel good and filled with many principles of the Course, A Return to Love, contains Marianne's own life as a classroom of applying the self-study program in spiritual psychotherapy. However, there is no back up to her claims or is Marianne herself living a life that reflects any stability in her personal relationships. A Return to Love was an intro into Christ consciousness outside of the Holy Bible. So ... read this and glean but like cotton candy will leave you empty .... for deep spiritual stuff go read the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Life Changing!

    Where do I even begin with this review? This book has entirely changed my life, my perspective, my attitude, my feelings about myself and others, I could go on and on. This is something that I cannot stop talking about. Anyone who is lost, confused about religion, who feels poorly about themselves or others, depressed, or just doesn't feel like life is much "fun" anymore.....read this book! I can't even tell you what a load it takes off and how wonderful it is to learn that God LOVES you, is not out to punish you, and only has your happiness in mind. I can suddenly walk into a room and feel GREAT about myself knowing that I am a BEAUTIFUL, wonderful child of God. It is the most amazing thing I have ever felt! From this book I have learned what life is about, and what it's not about. After reading it, I bought an additional 10 copies and hand them out to anyone who seems interested. My hope is that everyone can find this love that Maryanne teaches so that they may be as incredibly happy with themselves and their lives as I am today!
    Thank you so much Maryanne, for changing my life!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A very good introduction to A Course In Miracles; the source material for this book.

    I could listen to this lady talk forever. I have listened to several of her speeches; which all feel so spontaneous and from the heart. She is not the prefect representation of what she is speaking about. Rather, she is very much like all of us seeking; understanding and a new way to go about things. I would say she has a solid skill for inspiration and a powerful grasp of her source material, A Course In Miracles.

    Her book, A Return to Love is one of the best introductions to A Course In Miracles, that exist.

    If you get the chance, listen to her audio work... it is very inspiring!

    Warning: Although the Course In Miracles speaks with Christian terminology it is not specifically Christian. Rather it is quite mystic and beyond the grasp of those who take comfort in dogma and fundamentalism.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Best Book I have Ever Read---A Life Changer and Eye Opener

    This book is the best book that I have had the opportunity to read. Williamson gives simple solutions to change the world around us. Her basic principles are profound.

    My career, love life, and many other aspects have greatly improved. This book even helped me with my mother's death. After reading "A Return to Love," I feel more awakened and conscious. I can truly say that I now know my purpose. This is a must read for everyone.

    Marianne Williamson thank you for the gift. Your book has truly ministerred to me, my family, and friends.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Cotton Candy Spirituality

    Marianne Williamson is the unofficial public interpreter of A Course in Miracles, a book that claims its author (a New York psychologist) channeled Jesus Christ and the book is a continuation of the New Testament. A Course in Miracles is Williamson's reflections on the principles explored in the text. Very feel good and filled with many principles of the Course, A Return to Love, contains Marianne's own life as a classroom of applying the self-study program in spiritual psychotherapy. However, there is no back up to her claims or is Marianne herself living a life that reflects any stability in her personal relationships. A Return to Love was an intro into Christ consciousness outside of the Holy Bible. So ... read this and glean but like cotton candy will leave you empty .... for deep spiritual stuff go read the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    If I could I would buy this book for everyone!

    I swear by this book. Even if you are not interested in the Course in Miracles it breaks down how we allow ourselves to surround ourselves with darkness and how our ego can be our own enemy. Great explanations and a wonderful way of getting back to love.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2000

    Great Book

    The book is great for those people reading the Course in Miracles. It makes the Course make sense

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    How to Live Without Responsibility

    Here Williamson tells people how tho feel good about themselves while absolving themselves of any real responsibiltity in their marital or other family relationships. The reader is repetitivly reminded to keep moving on "with love". If we all fully embraced her way of life, the divorce rate would be 100%, every child (like hers) would grow up in a broken home and we would all be happy about it because we would convince ourselves that we had "learned what we could" and moved on "with love".

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    Everyone should read this book!!

    Love and Fear rules us, and until I read this book 6 years ago my life was a mess. Now I see life and others so clearly. I wish I could afford to keep a case of this book stocked in my closet to give to everyone I know. I have giving this book as a gift to several people and advise to anyone to give this book as a gift for any occasion.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    Changed my life

    Fluffy? Feel good? Are you kidding....? This book has changed my life. It has turned my marriage around and made me realize that if I'm not showing divine LOVE in life, then my life isn't really amounting to much! Read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sometimes I need to be reminded that there lies something powerful within me-- something that I can draw to the surface, and that will see me through anything. When I read certain books, I am reminded of such things. This book, along with several others, does just that. I do not claim that it has all the answers, as I believe we each have the answers within us, but books such as this one, Esamuel, Islands of the Soul: A Guide to Personal Truth and Happiness, as well as others, can be great sources of understanding and enlightenment for those who read with open minds and hearts.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    A place to start

    I read this book many years ago and i bought the tapes so that i can listen to them whenever i need a 'pickmeup' or just some more insight. The book is quite simple, but it's also quite powerful. I thought i had everything together until the foundation of my life started crumbling beneath me and i realized/learned that i had to look at everything and everyone differently, with love and not fear. Easier said than done, but if you are ready for a change (a big one) and you are ready to take real responsibility for your life, then this is a great place to start. It may take some time, but it is truly worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    True human exposure

    A very good book that allows the author to share her wounds with us, and this allows us to be truer to ourselves. It also gives us an insight on how to apply the principles of A Course in Miracles.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Thoughtfully written

    It seems those "who have been there, done that" make the most insightful writers. Marianne Williamson always presents well in person, but even more so in the written word. A must read for those seeking personal enlightenment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    This book is a game changer! Our constant need to have more, co

    This book is a game changer! Our constant need to have more, control more & be more is getting most of us no where bu stressed and frustrated with life. Learning to allow God to be our guide is the only real answer to happiness and peace. This book has an amazing way of helping to shift your mindset in just the right direction. I have given it to so many people in hopes of them finding the indescribable peace that is available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    A wonderful way to live your life

    This is the "Course in Miracles" in layman's language. Everyone can understand it. This is how I live my life. When everyone can live in the state of love and not fear we will have peace on earth. I just ordered six more to give away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    If you haven't read it... read it! This book is a life-changer! 

    If you haven't read it... read it! This book is a life-changer! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    Spiritual Classic

    A Return to Love is truly a gift. Marianne Williamson offers the principles of A Course in Miracles as a healing tool to the challenges of everyday life. This book is full of wisdom and insight that will prove to be a lifelong source of support. This work is truly a metaphysical classic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Mesmerized

    I have not read the book. A friend bought me the tapes. I have received many gifts in my life but, this was such a unique gift and very thoughtful. It's easy to get caught up in everyday life and forget what we ourselves need to remember and listening to her does that for you. I recommend the tapes very highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Not for non-Christians

    I was undecided about purchasing this book as I do not care for religious dogma. However, the author makes assurances that although Christian language is used readers would not see it used narrowly, so I bought it. I don't know how Williamson defines inclusive, but this book is not it. It is more akin to when women are told they should just feel included when others say "mankind" and then the word will be inclusive. There are plenty of excellent books out there on spiritual topics that are, in fact, inclusive. This is not one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Personal Favorite

    Well done - worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4