Customer Reviews for

Return to Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    This was my 1st Robbin Lee Hatcher book. Referred by Terri Blackstock on facebook. Loved this story. The only negative thing is my kids got hungry because i could not put the book down long enough to fix dinner! Thank you Terri Blackstock for the referral and thank you B&N for the 99¿ deal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Very predictable

    Was ok, not great. It was so predictable with no surprises or anything. It was the prodigal son story through and through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of Robin's best books yet!

    'My review as seen in ACFW's E-zine, the August edition.' Return to Me by Robin Lee Hatcher is a powerful example of the ideal Christian fiction novel. It parallels the story of the prodigal son and was so engaging that I finished the story in one day. I just couldn¿t put it down. I identified with Roxy despite her many flaws. Roxy¿s change of heart when she discovered Christ in an unlikely setting reminded me of my own personal experience. I remember the same still, small voice calling out to me until I finally gave my heart to the Lord. Of course, Roxy¿s older sister Elena decided Roxy needed to experience additional consequences for her sin. Like what Roxy had naturally suffered as a result of squandering her inheritance hadn¿t been painful enough, and not realizing, of course, all that her sister had already lost because of her poor choices. I¿ve never seen a better example of how self-righteousness wounds new believers and destroys relationships and trust. Return to Me is also a wonderful illustration of the emotional and spiritual fallout resulting from manipulative rejection, and the believer¿s need for a close walk with the Lord in order to resist pride and jealousy when new Christians succeed where they may have struggled. Thus the spiritual arc of the characters comes across as very genuine, especially when it comes to the older sister¿s attitude. There are some gritty situations in this story, but nothing I wouldn¿t let my teenager read. Overall, it¿s a fabulous example of the regrets people experience as the result of poor choices, and the subsequent struggle to forgive one¿s self. The author concludes by portraying the Scripture that refers to all things being possible through Christ Jesus. I highly recommend this story because of the life-changing lessons within.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    A Story That Will Touch Your Heart

    How does it feel when you've hit rock bottom, squandered your money, lost your dreams, and have no choice but to limp home defeated? How does it feel to be a good girl, the one who's done everything right, only to watch your loser party-girl sister steal your spotlight and seemingly never have to 'pay' for her sins? How does it feel for a parent when a grown child leaves home in anger and disappears without a trace for years on end? With keen insight and a light, contemporary touch, Robin Lee Hatcher explores these questions in her new book, Return to Me. If you've ever had the slightest bit of empathy for any of the three main characters in the biblical prodigal story¿or if you've never even heard of the prodigal story¿this book will touch your heart. Deep and universal themes resonate throughout this tale of a Nashville-bound singer with dreams of stardom and the talent to match, who loses everything through her own rebelliousness and immaturity. Forgiveness can be so difficult to accept. Grace can be so hard to offer. And when things in your life don't seem to be working out just the way you've planned, it can feel impossible to figure out what to do, or where to go next. Return to Me is a beautiful illustration of the truth that no matter what the problem, LOVE¿of God, for God, and for each other¿is nearly always the answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    ¿Return to Me¿ is a uniquely woven tale of two sisters united by birth, bound by love, and distanced by loving the same man. Journey through a tumultuous tale portrayed through both sisters¿ eyes as they first handedly recount their emotional paths causing the title to explode with symbolism. Elena is a typical first born child the one others deem perfect the dependable one. She does what is right just because it is right. Meet Roxy demanding, spoiled, selfish, easy on the eyes, and gifted with an amazing talent for singing. Wyatt at different times is in love with both sisters, proposes to both, and in the end must choose the one most suited to accompany him to seminary. Readers will journey with Roxy into a tailspinning, heart wrenching lifestyle into the music industry, and watch her make bad choice after bad choice. Her desire to go home, and the acceptance she finds is akin to the biblical prodigal story. Roxy must embrace forgiveness from others and extend it to herself. Return to me is about Roxy answering her father¿s prayers from long ago that Roxy would indeed return to him, it is an answer as Roxy accepts the Lord as Savior as he called her before she was born, it is a return to the sister who mothered her after their own mother died in childbirth, and a return to using the gift God placed within her to sing and glorify him. Readers are easily pulled into rooting for Roxy, and are moved to tears as she struggles to climb out of a pit of her own making. Elena, the dependable one, has always secretly envied Roxy. Roxy seemed to have it all. She was the one admired, and always in the center of attention. Readers experience Elena¿s own journey of returning to God past her own pridefulness and unforgiveness, as well as a return to Wyatt the man who used to be in love with her sister. Wyatt must also return to a love for God, and respond to the calling on his life to enter seminary leaving his law practice. Hatcher lures readers into empathizing with each sister, and longing for them each to heal from their hurts. Tugging at the heartstrings, readers relate to both Elena and Roxy finding themselves cheering for the two of them rejoicing when finally they shed past failures, recriminations, visads, and experience genuine acceptance and the bond of sisterhood transcending any and all former or future strongholds all the while reminding us God accepts us just as we are all he asks is that we come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2007

    Story Hit Home!

    If I knew Robin Lee Hatcher personally, I¿d think she wrote this book about me. But, I think that is what is appealing about Robin¿s writing. She crafts stories that we can all identify with in one way or another. You may be the parent who feels the pain of a child leaving, worrying about them, praying they¿ll return. You may be the sibling who misses their brother or sister, yet feels like the one who left and eventually returns reaps rewards that are undeserved. You could be the lover or friend who loses that someone special and must move on. Whichever you are, this book has something for you. This is the first book I¿ve read by award winning author, Robin Lee Hatcher. Several of her books will be on my Summer Reading List, the hard part will be deciding which of the over 50 it will be. The skillful way in which Robin weaves her tale made me feel as though I was an eye-witness to each scene. When Roxy returns home the author writes ¿It was the reception she¿d longed for but hadn¿t dared hope to receive. Roxy didn¿t deserve his love. She wasn¿t the woman he¿d raised her to be.¿, I was in tears. ¿God takes my mistakes, my stupid choices, my failures, and even my successes and the pride that can go with them, and when I trust Him with it all, He turns it into good results in my life.¿ The key word for me here is trust. ¿It¿s not easy, this walk of faith. But the walk is good and so is God.¿ Amen. Pick up a copy, find yourself in the story, and see God¿s love for you, no matter who you are or where you¿ve been. Luke 15:32 says ¿But we had to celebrate and rejoice, for this brother of yours was dead and has begun to live, and was lost and has been found.¿ That¿s what life¿s all about folks, being found, returning to Him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    The story of the prodigal son is a familiar story to almost everyone, even if you didn't learn about it in Sunday School. I always sided with the older brother because I thought it was really unfair of the dad to give all the attention to the younger brother. Yes, I know that the older son will get everything in the end, but the father never acknowledges that he appreciates what the older son does. So it always seemed to me that as Christians we seem to be taken for granted by God. In this book however, I found myself siding with Roxy. Her story made me rethink about the way I felt about the prodigal son because I felt for her and wanted her to be able to start over again. Elena came across to me as being overly paranoid and would jump to conclusions without talking to others first. The scene that really got me was when she tried to dissuade Roxy from singing in church and how she wasn't believing Roxy could become a Christian. It was really sad at how bitter Elena had become especially after reading about the sisters' past. Reading the flashback stories really helped to shape the characters and allowed me to understand why they acted a certain way.I really liked Wyatt and enjoyed reading how his life changed from before to he was saved to after and how it affected both sisters. The story feels fresh and even though I know how the ending is going to be, I still wanted to read to see how it all played out. This was my first Robin Lee Hatcher novel and I was very pleased with it. This book is highly recommended for those who know the prodigal story, those who don't and especially for anyone that has a sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2007

    Wonderful Story!

    I lovvvvvved this book. It is my current favorite book by Robin Lee Hatcher. I did not know at first if I would like a book in this setting because everyone knows the story of the prodigal son. This book is amazing! Robin puts a new twist by making it the return of the prodigal daughter. I related most to the older sister but all of the characters stood out on their own. I cannot say enough good things about this book. I highly recommend it. It has a permenant place on my bookshelf. P.S. Dont forget the prequel novel 'A Carol for Christmas'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    WOW!! This book is deserving of all the superlatives I've seen in other reviews, and then some! I've read many retellings of the Prodigal Son, but never one that captured my heart as this one did. Not only did it touch my heart, it made me think. Like others have said, we all tend to identify most closely with one particular character in the story, but Robin has a knack for helping readers relate to all the characters. Please don't miss this one- it is a must!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    Beautiful story to match the beautiful cover

    Kept me guessing how it would turn out till the very end. A wonderful story, wonderful reflection of the story of the prodigal son, with a message that will touch people from all walks of life! I'd waited a long time for this book to finally come out, and it was definitely worth the wait! Robin Lee Hatcher remains one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1