Customer Reviews for

Return to Paradise

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I KNOW WHERE YOU CAN READ SOME OF THIS BOOK AT!!!

WELL I WAS JUST LOOKING AROUND ON GOOGLE AT A PLACE WHERE I COULD READ SOME OF THIS BOOK. I READ THE FIRST ON LEAVING PARADISE AN INSTANTLY FEEL IN THE WITH THE CHARACTERS. WELL ANYWAY IF YOU GO TO GOOGLE BOOKS.COM YOU CAN READ THE FIRST SIX CHAPTERS.SO FAR THIS IS A GR...
WELL I WAS JUST LOOKING AROUND ON GOOGLE AT A PLACE WHERE I COULD READ SOME OF THIS BOOK. I READ THE FIRST ON LEAVING PARADISE AN INSTANTLY FEEL IN THE WITH THE CHARACTERS. WELL ANYWAY IF YOU GO TO GOOGLE BOOKS.COM YOU CAN READ THE FIRST SIX CHAPTERS.SO FAR THIS IS A GREAT BOOK AND I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL IT IS FINALLY OUT!!!

posted by t-payne on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Return To Paradise by Simone Elkeles

Caleb got in trouble. Again. It been eight months since he left Paradise, the small town he grew up in, and isn't planning on returning. So when its his turn to call, he waives it. But the cop insists he call Damon, his guidance counselor from the year before. He agrees...
Caleb got in trouble. Again. It been eight months since he left Paradise, the small town he grew up in, and isn't planning on returning. So when its his turn to call, he waives it. But the cop insists he call Damon, his guidance counselor from the year before. He agrees to bail him out, if he'll join Re-Start, a program for teens affected by drunk and reckless driving. When Caleb arrives for the trip, he sees someone he never thought he'd see again. Maggie. Return To Paradise is the sequel to Leaving Paradise, and for those of you who have read it, you were probably mad at the huge cliff hanger ending. It's told alternating between the two characters' perspectives, Caleb and Maggie, like the previous novel. Which, I have to say, disappointed me. While some parts of Caleb's view seemed real, most did not. A lot of female authors just can't write from male perspectives, and Simone Elkeles is one of them. The drama felt a little forced; And the way Maggie and Caleb's romance was off again on again, where one moment Maggie hated him, then next she was kissing him, seemed unreal and made Maggie look stupid. In Leaving Paradise, I understood Maggie, but in Return To Paradise, she was kind of boring. Return To Paradise is a good sequel, not as good as the first book, but still worth reading.
*I would actually rate Return to Paradise a 3 1/2, because it deserves more than a three but less than a four.

posted by Sarah7498 on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Return To Paradise by Simone Elkeles

    Caleb got in trouble. Again. It been eight months since he left Paradise, the small town he grew up in, and isn't planning on returning. So when its his turn to call, he waives it. But the cop insists he call Damon, his guidance counselor from the year before. He agrees to bail him out, if he'll join Re-Start, a program for teens affected by drunk and reckless driving. When Caleb arrives for the trip, he sees someone he never thought he'd see again. Maggie. Return To Paradise is the sequel to Leaving Paradise, and for those of you who have read it, you were probably mad at the huge cliff hanger ending. It's told alternating between the two characters' perspectives, Caleb and Maggie, like the previous novel. Which, I have to say, disappointed me. While some parts of Caleb's view seemed real, most did not. A lot of female authors just can't write from male perspectives, and Simone Elkeles is one of them. The drama felt a little forced; And the way Maggie and Caleb's romance was off again on again, where one moment Maggie hated him, then next she was kissing him, seemed unreal and made Maggie look stupid. In Leaving Paradise, I understood Maggie, but in Return To Paradise, she was kind of boring. Return To Paradise is a good sequel, not as good as the first book, but still worth reading.
    *I would actually rate Return to Paradise a 3 1/2, because it deserves more than a three but less than a four.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for Teens Read Too

    Leaving Paradise, Caleb Becker thought he would have a better life, even if it meant letting go of Maggie. Yet Caleb still finds himself in trouble, once again not being his fault. With the departure of Caleb, Maggie Armstrong waited and waited for his return. As the days went by, the chances of reuniting with Caleb seemed non-existent. So Maggie decided that she would become stronger, to become more independent. As if fate had another plan for them, Caleb and Maggie are reunited with the help of the Re-START program. The program that will keep Caleb from going to jail again and will help Maggie cope. During the four-week trip, Maggie and Caleb and four other teens drive around, talking to others about the accidents that they may have caused or experienced firsthand. As the trip continues, emotions and feelings between Caleb and Maggie arise once again, creating conflicts, confusion, and breakdowns. Maggie knows the truth about the accident and all she wants is for Caleb to tell her himself. But Caleb is not aware that Maggie already knows, and doesn't want to break his promise to his sister. In the end, the only way to make their relationship stronger is for Caleb to return to Paradise, where he will ultimately resolve the issues surrounding the accident, including those dealing with his family. However, doing so could have a negative outcome for his sister. Is Caleb willing to take the risk in order to finally develop a lasting relationship with Maggie, or will his promise to his sister mean more? Once again, Simone Elkeles geniusly writes a sequel that allows the reader to fall in love all over again with her characters. Maggie and Caleb are unquestionably the strongest, and of course cutest, characters and continue to be throughout the story as they both push each other because they know it is for the best. The addition of lovable characters such as Lenny and Julio adds another dynamic to the novel that makes it even more enjoyable. RETURN TO PARADISE will not disappoint readers who enjoyed LEAVING PARADISE.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I KNOW WHERE YOU CAN READ SOME OF THIS BOOK AT!!!

    WELL I WAS JUST LOOKING AROUND ON GOOGLE AT A PLACE WHERE I COULD READ SOME OF THIS BOOK. I READ THE FIRST ON LEAVING PARADISE AN INSTANTLY FEEL IN THE WITH THE CHARACTERS. WELL ANYWAY IF YOU GO TO GOOGLE BOOKS.COM YOU CAN READ THE FIRST SIX CHAPTERS.SO FAR THIS IS A GREAT BOOK AND I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL IT IS FINALLY OUT!!!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fantastic Follow-Up!

    If you've been a long time follower of my reviews you might remember my gushing one for Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles- an author who has yet to disappoint me in any way- so as you can imagine when I received the sequel to that oh-so-yummy-and-addicting novel, I was just a bit squeal-happy. Well, maybe just a lot more than just a bit, but anyhow, as I was soon to find out, Return to Paradise was definitely worth the wait. Because not only was it better than its prequel (which I didn't think could happen), it was nothing short of amazing/rock-my-socks-off fantastic!!

    As the reader begins Return to Paradise it's been eight months since Caleb left, taking not only Maggie's heart with him but his dark secret about what really happened the night he was arrested and Maggie was left disabled and abandoned in the middle of the street alone. And while each of them still wants and misses each other more than ever, they've moved on with their lives the best they could. Maggie finished high school and is going to Spain in a few months, and Caleb has been in Chicago trying to make enough to support himself on. Though, as it turns out, fate isn't done with them yet, as they are soon to learn when they find themselves together on summer trip with four other teens that have also been affected by drunk driving. Together again they find themselves torn between the what-ifs: what if they got back together, what if Caleb finally admit what truly happened that night, and a star crossed romance that would make almost any teen girl (or even boy) swoon.

    The one thing I always love about follow-up novels is seeing how the characters have grown over the time that the reader has been away from their story, and with Return to Paradise both characters have definitely grown a lot over the past eight months. For Maggie, she finally has a backbone, but don't get me wrong, she still has a big heart, especially when Caleb is involved. For Caleb, he's gotten a bit worse because of the fact he's tougher and more confrontational than ever, though it's easy to see it's just a cover for the poor lost boy he is underneath it all. The one thing I love about these characters, and all of Simone's characters in general, is that there real in a way that they make mistakes and learn from them, that they have faults and good points that help them grow, and that their lives aren't perfect even if it does appear so for some of the characters, because as anyone knows, no one's life is perfect. Anyhow, moving on, just as I did with the prequel I loved the romance between Caleb and Maggie. Because seriously those two are so sweet and caring with each other and always manage to bring the best in each other out for the world to see. And talking about characters, I just loved the secondary ones introduced in this. All of them are so unique, and some of them, like Lenny and Trish, brought out several laugh-out-loud moments.

    The plot in this was fact paced and when mixed with Simone's easy going and smooth writing, it moved in a rapid pace, one that made this the ultimate unputdownable book. I especially loved the way that while some parts of this book were predictable, Simone also had several moments that I didn't see coming from a mile away!

    In all, Return to Paradise (as well as its prequel if you haven't read that one yet) is a must read for this fall season. Because seriously, what's better than reading one of Simone Elkeles swoon worthy teen dramas on a fall day?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    "You are my paradise.." Loveeee Caleb! 

    "You are my paradise.." Loveeee Caleb! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Kittycat

    It was so cute how they were trying to resist each other but they would alwas come back together also how he made her a catsle and its just soooo cute and romantic!!!!!!^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    So good!

    The first book was okay with a bad ending, but this was simply touching

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD NEWS!

    I HAVE EXCELLENT NEWS FOR FANS OF THIS SERIES. THE FIRST 6 PAGES ARE AVAILABLE FOR READING ON AMAZON.COM. SO FAR SO GOOD. CANNOT WAIT FOR THE BOOK TO FINALLY COME OUT! AHHHHHH! BEEN WAITING SOOOOOO LONG. IT WILL BE EPIC. LOVE IT. GET READY TO READ :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CAN'T WAIT

    I CAN'T WAIT TO THE BOOK COMES OUT I JUST FINISH READING LEAVING PARADISE AND HOPE THIS BOOK IS AS GOOSD AS THE FIRST AND I CANT WAIT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS BECAUSE THAY ARE LIKE THE BEST FICTIONALE BOOK CHARECTHERS SINCE BELLA AND EDWARD FROM TWILLIGHT AND BRITTANY AND ALEX FROM PERFECT CHEMISRTY ANOTHER BOOK BY SIMONE AND HOPE TO READ MORE TYPES OF BOOK LIKE THESE FROM HER

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So excited for Return to Paradise

    I cannot wait for the sequel!! I am excited to see what will happen between Maggie and Caleb. They have to be one of the best fictional couples I have ever read about, their story draws you right in. I loved how Caleb fell so in love with Maggie. I know that Simone Elkeles will deliver an incredible sequel and hopefully a wonderful ending for Maggie and Caleb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Long and drags

    Plot is good but its long and drawn out and a tad boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhh

    I cant wait to buy it and read it! i loved the first one ,leaving paradise, i read it in one day i couldnt put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The sequel to LEAVING PARADISE circles around Maggie, Caleb and

    The sequel to LEAVING PARADISE circles around Maggie, Caleb and the accident…again. There might still be the need to talk about Maggie and Caleb’s feelings and the events of the past, but sometimes their conversations just felt like a revision of the LEAVING PARADISE talk.
    Now Maggie and Caleb are forced to spend a four week trip together to talk about their experiences with drunk driving. Time to sort out their differences one could think, but to me it felt like Maggie and Caleb seem to be stuck in their old dialogues and actions. It’s not like in LEAVING PARADISE where they made progress by approaching the other. In RETURN TO PARADISE they are caught in a silly loop and unnecessary frictions, pushing the other away and letting him get close again.
    New about this part of their story is that they join four other teens on their trip. They are Matt, Erin, Trish and Lenny. These teens have stories of their own, that are definitely worth hearing. Thanks to them and their refreshing personalities RETURN TO PARADISE doesn’t feel like a total dragging read. My favourite character in this novel might be Lenny with his ridiculously funny actions and jokes.
    I didn’t really need a sequel after LEAVING PARADISE, but I’d already got it and so I made myself read it. There are some things that could have been solved faster. In the end I was content that the story came to a decent end.

    THE VERDICT

    RETURN TO PARADISE - A decent but unnecessary sequel. RETURN TO PARADISE promises more talk about the accident and its consequences, luckily with a few funny and fresh character cast additions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    So good!

    I loved this and the first one! Read it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    THE BEST BOOK

    I couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Loved the first book & this one!

    Elkeles does a great job of creating intense emotional conflict with her characters. Her dialogue makes you feel the pain, confusion, and desire the characters are feeling. I read this in two days, after finishing the first book in two days - Leaving Paradise, which I enjoyed equally as much. The story moves at a fast pace, no dull moments - couldn't wait to turn the page. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Loved this book

    This book is better than the first one very much worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Love this!

    Grear read! Its so worth reading. Def. Read this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This is truly one of my favorite books.


    •AS•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this book way more than Leaving Paradise. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19