Customer Reviews for

Return to Sender

Average Rating 3.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

engaging contemporary

When Rosalind Townsend was seventeen years old she learned what she considered a life lesson about men and responsibly. Pregnant, her affluent one night stand partner in Atlanta Nick Pemberton deserts her by returning her letters unopened; while her abusive ultra pious...
When Rosalind Townsend was seventeen years old she learned what she considered a life lesson about men and responsibly. Pregnant, her affluent one night stand partner in Atlanta Nick Pemberton deserts her by returning her letters unopened; while her abusive ultra pious father kicks her to the Georgia dirt as no Jezebel will live under his roof. Against the odds, she makes a life for herself and her Will.

Almost two decades later, when NYU accepts Will as a freshman, Lin accompanies her son from Georgia to the Big Apple. Lin runs into now millionaire CEO married Nick; in a pique of avenging anger she wants him to pay with a disruption to his perfect life for the offspring he rejected years ago.

Although over the top of the three stacked Empire State Buildings, Fern Michael fans will enjoy this engaging contemporary soap opera with a couple of more soapy spins re Nick, his wife and his doctor. Readers will admire Lin who has come a long way from Miss Stinky Pants' child abuse victim to being a great mom and dad to Will, but still seeks revenge with the wealthy northerner who ignored her plea to help care for her unborn.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Do not waste time or money on this one

Unrealistic! Main character was a waitress who buys a diner in a SMALL town yet can spend hundreds of thousands of dollars, but wants revenge on her baby daddy for not taking care of them financially. Ending is crap and leaves you hanging.

posted by Tbrown69 on November 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    engaging contemporary

    When Rosalind Townsend was seventeen years old she learned what she considered a life lesson about men and responsibly. Pregnant, her affluent one night stand partner in Atlanta Nick Pemberton deserts her by returning her letters unopened; while her abusive ultra pious father kicks her to the Georgia dirt as no Jezebel will live under his roof. Against the odds, she makes a life for herself and her Will.

    Almost two decades later, when NYU accepts Will as a freshman, Lin accompanies her son from Georgia to the Big Apple. Lin runs into now millionaire CEO married Nick; in a pique of avenging anger she wants him to pay with a disruption to his perfect life for the offspring he rejected years ago.

    Although over the top of the three stacked Empire State Buildings, Fern Michael fans will enjoy this engaging contemporary soap opera with a couple of more soapy spins re Nick, his wife and his doctor. Readers will admire Lin who has come a long way from Miss Stinky Pants' child abuse victim to being a great mom and dad to Will, but still seeks revenge with the wealthy northerner who ignored her plea to help care for her unborn.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Baffled

    Just read the paperback book. I'm not really sure what I think of the story. I thought Fern Michaels is a romance author. Where's the romance? This is all about hatred and revenge. There was not much about her relationship with Evan. There are too many loose ends here. Did Nick live or die? What happened with Chelsea? Even though I had reservations about the story, I couldn't seem to put it down. I am still disappointed in the whole experience. This is my first book by this author. Not sure if I'll read another.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Do not waste time or money on this one

    Unrealistic! Main character was a waitress who buys a diner in a SMALL town yet can spend hundreds of thousands of dollars, but wants revenge on her baby daddy for not taking care of them financially. Ending is crap and leaves you hanging.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Highly recommend

    If you are a dreamer and a romantic this book is for you. It shows that when you are at your lowest in life -stay focus and your hard work will pay back 100%. Good reading it kind of left me wanting to read more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Unrealistic and the ending was stupid and left you hanging. I do

    Unrealistic and the ending was stupid and left you hanging. I do not recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I love this book......

    this was a very good book. I wish it had a part 2

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tell The Truth

    Rosalind Townsend know as Lin realized she was pregnant at seventeen and was thrown out of her home by her religious and vicious father. The baby's father Nick Pemberton has no idea he is about to become a dad as all the letters come back "Return To Sender"
    This is a wonderful story of how Lin has lived her life for nineteen years and scarified to get to where she is in live at this point.
    Her son Will her pride and joy is going off to NYU and it is at a banquet dinner that the guest speaker is none other then Will's father.
    Fate had thrown Nick a bad diagnosis although he is a millionaire and CEO of the family business.

    Lin has decided she wants to seek some revenge on what this man has done to her and does not realize at the beginning that he is a sick man who might not have long to live and a son whom he never met.

    She has to decide whether or not to come clean with the lie she has told Will which was that his father died when he was younger and wondering if he will every forgive her for keeping this secret from him.

    It is one of Ms. Michaels most sensational books ever and once you start it you won't be able to put it down. A must read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    very disappointed

    This book started off good but it was so very repetitive, I was just skimming parts of the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    It's OK

    I just finished reading this book. I was really into it until the last chapter two or three chapters. I was disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Quick read

    Good book to go through quickly. Repetitive in going over the same thing 2 times or more in several chapters. Otherwise the story was ok, the characters you did not get a clear picture of them, they were hollow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    Love to read!

    This book is Okay but not great. Lagging at times, but you will want to finish it! Still glad that I read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I really enjoyed this book overall.

    Fern Michaels is always a fun author. She does a nice job at keeping the reader interested in this page turning book. You learn about the past and how the story starts its base, but then you are suddenly involved in the life of the main charachter, her son, her best friend and other surprise charachters to meet along the way. There is a bit of mystery, a nice level of romance and the suspense of what will happen next is a terrific summe read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Love

    Read this book a few years ago , but still remember it was a great ad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    This book is not a romance.  It is a book about a single mom out

    This book is not a romance.  It is a book about a single mom out for revenge on the dad of her now grown 
    18 year old son.  The heroine and the son's father were neither one likable characters.  The love interest if you 
    can call him that, is a doctor Lin meets and with in a couple of HOURS, they fall in LOVE/LUST. Not believable at
    all.  The story is written with so many cliche's.  The story lines are not all tied up by the end of the book.  The title
    Return to Sender, is because all the letters Lin had written to tell the dad about his son were returned.  At the
    end of the book she finally notices "address unknown" on the envelopes.  She carries these letters around in
    a briefcase and has never notices that the "address unknown" is on the envelopes?? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn¿t finish it! Heck, I barely made it a third of the way

    I couldn’t finish it! Heck, I barely made it a third of the way through this book. It’s all due to Ms. Michael’s writing skills but I so tremendously detested Nick Pemberton and got so caught up in wanting Lin to just walk away and keep living the lie that I couldn’t read further. It was just way too stressful & emotional for me to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Recommend

    Nice book. Easy to read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Oh Boo Hoo Hoo, her baby daddy didn't give her support so she re

    Oh Boo Hoo Hoo, her baby daddy didn't give her support so she resorts to criminal behavior with her dumb arse friend to pay him back??!!!

    HATED IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Great Read!

    Rosalind is pregnant and rejected by both the father of the baby and her parents and kicked out of the house. She is determined to succeed. 19 years later she escorts her son to college at NYU and encounters the father of her son. He is a successful CEO and she means to have revenge. There is so much intrigue and romance in the story, that it was very hard to put down. There is so much adventure that you will have to read it to find the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Nope.

    I purchased this book on my nook it wouldnt show up, called customer service and they couldnt get it to work either... still waiting for my refund for th book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Very repetitive, plus it's contradictory: "She always knew

    Very repetitive, plus it's contradictory: "She always knew this moment would come," followed the next page by, "She never in her wildest dreams imagined something like this would happen" - discussing the very same event!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6