Customer Reviews for

Return to Sender

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Julia Alvarez's new book, RETURN TO SENDER, explores the issue of illegal immigration. Two twelve-year-olds share their connected stories involving this politically sensitive subject. <BR/><BR/>Tyler's family runs a dairy farm. Up until the sudden death of his grandfather and then his father's farming accident, things had been going well. Now that his older brother is leaving for college, there isn't enough help around to do all that needs doing on the farm. <BR/><BR/>Tyler returns from a visit to his aunt and uncle's to learn that some new folks have moved into the trailer next door. The new people include a Mexican man, his two brothers, and his three daughters. There seems to be some secret about their presence on the farm that Tyler doesn't understand. They have started helping with the milking and other chores and seem to be a big help for his father; however, his mother seems hesitant to reveal too much information about the family. <BR/><BR/>From comments around town and the little bit Tyler overhears from his parents' discussions, he finally realizes that they might actually be breaking the law. The new workers are in the U.S. illegally. According to the information Tyler has gathered, not only could these new workers be arrested, but his parents could also be found guilty because they've hired the undocumented workers. Even though they seem to be saving the farm, they could bring more trouble than they are worth. <BR/><BR/>When school begins in September, Tyler learns that Mari, the oldest daughter, will be in his class. They begin talking and Tyler discovers that Mari is shy but friendly. As their friendship grows, he finds himself not thinking about her questionable status in his country; that is, until she becomes the victim of several cruel bullies in his class. In his attempt to defend Mari, he and his family also become a target. Tyler experiences some difficult times as he struggles to understand loyalty to friends, family, and country. <BR/><BR/>Mari's voice is heard through letters and diary entries as she recounts her view of living in the United States. Love for her own country and her appreciation for what the U.S. has to offer are both clear as she reacts to the situations around her. <BR/><BR/>RETURN TO SENDER presents a sympathetic view of the plight of illegal immigrants. It portrays their desire for a better life as well as the help they provide for struggling small farm owners. Though the issue is much more complicated, perhaps this book's message could give today's politicians something to think about.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Sooooooo Good

    Soooo good!!!! Once i started reading it i just couldnt stop reading!! This book teaches you that just because someones looks different on the outside, doesnt mean that they are different on the inside. You can be friends with anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Friendship Beyond Borders.

    *Gives insight into Operation Return to Sender instituted by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (a.k.a. ICE or La migra to some) in 2006. *Emotional. *Heart-wrenching. *A real eye-opener. *Offers an education about what may happen to workers without legal papers. *Learn the meaning of "La Golondrina," esperanza, and what a "coyote" is, and not the animal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    THIS BOOK WAS A VERY DEEP AND TOUCHING READ

    RETURN TO SENDER presents a symphathetic view of the plight of illegal immigrants.It portrays their desire for a better life as well as the help they provide for struggling small farm owners.Though the issue is much more complicated,perhaps this book`s message could give todays politicians something to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    School Reading

    I had to read this for school and was not a ver big fan at the beginning. It got a little better towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I love this book!

    My mom got me the paper back and when she read it to the end i allmost cried!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I think this book dealt with a lot of issues we see going on tod

    I think this book dealt with a lot of issues we see going on today. Reading through the eyes of children as narrators helped to simplify the problem. If we all looked at this issue with pure hearts like these narrators, it wouldn’t be so complicated. As she talks of all the problems she has, from her mother’s absence to her homesickness and loneliness, I felt for her. Nobody should have to deal with these issues, let alone a young girl. Seeing the friendliness of Tyler and all of his family toward Mari’s family showed me that everyone out there can show compassion toward the unfortunate. After all, we’re all people on this earth. We’re all trying to make a living. We all have a voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    My favorite read this book hits along the lines of illegal immig

    My favorite read this book hits along the lines of illegal immigration and is a bit confusing as you try to connect the characters, but overall is a great read. Once you start reading it's extremely hard to stop. I would suggest this book for middle school students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Many children┬┐s books due take on a fairytale quality where they

    Many children’s books due take on a fairytale quality where they keep children nestled in a cocoon of safety well hidden away from the troubles and problems of the world. Return to Sender is a book that will open up the eyes of young readers to some of the issues and problems of illegal immigration. The book uses a mix of two cultures to tell the story of friendship and hard circumstances that befall two families from very different worlds. This chapter book also gives and insight to some of the Hispanic culture through the uses of their holidays. While a good way to introduce children to diversity of culture parents might be cautioned of how the controversial issue of illegal immigration is presented in this book. Though the books first few chapters starts out slow and there are sections that don’t seem to fit in the book it turns out to be a bit worth the wait in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    A Must Read!

    Return to Sender has got to be one of my favorite books. It shows the courage of a young mexican girl and what she would do to help her family in a tragic time of need. It is definitely a book that I would recommend for any Junior High Student. Julia Alvarez did a wonderful job in explaining the world of an immigrant from Mexico and the traditions of a mexican family. It shows the perfect example of diversity and how two completely different families can come together in a time of need and love each other despite their differences. This book is amazing and heart warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Caught in the Middle

    Return to Sender was a great read! Whether you have a political or an emotional connection with the topic of illegal immigration you will thoroughly enjoy this book. Alvarez captures her characters emotional struggles effortlessly. This book will have you both laughing and crying. Julia Alvarez found a great balance between the hot topic of illegal immigration in America and the hardships to do whatever it takes for your family. I found it easy to get drawn into Return the Sender and eager to find out what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Tugs at your heart strings :')

    Alvarez really does a great job at describing the very real issue about illegal immigration through a fictional story about a family of 3 daughters, a mother, father and some uncles who come to America in hopes of a better future. they are taken in by a wonderful American family in the process of learning about each other, they all become a family. They are helping each other out in different ways and they grow together in many ways, the story takes some twists and turns that are unexpected, so the book never gets boring. I could not put it down and some of the descriptions of the challenges this family goes through in being illegal in America are descriptive and a little graphic, so I would not share this book with an elementary class, I think it is better suited for an early juvenile teen. It is a great and interesting way to introduce the real issue of illegal immigration here in America. Very good read and even a little bit of a tear jerker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Such a sweet story I loved the friendship that forms between Mar

    Such a sweet story
    I loved the friendship that forms between Mari and Tyler. In today's world with so many issues it was nice to see that these two could still be friends despite of everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Ok

    I would give it a 3 star rating because, i dont like the way its written. It has somewhat of a narrarator. And the narrarator says stuff like tyler watches as ..... happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Amazing!

    This book is amazing! I read it for Battle of the Books and it was very touching. Julia Alvarez is a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    yea its ok

    well when i first got it i expected nothing like it... which i guess is a good thing? overall it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Beautiful Story!

    After Tyler's father's accident, the family must hire undocumented workers to maintain the farm so they don't forclose on thier land. Amoungst these undocumented workers is a father of three daughters who were born in America but have no papers. Tyler befriends Mari, the oldest of the three girls, and soon finds that although they're different in many ways they can still have a bond that neither will ever forget.
    This story truly captivated me, being of Mexican descent. I felt a strong connection to Mari-the oldest of three sisters trying to cope with the unknown whereabouts of their mother after re-entering the United States from Mexico to be with her family- because of how she had to become the role of mother and having to mature faster than any child should. I was always on the edge of my seat worrying that the family would be discovered and deported back to Mexico to a world of violence and poverty. Aside from the suspense of them getting caught there is the constant question of where Mari's mother is. Throughout the book she writes to her mother telling her about everything that is going on, but never sends them because her father doesn't want any trace back to their whereabouts. This book is a great story for children who want to learn more about culture and what it means to be a migrant. I think it would be a great story to have in a classroom library when teaching students about issues dealing with immigration and heritage. I truly loved this story and will probably never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3