BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Return to Summerhouse (Summerhouse Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great installment

    I finished the book in one day and I love it! After a few not-so-great books, it seems that Jude Deveraux finally got her groove back. The book included lots of elements from her previous stories told, which made her a household name.<BR/>If you enjoyed the first book, "The Summerhouse," then you would most probably love "Return to Summerhouse." The book kept the original theme from "Summerhouse", which were three women who needed a good change in their present lives. This time though, Jude Deveraux mixed in some elements from her novel, "A Knight in Shining Armor," and the book flowed.<BR/>There is romance, humor, and even a bit of history in this. ALMOST a historical romance. And I found that I liked most of the characters in this story: Amy, Zoe, Faith, Russell, Tristan, and ESPECIALLY Stephen. (I mean, every women in the story swooned at the sight of Stephen's picture, right? *joke*)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging tale

    The three women suffer from recent distress that leaves each feeling the anguish and pain. Following a miscarriage, a depressed Amy soul searchingly looks at her marriage with Stephen and their offspring with sadness. Widow Faith feels guilt for not grieving for her husband Eddie, but for another man Ty whom she last saw sixteen years ago. Artist Zoe is a pariah in her hometown, but an accident has left her with amnesia so is unsure why.-------------- Each runs away from their woes ending up as ¿Jeanne¿s Crazies¿ at a summerhouse in Maine. They meet the enigmatic sisters Madame Zoya and Primrose, who have the talent to transport a person back in time to correct a destiny that has gone off kilter. Amy wants to go back to eighteenth century England, but needs hesitant Zoe and Faith to accompany her. She believes they can rectify the past to find happiness in the future.---------------- The RETURN TO SUMMERHOUSE is an engaging tale built on the same premise as the first trip to the magical Maine location if you can go back to correct the past would you and what are the consequences in the current present. The three female guests are fully developed nice people while the siblings continue with their aura of mysticism. Although the trips between present and past and back to the present seem abrupt readers will enjoy this fine time travel character study of three strangers. Each seeks the same goal of rectifying what they respectively consider a big mistake in their lives but though having nothing similar between them forge forever friendships.------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Disappointing too like the 1 st one

    Could' t getinto to that one either

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Fabulous!

    Loved both of the summerhouse books very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    She did it again

    This book was as good as the first Summerhouse. I loved the concepts. It really makes you think about your own life and what you would change if you could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Fantastic read! Could not put it down! I highly recommend this b

    Fantastic read! Could not put it down! I highly recommend this book as well as The Summerhouse. I love the idea of being able to go back in time, do things differently, and then chose which life you'd keep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Love-love-love this book and the previous one too. Please, Ms. D

    Love-love-love this book and the previous one too. Please, Ms. Deveraux, continue with the Summerhouse series. :) Can not put these books down. Wonderful-wonderful stories, very engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    If you already read the first book in this series, the second on

    If you already read the first book in this series, the second one is a little different in that the characters do not already know each other when they all arrive. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this difference, but I ended up enjoying it quite a bit. Amy, Faith and Zoe are complete strangers when they each arrive and in the beginning of the book, I found myself thinking these women would have a hard time bonding or relating to one another.




    Each woman carries a large amount of grief, pain and bitterness in their lives and it takes several chapters before I fully understood how much these women needed one another. When I read a book, I usually associate with just one character. As I learned more about each character and their back-story, I discovered I cared about all three of them in very different ways and loved how connected they were without any of them realizing how much.




    The only flaw I had with this book is the ending seemed a little rushed after all of the detail spent in the past. I would have liked to witness Faith and Zoe’s experiences first-hand instead of after the fact. Even still, the story was beautifully written and the characters are people you really are rooting for. 




    If you enjoyed the first book, I highly recommend this one. For me, Return To Summerhouse was an enjoyable return to the magic that I experienced when I read the first book. This was a very good story with a wonderful message of hope and love for three women who appear to be damaged beyond repair. 




    If you haven’t read the first book, I think you could still read and enjoy this one without reading the first story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Norma

    Such a great book read first book and was taken away. I just couldn't put the book down. Wish it could be true. Execellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Return to Summerhouse! Just a fantastic read - just as good as

    Return to Summerhouse! Just a fantastic read - just as good as Summerhouse! This is the first time I have read any of her books (these two consecutively). I will be checking out her other books and hope she comes out with another Summerhouse book or books in the future. They're really different and alot of fun to read - can't put them down. Great Author!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    I have enjoyed many of Jude Deveraux's books but was so disappoi

    I have enjoyed many of Jude Deveraux's books but was so disappointed with this one. I found myself skimming through the book after about half way through just to see how the book ended, then was left very disappointed. Def. would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended- its great!

    Wow to me it's better then the first. She did a great job and the details made the story come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So-so

    It wasn't as good as the first book of the series, but it wasn't horrible either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Sweet and fun

    I read The Summerhouse ever year. I love it. When I came across this book, I had to buy it. I think it's a sweet play off the orginal. The ending seemed to go faster then I would have liked. I would recommend this book. It was fun to read new characters having the same expierence as the orginal characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    decent book

    Return to Summerhouse is a decent book. You need to pay attention because the story jumps around a lot. I bought this because I read The Summerhouse and thought this would be just as good. I love Jude Deveraux but she seemed to be a little bit off her game with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the first one...

    This is a good book as far as sequels go, but I prefer The Summerhouse. I think the characters and the story in general is better in the original. Definitely a book that should've stopped with 1, but, all in all, I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A truly fun read

    I have read books by this author that I didn't find nearly so interesting, so I was pleased with this book. The story immediately drew me in, because the three characters had all experienced a personal tragedy. Also, there was an interesting love story that hooked me almost immediately and there were enough plot twists to keep it interesting. The ending was not completely expected and I read this book in less than two days, because I couldn't put it down. Though parts of the book required imagination, like traveling through time, it was a fun read and I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Getting better

    This is one of her better books. May get frustrated at some points at the character's decision, but over all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    I enjoyed returning to the house

    I loved this book. I had read The Summerhouse years ago and fell in love with the plot and characters. I was in an airport bookstore when I looked down and saw Return to the Summerhouse. Without even reading the back, I knew I had to read it. I read it in a few short days. Once I started, I had a hard time putting it down to go to bed or work. I love the time travel romance. I hope she returns us to Maine soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Typical of author, thank goodness

    I never thought she could touch the first summerhouse but this was as good! Love her and her unique style. Wish there were more like her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3