Customer Reviews for

Revealing Eden (Save the Pearls, Part One)

Average Rating 2.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This book is set in a futuristic Earth where the deterioration o

This book is set in a futuristic Earth where the deterioration of the ozone layer has poisoned most humans with radiation. Resistance to the overheated environment now defines class and beauty. The darker one’s skin is, the higher they are regarded.
Eden Newm...
This book is set in a futuristic Earth where the deterioration of the ozone layer has poisoned most humans with radiation. Resistance to the overheated environment now defines class and beauty. The darker one’s skin is, the higher they are regarded.
Eden Newman is the seventeen year old daughter of a high ranking scientist and while her skills in the lab have protected her, that is about to change. Eden is a Pearl; her white skin makes her a second class citizen in this post-apocalyptic world. If her mating option isn’t picked up by a dark skinned Coal, Eden will be exiled to the brutal sun baked surface to die.
Eden is willing to go to any length to ensure her survival and she makes many mistakes that set events into motion that change her entire life. Everything she thought she knew turns out to be different and she struggles to keep up with her ever changing world.

I very much enjoyed this book! Foyt develops the character wonderfully and while I may not have done the things Eden did, I understand her reasons as a desperate teenager. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but all of Eden preconceived notions are challenged and if she has the strength to see it though, she could be happier than she’d ever dreamed. The male lead in this book is a Coal named Bramford and I absolutely loved him as a character! He is mysterious and foul tempered and very controlling. But as I was drawn further into this amazing book, the reasons for his behavior were revealed. I am a big fan of the ‘why’ in books, and Foyt does not disappoint.
I received a review copy of this book and was delighted to find that it was a signed hard cover copy. The cover art is captivating and unique. It came with a post card and a bracelet. This book holds a special place on my shelf and I will cherish it for many years to come. I loved that it dealt with a multitude of themes in a fresh and unique way and I would eagerly recommend this book to anyone looking for a bit of escape into another world.


posted by Mandi_Browning on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

WARNING WARNING *blinking red signs* This is just completely ra

WARNING WARNING *blinking red signs*

This is just completely racist, I read a lot of excerpts and I had to laugh to keep from crying or puking. Not only is the whole premise extremely offensive (blackface, "others", "the rest of them") and wrong (me...
WARNING WARNING *blinking red signs*

This is just completely racist, I read a lot of excerpts and I had to laugh to keep from crying or puking. Not only is the whole premise extremely offensive (blackface, "others", "the rest of them") and wrong (melanin does not actually act as any kind of decent sunscreen) but the narrative development is atrocious. I swear if this turns into a best-seller someone will have to stop me from throwing myself off a cliff.

posted by Simone_Maia on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    This book is set in a futuristic Earth where the deterioration o

    This book is set in a futuristic Earth where the deterioration of the ozone layer has poisoned most humans with radiation. Resistance to the overheated environment now defines class and beauty. The darker one’s skin is, the higher they are regarded.
    Eden Newman is the seventeen year old daughter of a high ranking scientist and while her skills in the lab have protected her, that is about to change. Eden is a Pearl; her white skin makes her a second class citizen in this post-apocalyptic world. If her mating option isn’t picked up by a dark skinned Coal, Eden will be exiled to the brutal sun baked surface to die.
    Eden is willing to go to any length to ensure her survival and she makes many mistakes that set events into motion that change her entire life. Everything she thought she knew turns out to be different and she struggles to keep up with her ever changing world.

    I very much enjoyed this book! Foyt develops the character wonderfully and while I may not have done the things Eden did, I understand her reasons as a desperate teenager. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but all of Eden preconceived notions are challenged and if she has the strength to see it though, she could be happier than she’d ever dreamed. The male lead in this book is a Coal named Bramford and I absolutely loved him as a character! He is mysterious and foul tempered and very controlling. But as I was drawn further into this amazing book, the reasons for his behavior were revealed. I am a big fan of the ‘why’ in books, and Foyt does not disappoint.
    I received a review copy of this book and was delighted to find that it was a signed hard cover copy. The cover art is captivating and unique. It came with a post card and a bracelet. This book holds a special place on my shelf and I will cherish it for many years to come. I loved that it dealt with a multitude of themes in a fresh and unique way and I would eagerly recommend this book to anyone looking for a bit of escape into another world.


    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    A well-balanced blend of dystopia, adventure romance, fantasy and sci-fi

    Revealing Eden is one of the most amazing dystopian novels! It has a truly unique concept, an awesome post-apocalyptic setting, and tons of suspense that build into a deliciously romantic storyline that is capricious yet fulfilling to read. The book’s cover drew me in, and then I went to the website and checked out all the cool book trailers. SERIOUSLY, I have never seen such cool videos for a book. Super thought-provoking and intriguing—I had to see what this book was about.

    In a future world where the sun overheats and kills millions of people with light skin in a “Great Meltdown,” the remaining population is immersed a racist scenario where the stereotypes of the 20th century are completely turned upside down. “Pearls” are the light-skinned people, who are seen as lowly and inferior to “Coals,” whose darker skin protects them from the sun’s fatal, blistering rays. In an effort to manage resources, the population is forced to mate by a certain age. The protagonist, Eden Newman, is a Pearl whose 18th birthday is around the corner. If she doesn’t mate by then, she’ll be cast out into The Heat, her resources cut off and left to die.

    Without getting too far into the very creative plot, I have to say I was completely riveted by this novel! Author Victoria Foyt is a master at building tension and creating a dramatic character arc—Revealing Eden is a serious page-turner. In the beginning, you feel sorry for Eden but at the same time, frustrated. By the end, she evolves into a true heroine and a woman to be reckoned with. The fantasy romance element of it throws you for a serious loop and has the perfect amount of tension to keep it PG-13, but not boring. At All.

    Revealing Eden has a well-balanced blend of adventure romance, sci-fi, suspense, mystery and dystopian elements. What I think is most important about this book is that it really makes you think about the world we live in and appreciate what we have.

    I cannot wait to read the rest of the Save the Pearls series!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    A gripping page turner

    Revealing Eden is brilliantly paced—it’s such a page turner and is extremely difficult to put down. I just kept thinking “One more chapter—one more chapter.”

    What I love about dystopian novels is their ability to make us look at ourselves and what the world can become if we’re not willing to change—and author Victoria Foyt gets the reader to do exactly that. The premise of a post-apocalyptic world where, after a “Great Meltdown,” humans with lighter skin, aka Pearls, are at the bottom of the caste/class system due to a lack of melanin to protect them from the radiation given off by the overheated sun. Pearls are considered the lowest of the low and ugly, which makes it hard for them to survive, since due to limited resources and a government mandate, women must mate by their 18th birthday and men by their 24th or 25th.

    The main character, Eden Newman, is on the verge of her 18th and desperate to find a mate so she can survive. Since she’s in a secret relationship with a highly desirable man of a dark skinned race, aka the Coals, Eden hopes that she may have a chance, until a betrayal and misunderstanding throws her entire world into chaos.

    I related to Eden very well and loved figuring things out at the same she did during the book. She grows immensely throughout, learning to accept herself and realize that she is actually beautiful. And in a world where true love seems to be a myth, she discovers that it may actually exist. The plot is well-crafted and extremely unique, and all the characters are believable.

    The descriptions in the book are amazing and thorough, yet enjoyable to read and don’t overload you. The elements of tension are incredible, which is what I think makes it such a page turner. It was hard not to think about how horrifying society could easily become—a world of extreme racism and danger caused by a deteriorated environment.

    Foyt is now one of my favorite new authors! I can’t wait for the second installment of Save the Pearls and look forward to what else she has in store.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    With dystopian books on the rise it’s difficult to find so

    With dystopian books on the rise it’s difficult to find something that sways away from kill or be killed situations. I know that it’s common to put love and romance on the back burner in the dystopian genre. Let’s face it, that’s not always the focal point to grabbing that particular audience. Revealing Eden crosses that line with superior story telling and gives the dystopian genre an opportunity to entice the romantics who shun away from the typical end of the world novels.

    This can be easily compared to the classic story of Beauty and the Beast. But Beauty didn’t have an identity crisis and Beast wasn’t exactly okay with his transition. There is a much bigger picture with their story—seriously, much bigger, because there will be a second book in the series entitled Adapting Eden that I can’t wait to read. Victoria Foyt’s Revealing Eden has an opportunity to gain an audience of women who don’t usually read teen books and another by enticing non-dystopian readers who are romantics at heart. So for Earth’s sake read Revealing Eden and don’t be left behind.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    This Review Will Be Up On the Blog Soon!

    Eden's is a white skinned girl, racially slurred as a "Pearl" by the darker skinned, more desirable, people ("Coals"). In this world it's not so great being a blond bombshell, because Pearls are more susceptible to catching a disease called `The Heat' from exposure to the Sun. For this reason, darker skinned people are trying to breed them out entirely and treat them really poorly.

    Eden works in a laboratory with her father, who is a super smart scientist working on the cure to `The Heat' (Hence the subtitle, Save the Pearls). She accidently screws up her father's experiment though and, as a result, her boss/ future love interest Branford is turned into a super sexy Jaguar creature.

    Branford, Eden, and her father end up being chased into the last rainforest on Earth in order to escape the Federation of Free People, a group of Coals that are trying to make Pearls extinct. It's there that Eden has to decide whether she can trust Branford, and maybe find love, or if she should betray him in an effort to Save the Pearls.

    All in all, this book was a really great read. I loved the sexual tension between Branford and Eden! Foyt really kept me guessing the whole time too, which is one of the things I loved most about it. Once I started reading it, I just couldn't put it down. It moves super fast and I just couldn't wait to see what happened next. I also really liked that the plot was so complex, but I still got it.

    I think the most important part is that, once I was finished reading it, I realized that it had a message about beauty and racism. Eden needed to learn about accepting herself, which is something I think my friends and I all work on pretty much all the time. I really related to her character and liked that she changed a lot by the end. All in all, this book was awesome!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    This is a fantastic book. It is a very original piece of work ab

    This is a fantastic book. It is a very original piece of work about a girl named Eden that lives in a post apocolyptic world where everyone lives underground to avoid the over heated atmosphere. People are discriminated against for having light skin, like Eden, they are called Pearls. And if they do not mate by the age of 18, they are sent outside to die in the heat. Eden is just a few short months from turning 18. Will she find a mate in time?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The world has changed in so many ways. Ruled by those who can wi

    The world has changed in so many ways. Ruled by those who can withstand the deadly solar rays, those with the lightest skin are considered to be the lowest of the low. Eden Newman knows this within every fiber of her being. Yet she's done her best to fit in ever since she can remember. Adopting the artificial coating that gives her protection against the world outside, she's struggled to make the most of what life has given her.

    Acceptance of who and what she is, however, has been hard to come by. Her only option is to find someone who would be willing to mate with her, thus boosting her potential as a worthwhile citizen within the new world. This, unfortunately, is easier said than done. Nonetheless, she's intent on using the resources around her to gain the upper hand and find the happiness that's eluded her for so long.

    When she unwittingly stumbles upon a plot to overthrown those in charge, she takes it upon herself to thwart the plans that have been set in place. Betrayed by the one she's loved, she knows he must be stopped before he can cause further damage. Taking matters into her own hands, she inadvertently puts her life and that of her father and the head of the facility in harms way. When their safety is compromised, they're forced into dangers path in hopes of finding a salvation that seems to elude them at every turn.

    Forced to confront the secrets of her past, Eden finds it impossible to accept the changes that have now been forced upon her. Even more disturbing is the fact that she's now drawn to Bramford himself. As she struggles to overcome her doubts and insecurities, she comes to understand that there's a larger world out there than the one she left behind. A world she intends to embrace with open arms, no matter the consequences.

    I truly enjoyed this book. It drew me in from the moment I began reading and couldn't put the book down until I got to the very end. Victoria painted a vivid picture of what this post-apocalyptic world would be like. She made me us feel Eden's hopes, her dreams, her feelings, her passions, everything that made her who she was. I think she did a brilliant job in fleshing out her characters and the world around them. This is a book that I'll definitely be reading again. I truly recommend reading it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    All I can say about Revealing Eden is...WOW!

    What a great concept. In the future the Earth is too hot for humanity to exist on the planet’s surface and people of darker, melanin-rich skin are the ruling class. Ouch - all of a sudden it’s not so easy being a blonde, blue eyed, bombshell anymore! (ha ha suckers!)

    Foyt does a masterful job at exploring this new paradigm. I really suffered with Eden, the main character, from the start as she dealt with racism and defining herself. She’s lonely and isolated, even by her own father, and by the time she begins to get over her self-consciousness I started to feel for her as if she was a real person.

    The romance aspect of the book is spot on too! It gets really hot, but doesn’t get out of the “PG” range. It develops nicely throughout the whole book and keeps you guessing at the same time. Without spoiling anything, I’ll just say that the love interest is purrrfect! Grrrroooowl! ;)

    Overall I give Revealing Eden 5 stars. It’s got everything I look for in a novel: action, adventure, intrigue, and a strong romance- all in perfect balance.

    I want to know when I can pre-order the sequel!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Like it a lot!

    Good stuff! It's a really light read but there is also a lot of substance to it, and some interesting themes addressed as well; race, loyalty, and most of all love.

    The premise itself is great. It's a post-apocalyptic future and people with darker skin (nicknamed "Coals") rule the Earth and oppress all of the lighter skinned races, chiefly the white people ("Pearls"). Because of population control, all the races are forced to mate by the time they turn 18 or they are killed. The main character, Eden, is a Pearl and (you guessed it!) her 18th birthday is fast approaching. Her father is a scientist and is working on an antidote that could be a salvation to the world, but is being helped by a very wealthy Coal who Eden doesn't trust. Things get even more complicated when she starts feeling emotions for this `enemy' that she never expected she could.

    Eden is an extremely relatable character. Even though she exists in a very different world than we do, she struggles with the same issues that all teens do at her age. She wants to find meaning, she wants acceptance, and she wants to be loved.

    The setting of the book is really amazing, as well. I'm a huge dystopian fan so I totally ate this stuff up.

    Overall, Revealing Eden is a great book. The author really makes it an interesting and entertaining read. (and I usually don't go for romantic stories personally)

    I hope the sequel lives up to this one's promise!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you like Dystopian you will love this book!

    I loved this book, it really took me by surprise. I am a huge Dystopian lover and read every one I can get my hands on, so when this ARC came to me I was thinking it would probably be a pretty good read but I'm usually pretty skeptical. I was very pleasantly surprised when I began reading it.

    It peaked my interest from the very first page. I had to know what would happen next to this girl who didnt fit in and for a beautiful blonde haired blue eyed girl to be the ugly one was so strange to me. It was so opposite from anything I have ever read. Like I said it really interest me right from the start.

    As I read further into the book I became totally hooked. I had to know what was going to happen next to Eden. The love aspect of the story was very good, it was not the instant love at first sight, it really blossomed over time, at least for Eden. The characters are very well written and I really like Eden, and I feel for her because of her relationship with her dad is so strange and distant. The story world is also very interesting, I mean a world where the sun is to much for most to bear and you have to live underground, and the dominate race is the ones who can survive the heat and the suns rays the best, is actually feasible. So its a believable world.

    I think Victoria Foyt has really took the Dystopian genre to a new level. She didn't just jump on the Dystopian bandwagon she grabbed the horse by the reins and took it in a whole new direction. Its a wonderful fast pace read that will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering what happens next because it is so different from every other Dystopian or post Apocalyptic book you've read, I guarantee it. But beware once you enter Eden's world you will be stuck and pining for the next installment to the Save the Pearls books (just like me)!

    I wanna thank Victoria Foyt and Sand Dollar Press Inc. for giving me the chance to read and review this really great book :)

    I give it 5 out of 5 stars!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Couldn't put it down.

    As an adult, I sometimes seek the escape of teen literature in an effort to immerse myself in less complicated plots. I was shocked and pleasantly surprised when this book not only drew me in immediately, but challenged me to think about a world not unlike ours that was changed by pollution and overuse of resources. A post-apocalyptic ride with a romantic twist, Revealing Eden centers on a young girl named Eden Newman who is about to reach an age where she must mate or die. Fair skinned and blond (a Pearl)when the ruling class is darker complected and brunette (Coals), Eden is abused at every turn for being a minority. Even the world she lives in could kill her, as the sun's rays are so powerful that many people die of "The Heat." Society has moved underground. Resources are limited. And no Pearl is safe. When a rebel force strives to use Eden in an attempt to destroy her father, a scientist experimenting with genetics to help more people thrive in these hazardous conditions, she is forced to go on the run with Dad and the one man she hates the most. What follows is a story of self discovery, survival, and ultimately finding true love. Set in both the tunnels of an underground society and a lush jungle, Revealing Eden is a must read for anyone who is a fan of post-apocalyptic literature. The moral of this book is to find your true self, a fantastic lesson for teens of all ages. As a side note, Victoria Foyt has chosen to include within this novel poetry by Emily Dickinson. The juxtaposition of the beauty and simplicity of Dickinson's poems with the harsh reality of the universe Foyt created is BEAUTIFUL. A fan of Dickinson, I was delighted to see a modern, teen lit author re-introducing these lovely poems to a new generation.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Five Stars!

    This gripping tale is impossible to put down! A grim future is one we've all likely imagined, but nothing prepares you for the determination and transformation of Eden Newman. It'll tug on your heart and inspire a new understanding and appreciation for readers young and old.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I just finished the book Revealing Eden and really enjoyed some

    I just finished the book Revealing Eden and really enjoyed some of the interesting and unique situations. It’s not very often you find a book that challenges the way we view race. Eden is the typical character who is young, looking for love, and trying to survive an increasingly hostile environment. She is referred to as a Pearl. This designation is a racial term used to classify their race as having poor survivability in the harsher climate. The Coals are literally the opposite and are able to survive “the Heat” as it is called and because of this are more appealing as mates.
    Eden runs into her first challenge as she continues to age. The society that survived the global warming that produced the Heat created a unique set of rules to ensure the continued survivability of the human race. Eden must mate before the age of 18. If she doesn’t, she loses her ability to be an asset for the human race and the remaining government secretly disposes of useless people.
    As the clock ticks Eden’s pessimism evolves to a level of activism. She does have a love interest with a Coal, but it’s a little bit of a love hate relationship. This relationship is a little more than complicated. Initially, Eden hates the man, but deep down there is a physical attraction she can’t deny.
    Eden’s father works in the lab with her love interest. They are researching animal properties that make them resistant to the sun or the heat. Things got a little heated when her love interest was turned into a half jaguar man due to experimentation. As Eden struggles through a culture that belittles her consistently, we watch her evolve from a whiny teenager to a strong woman.
    There isn’t a book I look forward to more than the sequel. With Adapting Eden coming out so soon, I had to finish this right away. It really was an amazing read, only just a little short. The characters are wonderfully described and mature through the story that makes them relatable. Adapting Eden is sure to answer so of the unanswered questions and I couldn’t be more excited!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1