Customer Reviews for

Revelation Space (Revelation Space Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Revelation Space - Takes Back Space Opera

Whether you are in the depths of Chasm City, the Rust Belt, the wilds or cities of Resurgam or aboard the lighthugger Nostalgia for Infinity there is one question-who do you trust? It's a cold universe Alastair Reynolds has devised and the secrets that everyone keeps i...
Whether you are in the depths of Chasm City, the Rust Belt, the wilds or cities of Resurgam or aboard the lighthugger Nostalgia for Infinity there is one question-who do you trust? It's a cold universe Alastair Reynolds has devised and the secrets that everyone keeps increases the value of trust a hundredfold. Beyond the personal truths that Daniel Sylveste hide about the father whose electronic ghost haunts and possesses him; of Captain Brennan barely alive disappearing under the Melding Plague yet still manipulating the crew of the Nostalgia for Infinity and Anna Khouri one time soldier, one time assassin, now carrying two artificial intelligences in her mind, lie the darkest secrets of the past of the galaxy itself. Secrets that despite the best efforts of aliens with vastly superior technology may yet come to the light of day.
In their day the Amarantin were in many ways similar to the humans of 2561- or were they? Dan Sylveste is on a personal crusade to unveil the truth about this ancient culture and there is little that will stand in his way. Even though he is mindful of the Event, a cataclysm the destroyed all life on their homeworld of Resurgam, Sylveste will push and push until he has the truth- even if the cost is another apocalypse.


Revelation Space is brilliant, complex and a challenging read. Reynolds takes the science that he is familiar with, a large interstellar backdrop and plenty of drama to create something unique. I constantly look forward to reading his work.

posted by Jeff_Y on November 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Beware. The eBook version is full of typos...

I'm about 100 pages into the story and have already come across several typos and errors in the text. I let B&N know, asking for a refund or discount and they said it was the publisher's responsibility. Ace told me it was up to B&N to give me a refund.

posted by rhussey7500 on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Revelation Space - Takes Back Space Opera

    Whether you are in the depths of Chasm City, the Rust Belt, the wilds or cities of Resurgam or aboard the lighthugger Nostalgia for Infinity there is one question-who do you trust? It's a cold universe Alastair Reynolds has devised and the secrets that everyone keeps increases the value of trust a hundredfold. Beyond the personal truths that Daniel Sylveste hide about the father whose electronic ghost haunts and possesses him; of Captain Brennan barely alive disappearing under the Melding Plague yet still manipulating the crew of the Nostalgia for Infinity and Anna Khouri one time soldier, one time assassin, now carrying two artificial intelligences in her mind, lie the darkest secrets of the past of the galaxy itself. Secrets that despite the best efforts of aliens with vastly superior technology may yet come to the light of day.
    In their day the Amarantin were in many ways similar to the humans of 2561- or were they? Dan Sylveste is on a personal crusade to unveil the truth about this ancient culture and there is little that will stand in his way. Even though he is mindful of the Event, a cataclysm the destroyed all life on their homeworld of Resurgam, Sylveste will push and push until he has the truth- even if the cost is another apocalypse.


    Revelation Space is brilliant, complex and a challenging read. Reynolds takes the science that he is familiar with, a large interstellar backdrop and plenty of drama to create something unique. I constantly look forward to reading his work.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Teriffic Space Opera

    This starts out a little slowly and is a trifle confusing for the first 75 pages (out of 650), but then picks up to a roaring, engaging pace. It's well worth the wait. I know I'll be continuing on to Nos. 2 and 3 of the series. This novel pays homage at least briefly to the Coyote series by Allen Steele. It might be somewhat helpful to have read through this series before beginning Revelation Space, but not an absolute requirement. Reynolds' writing style is unbeatable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Beware. The eBook version is full of typos...

    I'm about 100 pages into the story and have already come across several typos and errors in the text. I let B&N know, asking for a refund or discount and they said it was the publisher's responsibility. Ace told me it was up to B&N to give me a refund.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Excellent book!

    Revelation Space is a perfect example of dense, hard science fiction. There is a lot going on in this story and it all ties together very well. Cons - The main character is a bit under-developed despite flash-backs to his history. In fact all the characters take a back seat to the plot and settings. However, the universe Reynolds created is deep, fleshed out, and an excellent stage for his complex plot. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to reading the next 2 in the series very soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Great Idea Poorly Executed

    This book took entirely too long to set the stage for the ending. Furthermore, the author spent entirely too much time on Sylvestes problems with politics and too little time delving into his research and studies that led to his conclusions. The disjointed jumping back and forth between characters detracted from my enjoyment of this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    An OK first novel.

    Alastair Reynolds has done pretty well for his first novel. Revelation Space is a long book with a whole lot of content, which may be either bad or good depending on your taste. For me personally, it puts me to sleep. Quality-wise, you'd think that someone who works with the ESA (European Space Association) would know how to spell correctly. Mis-spelled words occur throughout the book. The story has several plotlines that blend together into one. However, many of the elements kept me guessing just what the history of everything was. I think many readers will feel like they're in the dark on this one, looking through a window rather than being part of the action. I would not recommend this book to those who are looking for explosive high-tech, impressive ideas and agreeable representation of the characters. I didn't find myself connecting with any of the characters in the story, and as I said earlier, the radical changes of events in the book had me in the dark on just what was going on. However, if you're looking for a long read that focuses on very imaginative ideas that will again, keep you guessing, this book is for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Amazing book!

    Best hard scifi out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    book one that will capture your imagination and not let go

    book one lays out the story line with books two and three adding even more layers, surprises, twists, turns and all that differentiates good books from great ones. one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Five star

    Easily the best SF iv read in a while. Reminds me of larry niven with a gripping plot and a nice human aspect

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Good start, weak finish.

    Culminates to nothingness...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great book - complex story line.

    This is a great book. The story line can become convoluted at times and I sometimes had to back up and recover ground in which I had missed something. However, it does keep you on your feet. The prose is very dense but not unapproachable. I have read more difficult books in terms of language usage but most of those were translations from other languages. Overall, this is a great sci-fi book and I look forward to reading the next in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Wonderful is scope

    I was looking for something broad in dimension, a true space opera I've found in the Revelation space trilogy. When an author endeavors on an 800 page book its easy to find minor criticisms. However i found that alistair used this wide canvas to paint a haunting immersive view of a distant universe in crisis. well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    A real yawner

    Much ado about nothing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Forgettable, but a decent read. Something about graduate school

    Forgettable, but a decent read. Something about graduate school has destroyed my appreciation for descriptive prose. I could not put this book down, it was exciting. However, I skipped a lot of the lengthy aesthetic portions that most readers love. I was really disappointed in the end, because it wasn't as much of a reveal for the characters as it was for me, but not in a Twilight Zone or Never Let Me Go kind of way. Most of the characters knew what was coming. The author simply skipped all the parts where characters were educated and saved it for sharing at the end. I found this contrivance to be annoying. Finally, the end wasn't interesting enough to make it memorable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    I was hopeful for this book given it's somewhat high rating (4 stars). I'm on page 453 of 552 - yes, its a long book - and have just given up and bought something else to read. The writing is decent enough. The story is kind of interesting. Throughout the story, the pace and tone stay about even. This means that as you read the beginning, it ramps up to an exciting level and stays there throughout. After, say, 300 pages, it becomes monotone. I'm looking for a little resolution along the way but what I get is slightly different conflict. The characters are all about equal: I don't hate or love any of them. Morally, I'd say they're all about on equal footing, too. Here at the end when everything is coming to a head, I don't know who I want to succeed, and I see now that it may not even matter. Here on page 453, I just don't care anymore what happens. This is sort of like watching TV when nothing is on. Watching this is better than doing the laundry, but now I'm changing the channel cuz that new show is on and its gotta be better than this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastically written

    I don't usually go for the scifi genre. It's just hard to follow (in most cases) but Alistair does a superb job of writing the imagery so you feel like you're there and keeping you on the edge of your seat. With just enough back story to keep you reading for more info and to see what happens next. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    A solid read.

    Mr. Reynolds is not for everyone. But this seris is one of the best pieces of transhuman fiction I`ve ever read. His pacing is excellent and the characters solid. A good page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An OKAY book

    My opinion of this book is that it's decent. It won't make you say, "Wow! that was great!" but it also won't make you want to tear out your hair with exasperation. The characters were ok but, I never really cared about any of them. The descriptions of the main ship where all the action took place were very uneven. I'm a careful reader, I love detail - and I couldn't tell what was going on in that stupid ship. The author had good ideas but he didn't really develop them. He had this great character - "Sun Stealer" but then he didn't do anything with it. He just used it to move the other characters around. I really wanted to know about Sun Stealer, but I was given almost nothing. Well, nothing worth having.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Excellent start to an entertaining trilogy.

    Alastair Reynolds begins the Revelation Space series with this book, the tale of an obsessed archaeologist--on the brink of discovering the secret to why humans haven't discovered any other living alien civilizations--and the cyborg Ultras who are trying to retrieve him for their own reasons. The segments following the Ultras, on their huge Conjoiner ship with less than ten people on it, are worth it for the haunted mood Reynolds creates, and the conflict between Volyova and Kouri is interesting. I actually enjoyed the way he intercut between the storylines. Admittedly, there was one section I had to re-read to understand what was going on. Otherwise, this was an enjoyable space opera (with a little hard sci-fi thrown in) and a great start to a series that gets even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6