Customer Reviews for

Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Elaine Pagels is fabulous

    Anything that Elaine Pagels writes is worth having in your library. She's a great researcher and fluid writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In her newest book, Pagels explores the history of John of Patmo

    In her newest book, Pagels explores the history of John of Patmos' Book of Revelation. She outlines what we know about John of Patmos, what he was trying to say with his preaching, and how contemporaries may have responded. The second half of the book covers the history of Christianity in the first two centuries C.E., with emphasis on Pagels' favorite topic of disparate beliefs among early groups. She completes the book with a description of how the Bible Cannon was chosen, with some suggestions about why John of Patmos' Book of Revelation was the only apocalyptic literature included. Pagels' writing is clear and interesting, though a bit repetitive--especially if you've read some of her earlier works. If you're interested in early church history, especially the disparate groups of Christians, then this is the book for you. If you're interested in apocalyptic literature in early Christian history, then the first half of this book, and the tail end, is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Very Interesting Reccomend

    If you like to know the "how did it get this way?" you will enjoy Revelations. As a teenager I read this chapter of the bible and as an adult had let it pass from my memory. I have pursued many paths to understanding and had questions about the symbolism of that chapter. This not only made sense but made me more aware of the different choices early Christians had to make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Any work by Professor Pagels is good to read. This is a popular

    Any work by Professor Pagels is good to read. This is a popular work with a great deal of depth to it. I think that I have read all of her books, though not all her published work.

    Part of what makes this book great is that this is a work that a non-believer can enjoy. The references are quite good. The level of scholarship is sound with Dr. Pagels working with a broad range of current and earlier scholarship.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Excellent writing and scholarship

    Elaine Pagels uses excellent historical scholarship by bringing the Book of Revelations into perspective for modern times. By helping us understand the times in which it was written and what was happening historically at the time, we are better able to put this book into it's proper context. She is also and excellent writer. Her prose flows and doesn't get bogged down in professorial weightiness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Not what you think it is

    I gave it three stars because of the historical coverage on the Roman Empire, and Greek's. Speaks very little of the Book of Revelations, and the little insight on symbolism the author offers is mostly incorrect. The best book to read for symbolism is "The Book of Revelations" a verse by verse description by Richard Draper.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Wise choice????? A bit of conjecture here

    I'm not sure a work on Revelations by someone who spent a great deal of time giving credence to the gnostics will be credible, since early christianity rejected the gnostic gospels out of the gate, since they had more direct links to the epistles written by the apostles. Generally, you can think of the gnostics as a group attempting to rewrite established epistles to the early churches (that is christians meeting, usually secretly, in homes.)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Learned much

    Really enjoyed this carefully resesrched book. Would've enjoyed more textual analysis of Revelation but overall does a great job showcasing the history of the Book. Give this to your fundamentalist Xian friend and watch them squirm!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Hard to write a review on a book I just ordered and have yet to

    Hard to write a review on a book I just ordered and have yet to receive

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    excellent book!

    An excellent survy om the story of the Book of Revelation.The only complaint that I have is that the chapters can sometimes gets a little long winded, however the reader that plows on will be rewarded with an excellent study on this controversial book of the bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a must check out book! Revelations in the Bible is difficult to understand, but this book makes you think about how the Bible states things. I found this book interesting in the way it states about the books in the Bible and also the "secret" books or lost books and who the authors are believed to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Boring

    Too academic for me.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2