Customer Reviews for

Revelations (Jane Perry Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Excellent book!

    This is the first fives stars I have given a book since getting my Nook 12/10. I love murder/mystery/detective books. Revelations has all that, with a blend of supernatural and slight romance thrown in! The story is well written and moves at a steady pace without "filler" descriptions of insignificant landscapes, rooms, buildings etc. I despise when an author takes three pages to describe the landscape! I am looking for my next Laurel Dewey book right now! Happy reading!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    An excellent suspenseful mystery

    Starting page 1 of Revelations was like meeting a friend I've known for a couple of years...because I've read Dewey's first and second novels in the series, Protector and Redemption. Jane Perry comes to life again in this third mystery and her persona is skillfully developed to show interesting and moving aspects of her background and personality beyond those found in the other books, including mystical experiences that add another dimension. The plot keeps the reader guessing until the final pages, so beware of suspense that keeps you up long past midnight!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Jane Perry solves her cases through her keen eye for detail, her superior deductive skills, and a little bit of the spirit world. I can't get enough of her books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good Read

    Laurel Dewey is a good writer and she keeps me engaged through the whole book. It is important to read the whole series to truly know who Jane Perry is an all she has gone through it her life. I would love to see a TV series baised on this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Jane Perry story #3 lives up to #s 1 and 2 (ebook review)

    I really like the way Laurel Dewey plots her books and is not afraid to feature flawed characters. While I thought some of the esoteric discussions between characters may have gone on a little long, the book nonetheless holds your attention. I would have given this book a 5-star rating if not for the huge number of errors throughout. The author should do herself a favor and read her ebooks before epublishing--this one is full of typos, missing words, symbols where punctuation should be, misused words, spelling errors, spacing and margin errors, and so forth, all of which are obvious. All these errors are disconcerting when you're engrossed in a book you like, and they definitely detract, reducing your enjoyment factor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Love Jane Perry Series

    The third novel in this Jane Perry Series does not disappoint. Still love Jane's character and the way she deals with people. The storyline draws you in and keeps you interested. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    loved it, it kept up with the pace of the 2 prior books in the s

    loved it, it kept up with the pace of the 2 prior books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Love love love Jane Perry character!!

    I got PROTECTOR as a free friday pick. I NEVER READ fiction. Loved Jane Perry. Then I read REDEMPTION and wanted more so I read REVELATIONS loved that I am half way through KNOWING the last full size novel and begging Ms Dewey for another novel. I am savering this as I don't want it to end.Hoping they is another novel coming soon......Thank you Laurel Dewey.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Good!

    A little dragging but great book. Gotta love that Jane!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can't wait for the next one!

    Like the last Jane Perry novel, I had trouble putting this down! It's very hard to remember that it's only a story - it just draws you into it's depth.

    I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the 'in Death', Detective DD Warren', or Catherine Coulter's FBI Series. There is foul language and intimacies but nothing overly descriptive or foul if you enjoy the series' I mentioned. The plot was fully developed and the characters real and easy to relate to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    I have become addicted to Jane Perry! Even though detective stories are not my favorite, this book and others by this author combine mystery with a supernatural flair that keeps me totally entertained! I've already pre-ordered the next book! What a grest read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The third Jane Perry police procedural is an excellent tale

    In Denver, the multi-syllable medical babble denotes one scary world to thirty-something police detective Jane Perry: cancer; cervical is very nasty but she rejects the doc's happy pills. She asks her boss Sergeant Weyler for a week off, but fails to tell him why so he says no. Instead they will work a case in nearby Midas whose police chief is Weyler's buddy.

    Fifteen year old Jake Van Gorden attempted suicide by jumping off a bridge, but instead was abducted. The family has received notes from the kidapper that imply Jake lives but none demand money or anything for that matter. Jane knows time is of the essence in a kidnapping so though she thinks the teen has set the scenario up she heads up to Midas to investigate the prime suspect, fifty-nine year old Jordan Copeland, who was released from prison seven years ago after spending over three decades behind bars for abducting and murdering a retarded boy in New Jersey. However the more she learns about Jordan, the less she believes he is guilty; but if not him who?

    The third Jane Perry police procedural (see Protector and Redemption) is an excellent tale that contains two strong subplots. The obvious first is the kidnapping as Jane follows clues that take her in odd directions away from the only suspect (besides in her mind the victim). The second focuses on Jane's personal life as she struggles with her health scare (her mom died at an early age from cancer), her attraction to bar owner Hank, and Revelations that shake her core foundation. Laurel Dewey writes a super investigative thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Wonderful

    Everyone has rated this book as very good. I need not say what it is about so I must say that I liked it enough that I'm going to read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good story.

    These mysteries are very good. I like the protagonist, prickly character though she is. I recommend this good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. THIS IS A MUST READ! BUY IT NOW!

    I have had the privilege to read the first 2 Laurel Dewey books in the Jane Perry series. Laurel's writing style has a way of drawing you into her characters lives & situations that they become almost real! I have recommended her books to my family & friends and they agree her stories mesmerize you. Once you start it's very hard to stop reading them!

    I just purchased the latest edition to the Jane Perry saga, Revelations & all I can say is WOW! Laurel has written another extraordinary book. This has a different angle than the first two yet it still intertwines with the previous storylines and never misses a beat. This fresh approach to the mystery that makes Jane Perry so unique is fascinating. Can't wait to let everyone know it's a must read!

    Thanks Laurel. Please keep them coming! We love you here in Fallbrook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Deeply moving and thought provoking

    I am blown away right now. I just finished this outstanding novel and I can hardly put what I'm feeling into words.

    Laurel Dewey is without question one of the most profound writers I've read in YEARS. Her novels in the Jane Perry series are not "just thrillers" or "your typical comfortable read." No, no, no. These are books that force you to THINK. These are books that make you question your belief systems.

    In REVELATIONS, those belief systems are put up for questioning in the character of Jordan Copeland. Copeland is thought to be responsible for the kidnapping of a 15-year-old boy in Midas, Colorado because of his prior conviction for child murder. The only problem is that Jane doesn't think he did the kidnapping. As she secretly meets with Copeland, he engages her in deep, esoteric conversations that are both NON-PC and enlightening. There are SO many incredible lines/statements in this book that I couldn't begin to write them all. But suffice to say, the ideas that are brought forth in this novel are mind bending and life altering.

    In reading Dewey's website, I learned that the theories put forth in the novel are taken from Bert Hellinger's family constellation work (family secrets in the bloodline). Hellinger is a "rock star" in Germany and his work is definitely complex. To think that Dewey was able to take that theory and wrap it so skillfully into a stunning crime novel shows how brilliant this woman is.

    REVELATIONS is a novel that will stand the test of time and should be required reading for anybody who has dealt with the pain of family secrets and the carnage they can leave behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great read! Keeps you wanting to go back for more!

    Great read as the other two were. Definitely keeps your attention. She has really created a character that you really end up rooting for.
    She gets a little wordy a few times again when she goes on these little philosophical meanderings. But really easy to just skip the few times she does it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    very good

    I have enjoyed the Jane Perry series(#1, 2& 3). I like the characters and the auyhor always keeps me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Much to like, much to dislike

    Great characters, great plot, very engaging. But OMG the poor grammar is killing me and big fancy words are mis-used when a simpler word would have been more accurate anyway. Also key segments are repeated not once but twice. This book could have been cut by at least a third. Too bad, I certainly love the main character with all her flaws, struggles and personal growth and the paranormal stuff is done very well. I wish this author had an editor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    8 out of 10 stars!

    Revelations by Laurel Dewey
    Series: Jane Perry (#3)
    Release Date: June 14th, 2011
    Publisher: The Story Plant
    Page Count: 479
    Source: Received from publisher via Pump Up Your Book for review

    I hadn't read a good ol' mystery novel in a really long time, and boy oh boy, did Revelations satisfy my cravings. There's more than mystery to Laurel Dewey's latest novel, third in the Jane Perry series I have yet to begin with the first. There's riveting suspense. There's gruesome horror. Best (or worst) of all, there's that frightening so-close-to-home shot that had me shivering and assuring myself that all of this was fiction -- only fiction. How unbelievably convincing fiction can be.

    Jane has the eeriest feeling about Jake Van Gorden's disappearance -- while her detective partner and case leader are convinced he's dead, there's something inside her, squirming to get out, that knows Jake's case is too peculiar too give up on.

    Her gut instinct proves accurate, but the reader doesn't know this until the last few chapters, when all the small, but confined secrets of Midas are finally revealed.

    I cannot believe how scintillating the plot is. Each page brings shocking details to the crime scene, with twists and turns -- some, mere red herrings -- along the way. The only thing Jake wants, Jane discovers, is to to find out the truth about his family which his parents work so hard to keep hidden from him. But that curiosity eventually gives him the truth, the complete truth, which makes him realize sometimes, ignorance truly is bliss. By the misunderstood departure and scandal of a troubled teenager, Dewey expresses an important, but often neglected moral: Truth that is so sought-after is the same truth we turn our heads away from.

    One thing not entirely to my liking is Dewey's fierce dramatization of Jane's dilemma. I assure you, drama is what makes suspense go around, but what Dewey does that bothers me is italicize every other word. Italics are meant for emphasis, but when they're thrown over words too commonly, the emphasis is no more. If you still can't wrap your head around this, think of it this way: Say my house is completely white, but I want to make it unique and paint the door red. Now my house is the most fashionable one on the block. But then let's say I want it to be even more fashionable, and paint all the windows red, as well as the shingles, as well as the exterior walls. Now, in an attempt to make my entire house "unique" by painting the whole thing red, its uniqueness is destroyed and now my house is no longer a white house with a red door; it is a red house.

    The ending is unexpected, which, in my opinion, is a necessity to a well-written mystery. As I mentioned, I still haven't gotten the chance to read the two previous Jane Perry novels -- Protector (#1) and Redemption (#2). Though Revelations makes a great stand-alone story, I look forward to reading the previous books in the series. In other words, I don't want to read the first two novels to "complete" my understanding of Jane perry; I want to read the first two novels simply because I know they'll be just as good.

    Radical Rating: 8 hearts- Would recommend to lots of really good friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3