BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Revelations (Jane Perry Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Jane Perry solves her cases through her keen eye for detail, her superior deductive skills, and a little bit of the spirit world. I can't get enough of her books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good Read

    Laurel Dewey is a good writer and she keeps me engaged through the whole book. It is important to read the whole series to truly know who Jane Perry is an all she has gone through it her life. I would love to see a TV series baised on this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Jane Perry story #3 lives up to #s 1 and 2 (ebook review)

    I really like the way Laurel Dewey plots her books and is not afraid to feature flawed characters. While I thought some of the esoteric discussions between characters may have gone on a little long, the book nonetheless holds your attention. I would have given this book a 5-star rating if not for the huge number of errors throughout. The author should do herself a favor and read her ebooks before epublishing--this one is full of typos, missing words, symbols where punctuation should be, misused words, spelling errors, spacing and margin errors, and so forth, all of which are obvious. All these errors are disconcerting when you're engrossed in a book you like, and they definitely detract, reducing your enjoyment factor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    loved it, it kept up with the pace of the 2 prior books in the s

    loved it, it kept up with the pace of the 2 prior books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Good!

    A little dragging but great book. Gotta love that Jane!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can't wait for the next one!

    Like the last Jane Perry novel, I had trouble putting this down! It's very hard to remember that it's only a story - it just draws you into it's depth.

    I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the 'in Death', Detective DD Warren', or Catherine Coulter's FBI Series. There is foul language and intimacies but nothing overly descriptive or foul if you enjoy the series' I mentioned. The plot was fully developed and the characters real and easy to relate to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    I have become addicted to Jane Perry! Even though detective stories are not my favorite, this book and others by this author combine mystery with a supernatural flair that keeps me totally entertained! I've already pre-ordered the next book! What a grest read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good story.

    These mysteries are very good. I like the protagonist, prickly character though she is. I recommend this good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    8 out of 10 stars!

    Revelations by Laurel Dewey
    Series: Jane Perry (#3)
    Release Date: June 14th, 2011
    Publisher: The Story Plant
    Page Count: 479
    Source: Received from publisher via Pump Up Your Book for review

    I hadn't read a good ol' mystery novel in a really long time, and boy oh boy, did Revelations satisfy my cravings. There's more than mystery to Laurel Dewey's latest novel, third in the Jane Perry series I have yet to begin with the first. There's riveting suspense. There's gruesome horror. Best (or worst) of all, there's that frightening so-close-to-home shot that had me shivering and assuring myself that all of this was fiction -- only fiction. How unbelievably convincing fiction can be.

    Jane has the eeriest feeling about Jake Van Gorden's disappearance -- while her detective partner and case leader are convinced he's dead, there's something inside her, squirming to get out, that knows Jake's case is too peculiar too give up on.

    Her gut instinct proves accurate, but the reader doesn't know this until the last few chapters, when all the small, but confined secrets of Midas are finally revealed.

    I cannot believe how scintillating the plot is. Each page brings shocking details to the crime scene, with twists and turns -- some, mere red herrings -- along the way. The only thing Jake wants, Jane discovers, is to to find out the truth about his family which his parents work so hard to keep hidden from him. But that curiosity eventually gives him the truth, the complete truth, which makes him realize sometimes, ignorance truly is bliss. By the misunderstood departure and scandal of a troubled teenager, Dewey expresses an important, but often neglected moral: Truth that is so sought-after is the same truth we turn our heads away from.

    One thing not entirely to my liking is Dewey's fierce dramatization of Jane's dilemma. I assure you, drama is what makes suspense go around, but what Dewey does that bothers me is italicize every other word. Italics are meant for emphasis, but when they're thrown over words too commonly, the emphasis is no more. If you still can't wrap your head around this, think of it this way: Say my house is completely white, but I want to make it unique and paint the door red. Now my house is the most fashionable one on the block. But then let's say I want it to be even more fashionable, and paint all the windows red, as well as the shingles, as well as the exterior walls. Now, in an attempt to make my entire house "unique" by painting the whole thing red, its uniqueness is destroyed and now my house is no longer a white house with a red door; it is a red house.

    The ending is unexpected, which, in my opinion, is a necessity to a well-written mystery. As I mentioned, I still haven't gotten the chance to read the two previous Jane Perry novels -- Protector (#1) and Redemption (#2). Though Revelations makes a great stand-alone story, I look forward to reading the previous books in the series. In other words, I don't want to read the first two novels to "complete" my understanding of Jane perry; I want to read the first two novels simply because I know they'll be just as good.

    Radical Rating: 8 hearts- Would recommend to lots of really good friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great mystery read~!

    Revelations is the third book in the Jane Perry murder mystery series.

    Detective Jane Perry has just been assigned her toughest case, not by her department, but by her doctor. Jane has just been told that she may have cervical cancer. After recently getting her life in order, she is disheartened to learn of her newest fate. Deciding a leave of absence is best, in order to get her affairs in place, she is sidetracked by a new investigation.

    Her partner, Weyler, informs her that he wants them to investigate a kidnapping of a fifteen year old boy, Jacob Van Gorden, the son of a wealthy and prominent businessman in the town of Midas. Weyler explains they are doing this as a favour, seems he and the Sheriff of Midas, Bo Lowry, are old friends and the Sheriff is about to retire and wishes to put this case behind him.

    Going outside of their jurisdiction the two accept the case, but what Jane unravels isn't what she expected to find. Jane comes to learn that her own mother may have had a hand in this affair and with many twists and turns, she is lead deeper and deeper into the mystery of Midas, while fighting her own inner emotional turmoils.

    Jordan Copeland is their main suspect, he has many secrets and shares them in riddles and half-truths and he was once tried and convicted for a similar crime many years ago. Hank Ross, a bar owner in Midas, befriends Jane, forcing her to reconsider her feelings about the opposite sex, breaking away the hard outer shell she carries like a prize.

    Everyone in Midas has a secret and fingers point to almost everyone in town, including the Sheriff, someone knows the truth and Jane is determined to find out and put this mystery behind her. Her health may depend upon it...

    This was a great mystery, no seriously, the plot is convincing and leaves you turning the pages. The characters are believable, each one fitting into the story nicely and their character traits were flawless. I thought Jane was a very strong protagonist, witty and determined, she is one of the better liked characters I have read in a while. Her convictions are worthy and her tell like it is attitude was very enjoyable to read. As well, Jane's emotional battle was heart warming, drawing you into Jane's personality, endearing her to the reader.

    I thought the ending was perfect, the outcome will not disappoint those who peruse the pages, sometimes books fall short in their wrap up but this one completes the story, bringing it full circle in a well written prose.

    If I had to list one flaw, it would probably be the Sheriff, I'm not sure if it was how he spoke or his attitude, but I did not like him and perhaps, this worked with the story, adding to the mystery, however, I found him annoying to read and was glad to get past his narrative. The book is a long read, but its well worth it and I would definitely recommend it for your mystery club book shelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1