Customer Reviews for

Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns

Average Rating 3
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Read!

The other reviews are a bit harsh, if you looking for a great summer read then give this book a whirl, you won't be dissapointed!

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Dishy But Little Else. As o

Dishy But Little Else. As other reviewers have noted, it is unclear where revenge actually comes into play here, unless it is with Miranda's actions/desires in regard to Andy and her business, and if you are looking for lots of Miran...
Dishy But Little Else. As other reviewers have noted, it is unclear where revenge actually comes into play here, unless it is with Miranda's actions/desires in regard to Andy and her business, and if you are looking for lots of Miranda: you will be disappointed. Her shadow and Andy's fear of her overshadow almost everything here, but we only see Miranda in the flesh a few times and very briefly. That being said, this is an easy, quick read that does not really require a reread of the first novel. It is once again full of name and label dropping; it chastises and satirizes New York's uber-wealthy and shallow. Andy is still generally good hearted but also still infuriatingly gullible and quick to follow along with others' lives/lifestyles. What I also found distracting here is that the books seems to take on way too much for a quick 250+ page novel: there's family drama, romantic drama, work drama, friend drama all overlapping in repeated details we don't often need. About halfway through, with a major event in Andy's life (one I'm still not sure the book really needs) the book's second half almost takes a different tone and we start getting long descriptions of "stuff" that once again, I'm not sure we need. It doesn't take away the readability, but I did find the action beginning to drag halfway through: some editing might have been in order. However, this is another good choice to throw in a tote bag and read for a breezy summer offering and since the film of the first book is now so iconic it is nearly impossible not to picture Meryl Streep, Emily Blunt and Anne Hathaway as these characters.

posted by irishclaireKG on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Dishy But Little Else. As o

    Dishy But Little Else. As other reviewers have noted, it is unclear where revenge actually comes into play here, unless it is with Miranda's actions/desires in regard to Andy and her business, and if you are looking for lots of Miranda: you will be disappointed. Her shadow and Andy's fear of her overshadow almost everything here, but we only see Miranda in the flesh a few times and very briefly. That being said, this is an easy, quick read that does not really require a reread of the first novel. It is once again full of name and label dropping; it chastises and satirizes New York's uber-wealthy and shallow. Andy is still generally good hearted but also still infuriatingly gullible and quick to follow along with others' lives/lifestyles. What I also found distracting here is that the books seems to take on way too much for a quick 250+ page novel: there's family drama, romantic drama, work drama, friend drama all overlapping in repeated details we don't often need. About halfway through, with a major event in Andy's life (one I'm still not sure the book really needs) the book's second half almost takes a different tone and we start getting long descriptions of "stuff" that once again, I'm not sure we need. It doesn't take away the readability, but I did find the action beginning to drag halfway through: some editing might have been in order. However, this is another good choice to throw in a tote bag and read for a breezy summer offering and since the film of the first book is now so iconic it is nearly impossible not to picture Meryl Streep, Emily Blunt and Anne Hathaway as these characters.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Disappointing

    Andy is the main character but I expected more Miranda. I expected a vengeful plot. It was good but not great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Revenge?

    Liked it but there was not really any revenge & needed more Miranda.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An Entertaining Read

    Overall I enjoyed this book. It offers an imaginative and intriguing storyline full of drama. Weisberger's writing, as usual is richly detailed and very descriptive making it easy for the reader to visualize the characters and events, particularly important since so much of the book deals with fashion. However, I felt the book dragged in places and the plot took too long to get off the ground. Andy's character in this installment came across as a little annoying, and self-pitying. Although she is still likable, there were times when it was difficult to sympathize with her. Despite the flaws I would recommend it to fans of "The Devil Wears Prada".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    The ending was quite disappointing. The book started strong and

    The ending was quite disappointing. The book started strong and ran out of gas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Ice

    Awesome! Ha, if Im ever in it you should include the foxy loxy part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There was no Devil in the sequel. Miranda was hardly in the book

    There was no Devil in the sequel. Miranda was hardly in the book. I wanted to see Miranda and Andy go at it. that didn't happen. I didn't like her husband, Max or Emily. But, Andy having a baby is fine. In addition, the ending of Revenge Wears Prada is good because it's a twist. All in a all, Revenge Wears Prada is a enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns, the anticipated sequel t

    Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns, the anticipated sequel to The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger. It's almost a decade since Andy Sachs quit working for Miranda Priestly at Runway magazine. No one quite understands how Andy's dream job turned into a nightmare in less than a year. Now Andy and old co-worker/mentor/nemesis Emily are owners of their own high-end bridal magazine, The Plunge. The good fortune soon ends when Andy realizes her new marriage and business partnership are not what they seem, especially when it directly crosses the path of the devil herself, Miranda Priestly.

    Let's analyze the cover first. Isn't it perfect? A striking red that will grab your attention on a bookstore or library shelf. As if the title alone would not refresh your memory, there is a small badge on the cover reminding us that Lauren Weisberger is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada.

    Well the cover was what I liked best about this book. Maybe because the sequel was so highly anticipated, I expected more. The peak didn't come until toward the end of the book and was over in a few pages. As the author states in the video below, Andy and Miranda go at it again. Fans of the movie starring Meryl Streep may read this sequel at leisure. No need to rush and read how the devil returns. First-time readers may be more interested in the story and conflict.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good summer reading!

    Fast read. Not the impact of the original book. Kept my interest and will make a good TV movie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    It was a slog through the first 40-50 pages and it picked up fro

    It was a slog through the first 40-50 pages and it picked up from there. Some of the plot points hammered at readers early ended up being dead end strings that meant virtually nothing. What shocked me was the comfort and relief I got when Miranda truly reared her ugly head once again. I didn't think I'd care as much, but I did. One thing that resonated deeply was the abject fear of Andy when she had to consider returning to hell with the Devil.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1