Customer Reviews for

Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns

Average Rating 3
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Read!

The other reviews are a bit harsh, if you looking for a great summer read then give this book a whirl, you won't be dissapointed!

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Dishy But Little Else. As o

Dishy But Little Else. As other reviewers have noted, it is unclear where revenge actually comes into play here, unless it is with Miranda's actions/desires in regard to Andy and her business, and if you are looking for lots of Miran...
Dishy But Little Else. As other reviewers have noted, it is unclear where revenge actually comes into play here, unless it is with Miranda's actions/desires in regard to Andy and her business, and if you are looking for lots of Miranda: you will be disappointed. Her shadow and Andy's fear of her overshadow almost everything here, but we only see Miranda in the flesh a few times and very briefly. That being said, this is an easy, quick read that does not really require a reread of the first novel. It is once again full of name and label dropping; it chastises and satirizes New York's uber-wealthy and shallow. Andy is still generally good hearted but also still infuriatingly gullible and quick to follow along with others' lives/lifestyles. What I also found distracting here is that the books seems to take on way too much for a quick 250+ page novel: there's family drama, romantic drama, work drama, friend drama all overlapping in repeated details we don't often need. About halfway through, with a major event in Andy's life (one I'm still not sure the book really needs) the book's second half almost takes a different tone and we start getting long descriptions of "stuff" that once again, I'm not sure we need. It doesn't take away the readability, but I did find the action beginning to drag halfway through: some editing might have been in order. However, this is another good choice to throw in a tote bag and read for a breezy summer offering and since the film of the first book is now so iconic it is nearly impossible not to picture Meryl Streep, Emily Blunt and Anne Hathaway as these characters.

posted by irishclaireKG on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great Summer Read!

    The other reviews are a bit harsh, if you looking for a great summer read then give this book a whirl, you won't be dissapointed!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    Awesome is all i can say. Every bit as good as the first (if possible). Definately worth waiting the few years it took her to write it, she really thought out how to make the characters grow but at the same way stay true to themselves. I especially liked the twist at the end! A favorite for sure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Dakota

    Continue!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Silverfang

    Luv it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Fox's Revenge- Chapter Three

    The five moon old kits of Rosefur and Nightcrow took turns carrying the young kip. After they were far far away from the end of SunCkan territory they deemed it was safe to rest. Rangerkit had watched the older apprentices hunt once so she taught the others how. Rangerkit took a small mini patrol of herself Bearkit and Vulturekit and left Badgerkit and Smokekit with the kip. As the kit patrol was finding decent prey the stumbled upon a misty bue grey she. "Who are you?" Asked bearkit with big amber eyes. "I am Dew and you are stealing my food!!!" Yowled the cat. She plucked all but one measly rat from Vulturekits jaws. No matter how much the kits mewled she would not give the food back. After they gave up the kits found a little bit more prey but not as much as the first time they returned to the others. The kits are but the kips teeth werent strong enough to eat meat. "Lemme try something." Bearkit said. He poked a hole into a mouses stomach and lightly pressed the kips face against it. She drank the blood like she was suckling. "Hey what should we call her?" Asked Smokekit. "Since her father was a fox why not Foxkit?" Suggested Badgerkit. "Well we all have been practically exiled from the clans so we should drop the kit part." Vulturekit said. Fox mewed as if in agreement. "Yeah. I think we should ALL drop the kit part in our name." She other kits mewed in agreement. Then as one big kit clan the kits and the kip fell asleep. End chapter three. Please comment!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    RevengeClan

    RevengeClan territory! Packs/clans/rogues/groups keep out or get claws up your Arse!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Great. I was wary about starting this book because of all the ne

    Great. I was wary about starting this book because of all the negative reviews. I am so glad I ignored them and decided to find out for myself if it really was "that bad". It was not bad at all. There were a few dry parts where it felt like it was taking entirely too long to get the information you desired. HOWEVER, this is a great read! For those of you who cannot see the "revenge", you must think this is a shallow book. Miranda's revenge is her haunting Andy still after all this time. And with Andy trying to make a career for herself in publishing, Miranda will always be lurking in the shadows because of her power in publishing. I won't go into more detail so as not to spoil it, but I would definitely say that Miranda gets her revenge; especially at the end of the book. This is also a great read because we get to go along with Andy as she goes from being self-conscious and unsure of her abilities to an empowered woman who gets things done on her own. Great book. I definitely recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A wonderful follow-up!

    I loved this sequel even more than The Devil Wears Prada! I love that Andy is still the same sweet, down to earth person we met in the first book but this time older and wiser and not afraid to stick up for herself. I don't want to give away any spoilers so I'll just say I loved this book especially the last few chapters! A wonderful, light read that anyone who enjoyed the first book will adore!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    HUGE Disappointment

    I loved the Devil Wears Prada. This sequel is just bad. Why did the author bother?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Excellent!

    I just love Lauren and her books! Excellent sequel!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2