Customer Reviews for

Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A good read

    A patient recommended this book to me at work (healthcare) and I had to read it, seeing how I'm in the middle of a bad divorce myself. This book hit home and I found myself unable to put this book down. Hooray for the main character in this book. I was glad to see her "prevail" in the end! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE ULTIMATE REVENGE

    A previous reviewer questioned Rose's "doormat" behavior upon learning that her husband was leaving her for her young assistant. To me, the ultimate "Revenge" was in letting them have each other. Once past the "infatuation stage" Nathan and Minty see each other clearly and realize their mistake. I believe Nathan regrets his choice and Minty later refers to him as a "prize bore". Nathan's was a self-fulfilling prophecy. For years he couldn't get out from under the shadow of Rose's first love Hal and feared losing her to him. This eventually happens and ironically, Nathan was the catalyst who brought it about. An intteresting take on love, betrayal and quiet revenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Great title

    I will have to say that this is one of the few books I actually picked up because of the title and wanted to read just because of the cover. I found the writing style a little hard to "get into" at first, I actually skipped over several unnecessary paragraphs in the beginning. But once I was able to buy into the book, I was thoughly involved in the characters and cared about what happened to them. I was in turns crushed, hopeful, despondant and hopeful again. I had gone through something similiar so it was somewhat painful to read at times, yet gave me some affirmation of all the wild feelings one feels at a time like this. A defininate recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Great Book...

    My husband and I could not put this one down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Etiquette book for divorce

    Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman is like an etiquette book for how to behave when your husband leaves for another woman. Rose¿s husband leaves her for a younger woman and instead of letting him have it she is overly polite to him and lets him have whatever he wants. Very unrealistic! I found her doormat personality hard to believe and I pitied her. Maybe I missed something but I didn¿t notice her revenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Thought it would be silly turned out to be thought provoking

    Being one to usually read quite serious material, I picked this up needing a light and amusing story. While it did fit the bill, it was also very interesting with terrific character development. As life can be, somewhat predictable, but some twists and turns. While the sotry is focused on the lead character and truly terrible and overly dramatic events that unfurl her life, I felt like I got to see her in many roles and get to know well enough the family and friends that are part of her life. Made me think about myself and whether I could overcome such a situation. Also made me consider my relationships as a friend, mother, daughter and wife as I am fast approaching middle age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    Horrible Book

    This book was horrible, I couldn't even finish it. I lead a monthly book club with some girlfriends of mine, and we chose this book to read. Less than a week after we chose this book everyone called me and said the book was really bad and they couldn't stand to keep reading it. So we ended up picking another book for that month. The worst thing about it was that the storyline was all over the place and it was to hard to follow. It's one thing for a story to toggle back and forth between present and past, but this author has no talent for making it flow the way it should. I read a lot of books, and even with ones I don't like I will still finsih them. So it's very rare for me not to finsih a book, it has to be really really badly written. So I just want to warn any one who is thinking about buying and reading this book to not bother. It's just a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    Totally Inappropriate Book Title

    If being a doormat, allowing a fellow worker to take not only your husband, your job AND your house, then this was a great book. For those of us who live in the real world, this book was an insult to hard working mothers, wives and businesswomen everywhere. I'll never pick up another book by this woman again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Enjoyable

    With so many books for twentysomethings, I enjoyed a book for the middle aged woman! I felt like I really got to know and care about Rose. The English twist was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Disappointed

    This book is written with a quite 'English' voice; that's nice (try to think of something positive). The cover, hype, and reviews indicate that there will be SOME element of the 'avenger' in the novel -- - but most of the novel is devoted to her grieving and memories from the twenty plus years of marriage and kids. Somewhat interesting background, but mostly it's the misery of the recently dumped. When protagonist finally decides to start living again (which consists of, [gasp!], visiting an old friend) she starts the usual routines of life: looking for a job, etc. Major disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Loved this book

    One of the best books I've read in years. I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    Good Book

    Enjoyed this very much. Rooted for Rose when she held up even when Nathan expressed regrets in the end. If Rose had given in he would have loved to come back & continue their marriage. Would love a sequel to this story...does Rose resume her relationship with former love? Does Nathan's new life choice work out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Success IS the best revenge.

    This is a very well thought out novel about a woman whose husband has a mid-life crises, leaves her, and makes her life miserable. She doesn't take revenge in the standard sense of the word, but rather find her revenge through finding happiness again. Unfortunately the scenario is all too common. Well written book. Well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Very enjoyable read.

    I enjoyed getting to know Rose. She showed a tremdous amount of grace towards not only her husband, but to Minty. I would have wanted to give her more than a piece of my mind. But that was the beauty of Rose. This is not the typical revenge. No stooping to any trickery or silly pranks. Rose was better than all that. With her revenge came happiness and success, without losing the best part of herself. I do look forward to many more books from this author. I would look forward to reading what is in store next for Rose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    Waiting (hoping) for the sequel

    Rose became my friend and taught me how to find grace in a very difficult time. I looked forward to coming home from work to read more. When I completed the book I missed Rose. I hope there will be a series of books about Rose, for women who are just beginning to learn how to enter into the world again as independent individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Good Story

    Very well written and hard to put down, Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman will make you cringe at the heartless and cruel manner in which Nathan treats Rose when he decides he wants change in his life after 25 years of marriage. He completely annihilates and trivializes their marriage, her heart, her self-esteem. It seemed almost surreal HOW Nathan left her for a younger woman -- so thoroughly and with such cold resolve. I was stunned at the extent of his selfishness. I can't even talk about Minty's disgusting role in all this -- unbelievable. And when Rose's life continues to unravel, Nathan just keeps coming at her with more bombs: the insurance, the house, Minty wanting kids. When all is said and done, I like that Rose wasn't "out" for revenge, but rather "out" for herself and a new, full, happy life without Nathan. However, I needed to see Nathan seeing more of THIS Rose. While the scene in the kitchen between Rose and Nathan after Easter dinner was very satisfying, I needed to see Nathan see Rose in a committed, intimate relationship with another man; to see a jealous Nathan hurting deeply and regretting immensly his choice to leave Rose and the life they had created together. Had there been more of this, I would have felt that the middle-aged woman had indeed achieved a thorough and complete revenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2