Customer Reviews for

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very dark!

I had the pleasure of reading this book for my book club. It was listed as a dark comedy but i found it dark and not funny. Very well written book that i would recommenf to anyone who has some time to read a good book!

posted by TRX on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It had its moments but was rather ordinary overall

It started off slow and then got interesting, but ended rather anticlimatically. The alternating view points, each chapter from a different character, was a nice style. You learned about sacrifices made for family, living with autism, living with someone with autism,...
It started off slow and then got interesting, but ended rather anticlimatically. The alternating view points, each chapter from a different character, was a nice style. You learned about sacrifices made for family, living with autism, living with someone with autism, forgiveness, temptation, and love. But somehow I was not hooked by the story, it came off rather slow and boring; the ending leaving me unsatisfied. I can see it has good intended themes, but the delivery is just not there for me.

posted by risuena on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Very dark!

    I had the pleasure of reading this book for my book club. It was listed as a dark comedy but i found it dark and not funny. Very well written book that i would recommenf to anyone who has some time to read a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    It had its moments but was rather ordinary overall

    It started off slow and then got interesting, but ended rather anticlimatically. The alternating view points, each chapter from a different character, was a nice style. You learned about sacrifices made for family, living with autism, living with someone with autism, forgiveness, temptation, and love. But somehow I was not hooked by the story, it came off rather slow and boring; the ending leaving me unsatisfied. I can see it has good intended themes, but the delivery is just not there for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great characters

    Enjoyed the different perspectives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Engaging and enjoyable

    The books characters were quite interesting and the plot was fun and different. I genuinely enjoyed the book until the last 20 pages. I felt like the author tried to finish everything as quickly as possible and the ending ruined my reading experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Darkness

    Found you. A fee months late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Nightmare

    Ok. <p>
    Cobweb(Kit)~ A small, white shekit with grey splotches. Around her neck she has a black stripe. Her tail is long and wispy. Completely black. Her left eye is Beautiful blue, her right eye is outstanding green. <p>
    Shattered(Kit)~ A large, tabby tom who has Thistlefang's pelt color. His paws are tipped black, and his nose is salmony pink. His fur is fluffy, and his tail is shorter then his sisters. His eyes are a Sunset orange color shaded with golden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Thistlefang

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Sylvia

    Im back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Lea

    Milkshake she says in her sleep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Don't be put off by the title

    Actually, I was quite surprised by how good this was. It was funny and a little sad in spots. A quick read. The ending was a little too pat, but I liked the evolution of "Nance/Marylou" and the wisdom and forgiveness she found along the way.

    I normally would not have even picked up this book...that's the beauty of belonging to book clubs....you end up reading a lot of books you would never consider (can also have a downside as well). This book is worth a look

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous, quirky and an unusual read!

    Humorous, quirky, offbeat all describe the unusual characters that inhabit The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French.

    There is seventy-seven-year-old Marylou Ahearn is determined to kill Dr. Wilson Spriggs to avenge his involvement in the medical experiment that cost her her only child Helen. Spriggs had fed pregnant women - Marylou included - radioactive cocktails in a scientific experiment that bore horrific results. When Marylou finally tracks Dr Spriggs down, she moves to his neighborhood and takes on a new identity and introduces herself.

    She discovers that Dr. Spriggs has major memory loss - and doesn't seem to recall what he'd done. So, instead of murder, Marylou plans to disrupt his life through his family. She finds a way to meet his grandchildren. And falls for young Suzi - a sporty, outgoing and slightly tormented young girl. As Marylou gets to know Suzi and her sister Ava, she finds a closeness and friendship she hadn't expected. And her carefully laid plans go awry.

    The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady has been compared to the movie Little Miss Sunshine because of the quirky, unusual characters and unexpected situations. Elizabeth Stuckey-French's novel is entertaining, engrossing and hard to forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2