Customer Reviews for

Revenge of the Red Knight

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    I am a big fan of the Imagination Station series. One thing I h

    I am a big fan of the Imagination Station series. One thing I have always loved the most was that one could read the books out of order, even though it is a series. This is the first one that I thought I might have enjoyed it better having read the previous ones first. However, it is a tiny, tiny, criticism.

    This book delivers what all the other ones do, excitement, accurate history, and a great message. Young readers come away with an idea of what life might have been like in 15th-century England. They learn about the Crusades and the courage and bravery of knights. I think this one has even more action that some of the other books in this series, which might appeal more to some young readers.

    I love the way the illustrations help to keep younger pre-readers engaged in the story. It makes the book great for independent beginning chapter readers, or for a read-aloud for younger readers.

    If you are looking for a Magic Tree House type book with a positive, Christian message, this series is just what you are looking for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love the alliterative titles to each of the Imagination Statio

    I love the alliterative titles to each of the Imagination Station book series. They are memorable and fun. Each story centers around cousins Beth and Patrick, and mysterious notes that send them on exciting adventures. 




    I loved mystery books when I was a child and wish that good, clean, Christian adventure books like these had been around then. The notes that the cousins find in each of these books spark young readers’ imaginations—something that often gets ignored in today’s children. This series contains invaluable journeys into history. 




    Revenge of the Red Knight, book four of The Imagination Station series, puts Beth and Patrick in Lord Darkthorn’s castle, back in 15th century England. 



    This story is reminiscent of the Bible story of Joseph and his brothers, in Genesis 44. It deals with what were believed to be stolen items being found on the cousins and they must either deal with the repercussions or find a way out of them. In the midst of a joust, they find out who the real thief is, and why he did what he did.  




    I’m a kid at heart, so I enjoyed reading each of the Imagination Station books, and I applaud the author for making clean, Christian adventure books available to today’s young explorers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    A fun read for kids.

    A fun read for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Another great addition to the series (but it has a misleading ti

    Another great addition to the series (but it has a misleading title ...again!)

    Very interesting series (& book!) for young elementary school readers. Deserves 4 stars for what it is, but there is no revenge from the red knight! That's been the most consistent complaint with this series - many books are misleadingly named! I'd knock it down a half star from 4 stars to 3.5 stars because of this if I had the option. The first 5 books (at least) of this series all belong to the same story-arc, so you definitely want to read them in order as they won't make much sense otherwise. This book does have a prologue that brings you up to speed in case you missed a previous book, but the previous books don't have that feature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    This is a great mystery story both girls and boys will enjoy, fo

    This is a great mystery story both girls and boys will enjoy, for it takes place in the era of knights, castles, and jousting. How did James and Patrick get free and why did they crawl behind hedges to get to the door of the castle? When the red knight lost the joust of peace, what did he do that was unfair? Who had been stealing the treasures?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    This time the cousins Patrick and Beth have gone straight from A

    This time the cousins Patrick and Beth have gone straight from Ancient Mongolia to Old England around the time of the War of the Roses. I love how each of the Imagination Station books gives enough background in the prologue to make each book stand alone. This time the cousins learn about knighthood, how knights weren’t always chivalrous and noble, and then more about the on-going Imagination Station story. I love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    My girls love listening to these books. This book and the earlie

    My girls love listening to these books. This book and the earlier ones in the series aren't my favorite. The beginning books are written as a series so they continue the stories in the next book. I liked the later books in the series that were just written as stand alone adventure stories. The later books also talked about the read life characters in the stories. This one doesn't say at the end that is was based on any true story at all. I think it was just a great, make believe adventure. I like the stories that were based on true adventures. But all in all, this was still a great fiction story for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Who hasn't dreamed of being a knight, jousting and rescuing dams

    Who hasn't dreamed of being a knight, jousting and rescuing damsels in distress? Or being the rescued damsel? In the fourth Imagination Station book, Patrick and Beth encounter the Red Knight, a potential thief, and learn a bit about honor and integrity in the process. Out of all the books I've read in this series, this one is my favorite so far. I love the way history comes to life in the books, with a little find tinkering courtesy of the Imagination Station and our two young travelers. This series is ideal for entertainment, education, and just plain fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    In Revenge of the Red Knight, Patrick and Beth get caught up in

    In Revenge of the Red Knight, Patrick and Beth get caught up in the middle of Lancasters and Yorks. They, also, run into the scoundrel, who makes an appearance in other Imagination Station books. This isn't one of my favorite stories of the series but still enjoyed it.
    4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    This book is where Patrick and Beth are accidentally sent by the

    This book is where Patrick and Beth are accidentally sent by the imagination station to 15th century England. They will cheer on Sir Andrew as he takes on the red knight in a joust of honor. My favorite part is where Patrick and Beth shield the fallen Sir Andrew from harm from the red knight. Master Hugh is a crook who Patrick and Beth will try to catch in future books. He has been stealing Lord Darkthorn's treasures to sell. This is a good book for people who like knights and battle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    This 4th book in the Imagination Station series takes place duri

    This 4th book in the Imagination Station series takes place during medieval England. Two kids, Beth and Patrick, end up on an adventure where they meet a good knight, a bad knight, and Lord Darkthorn, whose treasures have been stolen. This book is written at a 2nd grade reading level, but even I was captured with the story! Definitely a page turner with a surprise ending. My children and I have read all of the Imagination Station books in order up to Revenge of the Red Knight. You could read them alone, but the story is a continuing one and I highly recommend starting with the 1st in the series, Voyage With the Vikings. As a homeschooling mom, I use these as part of my history curriculum. Yes, historical fiction may be a bit unorthodox, but it grabs my children's interest, real-life characters are featured in these books, and the authors stick as close to possible to real life events as can be expected with 2nd graders historical fiction. This is my favorite series for this age level and I couldn't recommend it more highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Fun Read! Beth and Patrick are dropped into 15th century Englan

    Fun Read!

    Beth and Patrick are dropped into 15th century England to deliver the three artifacts they collected to rescue a friend.  During their whirlwind tour they visit a castle, are accused of being thieves, thrown in jail, identify the real thief, watch a jousting contest and since they taking a journey in the imagination station don't hang around long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    The Imagination Station book 4, Revenge of the Red Knight By Mar

    The Imagination Station book 4, Revenge of the Red Knight By Marianne
    Hering, Paul McCusker is a great read. The series follows cousins
    Patrick and Beth in their various adventures in the imagination station.
    The series is written for younger readers but people of all ages will
    love the christian values it teaches and enjoy the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    once again, Imagination Station doesn't dissapoint. My kids (8

    once again, Imagination Station doesn't dissapoint. My kids (8 & 5)
    and I have had fun this summer reading through some of the Imagination
    Station books. They love that they feature a boy AND a girl. I love
    the Christian values and history they introduce. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Odyssey Meets the War of the Roses

    Beth and Patrick finally receive some answers to the mystery which has had them chasing treasure across time and across the globe.

    The historical setting is just before the war of the roses, and references are made to the House of Lancaster and the House of York. This is how the book gets its title - from the red and white roses.

    As always with this series, I recommend some extra reading/research before just handing these book over to young readers to ensure that they understand the historical period they are being introduced to. In the course of the narrative, it can be difficult for them to discern the fictional characters from the historical ones.

    Otherwise a highly enjoyable chapter book, suitable for ages 6+. I always look forward to reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Awesome Book for Kids!

    In Peril in the Palace, Beth and Patrick had been transported by the Imagination Station to an unknown time and place. Now, in Revenge of the Red Knight, they must find a thief and get back home. This exciting adventure includes a wounded knight, stolen treasures, and jousting tournaments. Will Beth and Patrick be able to find the thief before Albert is locked up in Lord Darkthorn's tower? And will they ever make it back home to Odyssey?

    I loved this fourth book in the Imagination Station series. Beth had a bigger role in this book and has to find Patrick by herself after he was taken away from being accused as a thief. I liked seeing her character grow more in this story. There was also a surprise in the jousting tournament - the red knight is not who you think he is! Also, there is a chance for Beth and Patrick to get home by using Mr. Whittaker's ring, but it's snatched away by the bad guy! Now they must get it back before it's used to cause all kind of trouble in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Great series

    In Revenge of the Red Knight (#4), the cousins find themselves in a cave after jumping in the Imagination Station, hoping to head back to Whit's End. Many of the mysteries from the first three books begin to work themselves loose as new details come to light in this book. New mysteries emerge though with the discovery of a secret room and with the meeting of new characters. Speaking of new characters, this book seemed to have a few too many characters to keep track of. Between the knights, knaves, lords, ladies, and squires -- it was hard to remember who was on what side (of course, this could be due to the fact that I've only been getting three hours of sleep with the additional of our new little one!).

    This book was filled with it's share of danger and suspense as well, though I don't think it was as well written as the previous three books. It didn't seem to be as much as a page-turner as I was used to experiencing with the other books in this series. Nonetheless, it certainly was worth the read and I would recommend it to any preteen or parent of preteen. For under $5, it's certainly worth buying for your kids! Pick up your copy of Revenge of the Red Knight
    or Peril in the Palace today!

    Disclaimer: Tyndale House Publishers has provided you with a complimentary copy of these books. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Revenge of the Red Knight

    In book four which also concludes the mystery of where the notes are coming from and why Albert is in danger, Beth and Patrick find themselves in ancient England. Once again, they face danger and adventure but are able to help Albert and fund out who is sending the notes to the imagination station.

    Through the story children can experience what it would have been like to live in the time of knights and castles.

    My children enjoy the imagination station books and can't wait to get their hands on Revenge of the Red Knight. I like the books because they mix history, Christian values, and adventure in a child friendly story. As with the other books there is a secret word puzzle at the back of the book which is a fun reading comprehension exercise. The secret word is a code which your child can enter at TheImaginationStation dot com to receive a prize.

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in order to write this review and have shared my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Another Action packed adventure!

    Book 4 in the series is packed with action adventure as the cousins find themselves in trouble in England. As they search for the stolen treasures they finally get to meet Albert and along the way face much danger! But the adventure isn't over yet! Mr. Whitaker is left to solve another mystery that I am sure will lead to more adventures for Patrick and Beth. *I received this book compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for purposes of this review, however all opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    A Great Read for Kids!!

    In this fourth book, eight-year-old cousins, Beth and Patrick, are in 15th century England at Lord Darkthorn's. Patrick and James are taken to the stocks by Lord Darkthorn's steward, Hugh. Meanwhile Beth learns who has been taking the artifacts from the three previous adventures. Beth and Patrick finally meet Albert and Sir Andrew jousts with Hugh, for the freedom of the kids. Will Patrick and Beth make it back to Whit's End? Our Experience: B and C were very excited to get Revenge of the Red Knight book. We used it for our nighttime story and for our daily reading as well. The kids couldn't wait to read more. B and C love reading Christian books. The book was exciting with two young children venturing through time and space. What I Liked: B and C were very eager to have it read to them. It was easy enough B could have read it to himself or to his sister. The importance of honor, justice, prayer, and fair jousting. What I Disliked: Not enough of a historical background. What B (boy, age seven, second grade in the fall) Liked and Disliked: I loved Revenge of the Red Knight. Why? Sir Andrew is a good knight. He is the same knight who saved Beth and Patrick in Peril in the Palace. There was a tournament against Hugh and Roderick, because Hugh wanted to lock people in Lord Darkthorn's tower, which he could not do. I think this book is good for kids my age to read to themselves or to have someone read to them. What C (girl, age five, kindergarten in the fall) Liked and Disliked: It was good, good, good. It was fun to learn about knights. Sir Andrew had the ring for the Imagination Station. At the beginning of the book the kids were in a cave full of bats instead of going to Whit's End. It is good for kids my age. Would I Recommend: I would highly recommend Revenge of the Red Knight. It should be in every library. Disclaimer: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1