Customer Reviews for

Revenge of the Spellmans (Spellman Files Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Each new release keeps getting better!

    Just an absolutely hysterical, witty, entertaining read. Each new release of this series just keeps getting better and makes me want the next one in line!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Revenge is sweet!

    Izzy only grows and gets better with each installment of Spellmans. A very easy & enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Can't Go Wrong With the Spellmans!

    Fun, fun series. I do a lot of snickering and sudden laugh out louds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    zany dysfunctional investigative family thriller

    In San Francisco the court orders out of control private investigator Isabel "Izzy" Spellman to attend therapy sessions; she spends her meetings tap dancing around the psychologist. Meanwhile her parents plead with their middle daughter to return to the family private investigative firm; they warn her that without her they will probably have to sell their company. Izzy considers their blackmail while hiding from them and others in her older brother David¿s apartment at a time he has simply vanished form the planet. Although she has found recently sleuthing to have been very depressing (see THE SPELLMAN FILES and CURSE OF THE SPELLMANS ¿ to see why), she considers searching for sibling.<BR/><BR/>Meanwhile she loses her bartending job because of moonlighting as a detective looking into the easy case of client Ernie Black to prove his wife is cheating or not; of course this being Izzy easy means dangerous. She also helps her octogenarian friend relocate to Florida and elude her teenage sister Rae the alleged PSAT cheater who wants her sibling back with Henry.<BR/><BR/>The third Spellman dysfunctional investigative family thriller is another out of control zany San Francisco treat as Izzy dodges her parents, her sister and her shrink to work a couple of fog-bound cases. The story line is overwhelmed with sidebars and no plot takes full control; but fans of the series will not care as the eccentric cast especially Izzy¿s family and friends make for a wild time by the bay. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Adopt me, please.

    CD/Unabridged/Mystery: Izzy is in a crossroads in her life. She is seeing a court-ordered psychiatrist, working for Milo, and her best friend is 82 years-old. Izzy's sleep derivation is hysterical. She begins to get all of her sleep on public transportation. Along with that, she is being black-mailed, bribed, followed, and on a career deadline. I saw where some reviewers were hating on Ari Graynor's narrative. I love it. She is the voice of Izzy and the bored 30 year old. Izzy is still growing up and finding herself. A definite recommendation. The best part of the book was the computer nerd giving/berating Izzy directions on computer file stealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fans of Janet Evanovich will love the Lisa Lutz Spellman Series

    Isabel Spellman never disappoints with her mystery-solving obsession and unfortunate lack of social skills. Her family and friends are equally flawed and enjoyable characters that make you glad to join in their adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Revenge of the Spellmans

    I think the entire series is great and can't wait to get into the next book.It's a quick read, maybe a little to quick. But have enjoyed all the antics of the Spemans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Private investigator Isabel Spellman quit her job with her family's detective business and is working part-time as a bartender at her friend Milo's bar while trying to decide what to do next. She's also been through one block of court-ordered therapy and has been passed by that therapist on to another. Milo persuades Isabel to take on a relatively simple case for one of his friends, whose wife is acting mysterious and bringing home expensive items. Meanwhile, Isabel's brother David returns from a secret trip and stops going to work. Isabel finds out David has a secret apartment in his basement so moves in without his permission. Isabel's sister Rae's been accused of cheating on the PSATs and has finally made Detective Henry Stone angry enough he is no longer speaking to her. Isabel can't sleep in her new home due to her fear of being found by David, so takes naps on buses. She tails the wife, only to be tailed herself. If that isn't bad enough, her car keeps disappearing. And her feelings for Henry Stone just can't stay put.

    Once more Lisa Lutz provides readers with a fun-filled whodunit which is more about the wacky Spellman family than the actual mystery, but readers won't mind one bit. The Spellmans are a fascinating, dysfunctional family with individual quirks and laugh-out-loud personas. A definite must-read for those who enjoy a good dose of humor along with a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Can't get enough of Isabel Spellman and her wacky life

    The great thing about the Spellman family is that every character is engrossingly real possibly because of the abundance of dysfunction. In each of the Spellman books there are enough twists and turns that the book is hard to put down - Revenge of the Spellmans is no exception. The only problem is the wait for the next book.

    The different writing style with footnotes and transcripts interspersed is different and captivating. This really gives more life to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it as much as #1 & #2...can't wait for #4!!!

    I LOVED all 3 of the Spellman books. I'm now a subscriber to Lisa Lutz's newletter & can't wait for the 4th Spellman book hit the streets in March 2010. I enjoyed the series because the plots were like nothing I'd read before. The characters are quirky and yet remind me of a lot of people I know! lol They were fun to read & I had a hard time putting them down. FYI, if you haven't read any of the Spellman books, I suggest you read them in order...it's not necessary, but you'll enjoy them more if you do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    This third book in the Spellman series keeps up the established tradition of the first two in that it is whitty, light reading and just plain fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great writer

    When I read her first book, I thought her originality and characters were funny and interesting and she hasn't disappointed yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellman Fun

    Lisa Lutz did it again. Laugh Out Loud funny. I highly advise you to read 1 and 2 before digging into this one. The background from 1 and 2 is needed to catch a lot of the 'Spellmanisms'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funniest Mysteries Out There

    The Spellman series is one of the few series of books that have me literally laughing out loud frequently. Revenge of the Spellmans is the third and maybe the best of the bunch, but they are all good. (The second one is currently nominated for an Edgar Award for best mystery novel of 2008 -- a rare honor for a comic mystery.) Read the series in order, and follow Izzy's adventures in figuring out how to be an adult in a world when your family's motto is "Surveillance Begins At Home."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    In fact, I love all three of the Spellman books. Lisa Lutz is a breath of fresh air. I have a hard time deciding what I love the most. The character's are amamzing, the humor is laugh out loud, and the story keep's moving. This author was recommended to me by a fellow Stephanie Plum fan and I am so thankful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbound

    This third outing looks as funny as the other two in the series. Lisa Lutz has created a worthy successor to the Stephanie Plum books. Family dysfunction and funny set-pieces are continuing to impress this reader and many fans too!! Hope to see many more Spellman capers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3