Customer Reviews for

Revenge of the Wannabes (Clique Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(355)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Clique Series

This is a great series for teenagers. Some of my girl students are really into the series and can't put the books down. They deal with the drama and cattiness of middle school and high school. They are really realistic and fun to read.

posted by 137330 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Ok, I personally thought that this book was just plain boring, shallow, and thoughtless. Well it's fun to read sometimes, but seriously, when little kids (13 and under) get a hold of these books, they go on a 'massie craze.' OKAY, NOBODY says, 'ehmagawd, i heart this...
Ok, I personally thought that this book was just plain boring, shallow, and thoughtless. Well it's fun to read sometimes, but seriously, when little kids (13 and under) get a hold of these books, they go on a 'massie craze.' OKAY, NOBODY says, 'ehmagawd, i heart this or that, ah-mazing, or ah-dorable.' so if you see people writing those words or if you hear people saying it, they are hearing thsoe words from the books. I don't know how many times I see little pre-teens trying to act like Massie (all popular rich and snobby) and walk around saying, 'ehmagawd! isn't this outfit AH-DORABLE?' when the outfit probably won't fit her because she hasn't 'grown' yet. Seriously..it's liek a mosquito buzzing around you..and you CAN'T kill it. I don't recommend this book at all, and parents, if you get these books for your children, don't come crying to me when they suddenly act like shallow, stuck up wannabes. So...if you really want to take a risk..buy these books for your children. I'm in high school..and it's SO unreal. nothing like this happens in school! And the girls who act like Massie are loners who nobody likes and all those massie girls do is hang around stupid boys who don't really want to be there friend but..yea. And a message to seventh graders: if you act like this in high school..ha. yea. see what happens. it sends a bad message to kids. it really does. it makes me sick. blah.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ok, I personally thought that this book was just plain boring, shallow, and thoughtless. Well it's fun to read sometimes, but seriously, when little kids (13 and under) get a hold of these books, they go on a 'massie craze.' OKAY, NOBODY says, 'ehmagawd, i heart this or that, ah-mazing, or ah-dorable.' so if you see people writing those words or if you hear people saying it, they are hearing thsoe words from the books. I don't know how many times I see little pre-teens trying to act like Massie (all popular rich and snobby) and walk around saying, 'ehmagawd! isn't this outfit AH-DORABLE?' when the outfit probably won't fit her because she hasn't 'grown' yet. Seriously..it's liek a mosquito buzzing around you..and you CAN'T kill it. I don't recommend this book at all, and parents, if you get these books for your children, don't come crying to me when they suddenly act like shallow, stuck up wannabes. So...if you really want to take a risk..buy these books for your children. I'm in high school..and it's SO unreal. nothing like this happens in school! And the girls who act like Massie are loners who nobody likes and all those massie girls do is hang around stupid boys who don't really want to be there friend but..yea. And a message to seventh graders: if you act like this in high school..ha. yea. see what happens. it sends a bad message to kids. it really does. it makes me sick. blah.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    BAD BOOK

    This book is innapropriate ,teaches bad habits and ITS A BOOK ABOUT A BUNCH OF BRATY RICH GIRLS THAT R OBSESSD WITH CLOTHES AND MAKING PEOPLE FEEL BAD who would want to read a book like that?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    totally inaccurate books

    i'm a teenager in high school and i want everybody to know that in reality this whole extreme drama only exists if you want it to. there are only a few people in my grade whose lives revolve around this drama just as the lives of these clique books characters do, and i just hope they snap out of it and learn to live without all this unnecessary drama. did you know that popularity actually means a lot of people like you? it seems to me that not a lot of people like massie and her friends, they're just scared that she could make their lives miserable. is it all really worth it just for that?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    BAD!!!!!! BAD!!!!!!!! BAD!!!!!!

    hey !!! don't read this book it is nasty and mean how could a 7th grade girl have credit cards i don't even think they are allowed at such a young age!! i only read this book beacuse everyone said it was sooooooooo good in my English class !! it doesn't even have proper ENGLISH!!!!!! do not but this book it is wayyyyy to much of a FANTASY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Horrible!!!

    This book is so stupid! It basicaly teaches that teens should be supper skinny,rich, and slutty. That is VERY WRONG. It is also unrealistic, how many 7th graders do you know with credit cards and designer clothes?! All the girls are cruel, overly jeaulous , and talk behind each others backs. It's like 'Mean Girls' with out the lesson! This book is cruel, DO NOT BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    What happened to English?!

    this book is a shame! not realistic at all. this book is stupid and 7th grade girls are likesluts? this book makes girls think that beauty is the greatst thing and thatbeing smart and actually getting a good grade on a test is on the bottom of the list. What is that about? the charactersa definatly are lame and hte jokes, yes, need improvement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    a BOOK?

    The series itself can be called almost satisfactory, but this book? Please. It's a disgrace to actual books and their authors. You can't call this literature at all. Setting aside the fact that this series is classified wrong (Realistic Fiction? Fantasy is more like it) and the characters are weak and cheap... every book in this series has the same sequence of events. Part One, Massie is mean to everyone except Claire, Kristen plays some annoying new word game, and Dylan finds something to be annoyingly whiny and insecure about. Part Two, when the problem arises, Kristen and Dylan have their lame wits tricked into following an individual who's phonier than Massie (and that's an achievement), Alicia stays out of loyalty, and Claire stays out of fear. Part Three, Todd the Annoying Little Brother Who Claire Even More Annoyingly Sticks Up For does something that gets Massie angry, like always 'Fratenizing With The Enemy'. Part Four, after Massie has only Claire & Alicia on her side, she comes up with a lame dramatic way to get back at someone. And this time she's all on her own except for BOYS... why would she like them is my question. All the guys in this story are supposed to be mature and thoughtful but they're immature little boys who think they're all that. Alicia's story was weak. And how come Dylan and Kristen believed her over the whole 'secrets' thing? I mean Massie and Alicia weren't speaking, how would Massie tell them to Alicia? Of all the idiotic things Massie's done throughout the series, that would be, like, forget it. It just shows all the characters in this book are lame, gullible, and stupid. At the end of every book they all kiss and make up and Massie swears she'll appreciate her friends more, but hey next book she's totally abusing them again! Massie SO thinks she's God, like every girl in this book. IT GETS OLD. The only thing that changes is the setting and the problem. MY problem is that this book is plagued by fake drama, attitude, what are SUPPOSED to be witty remarks (tch, yea right!), cheap thrill, and 'secrecy'. The characters, plot, and humor are wooden and two-dimensional. Forget buying this book... this whole series isn't great, but this book is the prime example of literary disgrace and shallow attitudes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    not cool...

    I think Revenge of the Wannabes was a horrible book! I mean the girls acted like they were in 12th grade not 7th! I've never read any thing about girls who were that mean! Why would Massie have a 'throne' in 7th grade?!? I thought the book was kinda nasty and mean!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    EW! EW! EW!

    no point in this book! they have lame, such wannabe phrases like 'ehmagawd, watev, perf!' I hate Massie too and they all have to be super prissy. I can understand just prissy, but not overly prissy. No offense to clique lovers but this book is like a piece of junk, has no meaning. This is so for little kids! I want my money back!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    AWFUL

    Who really cares about a bunch of stuck-up, obnoxious, way over-priviledged seventh graders? For gosh sakes, they are only thirteen! They are BABIES!! They do not have actual love lives! They may think that they do, but in truth, they are losers! The only character that is half-way decent is Claire, and maybe Kristin in one of her better moments. The children in this novel are completely spoiled, and are never punished by their parents for doing inexcusable things! I am disgusted with this series and only read it because it was what my book group was reading. Trust me, other stories like this will not be read by me. The girls are all a bunch of whiny losers, and the writing isnt that great either. The tone is faulty and the adjectives and adverbs are overused and commonplace. The problems are dilemas that all girls face every day, usually with a whole lot more grace than these losers did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Disappointing

    This book may seem realistic but i don't think so. This book dramatized teen life way to much. It doesn't seem practical, I never heard of such 7th graders making a 'Pretty Commitee' who make such rules like the GLU policy and is totally obsessed with popularity

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    so NO

    this is the most absolutely poorly written book i have read this year. this book is so biased. its giving people the message that if we shop at the gap or secondhand stores we're worthless. thats so shallow and pathetic. my sister, who is in seventh grade, read this book and felt so insulted. not to mention the slang is so fake. who in westchester (THATS WHERE I LIVE. WESTCHESTER) says 'Perf' or 'Whatevs'? it's NERDY. There's no character development, either. you need that for a book, NO MATTER WHAT THE SERIES IS ABOUT. and every character is such a wannabe. it's so awfully written i am not reading another book by harrison. i sold my clique series books at a church book sale. and guess what i sold them for fifty cents each.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Dissapointment

    OK, I've read every book in this series and this was my least favorite. I think the Massie-Cam-Claire thing was a HUGE dissapointment, honestly. I mean, COME ON. The thing how Massie forces Claire to break up and she actually does it...ok, I honestly thought that was kind of stupid. I do have to say, though, the fight at the photo shoot was sheer genius. But I definetely think this book could have been better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2