Customer Reviews for

Revenge of the Witch (Last Apprentice Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Creepy & Tense

Picked this up a while ago but decided it would be a fun Halloween read. I wanted to preview it for my 10 year old son. He's been a fan of R. L. Stine's Goosebumps for years and from the general premise, I thought The Last Apprentice might be a fun series for him.

...
Picked this up a while ago but decided it would be a fun Halloween read. I wanted to preview it for my 10 year old son. He's been a fan of R. L. Stine's Goosebumps for years and from the general premise, I thought The Last Apprentice might be a fun series for him.

For being a middle-reader book, I found this rather engaging. I really enjoyed the character development. I liked the language and imagery used. And I found the story entertaining.

The concept of the book (the first in a series) is somewhat intriguing. We're in some "County" that feels loosely based on 18th/19th century America. A collection of small towns and villages spread over the countryside with generally religious/righteous people who are very superstitiously afraid of all things supernatural. Which is where the story comes in.

Gregory is a "Spook" which basically means he wanders around the County taking care of these supernatural problems..witches, ghosts, boggarts, etc. He's sort of like a colonial era version of the Ghostbusters. And he's taken our central character Tom as his apprentice. Tom is a bit frightened and wary of what this means, but he puts his heart into the effort and learns a lot, but also makes a number of very BAD mistakes which lead to a lot of bad problems for himself, the community, the Spook and others.

I felt like the story arc was pretty cohesive and the trajectory was generally believable. It was a bit of a stretch for me when Tom kept quiet about his encounter on the way back from town (I don't want to spell out what he kept secret, as it's a semi-spoiler). The Spook is Tom's authority figure and he'd given him very specific and particular advice. It didn't seem odd to me that Tom would have an opportunity to go against the Spook's advice.but it did seem odd that he didn't let the Spook know what happened. I guess perhaps he was ashamed/embarrassed, but since nothing had really happened, there shouldn't have been any need for hesitation. Still, I guess that's probably just me trying to put an adult mindset on a child's behavior.

Anyway, the story progressed well and I found myself caught up in the suspense and horror of the events as they unfolded. Things went from bad to worse to disastrous. And it felt like a natural rather than contrived flow. I was somewhat surprised at how everything finally came to a resolution.

So, overall, I enjoyed the book and found it an entertainingly creepy read. But, would I recommend it for my ten year old? NO. I would not. Part of me wants to because it was an entertaining read.but the larger part of me doesn't want to because this is a dark and gritty book. It's definitely written with children in mind. The horror stays on the tamer side of things.but it's still very creepy and very dark. The elements of violence and segments of gruesome interactions would certainly be frightening to anyone with tender sensitivities. Perhaps I'm being over protective as a parent.but I don't feel like this is the sort of book for a young reader. I could see the content working for a teenage audience.but by that point, it may come off as a little thin for teens who would rather graduate up to adult horror/thrillers.

Generally, I give the writing and the story 3.5 out of 5 stars, but even though it's a "kids" book, I can't recommend it for youngsters.

****
3.5 out of 5

posted by theokester on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Definitly a Teen Read!

I picked upthis book in 3rd Grade thinking since I had already tackled the Harry Potter series Icould handle it, I was wrong. As a meek 8 year old, this book scared me oit of my mind and gave me nightmmares for a couple months. Again like some of the other reviewers men...
I picked upthis book in 3rd Grade thinking since I had already tackled the Harry Potter series Icould handle it, I was wrong. As a meek 8 year old, this book scared me oit of my mind and gave me nightmmares for a couple months. Again like some of the other reviewers mentioned, teen book, I would strongly agree. I have not fought up the courage to go back to this book yet even though I am pretty much a teen now, but I am roundinng up my rating bevause I heard it was well written, ( I didn't get through much of it as an 8 year old). So just warning you, again I have found as well it depends on the reader but if you are a little more of a " Scaredy Squirell" I would hold off on these books untill a little later.

posted by 11173356 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy & Tense

    Picked this up a while ago but decided it would be a fun Halloween read. I wanted to preview it for my 10 year old son. He's been a fan of R. L. Stine's Goosebumps for years and from the general premise, I thought The Last Apprentice might be a fun series for him.

    For being a middle-reader book, I found this rather engaging. I really enjoyed the character development. I liked the language and imagery used. And I found the story entertaining.

    The concept of the book (the first in a series) is somewhat intriguing. We're in some "County" that feels loosely based on 18th/19th century America. A collection of small towns and villages spread over the countryside with generally religious/righteous people who are very superstitiously afraid of all things supernatural. Which is where the story comes in.

    Gregory is a "Spook" which basically means he wanders around the County taking care of these supernatural problems..witches, ghosts, boggarts, etc. He's sort of like a colonial era version of the Ghostbusters. And he's taken our central character Tom as his apprentice. Tom is a bit frightened and wary of what this means, but he puts his heart into the effort and learns a lot, but also makes a number of very BAD mistakes which lead to a lot of bad problems for himself, the community, the Spook and others.

    I felt like the story arc was pretty cohesive and the trajectory was generally believable. It was a bit of a stretch for me when Tom kept quiet about his encounter on the way back from town (I don't want to spell out what he kept secret, as it's a semi-spoiler). The Spook is Tom's authority figure and he'd given him very specific and particular advice. It didn't seem odd to me that Tom would have an opportunity to go against the Spook's advice.but it did seem odd that he didn't let the Spook know what happened. I guess perhaps he was ashamed/embarrassed, but since nothing had really happened, there shouldn't have been any need for hesitation. Still, I guess that's probably just me trying to put an adult mindset on a child's behavior.

    Anyway, the story progressed well and I found myself caught up in the suspense and horror of the events as they unfolded. Things went from bad to worse to disastrous. And it felt like a natural rather than contrived flow. I was somewhat surprised at how everything finally came to a resolution.

    So, overall, I enjoyed the book and found it an entertainingly creepy read. But, would I recommend it for my ten year old? NO. I would not. Part of me wants to because it was an entertaining read.but the larger part of me doesn't want to because this is a dark and gritty book. It's definitely written with children in mind. The horror stays on the tamer side of things.but it's still very creepy and very dark. The elements of violence and segments of gruesome interactions would certainly be frightening to anyone with tender sensitivities. Perhaps I'm being over protective as a parent.but I don't feel like this is the sort of book for a young reader. I could see the content working for a teenage audience.but by that point, it may come off as a little thin for teens who would rather graduate up to adult horror/thrillers.

    Generally, I give the writing and the story 3.5 out of 5 stars, but even though it's a "kids" book, I can't recommend it for youngsters.

    ****
    3.5 out of 5

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Entertaining and captivating even for adults

    Reading this book was a very easy and quick read, which as an adult I enjoyed when I wanted to be entertained without investing a major commitment of time. It is great for those times when you want to relax your brain and I was surprised how addicted I became to the characters. Its like a really good piece of candy that you consume quickly and leaves you wanting more. I read through the remainig published series and loved them. I can't wait for my children to be old enough to read this series and I look forward to the next published book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating For Any Age!

    Joseph Delaney has a brilliant imagination that can make anyone from 4th grade to 12th grade addicted to this wonderful series. The suspense, the wonder, the darkness, and Delaney's somewhat strange mind twist into a creepy world filled with monsters of every kind. While the series doesn't make you wanna hide in your closet until the break of dawn, it has its moments to make you want to peek over your shoulder, just in case Joseph Delaney's imagination might be reality, though that might be just on a stormy night. Overall, this book and series are more addictive than when you read Goosebumps back in grade school.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Entertaining

    If you like the Fablehaven, Harry Potter type books. You will love these.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Read twice

    Even though ive read through book 10, all of my "OMG whats going to happen next?" moments stayed the same

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Last apprentice

    Fast read.. Even for me... "book a day bandit"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Very Easy Read, But A-mazing Plot

    Perfection in 200 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Awesome series for teens.

    The Spook's series is a must read for teens who want to read a twist on the old good versus evil battle. In a land where boggarts, witches and other creatures of the dark roam, Tom, our main character finds himself in the role as the 7th son of the 7th son. With that ranking comes the ability to see the forces of evil. It's a fun read and the following titles in the series develop the story Delaney is telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Enjoyable read for adults too!

    Darker and more mature than Harry Potter...not nearly as absorbing as the HP series though. Some pretty intense moments.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Start to a Fun Series

    I really enjoyed this book,Tom is the 7th son of a 7th son and has been apprenticed to the local "Spook' he is the man who takes care of ghosts and witches and such.Although the Spook gives Tom just a few rules, of course Tom breaks a biggy and ends up releasing a very bad witch that the Spook had already taken care of.And so Tom's adventure begins.
    This is a good YA or even older Juvenile Fiction.If you are a fan of Harry Potter, Septimus Heap, or even The Ranger's Apprentice I really think you will like this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Recommend.

    Interesting time and county. Holds your interest. A bit different from similar books. Looking forward to next book in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Loved it

    Although it seemed little childish I think it was a great read and left an open mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    Was a great read and definitly keeps your attention to where you dont want to put it down. Recommend for anyone to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Me The Sexy Shabbin and what I think of the book

    At first I thought that the book cover looked scary and when I read the book it was ok so yh its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Not to shabby

    Was a good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Good book

    I liked the overall theme of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Goo

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great Fun

    Just bought the 3rd book in this series. Very well written and hard to stop reading once you get started. This is another young adult sries but I'd be very careful giving it to anyone under 14 or 15. Many adult themes and genuinely scary stuff going on here. Not for everyone but if you like fanatasy and adventure with some good honest "scares" thrown in you won't want to miss these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Jetfur

    "You don't seem fine.. You seem.. Sad?" He mewed softly, looking at her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Fernstar

    The old medicine cat settled into the clearing leaving a trail of starlight behind her. Whats with weasilkit? The statclan leader asked nervously.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3