Customer Reviews for

The Reversal (Harry Bosch Series #16 & Mickey Haller Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 938 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(388)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch Make a Great Team!

Mickey Haller is asked by the District Attorney's Office to cross the aisle and be the prosecutor in the retrial of Jason Jessup. Through use of DNA testing a key piece of evidence from the 1986 trial was thrown out and Jessup's conviction has been overturned. Jessup ...
Mickey Haller is asked by the District Attorney's Office to cross the aisle and be the prosecutor in the retrial of Jason Jessup. Through use of DNA testing a key piece of evidence from the 1986 trial was thrown out and Jessup's conviction has been overturned. Jessup was convicted of abducting and killing a young girl and dumping her body.

Mickey is reluctant to take the case at first feeling that it is a losing proposition and against his nature as a defense lawyer but he is soon convinced to do it. He chooses Maggie McPherson, his ex-wife as his assistant and none other than his half-brother, Harry Bosch to be his investigator.

Connelly does a masterful job of writing, using first person when the chapters are more about Mickey, and third person when the chapters focus on Harry. This style works quite well.

As the story progresses Harry calls in the services of his old girlfriend Rachel Walling, who blends into the tale quite nicely. Haller tries to use his own experience as a defender to anticipate all the moves of his opponent in court and most times is quite correct in his assumptions.

As Jessup is awaiting trial, he is allowed out and the press follows him around like he is a celebrity. This shows the ugliness of our society where vicious criminals can sometimes be admired Also people mistakenly think that if that if criminals are treated well, they will be your friend and change their ways.

It is apparent that Jessup hasn't changed his ways and his nightly travels suggest that he is up to something. It is up to Mickey, Maggie and Harry to keep all their wits and work at constant overtime to make sure Jessup is taken down again before he can get his way.

The book doesn't have as much action as past Bosch/Haller individual tales, but the courtroom dialogue exchanges are great and Harry's investigative talents are at their best.

I hope Mr. Connelly can come up with more creative ways going forward to keep Harry and Mickey working together!

posted by Kataman1 on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

Too many plot spoilers with harrit klausner leading the clan. Bn, when will anything ever be done to stop her. She has gone on for so long that others think its ok to tell the entire content of the book, including the ending, therby ruining it for everyone else. Please ...
Too many plot spoilers with harrit klausner leading the clan. Bn, when will anything ever be done to stop her. She has gone on for so long that others think its ok to tell the entire content of the book, including the ending, therby ruining it for everyone else. Please do something to these plot spoilers, especially harriet klausner.

posted by 8888649 on September 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 258 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    michael connelly, the reversal

    In "The Reversal," Michael Connelly follows the story of Jason Jessup--a convicted murderer of a twelve-year old girl whose case receives a new trial--after new DNA evidence on the girl's dress doesn't match that of Jason. Defense lawyer Mickey Haller is asked to switch sides and become a prosecutor on this case--a role he agrees to after making his half-brother Harry Bosch (another big character in Connelly's thrillers) the main investigator, and calling his ex-wife Maggie McPhee to become the second chair on the prosecution. Opposing them is Jessup's defense lawyer Clive Royce--a media-hungry attorney who believes this is the case that would enhance his career--and Jessup himself, a cold inscrutable character who is tough to figure out.

    However, the main problem for Mickey and his team is that the case is over twenty years old and many of the witnesses--including the victim's sister who was the one to originally identify Jessup as kidnapper--are now untraceable. However when Attorney Royce asks the judge to grant Jessup bail, pending the start of the trial, Haller doesn't object despite the surprise of his prosecution teammates. His plan soon becomes clear--follow Jessup around and see if he inadvertently leaves any clues behind that could compromise his innocence.

    In contrast to Connelly's last book, "Nine Dragons," which was an action packed thriller, this book is a slower-moving suspenseful drama. We don't actually get to the court until later in the book, but the plot focuses on the prosecution side and their unraveling of the case. The star of the book is obviously Jason Jessup--a cold-hearted convict who may or may not be hiding something. He vaguely reminded me of Hannibal Lecter in Silence of the Lambs, in terms of his steely behavior. The pace picks up towards the end, for a surprising finish.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book which teams up Micheal Haller and Har

    I really enjoyed this book which teams up Micheal Haller and Harry Bosch. Haller is normally a defense attorney but he is brought to the other side of the aisle when a special independent prosecutor is needed to retry the case of a man who has spent 24 years in prison for the murder of a young girl. New evidence has been found that indicates that he may be innocent. However, the DA feels that the man who was convicted is guilty of killing the little girl. The DA asks Mickey Haller to come over to the other side and prosecute the man. Mickey agrees as long as he gets to use his ex-wife Maggie McPherson as his second chair and his half-brother, Police Detective Harry Bosch as his investigator.

    Together, Bosch and Haller set off on a very dangerous case. Opposing them is Jessup who is now out on bail, his defense attorney who excels at manipulating the media, and a runaway eyewitness who is reluctant to testify after so many years.

    With the odds against them, Bosch and Haller must establish proof that Jessup is a sadistic killer once and for all. If Bosch is sure of anything, it is that Jason Jessup plans to kill again.

    Connelly’s descriptions were very captivating. You could picture everyone and everything that he wrote about.

    I must admit that I was a bit disappointed at the end. Or maybe that it did end. I wanted to keep on reading. This story is very well set up. It progresses in a logical fashion from beginning to end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very entertaining!

    Mick Haller is an honest man and good at what he does, although he may at times allow himself to be caught up in the "game" that court trials have become and lose sight of what it is really supposed to be about-- justice.

    Mick brings in his ex-wife Maggie to play second chair during the trial. Maggie pushes him and makes him better. The sexual tension between them adds a lot of nice energy. You feel that Mick is always trying to live up to his ex-wife's expectations of him, and that he dreads ever letting her down. They have the quintessential love-hate relationship.

    Mick also has an investigator working the case by the name of Harry Bosch. They didn't really delve into the backstory on these guys, but it seems that perhaps Mick and Harry are half-brothers. There seems to be tension and an air of disapproval between them, but they work well together.

    This is my first Connelly story, so I don't know the history of Haller, McPherson and Bosch, but I enjoyed the familiarity that played out amongst them, and there was lots of tension-- sexual chemistry, resentment, old grudges-- along with mutual respect.

    My final word: I don't believe there was ever a moment in this story where I found myself bored, as there was plenty of suspense. It was very easy to read, with lots of dialogue, and great characters-- just the way I like it! The conclusion may have been slightly anti-climatic, but not enough to have detracted from the story at all. I normally don't read much crime fiction, but this one left me wanting to go back and read all of the others to precede it in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Gotta read!

    Probably one of the best books by Michael that I have read. You feel as if you are part of the team. Fast paced and riveting. Don't pass this one up, you won't be disapointed!Each turn of the page hols more and more adventure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    I am hooked on "Harry Bosch" (& Michael Connelly.)

    I am hooked on "Harry Bosch" (& Michael Connelly.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Very good

    The just get better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    recommended

    Great book. Michael Connelly at his best. The book holds your interest from the first word to the surprising and different type of ending. Well worth the read.
    The extra videos, incorporated within the book, make you feel that you are right there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    liked it

    Good story. Think if are fan you will like it to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Prity cool

    Cool reallycool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended-Great action and suspense

    If you like detective thrillers and mystery then here is one for you.I really enjoyed this one. I am a big fan of the Harry Bosch series, have read most of them, and enjoyed the interaction of the characters. It is also packed with a good story line and a "What's next" thought ? I purchased on e-book.


    Bruno King

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 Stars -- Entertaining Overall But Flawed!

    The Reversal has a lot to like about it -- a good plot, well-developed characters, "real world" dialogue, interesting courtroom drama, solid police investigative work, and of course, Connelly's ability to write in a style that makes the reader feel they are right there in the thick of things. The plot provides a credible rationale for lawyer Mickey Haller and Det. Harry Bosch to share the spotlight in The Reversal. Haller accepts a one-time offer from the LA District Attorney to serve as the prosecutor to retry a case in which the conviction of a killer imprisoned for twenty-four years was reversed on the basis of DNA. Bosch (Haller's half-brother) is brought in by Haller to serve as a special investigator. For these reasons, I liked the book overall. With that said, however, I felt The Reversal has some serious weaknesses that kept me from liking it "very much", and resulted in my feeling this book was not one of Connelly's best. One weakness is that, unlike many other Connelly books, the level of suspense was somewhat tepid and the extent of plot twists was pretty limited compared to what I've come to expect from Connelly. But the biggest weakness to me pertained to the ending -- which left me somewhat dissatisfied due to the amount of unresolved issues (which I won't get in to so that I "don't give away the store"). Based on this ending it seems pretty likely that we know what Connelly's next book will be about. Of course, even an average Connelly book with flaws is better than most crime fiction books. If you're a fan of Bosch and/or Haller I think you'll be generally satisfied with The Reversal -- but I wouldn't suggest that you rush to buy it. Waiting for it to come out in paperback or taking it from the library would be my recommendation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good book

    Very good book. Ending totally surprised me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Solid !!

    This storyline was engaging from start to finish. I think it's one of Connelly's best to date.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Good read susprnseful!

    It krpt mr riveted. Kept me guessing what woulf happen next

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Great storyline!

    Very good read. Not sure if it is worth the price though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended - He does it again!

    I really enjoy both of these characters and having them together for the whole book is great. The story moves along very quickly and keeps your interest. I haven't been disappointed in a Michael Connelly book yet...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Recommended Connelly book

    Another one of Connelly's masterfully written mystery novels. I've read almost all of his novels and he's by far my favorite writer. Only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is that I thought the wrapping up of the story was a little loose and clumsy from what I'm used to from Connelly. But it was a very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Great Read

    Harry and Mickey at their best!! Looking foward to the next in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great effort from Connelly

    His name may not carry the same recognition as Grisham, Patterson or Baldacci. His books may not always reach the #1 bestseller status. But I must say that they are consistently good reads and real page turners. This one fits that same mold. Buy, read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 258 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13