Customer Reviews for

Revived

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Ever since I read the blurb and saw the cover of Revived I wante

Ever since I read the blurb and saw the cover of Revived I wanted to read it, and when I managed to get an ARC in my hands I was ecstatic, and once I actually read it I was even more thrilled! Revived is amazing! Honestly, it's addictive, and the story just reels you in...
Ever since I read the blurb and saw the cover of Revived I wanted to read it, and when I managed to get an ARC in my hands I was ecstatic, and once I actually read it I was even more thrilled! Revived is amazing! Honestly, it's addictive, and the story just reels you in and keeps you hooked until the very last page!

I wasn't sure about Daisy at first, she comes off as kind of flippant, mostly because of how she views death after using Revive for so long. However, even with her flippant feelings towards death, I really liked her as a character. I found her to be hilarious, and I really liked getting to see her open up to Audrey and Matt. I have to say though, while I loved Daisy and Matt together, I loved her relationship with Mason even more. He may not be her actual father, but they had one of the most amazing relationships I've seen in YA between a child and their parental figure. He respects her, and while she may not always listen to him, she still loves him and you could tell he genuinely cared about her. Their relationship wasn't something that I was expecting, but I was thrilled that it was there. I also loved Daisy's friend, Megan, and the blog that they run together sounds awesome. It's also nice to see unconventional character types given the respect and attention that they deserve. I'll let you read about Megan in Daisy's story...no spoiler from me here. :P

Along with the fabulous relationships in this book, it has one amazing storyline. I'm not going to go into too much detail because this is the kind of story that is so much better to experience for yourself, but I absolutely loved it! I'm a sucker for a good conspiracy...and I'm sure that there's no shock that this book has a big once since it's described right in the description. :P I thought that Daisy was the perfect narrator to undercover it all, and I loved getting to experience everything clicking into place for her as she figured everything out.

Overall, I absolutely loved Revived, and I recommend it to anyone who wants an action-packed story that's also character driven. I will warn you that it might make you a bit squeamish at times because Daisy goes into detail about the times that she had to use Revive, but I didn't find it to be too much. However, I do know that I'm not the most sensitive person when it comes to that kind of stuff...I mean I do read zombie books, so I'm warning you just in case. :P That being said, I wholeheartedly suggest that you get your hands on a copy of Revived the first chance you get because this is one story you do not want to miss! :D

***I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
***This review is also posted on my blog and my other social media profiles.

posted by Ambur on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Revived is a hard-hitting read that will challenge readers intel

Revived is a hard-hitting read that will challenge readers intellectually, by taking a difficult question and putting names and identities to people in a certain situation to help bring it to life. I'm one of those people that is often guilty of thinking that I have all...
Revived is a hard-hitting read that will challenge readers intellectually, by taking a difficult question and putting names and identities to people in a certain situation to help bring it to life. I'm one of those people that is often guilty of thinking that I have all the answers - I wrestle around with hard questions enough that I'm usually able to come a conclusion for myself and stick with it.




But Revived is one story that challenged some of my answers and made me wonder if it was as simple of a solution as I had made it out to be for myself. Daisy struggles with the concepts of life & death and scientific ethics, but in such a way that the reader begins to re-evaluate their own convictions on these tough topics.




And then it rips your heart right out of your chest in a way that's totally unexpected and reminiscent of how real these scenarios are.




Reasons to Read: 




1. A story to challenge readers:




If science could bring people back from the dead - if we had this power and were capable of accomplishing such a miracle, how would we use it? For some people, the answer to this will be fairly simple. Others will struggle with it, trying to balance out the concerns on the different sides of the issue. And while Revived definitely suggests its own opinion on this question, it does so in a way that still considers how complicated and MESSY this situation would be. And it leaves you incredibly aware of just how little we really know.




2. Lovely story of friendship:




This is probably the aspect that left the biggest mark on me, after reading Revived. I'm really drawn to books that feature strong, loving examples of friendship between characters and Revived is one of the books I've read that has done this best. Daisy's friendship with Audrey was far more memorable to me than most swoon-worthy romance I've read in YA.




Revived truly is a fascinating story, as Daisy navigates a number of problems we only consider "ethical issues" but they're her REAL LIFE. What do you do when you have a secret THIS BIG? It isn't as cut and dry as you  might think.




And in a lot of ways, I really felt like the story was stuffed into a book that was a little bit too small. There were so many struggles and questions that felt so big, but I didn't feel that they got the time or development they deserved to really give them life. As a result, I felt like some areas struggled such as the romance and some of the final events didn't have as much of an impact as they should have. 




ARC received from Hachette Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

posted by EverAfterEsther on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Daisy Appleby just can't seem to stay alive. She has died, liter

    Daisy Appleby just can't seem to stay alive. She has died, literally, five times by the age of fifteen. Thanks to the secret drug Revive, and her ever-present family of agents, Daisy keeps coming back. But every time Daisy is Revived, she must relocate. That's never been a problem because she never puts down roots. When Daisy moves yet again and is befriended by siblings Audrey and Matt, she begins to finally feel like she's home. But when she starts finding clues that suggest the Revive Project has shady motives and methods, Daisy's new home and new life begins to crumble around her. Daisy determines to uncover the evil behind Revive to save those she loves, and herself.

    Set in the present day, with a completely plausible premise, REVIVED was a cool ride from start to finish. I love a nice, thrilling mystery that is rooted in logic. The Revive Project is headed up by a secret division of the FDA. Nobody trusts those people, right? And seriously, we all know there are many "secret" divisions in the different federal departments. [Sidenote: My husband works for the US Gov.'t, not FDA. So I feel a little nervous saying that. :-) ] So you could say, my inner government and theory geek was having a raging good time considering all of this.

    I thought Daisy was an easy to embrace main character. She begins the story understandably detached from the world around her. It makes no sense to her to make friends, establish ties, when she may have to relocate at any time. Daisy begins her transformation when she meets Audrey. Audrey was like a bright, happy burst of life. The story instantly warmed due to her presence. I love the influence she had on Daisy. Audrey's brother, Matt, brings a happy change to Daisy's world. As far as book boys go, he was a nice addition. Matt was cool, thoughtful, and yeah, a hottie. But he also was very realistic. Matt isn't a robotic good guy. He has very real, and not always easy to take, reactions to Daisy and her secret. I appreciated that Matt wasn't Daisy's "puppy", always happy and easy to please. I loved Daisy's "dad", Mason. He was a genuinely warm parental figure and I could tell, even on paper, that he loved Daisy. Interesting tidbit: There is a transgender character. I haven't found many in the books I've read and it was handled very well.

    Overall, I really liked REVIVED. The characters were engaging, the story was beyond cool. I loved author Cat Patrick's style. The flow and structure of her words made the story an easy, quick read. I did find that the pace lagged a bit in the middle portion of the book. The last portion more than made up for it, though. It was a crazy intense roller-coaster of action and emotion. And though I would enjoy more adventures with Daisy, I was glad to see the story neatly tied up. REVIVED, for me, was very enjoyable.


    Favorite Quote:

    "I feel like I'm drawing out his pain like venom from a rattlesnake bite and, for a few minutes, it makes me forget my own misery." (pg. 235)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fun contemporary read with sci-fi elements, Revived is about t

    A fun contemporary read with sci-fi elements, Revived is about the perspective that humans will take towards death when they no longer need to fear dying and what will happen when a girl who doesn't fear death must finally face the consequences of death and the potential loss of those she cares about.

    I was disappointed by the lack of action as compared to what the synopsis suggests. When I heard that Daisy takes extraordinary risks, I thought that she deliberately places her life in danger/ is a daredevil of sorts. Rather, the greatest mortal risk she appears to have taken is leaving her EpiPen at home when she has a deadly allergy to bees. We never learn much about the Revive program, and the "threat" doesn't feel as sinister as the synopsis makes it out to be. It is a threat, but the suspense isn't built throughout the book. Mainly, the story seems to be about Daisy mingling with the real world for the first time.

    The characters bring this book to life. Daisy is a sweet girl with a relatable, engaging voice. Being one of fourteen children in a program testing the drug Revive, she has never allowed herself to grow close to her peers for fear that they will find out about the program. Because Daisy has never feared death herself, she doesn't know what to do when faced with true death, one where someone she cares about cannot come back. It is then that she must question the moral rightness of the Revive project for the first time. What good is a world where only certain people can be brought back? Who should Revive be shared with? How will people react when they learn that their loved ones can't be brought back?

    Daisy's first friends are the McKean siblings. Both siblings are gorgeous and charismatic. Daisy has conflicts over her yearning for Matt, as he happens to be the older brother of her new best girlfriend Audrey, her only girl friend. Their relationship is very real and sweet. They don't know what to do with each other at first because of Audrey, and when they do grow closer, it is bittersweet--filled with tears, frustration, and mutual empathy. My one problem with their relationship is how quickly Daisy shares her secret with Matt. While she does second-guess sharing with him, it takes one moment with him for her to throw her fears away and tell--all after years of never growing close to anyone for fear they will find out.

    Revived is a an entertaining and emotionally charged read that I finished in one sitting. I would recommend this to those who would enjoy a contemporary read with sci-fi elements. This may not be your kind of read if you're looking for heavy action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    I've never come across a story like this before. I was drawn in

    I've never come across a story like this before. I was drawn in quickly and couldn't put it down. Revive is a drug that can bring people back to life. The main character Daisy has died and been revived 5 times. When she has to relocate again to Omaha Nebraska things start to get really interesting. She makes new friends and even gets a boyfriend. Tragedy strikes though when her best friend Audrey dies and Revive can't help her.I felt Daisy's pain and even cried when Audrey died. This story was a fascinating mixture of science fiction, adventure and young love and loss. It wraps up nicely at the end but I would love to see more about what happens after all this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    This book just started brilliantly! It started with a death! Hel

    This book just started brilliantly! It started with a death! Hello! Yes!

    Of course the premise of the book is death and rebirth and it totally captured my heart when I saw it in the HBG catalogue. And I mean the cover...*sighs* :)

    In the very beginning, I just fell hard for the characters. They didn't seem fake or cliché at all! Daisy was not "trying-to-hard-to-be-tough" kind of girl. She was strong and dominant but not too in your face. She is also a blogger! WOOT! Bloggers represent! Mason...well Mason. I do have to say I love older man ;) Cat totally didn't meant for the readers to fall head over heel for Mason but I totally did. He was like the perfect secret agent. And as for Cassie, the other agent, well she was like a comic book female character. She was depicted as a cold person but could act as a sweetheart. I think why I love Mason and Cassie so much was how they could fool people around them. They were the ultimate government agents...with a heart. The men in black are totally amazing. They were so secretive and totally pictured them stealthy as...well...Batman ;) Audrey and Matt were awesome characters as well. But I didn't love Matt. I didn't connect with him.

    I just love the plot. You might think the plot was properly boring and predictable, but no! There were many surprises in the book. The book was more like a speculative fiction instead of science fiction. It just totally felt realistic. And "God" is so much more than I expected.

    The only thing was that there were parts that were dry. It was less intense then I first initially expected. Some other bloggers had mentioned it was more a contemporary book.


    The ending! WOW! It was so twisted, and unexpected! It felt like someone pull the carpet out under me and let me fell into this black, blank space (in a good way).


    PS: Cat mentioned PCR, which I just learnt last month. WOOT! Thank you for adding cool, little science within the book. It totally reminded me of Kathy Reich's novels.

    I recommend this book! Great job Cat! I can't wait to read Forgotten!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I didn't want it to end!

    I didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    I got kinda bored

    When i first ordered this book i loved the amazing plot and the review were telling me to read it. So i ordered it. Well at th e time, i hadnt gotten to read it. So when i finally staarted reading it i got hooked on the amazing and cery different plot. So then i saw another book (maximum ride) and i fell in love with it! So this book seemed less appealing to me. After i finished maximum ride i started to read this book. But revived didnt get me hooked as i thought it did. Near chapter si it go down to information i didnt reallly care about. So this book is just sitting in my libary unfinished ill probally reaad this in three years if i remember. SO LONG STORY SHORT READ MAXIMUM RIDE NOT THIS ONE. Lol i like this one but it came down to more thinking then enjoying the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    'Revived' is an interesting look at a future/alternate world whe

    'Revived' is an interesting look at a future/alternate world where a drug can bring certain people back to life after they've died. There are restrictions of course, but our heroine Daisy has been lucky enough to have used Revive several times. The concept of Revive and all its possibilities was really interesting and it was a bit unique compared to other books in the genre.

    The characters were all extremely likeable and easy to identify with - especially Daisy, who has to deal with normal teen problems on top of secret government programs and some other really tough situations. The character growth of Daisy is really apparent throughout the novel, where the reader sees her go from a goodie-goodie to someone who trusts her instincts and does what she believes is right. She also deals with feelings of betrayal, guilt, loneliness and isolation and self-discovery - which almost every reader can easily empathize with.

    The backstory is very well written and presented in a way that fits perfectly into the book's narrative. It contains all the important details of Daisy's past and the facts surrounding the Revive program without weighing the story down. The only thing I didn't like was the feeling the book gave of Daisy's friend/boyfriend Matt possibly becoming a bad guy. Something about the foreshadowing in the novel made me suspicious of him and it ended up having no merit. Other than that small detail, this was a wonderfully written book and I really enjoyed reading it.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing from page one, Daisy got my attention. I love how the

    Engrossing from page one, Daisy got my attention. I love how the author mixed conspiracy, God-like abilities and secrets to engage the reader into a whole other world!


    Revived captured me with the sense of mystery. With a banging opening, it kick off with conspiracy all the way. I love following clues and getting to know the character Daisy. Each time more tidbits were dropped about the revival program, what it can, I soak it up like a sponge.


    The love interest is great cause with this love interest is the downfall of the character. Daisy is sworn to secracy, but teh first person she falls in love with, secrets spilled. NOOOOOOO! It did add major drama amd much more intenseifying moments.


    The ending of the book is great. Torn between betrayal and the one she loves, Daisy is in for a whole new slew of troubles heading her way. The fight may be over, but the war is just beginning.


    Revived pushes the reader to the edge of their seat. With chapters full of action, secrets, and a God who is unknown, the reader is enticed. Revived is riveting and compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    It was good!

    I really did like this book! It was interesting and i read it in just a couple days! Definitely some shocking twists in there and it keeps you hooked! I dont know if this is just me, but i did think that the nicknames were a little weird. Am i the only one? Anyway, overall i thought it was pretty good book! I loved it when Audrey serenaded daisy and matt! Made me laugh:)! I definitely recommend it! And i recommend trying Cat patricks other book too, Forgotten!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1