Customer Reviews for

Revolution

Average Rating 4.5
( 476 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(308)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Haunting and Beautiful

"I don't like hope very much. In fact, I hate it. It's the crystal meth of emotions. It hooks you fast and kills you hard. It's bad news. The Worst. It's sharp sticks and cherry bombs"- Andi Alpers




My Thoughts: Revolution is one of the most powerful books I hav...
"I don't like hope very much. In fact, I hate it. It's the crystal meth of emotions. It hooks you fast and kills you hard. It's bad news. The Worst. It's sharp sticks and cherry bombs"- Andi Alpers




My Thoughts: Revolution is one of the most powerful books I have ever read. It is hard to put words to how lovely and gripping I thought this book was. Once you start you will not be able to finish, all though I must admit when I was reaching the end, reading the last few pages I stopped, and I put the book down because I didn't want to finish it, I did not want the story to end. Senior Editor, Krista Marino explained it best when she wrote the 'Dear Reader' "Revolution' is a one-of-a-kind reading experience". The character development was so well done, you really learn who each character is and what type of person they are. Alex is a character that I will never forget, she pushed herself into my heart and will remain there. Every time a diary entry would end, my heart would sink. I was desperately seeking her fate just as much as Andi was. Alex will capture the heart of all her readers. It will be impossible not to love and care for her. Reading Revolution was like being transported back and forth through time, to modern day Paris and Brooklyn to Eighteenth Century Paris during the brutality of the French Revolution,. The author draws you into the book so much you feel as if you are living the life of Alex and Andi right there with them. On a lighter side the book was very funny, Andi has an incredible quick-witted humour, there was never a dull moment while reading this book. Her best friend Vijay Gupta had a hilarious sense of humour as well and his many nicknames for his mother always made me laugh. Revolution brings music, art and history together in a beautiful harmony. It brings love, hope, tragedy and self-growth. This book will have something for everyone and I strongly recommend it. People will definitely miss out if they don't read Revolution.

posted by Crazy-Bookworm on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic YA from Jennifer Donnelly

Andi Alpers is devastated when her brother Truman dies, a situation that has since caused her to sunk into a depression. The only thing that can ease her pain is playing her guitar. Her mother isn't handling it well either, and when Andi's father enrolls her mother in a...
Andi Alpers is devastated when her brother Truman dies, a situation that has since caused her to sunk into a depression. The only thing that can ease her pain is playing her guitar. Her mother isn't handling it well either, and when Andi's father enrolls her mother in a hospital for a few weeks, he takes Andi with him to Paris. She is hesitant to go, but staying home with failing grades and an even worse reputation doesn't sound much better. However, it isn't very long before Paris becomes much more interesting for Andi. She meets an alluring boy named Virgil, explores the dark catacombs, and finds an old journal with an intriguing history written on it's pages.

Donnelly's previous YA book A Northern Light is on my list of favorite books of all time, so I have been eagerly awaiting her next one for quite a while. When I saw the cover and read the synopsis of this one, I was largely uninterested. It sounded so boring! When I actually started reading, however, I was soon proven wrong. I fell into Andi's pain and depression almost immediately. I haven't read anything this deliciously angsty in a long time. The poor girl! The short length chapters helped pull me through the almost 500 pages in about two days. I would tell myself "one more chapter" and then suddenly a hundred pages will have gone by! The romance between Andi and Virgil was HOT and I wanted more, more, more of him! There were a few moments when I thought Andi was a little too cliche ("Boys let you down but music never does."), though that didn't turn me off too much. The parallel story written in the journal wasn't nearly as interesting as Andi's story itself, but perhaps the reader needs to be more interested in the French Revolution than I am. All in all, the similarities to Dante's Inferno were well matched, and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

posted by ChelseaW on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting and Beautiful

    "I don't like hope very much. In fact, I hate it. It's the crystal meth of emotions. It hooks you fast and kills you hard. It's bad news. The Worst. It's sharp sticks and cherry bombs"- Andi Alpers




    My Thoughts: Revolution is one of the most powerful books I have ever read. It is hard to put words to how lovely and gripping I thought this book was. Once you start you will not be able to finish, all though I must admit when I was reaching the end, reading the last few pages I stopped, and I put the book down because I didn't want to finish it, I did not want the story to end. Senior Editor, Krista Marino explained it best when she wrote the 'Dear Reader' "Revolution' is a one-of-a-kind reading experience". The character development was so well done, you really learn who each character is and what type of person they are. Alex is a character that I will never forget, she pushed herself into my heart and will remain there. Every time a diary entry would end, my heart would sink. I was desperately seeking her fate just as much as Andi was. Alex will capture the heart of all her readers. It will be impossible not to love and care for her. Reading Revolution was like being transported back and forth through time, to modern day Paris and Brooklyn to Eighteenth Century Paris during the brutality of the French Revolution,. The author draws you into the book so much you feel as if you are living the life of Alex and Andi right there with them. On a lighter side the book was very funny, Andi has an incredible quick-witted humour, there was never a dull moment while reading this book. Her best friend Vijay Gupta had a hilarious sense of humour as well and his many nicknames for his mother always made me laugh. Revolution brings music, art and history together in a beautiful harmony. It brings love, hope, tragedy and self-growth. This book will have something for everyone and I strongly recommend it. People will definitely miss out if they don't read Revolution.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    READ OF A LIFETIME!!!

    REVOLUTION is a "Tour de Force" book. I will not want to give any of
    the story away, but be assured that this book is the READ OF A LIFETIME.
    Jennifer Donnelly invented a totally new genre for REVOLUTION.
    And after you read the last sentence of REVOLUTION you will have a
    new understanding of the world and mostly of yourself.

    An inspiration for all ages.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful and Beautiful for YA and Adult Readers Alike

    I am not a YA reader. Many years older. Taught high school and college level lit. for years. After all those years lived and books taught, I LOVED this book. It makes A Tale of Two Cities and Les Miserables relevant to the 21st century. It moves and impresses even a seasoned reader like me. A must-read for YA readers and for those who relate to YA's and to human emotions. Kudos to Jennifer Donnelly for a masterful novel!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    Like nothing I've read before ...

    How powerful was this book? Locomotive, hurricane, a-bomb ... I don't know -- I can't find the words to adequately describe it. I do know I have never been so captivated by a book and I have never learned so much -- about an important period of history, yes, but also about themes that transcend time such as love, grief, forgiveness, growing up, acceptance, hope, evil ... and, um, I guess the whole proverbial human condition. I know now how to respond to the stupidity and brutality of this world. I also have a whole new appreciation for the power of music -- and I'll never listen to The Smiths, Pink Floyd, The Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Ramones, Led Zeppelin, The Decemberists or Radiohead in quite the same way again.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Wow

    Wow was the word that came from my mouth when I finished reading Jennifer Donnellys Revolution due to me being pretty much speechless :]. When I was at the bookstore I must admit I struggled between this book and another and I am glad I got Revolution. When I got home around 8 I did not put it down until I finished it (around 11). My point is that this is an awesome book! Donnelly shows the hurt we go through when we lose a loved one and how love for another can make you do pretty much anything. Plus I am a huge history geek so the French revolution was a nice treat. So buy/borrow the book you will not be dismayed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    BEST BOOK I HAVE READ IN A WHILE

    This book from the first page grabs a holed of you and doesn't let you go to the end. The stories of both Alex and Andi are just so moving and so in depth that anyone could relate to them in some way or another. The main focus of this story is love but not just any kind of love. The kind of love you have for a sibling or the love you have for someone that you care for so deeply that you would do anything to protect them from all the bad in the world. Jennifer Donnelly does an amazing job with the history the goes along with this story. This book is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!!!

    This book had me hooked from day one. It was truly amazing, incredibly moving. Had a little bit of history in it but definitely not a history book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent blend of history and fiction!

    Wow, just wow. I pretty much picked this book to read based on two things: one, it's by Jennifer Donnelly, and I've read and loved all her books so far, and two, the French Revolution plays a part in the plot. Having gone to France the year before the 200-year anniversary of the storming of the Bastille in high school, that period of history has always interested me. Now that I'm finished, I'm very glad I chose it.

    Andi Alpers is in trouble. She's fighting the guilt and depression that her younger brother's death has left her with. She's dealing with a mother who most days isn't dealing with anything herself at all. She's angry with her father for deserting his family, in spirit long before he physically left them. And she's in real danger of being expelled from her prestigious private school. Once her father hears from the school about her current status, though, Andi finds herself wisked off to Paris over winter break so she can work on her senior thesis under her father's supervision.

    Once there, she finds the two-hundred-year-old diary of Alexandrine Paradis, an ambitious wannabe actress who unwittingly becomes embroiled in the drama surrounding the French Revolution and the doomed life of the young prince of France. Soon, the diary becomes more real to Andi than her own life, and when it ends in a way she can't accept, she nearly loses everything. A new friend helps her to cope, however, and an unexpected dream--or it?--gives her more insight into her own place in the world than she ever dreamed possible. An amazing book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I would like to start off by saying how wrong I was! I have always thought audio books and historical novels were not for me. See I know what the characters sound like in my head so hearing the narrators voice throws me off. Also I had a really bad experience with my first audio book. The only reason I gave audio books a second chance was because I forgot to cancel my audible subscription. Historical books are usually hard for me because again I can't picture the voice or feel I could not relate to someone from so long ago but Revolution has changed my mind!

    The first hour or so I was skeptic and it took me about four times restarting the book, because I couldn't convince myself that I would like the audio but once I got past that and really started listening to the story I found myself relating to Andi. In Revolution Andi attends a private school that she doesn't much care for and it leads back to her brother Truman dying but they don't go into it at first. Her mother is an emotional mess and Andi is spiraling out of control and practically suicidal. Her estrange father steps in and takes Andi with him to Paris France for work. Her father was there to perform DNA test on a heart thought to be of ten year old Louis-Charles son of of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette.

    Andi wants nothing more than to return back home to take care of her mother but her father thinks Andi can't be trusted alone and he's right. While in Paris Andi discovers a diary of Louis-Charles nanny who tells the story of what happened to him. Andi slowly because emotionally attached to both Alex and Louis-Charles and hopes for a happy ending for both. Louis-Charles looked a lot like her brother Truman and the story of what is thought to be the last days of his life are tragic.

    While in Paris Andi meets Virgil an aspiring hip-hop artist who can clearly see that Andi is so emotionally broken and yet he is so drawn to her. He completely captured my heart! Andie makes a deal with her father that if she can finish a school assignment early can she return home early but Virgil and Alex's story are factors that make her reconsider leaving Paris.

    The story is so vast and so beautiful I can't explain how much I loved it! I plan to buy the physical copy of this book and listen to the audio again. If you are not sure about audio and/or historical I highly recommend this book to you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Donnelly did a wonderful job creating two characters personalities so vividly in this book! I read it in one sitting, and I've read a lot since. Worth buying totally. I love books about the French Rev., and this is definitely one of my favorites! I never found the storyline lacking, or slow, and i highly recommend it,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!!!

    I loved this book so much. The history, the words, the characters, all great! Probably the best book I have read in quite a while. Though I recommend it for older teens, because some of the topics about the Revolution are a bit...overwhelming. All in all a great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Absolutely Amazing!

    Absolutely Amazing Book! A little slow at first but overall a great book. I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Amazing

    One of the best books I've read in a long time! I wasn't very familiar with the French Revolution before but this book will give you a whole new, tragic veiw. It was so amazing to be able to feel the main characters' feelings. I loved the entire thing, from the first page to the diary entries, to the last line!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Awesome!!

    I was unsure of this book at first, but I am so glad I purchased it! I could not put this book down I couldn't wait to find out what happened next! Its a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everything about Donnelly's writing is compelling...and perfect

    Let me start by saying I'm not a huge fan of historical fiction. I have read a few, but not many. In Revolution, Jennifer Donnelly tells a beautiful story that blends together the present and the past in a way that's stunningly real. Two girls, two centuries apart, become one as their stories and griefs intertwine. There are so many paranormal and supernatural stories out there, we sometimes forget that stories like this can still pull us into a new world, much like our own, and leave us feeling compelled to turn the next page.

    Andi Alpers lost her brother, and it's all her fault. At least, that's what she says. And because of it, she tries to get herself killed to end the pain. Walking in front of cars, looking off the edge of a building one step away from death, she's tried them all. She takes pills to aid her depression, and plays music to get away from it all.

    Her father, a Nobel prize winning scientist who's almost never home, comes home one day when he finds out Andi is about to be expelled from one of the most prestigious schools in Brooklyn. He takes her with him to Paris during her winter break to work on her thesis, which is required for her to graduate. She goes, but not without a fight.

    While she's fumbling with a case, she unknowingly stumbles upon the diary of a girl who lived over 200 years ago. Andi's obsessed with Alex's diary, she can't put it away. Alex, the girl who became the caretaker of the young prince Louis-Charles. The prince who looks exactly like her brother, a life stolen because of madmen.

    Revolution was unputdownable. Everything about Donnelly's writing is compelling - the plot, her writing style, the characters - all perfect. I say, take a break from the vampires, faeries, dragons, and werewolves and dive heart-first into this beautiful and heartfelt story - you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    The best historical fiction novel i have ever read :)

    I thought this book was a little bit slow at first but all in all one of the best books I have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Great!

    This book was a book that I couldnt put down! This book has romance, action, and history. I would definitly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like Running A Marathon!!!!!!

    This book was Amazing!!!! Even though this is a YA novel, I find tht many adults cwould be able to enjoy it also!!! Once I started to read Revolution I just got sucked in, I just couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting when I would have usually taken about 3 days to read it. The characters were so well developed and they progressed so much that I could really connect with both Alex and Andi. I have to admit that this book really put the French Revolution into perspective and I was actually rooting for the survival of the royals, which I knew would never happen. Learning about the French Revolution has now become my favorite pastime! I read Revolution on my NookColor, but I'm planning on buying the book in hardcover since I enjoyed it so much. This book is a MUST READ!!!!!! I can guarantee that you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Takes you away..

    Books are supposed to "take you away" right? Leave you wishing you were somewhere else, someone else.This novel does that, it brings you to places you wish you were and sometimes makes you glad you are who you are. And there's so much valuable history in this book that i totally aced the French Revolution portion of my AP Euro history finals. It takes a topic most teens wouldn't voluntarily read about and puts it into this magically weaved story that makes you imagine more than you ever thought you could on the subject. Please read this book. They say a good book can change you. Well i was indeed changed by this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16