BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Revolution

Average Rating 4.5
( 472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(304)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Haunting and Beautiful

"I don't like hope very much. In fact, I hate it. It's the crystal meth of emotions. It hooks you fast and kills you hard. It's bad news. The Worst. It's sharp sticks and cherry bombs"- Andi Alpers




My Thoughts: Revolution is one of the most powerful books I hav...
"I don't like hope very much. In fact, I hate it. It's the crystal meth of emotions. It hooks you fast and kills you hard. It's bad news. The Worst. It's sharp sticks and cherry bombs"- Andi Alpers




My Thoughts: Revolution is one of the most powerful books I have ever read. It is hard to put words to how lovely and gripping I thought this book was. Once you start you will not be able to finish, all though I must admit when I was reaching the end, reading the last few pages I stopped, and I put the book down because I didn't want to finish it, I did not want the story to end. Senior Editor, Krista Marino explained it best when she wrote the 'Dear Reader' "Revolution' is a one-of-a-kind reading experience". The character development was so well done, you really learn who each character is and what type of person they are. Alex is a character that I will never forget, she pushed herself into my heart and will remain there. Every time a diary entry would end, my heart would sink. I was desperately seeking her fate just as much as Andi was. Alex will capture the heart of all her readers. It will be impossible not to love and care for her. Reading Revolution was like being transported back and forth through time, to modern day Paris and Brooklyn to Eighteenth Century Paris during the brutality of the French Revolution,. The author draws you into the book so much you feel as if you are living the life of Alex and Andi right there with them. On a lighter side the book was very funny, Andi has an incredible quick-witted humour, there was never a dull moment while reading this book. Her best friend Vijay Gupta had a hilarious sense of humour as well and his many nicknames for his mother always made me laugh. Revolution brings music, art and history together in a beautiful harmony. It brings love, hope, tragedy and self-growth. This book will have something for everyone and I strongly recommend it. People will definitely miss out if they don't read Revolution.

posted by Crazy-Bookworm on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic YA from Jennifer Donnelly

Andi Alpers is devastated when her brother Truman dies, a situation that has since caused her to sunk into a depression. The only thing that can ease her pain is playing her guitar. Her mother isn't handling it well either, and when Andi's father enrolls her mother in a...
Andi Alpers is devastated when her brother Truman dies, a situation that has since caused her to sunk into a depression. The only thing that can ease her pain is playing her guitar. Her mother isn't handling it well either, and when Andi's father enrolls her mother in a hospital for a few weeks, he takes Andi with him to Paris. She is hesitant to go, but staying home with failing grades and an even worse reputation doesn't sound much better. However, it isn't very long before Paris becomes much more interesting for Andi. She meets an alluring boy named Virgil, explores the dark catacombs, and finds an old journal with an intriguing history written on it's pages.

Donnelly's previous YA book A Northern Light is on my list of favorite books of all time, so I have been eagerly awaiting her next one for quite a while. When I saw the cover and read the synopsis of this one, I was largely uninterested. It sounded so boring! When I actually started reading, however, I was soon proven wrong. I fell into Andi's pain and depression almost immediately. I haven't read anything this deliciously angsty in a long time. The poor girl! The short length chapters helped pull me through the almost 500 pages in about two days. I would tell myself "one more chapter" and then suddenly a hundred pages will have gone by! The romance between Andi and Virgil was HOT and I wanted more, more, more of him! There were a few moments when I thought Andi was a little too cliche ("Boys let you down but music never does."), though that didn't turn me off too much. The parallel story written in the journal wasn't nearly as interesting as Andi's story itself, but perhaps the reader needs to be more interested in the French Revolution than I am. All in all, the similarities to Dante's Inferno were well matched, and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

posted by ChelseaW on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 304 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    Revolution..

    Revolution is a very well written book about two girls who are centuries apart. Andi is a teenager who lives in present day Brooklyn. Alex, is from the past, the French Revolution. When their two paths cross, no one will believe what happens..
    In Revolution, Andi is a teen with a lot of troubles. The only thing she can find security in his playing her guitar. Her family, well isn't really much of a family at all. Her father walked out on them, and after her brother's dead, Andi's mother went border line insane. Andi attends one of the best high schools in Brooklyn, and when her father finds out she is about to flunk, he shows up. He takes her to Paris during her break, and makes her get her work done. Andi is hesitant to go, but after she screws up once again, and her reputation is on the line, she goes. While Andi is there, she finds a boy, a boy that she is scared of falling in love with, and a dairy, a dairy no one else has ever read. It is from the French Revolution. A girl named Alex, that is Andi's age, left it, before she died. Andi can relate to the words of Alex, in fact, she can't quit reading them all..then suddenly, the overwhelming past becomes the present..
    Revolution is an extremely exciting historical fiction book. Many books about history can be boring, but Jennifer Donnelly's Revolution is not. In the book, Alex was the only friend Louis Charles XVII of France ever had. Today, Louis Charles XVII is referred to as the lost dauphin of France. In Revolution, Alex knew him, and shared a life with him before he died. This book lets you really have an idea of how devastating the French Revolution was, and what an impact it had.
    Revolution is by far the best book I have ever read. The way it brings two worlds of centuries apart is fantastic. It will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    "I Will Not Last Much Longer"

    What I thought would be a rather trite novel of two teens with evolving emotions divided by 200 years, this book was anything but commonplace. I was surprised by the intensity and originality of the author's melding of societies and out-sized passions.

    Ms. Donnelly demonstrates respect for the intellect of young women. From the articulate first chapter where she describes Andi Alpers, who is not always lucid, to the final sentence, I was impressed with Andi's perception of her peers and her own insurmountable grief. Despite her haunting sorrow and guilt, she holds on to her astuteness and ability to learn. A gifted musician, Andi is suffering from the loss of her younger brother, her guilt has sent her in a tailspin of drugs and self-loathing. Donnelly captures Andi in the first few chapters and the readers are aware they are dealing with a brilliant, 17-year-old girl who is on edge of suicide and appears to be floating from minute to minute in agony. She reaches out to her mother, an artist, who cannot overcome the death of her son, Truman, and placates her with kindness and gifts. Her father, a successful Nobel Prize winning geneticist, sends her mother to a mental hospital and takes Andi to Paris. Placing her mother in a mental hospital is an affront to Andi and she fights her father for her mother's dignity. One of my favorite lines occurs when Andi corrects Dr, Becker (the hospital's psychiatrist) grammar and usage.

    Her father has his rules: she is to work on her thesis to graduate from her elite school by creating a plausible outline and plan in order to graduate. So how can Andi use her brilliance to overcome her grief and re-enter the world? Her father drags her to Paris where he is working on a secret project and the story begins. Finding a diary, presumably written by another young woman stowed in a guitar case, we are introduced to Alexandrine Paradis, also a 17-year-old girl, who becomes the servant to Marie Antoinette and Louis XVI by entertaining their young son, Louis Charles (dauphin). Donnelly hits the reader every which way as she takes us through the French Revolution. As in all revolutions, no one is a winner; the winners often become more violent and greedy than those they replaced. But Donnelly adds more spin to this history by giving the reader a tactile and olfactory sense of the times. As Alex (and Andi) attempt to survive during the 1790's, Donnelly's writing is so sharp, I can smell the sweat and grime on the peasants, the powdered wigs on the upper classes and the blood pouring off the guillotines. In addition to blending two stories of desperate young women, she presents the French Revolution for what it was, the hungry remained hungry, good and bad citizens were slaughtered and the quest for food and lodging was always a premium for the masses.

    Andi and Alex were entertainers. Andi's scholarship was never glossed over and neither was Alex's mission to impart a lasting remembrance for 10-year-old Louis Charles. Locked away in the Temple Prison, it is said that he received no care, no human contact and withered away. There are multiple journeys in this novel and they are all difficult. Andi, consumed by guilt, needs to replenish her reason to live and Alex, consumed to do the right thing, becomes another martyr.

    Secondary characters are all well crafted. Andi's best friend, Vijay, is a clever, brilliant young man, whose mother, Mrs. Gupta could rival six Jewish mothers who want their sons to

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BUY THIS BOOK!!!

    This book as all the emotions you can imagine. Despair, happiness, terrified, etc....You never know whats going to happen. Donnelly's writing makes it so that you can actually experience everything Andi is feeling while reading it, you can relate to her. I have to say this book is the best historical book I have ever read (and I think thats because its half fiction and half based on facts). If you buy this book, you wont be dissappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Fantastic read

    I enjoyed this book so much. Filled with history, and believable characters. Hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Wonderful Read

    Amazing! I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    May I join?

    XHello i am Souleater and i wish to join." She sys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Stealth

    Pads in. May i help? She asks. Shes a calico she cat with green eyes. What is the plan? Who are we to attack first? she asks sharpening her claws and a stick. Whos the leader?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    To revolution

    What is the point of this. I want to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Green eyes

    The dark side is strong with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    ~Ferns~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    TO ALL

    Help kill bloodclan at 'bc' res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    To to all!!!

    No shes not she can post in the bios place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Abattoir 囓 to Grim

    Shade is locked out from here. That's why we moved (bbl shower then I have to organise something...i need to stop putting s<_>hit off for later...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    To Test

    Yeah... I guess that works. &#9787

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Unwantedkit

    She died at boulderclan. Her spirit asended to star result four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Vinelaa

    Putting her forepaws onto the ground, she gazed around, eerald eyes blazing with annyance. She wanted to fight and kill , not sit and stare at the sky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Cloud

    She let out a small smile and watched the kits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    To test

    Res ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    fireclaw

    Whatever and just so you know i dont mess around ( gtg fal )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 304 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16