Customer Reviews for

The Revolution: A Manifesto

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Concise eye opener

Ron Paul is the champion of the people and this book is proof. Unlike other political texts, he doesn't promote an agenda that reeks of lobbyist influence. He can't be bought by big interests because we, the people, are his big interest. The examples Paul sites concer...
Ron Paul is the champion of the people and this book is proof. Unlike other political texts, he doesn't promote an agenda that reeks of lobbyist influence. He can't be bought by big interests because we, the people, are his big interest. The examples Paul sites concerning the current deplorable state of American politics are clear and to the point, as are his examples of how to fix them. I will never view our 2 party system the same way again and I pray that his vision of intelligent hope spreads.

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

interesting but over the top.

ron paul's push for returning to the gold standard is his best point.i'm always a littel leery of paul because he has too many "black helicopter" types that follow him.i recommend this read to gain new perspectives on the the discussion of america's fiscal bankruptcy.

posted by ghost_of_poe on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Concise eye opener

    Ron Paul is the champion of the people and this book is proof. Unlike other political texts, he doesn't promote an agenda that reeks of lobbyist influence. He can't be bought by big interests because we, the people, are his big interest. The examples Paul sites concerning the current deplorable state of American politics are clear and to the point, as are his examples of how to fix them. I will never view our 2 party system the same way again and I pray that his vision of intelligent hope spreads.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    This book is PROOF Ron Paul should be our next PRESIDENT!!!

    I am a skeptical person by nature. I am also able to break things down to the simplest point very easily. As a result I have felt our government has been screwing us for quite a few years. This book proves many of my suspicions and gives the proof. I can't imagine Mr. Paul has many friends within the Congress since he clearly does not operate the same way the majority of them do.<BR/><BR/>It has been obvious to me for some time that our "political leaders" operate in THEIR best interest and this book shows how I was right. He does not give specifics such as which Senator did what, etc... He does point out how our Presidents have behaved, in some cases illegally, all the way back to FDR.<BR/><BR/>My only complaint with this book is that is was not longer and didn't go into more details. But, he probably understands that in order for him to continue his mission of freeing the American citizens that he needs to stay alive. Giving up too many details will probably get him killed by the CIA, at the direction of his own government.<BR/><BR/>This book should be required reading for every American!!!!!!!!!!<BR/><BR/>GREAT BOOK, BETTER LEADER.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Jaw dropping.

    This book has opened my eyes to the unrest in the middle east. How would I feel if another country assassinated my democratically elected president? That's just what the US government did in Iran. No wonder they hate us. However Ron Paul provides many solutions to get the US back on track. Not all solutions are easy to digest, but many are strikingly simple. Just follow the Constitution and the Bill of Rights.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Contrary Mindset to Politics as Normal

    Ron Paul gives us a very interesting takes on American politics, one that is rarely voiced by any politician in the modern era. Being a strong proponent of smaller government, responsible spending, and democratic rule, he's seems to be the antithesis to the political movements (both Democrat and Republican) of the times.

    Unapologetically, he sets out a road plan to a fairly libertarian view of American society. Though his views are certainly biased (a bias toward giving the people more power and liberty and restricting the government), and some of his ideas may be impractical (as much as we all hate the Fed, I don't think its going anywhere), if nothing else the book is very provocative, challenging certain political assumptions we as a country have established. The only stipulation is liberty for the people. A must read for anyone who is disenchanted with the current state of our politics, anyone who wants to expand their political horizons.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Should be a High School Textbook

    This short, to-the-point manuscript should be mandatory reading for every voting American. Written in plain almost blunt language, this manifesto is Dr. Paul's perscription for Americans with a liberty deficiency. His straightforward histories of how we came to be overtaxed, under-represented, and largely ignored by our federal government will make you angry to your core. Be warned! This book may change your politcal views FOREVER!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Revolutionary

    This book woke me up and Dr. Ron Paul cured my apathy. When I first read it, I felt as if Dr. Paul was saying all of the things I had been thinking, but put them much more eloquently and used historical references. The end of the book has a suggested reading list which hasn't disappointed me yet. After reading this book you will want to discuss it with all of your friends. Freedom is popular!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Ron Paul 2012

    This book will make a believer out of anyone. The way Dr. Paul backs everything in the book with the Constitution makes his positions logical and easy for Americans to relate to. His foreign policy is backed by the founding fathers' beliefs that the US should be a model for other nations through diplomacy and noninterventionalism. His anti-big government policies give all of us hope that someone is out there who will be able to shrink the size of the national government and allow us to live our lives without government intervention. He clearly lays out how to pull ourselves out of this economic slump. Please read this enlightening manifesto by Congress's most honest and logical member. Get revolutionized.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for every Republican or Democrat

    Dr Paul's book "The Revolution" opened my eyes to a whole new world of politics. For once in my life I felt as if someone was speaking from the heart and not for personal gain. His Libertarian perspective may seem a little "wild" or "crazy" to some but with our current state of fairs here in the US it seems just like the type of change we need. Anyone in to politics should read this book no matter what side of the isle you sit on as it makes you ask questions you never thought before.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    interesting but over the top.

    ron paul's push for returning to the gold standard is his best point.i'm always a littel leery of paul because he has too many "black helicopter" types that follow him.i recommend this read to gain new perspectives on the the discussion of america's fiscal bankruptcy.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the revolution is in need

    "the revolution" is a remarkable blueprint put together by congressman ron paul who is showing the american people that we are being over taxed and as a goverment wasting too much money and losing too many jobs and our politicans and leaders are not showing leadership and standing by the constitution. this book is a real eye opener and should be read by every voter as a way to judge their politicans. I think this book will make a difference in the elections of 2010 and 2012

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    Wow! An Unbelievable Truth that must be revealed to All Americans!

    Ron Paul is one of the last great freedom fighters of this generation. As you will see in this book, if we as Americans don't wake up soon, and stand up in the name of liberty, it will all come crashing down around us sooner than we know.<BR/><BR/>Paul points out the fantasy world in which we are living in. Extreme econmonic bubbles and bursts, can easily be traced to government intervention, as he explains. Furthermore, our government's answer is what? that's right, more intervention into our businesses, and our personal lives!<BR/><BR/>He points out that, With 700 military bases around the world in over 130 countries, our military looks not like national defense, but instead, an ambitious force with the intent growing a more powerful empire. In which case, our forces are stretched too thin, leaving American citizens less safe, and stuck paying the bill!<BR/><BR/>On, and On, and On, Paul brings to light the atrocious and immoral medling that the United States Governement is doing: all in the name of bogus claims that have no merit, such as "We will save the economy", "in the fight against terrorism", etc., with no regard for the civil and econonmic liberties and freedoms in which we are "supposed" to have been born with as an ineliable right! <BR/><BR/>In addition, he points out the blatant disreguard that our modern day politicians and lawmakers have for the sovereignty of the constitution. In fact when real questions are brought up and the constitution mentioned, it is ignored and laughed at! I don't know about you, but when I came to understand this, I became infuriated!<BR/><BR/>This is not propganda, this is a Truth. Americans.....read this book, take the red pill, and view the "Matrix" in which you live in, from the outside looking in. I recommend this book 100 times fold, and in the words of the great William Wallace as portrayed in "Braveheart" I leave you today......"FFFFRRREEEEEEEEEEEDDDDDOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMM"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Inspiring

    This has been a great read from my political beginner's point of view. Paul hammers the necessity of freedom socially and (mainly in this book) economically, and how both freedoms truly do go hand in hand. It's an inspiring work with plenty of information and sources to get those who are fresh into politics a head start.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Eye opening

    I am a young voter who has never really been politically active. I have always voted but never really studied what I was voting for. Ron Paul's campaign has really opened my eyes. I promptly picked up his book to get a more comprehensive feeling for what he stands for and I think this is the most informing book I have ever read. I agree with another review that this should be required reading. I feel so used and abused by what is happening with our country and I am disgusted at how many people choose to be blind to the problems that are staring us in the face. There is an elephant in the room and nobody is willing to acknowledge it, except Dr. Paul!! I will be buying and sending copies of this book to everyone I know!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    FIVE STARS NOT ENOUGH

    This is the new book by the man many call the Thomas Jefferson of our times. If you don't know Ron Paul yet, this will give you a good feel for why so many love and revere him. If you know him, it will reinforce your respect for his efforts. The truth, plain and simple, written by a gentleman, a statesman, and a scholar. Worth many times the price.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Ron Paul Courageously Speaks the Truth!!

    Ron Paul continues to empower millions to take control of their minds from the propaganda that is continuously fed to the American public. This book is excellent and a must read! Even with the corporately owned mainstream media doing everything in their power to silence him, his words have resonated deeply with many. Our mis-Leaders in this country have created a system of dependency and a critically analytical population is 'bad for business.' His message symbolizes truth, hope, real freedom and ultimately a much needed revolution! America is in serious trouble because of blindly accepting the empty promises of 'left wing' and 'right wing' politicians that are both part of the same bird. People get so entangled with superficial issues that they cannot see the similarities in the elitist candidates who hang-out a the same social gatherings behind the scenes. For example, how many knew that Bush and Kerry were distant cousins? How many know that Obama is related to Bush and Cheney? This book will continue to wake Americans up to the terrible state this country is in and what we can do to change it. As Dr. Paul has stated, we need to abolish the Federal Reserve, IRS and the CIA in order to restore the republic that was mapped in the Constitution. Central/International bankers, like the founding fathers warned, are single handedly destroying America. The Fed prints money out of thin air and people wonder why the value of the dollar is sinking like a rock. Thank you Dr. Paul for courageously speaking the truth!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Incredible Book

    This book clearly points out what the true role of the federal government should be. I don't read very many books, but I was hooked to this one, and that's saying quite a bit. This is especially a must read for all Americans!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Finally Truth

    I can breath again, finally someone in government is telling us the truth. This well written book by Ron Paul opens the door to many issues facing americans today, and reminds us of our foundation in the Constitution as Americans. I cryed at the end for our ideals are so worth the extra effort to perserve them. Thank you Ron Paul!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Gen. Cyrostar

    6Goes to sleep* (Same here)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The First Ron Paul Book You Should Read

    Paul has a number of great books, but this is the first one I would recommend people read.

    Written during his 2008 U. S. presidential campaign, this is Paul's personal manifesto, covering all of the topics that fueled his campaign. The books is extremely clearly written, and easy to comprehend.

    The book itself is beautiful.

    If I have any complaint with this book, it is that the book does not include footnotes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Opens your eyes, Dr Paul you have my vote.

    My favorite of his books, I highly recomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7