Customer Reviews for

The Revolutionary Paul Revere

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What an enlightening, educational read of American History!

We have always heard about the role of Paul Revere at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, but we probably have not heard his complete story. This book recounts that history to a very rich and full extent.

In this book, we get a glimpse of his past, including the...
We have always heard about the role of Paul Revere at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, but we probably have not heard his complete story. This book recounts that history to a very rich and full extent.

In this book, we get a glimpse of his past, including the arrival of his father from France. I had no idea that Paul's father was French. This book outlines Paul's history, from cradle to grave, and is replete with information regarding his active role within the Patriotic movement, most of which I am certain has not been taught previously.

Another aspect of this book that I found enlightening was another perspective of the oppressive tactics used by the English monarchy during this period, and the ways they justified their actions. Aspects of the various taxes and levies placed upon the American colony are illumined with new light, and from a new perspective.

I was so captivated by this book, only the need for sleep would prompt me to put it down. This book is written very well, and is quite easily read. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a biography about what can now be understood as a man whose role was larger than realized, especially with respect to the Patriotic movement in Boston, MA.

I believe anyone who reads this book will be pleased!

posted by SpeedMuser on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good account of Paul Revere's life

I enjoyed reading this account of Paul Revere's life. The book - The Revolutionary Paul Revere - does a good job of discussing the various stages in Paul's life, from his childhood years all the way to his death. It shows all of the various ways he was a part of the Ame...
I enjoyed reading this account of Paul Revere's life. The book - The Revolutionary Paul Revere - does a good job of discussing the various stages in Paul's life, from his childhood years all the way to his death. It shows all of the various ways he was a part of the American Revolution. You've undoubtedly heard of his famous midnight ride, but he was also involved in the Revolution in many other ways. He made many other rides during the Revolution years, delivering messages and important documents from one colony to another. Mr. Revere was also an expert engraver and goldsmith, and even dabbled in dentistry! One of the many things I learned about Paul Revere while reading this book is that he was part of the Continental Army during the Revolution.

As mentioned, I enjoyed reading this book. However, I think the recommendation shown on the front cover is a bit overstated - "Gallops along with all the drama and intrigue of a great novel." This is a good book, but it did not grab my attention and pull me in the way a great novel typically does.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

posted by Jesse37 on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    What an enlightening, educational read of American History!

    We have always heard about the role of Paul Revere at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, but we probably have not heard his complete story. This book recounts that history to a very rich and full extent.

    In this book, we get a glimpse of his past, including the arrival of his father from France. I had no idea that Paul's father was French. This book outlines Paul's history, from cradle to grave, and is replete with information regarding his active role within the Patriotic movement, most of which I am certain has not been taught previously.

    Another aspect of this book that I found enlightening was another perspective of the oppressive tactics used by the English monarchy during this period, and the ways they justified their actions. Aspects of the various taxes and levies placed upon the American colony are illumined with new light, and from a new perspective.

    I was so captivated by this book, only the need for sleep would prompt me to put it down. This book is written very well, and is quite easily read. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a biography about what can now be understood as a man whose role was larger than realized, especially with respect to the Patriotic movement in Boston, MA.

    I believe anyone who reads this book will be pleased!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere

    I am a nerd. I love history, but American History has always been hard for me to get into. I hoped that by reading this biography I would have a better appreciation for the time period and the lives during that time; and I do. This biography is written much like a novel, the author goes to great leangth to help the reader understand the background of these lives and how they lived. How people connected and reacted to situations. Paul Revere has an interesting family history; from his father coming over from France to Paul going to the Anglican Church without his father's approval. Go inside the Secret Mason Meetings and Paul Revere's own relationships.

    This is a well written text and is easily read. I feel that this is a great historical biography for those interested in history and those wanting to know more. After reading this I feel much more informed on the life of the Colonial Americans before, during and after the Revolutionary War.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Good book!

    This book walks the reader through the life of Paul Revere. I know most everyone knows of that famous ride where Revere fills the night air with shouts of " the British are Coming," but there is so much more to Revere. This book lays his life story out in an easy to read novel form starting all the way back to his father's arrival to America.

    It's hard for me to sit down and read a history text book, I found the novel format that Miller wrote this book easier to read. I am a bit curious to know how much extra was added to make the story go smoothly and how much was based on the true story of Paul Revere.

    If I were to give this book a score on a scale of 1 to 10 I would say this book gets at seven. It was very informative on the life of Paul Revere, but I must admit there were sections that I found harder to get through that did not hold me attention.

    I received a free copy of this book from book sneeze for review purposes. All opinions for this review are my own and not influenced by book sneeze in any way.
    http://thriftytori.blogspot.com/2010/09/book-review-revolutionary-paul-revere.html

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    If you don't know, now you know

    You don't know how much you don't know, until you find out. Isn't that how the old saying goes?

    I had studied American History in eighth and twelfth grades, and again in college, but other than memorizing a poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, I knew next to nothing about Paul Revere.

    Did you know that he was a soldier in both the French and Indian War and the Revolutionary War? I didn't. I also did not know that he had two wives, and between them bore 16 children for him.

    I also learned that he wasn't the only rider on April 18, 1775, but one of three - and that he didn't even make it to his destination because of a run-in with British forces.

    So if you're a history buff, or even if you aren't, you owe it to your American self to read The Revolutionary Paul Revere. It will give you a much deeper understanding of a true American patriot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Day-to-Day Life of A Revolutionary Figure

    While most Americans learned in school about the famous nightrider messenger of the American Revolution, Paul Revere, few really know about the day to day struggles of Paul Revere and others like him in Colonial Massachusetts. Nor do they know about what a creative, genius as a copperplate engraver and later on a commercial entrepreneur. Religion was a powerful vehicle shaping this colony but it was also a divided colony between conservative and liberal viewpoints, both arising from the Puritan faith and also arousing deep enmity and social condemnation depending on one's choice. Paul Revere showed his tendency toward fairness and justice very early on in his admiration for a certain minister, a choice that earned him fatherly displeasure for sure.

    This books reads like a fascinating novel as one gets a glimpse into how individuals were shaped by disease that killed mercilessly and without favor and constantly fluctuating financial circumstances. One could be a pauper one day and amazingly rich the next, with the application of disciplined work and the vicissitudes of fortune. But few realize how early commerce in the colonies was conducted more on trade by goods rather than money.

    One then feels as well as reads about the rational and emotional response to taxes, taxes and more taxes. Parliament was controlling all through the governors and military keeping very tight reins on these families, like that of Paul Revere, who could do nothing but evolve from being loyal British subjects to becoming outraged, suffering believers in freedom and revolution.

    In reading more about how under-prepared the original fighters of the Revolution were, one begins to appreciate even more than before how much guts and united determination can and did accomplish. The drama and mystery of every step pervades every page, making this a well-told tale of real people in both real and unreal circumstances.

    Joel J. Miller has done an EXCEPTIONAL job in taking us into the mind, feelings, words and deeds of this very famous, ordinary but so extraordinary man.

    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on May 19, 2010

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    A Great look at an historic man living in an historic time.

    "The Brittish Are Coming!" These words are synomous with the name Paul Revere. Yet Paul Revere was so much more than just a rider with a message. The Revolutionary Paul Revere by Joel J. Miller looks at the life of Paul Revere. Revere was a great man living in an historic time and place. Miller begins at the beginning with Revere's father's journey to America. This book not only traces the happenings in the life of Paul Revere but also the world around him, manily Boston leading up to the American Revolution and thereafter.

    If you are a lover of Revolutionary War history this book is sure to appeal to you. Being a history lover myself I enjoyed seeing the parts Paul Revere played in our nation's history besides his infamous ride. I learned many facts about Revere's life of which I had no clue. The book was not a quick read and took longer to read than my usual books. The depth of knowledge is great. I really enjoyed how the author included events that shaped what was happening yet we know that they would have had an effect on Revere but we have no written proof of what the effect was. Do you love the Revolutionary time period then read this book. Want to know more about the years leading up to events such as the Boston Tea Party read this book. Like to know more about the man Paul Revere then I would say read this book. I give this book 4 stars.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    PAUL REVERE RIDES AGAIN!

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere, by Joel Miller; Thomas Nelson Publishers, 2010.
    Ok, so you and I might have memorized or at least read the poem "The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere" or perhaps you remember Paul Revere and the "one if by land, two if by sea" phrase - but what else do you know about him? If you aren't a history buff, you've avoided the history sections in your local library or book store. But history is far more than just dates and names-and that's where my history teacher failed-there are human interest stories-lives behind the famous names with real character flaws and strengths that were hewn from struggles in their real lives!

    Reading Joel Miller's The Revolutionary Paul Revere reminded me of the unanswered questions I had in class about the man with the fast horse. What was the source of his courage that propelled him through town from Boston towards Concord and Lexington where patriotic eyes were trained on the North Church steeple? To quote Longfellow,
    ".he springs to the saddle, the bridle he turns, but lingers and gazes till full on his sight a 'second lamp' in the belfry burns!
    ....the fate of a nation was riding that night. . .
    So through the night rode Paul Revere;
    And so through the night went his cry of alarm
    To every Middlesex village and farm---
    A cry of defiance and not of fear,
    A voice in the darkness, a knock at the door,
    And a word that shall echo forevermore!
    For borne on the night-wind of the Past,
    Through all our history, to the last,
    In the hour of darkness and peril and need,
    The people will waken and listen to hear
    The hurrying hoof-beats of that steed,
    And the midnight message of Paul Revere."

    There were many lessons learned that brought Paul to this moment in time. In November 1715, at age thirteen, Paul's own father, Apollos was shipped off by his father to America. Frenchman Isaac Rivoire wanted more for his son, Apollos, so he arranged for a relative to see to it that Apollos would go to Boston by way of Guernsey to escape the persecution in France of the Huguenots who wanted to remain protestants. Apollos was an indentured apprentice, working for his ship's passage, learning and working for a goldsmith in Boston. Paul, no doubt learned from his father what it meant to be free from persecution and the dictations of a government's interference in how people worshipped. Paul learned a trade that would support his large family. He also learned the importance of keeping a new country from some of the same mistakes his own father's land had made.

    In school we learned about the taxes imposed on the colonies by Britain: the Sugar Act, Stamp Act, and the Tea Act, to name but a few. And we remember the story of the Boston Tea Party, with the masquerading patriots dressed as Indians. We were quizzed on names such as Lt. Gen. Thomas Gage, Samuel Adams, John Hancock and Paul Revere. But in Joel Miller's book, we get many more personal vignettes and finally get to hear "the rest of the story." Why couldn't my history teacher have made these men more personal, and real? The why's behind the event are much more interesting when you are introduced to the men and their friends, their character-their fears and their dreams! Hurray for Joel Miller!

    **Thomas Nelson Publishers provided the book for this book review; however, I thoroughly enjoyed it-it was already on my "to purchase" list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    A Good Easy Read

    Listen my children and you shall hear
    Of the midnight ride of Paul Revere.

    Lamps in the church tower, a dangerous rowboat ride across the river past British ships, a ride across the countryside awakening the people of the eminent danger of troops - the high water mark of the history of famed silversmith Paul Revere. But that wasn't all he did for the independence of the United States of America.

    Nor is it the only thing he did with his life. The father of sixteen children, a leader in Boston politics, a silversmith, engraver, bell maker, lieutenant colonel and friend of some of the most famed leaders of colonial times - Paul Revere filled his eighty-three years.

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere by Joel J. Miller is an easy read biography, skimming through the life and events of a long life as fast as Paul Revere took his ride from Charlestown to Lexington. It isn't greatly detailed or in-depth, but if you want a good review of his life this is the book for you.


    This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Wonderful Historical Narrative

    After deciding that we will be taking a trip to Boston this summer, I decided to read up on some of the historical figures associated with the area. I knew little of Paul Revere besides what I had been taught in school which was basically that he rode through the night to worn that the British were coming. This book provided me with background into Paul Revere's family, his associations with other political and revolutionary historical figures, and also provided information about the landscape of New England, which was something I didn't expect. The only thing I wish there was more of was pictures of family and associates. There are some pictures of people and battles, but not as many as I had hope for to aid with the imagery. But overall, this is a very well researched depiction of an extraordinary man in history, and a great read for anyone who is interested in American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    We all know of the midnight ride but did you also know...

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere by Joel J. Miller is what turned out to be a very interesting and exciting life story of Paul Revere. At first, I thought it was a little slow for the reading, only because it starts out with his family history. But given the chance and getting through that helped to understand the story as it unfolded and how it shaped Paul in the later years to come. From childhood through the French and Indian War to the pre-revolutionary economic disasters,tax fights and riots. His role in the military occupation of Boston; through Paul's part of the Boston Massacre trial, his role in the Boston Tea Party. The tragic death of his first wife through the whimsical pursuit of a new love; from his role as waterfront spy through his famous midnight ride; from his participation in the worst American naval disaster before Pearl Harbor. Revere's life in the Freemasons and the secret political clubs of Boston. Discover his role in Massachusetts' ratification of the U.S. Constitution. I would recommend this book for those of the high school age on up, because it is a lot to understand and learn.

    Joel J. Miller did a very good job a writing this book and at giving you as a reader a better understanding of Paul Revere as a man of society, government, military, political, family man, but also the shady side of this well known man as well. I'm glad i had the chance to read The Revolutionary Paul Revere by Joel J. Miller and get a better understanding of American History and how Paul Revere helped shape it in so many ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere Review

    I just completed the book: The Revolutionary Paul Revere by Joel J. Miller. This is a book that encompasses the extraordinary life of Paul Revere. More often than not, history bores me not because of its lack of detail, but because of its poor presentation. This book presents very well. For a historical account it was interesting and generally captivated my interest. This is a book that you read and walk away from a better person. How could I not be inspired by the incredible life of Paul Revere? Joel J. Miller takes you back to a time and a place that has been forgotten by most and had the unexpected effect of making me nostalgic.

    I must admit to my previous ignorance to the history of the American Revolution. However, this book gave me a whole new appreciation for liberty, and what it means. The American colonists fought for freedom, they fought to be represented and they fought to be heard. I wonder if we fight the same way today? It is much easier to sit back and let someone else take the reigns on our political rights and freedoms that these men fought for.

    If I could have asked for anything to be different in the book, I would have liked the pictures to be larger. I found myself squinting to see the intricate details on Revere's engravings or a particular portrait. Otherwise I found it refreshing and a mentally stimulating read that I know I will come back to.

    **This book was provided free of charge by Thomas Nelson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Paul Revere comes to life

    Few people have not heard of Paul Revere. After reading The Revolutionary Paul Revere by Joel J. Miller, I can truthfully say that I know a lot more about Paul Revere than most people. The book starts with information about Paul's parents and ends with Paul's death at age 83 in 1818. The Revolutionary Paul Revere is a well documented book about the life of Paul Revere, the events leading up to the revolutionary war, the war, and post-war.

    In college, history was my worst subject mainly because I found it boring. Had my history books read like Joel's book, things would have been different. Joel brings Paul Revere to life and makes him a real person. The book tells of the personal and family struggles that Paul went through. In addition to his personal struggles, Paul seems to have always been in or near where the action was all his life. I gained more insight into the struggles that the colonies experienced and the hardships that they endured. There were things in this book that I never heard in any of my American history classes.

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere is easy to read and flows well. I found the book both enjoyable and informative. I would recommend this book to anybody who wants to learn more about this American hero.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    The Revolutionary Paul Revere

    Most people know Paul Revere for his famous midnight ride but he did so much more and thats what I learned about in this book. I was really interested in reading this book because I love history and this book did not dissapoint. I liked this author's writting style and that this biography was actualling engaging and not dry and boring. This book was also very easy to read and understand, its somewhat of a long book (304 pages) but its a good read and I believe it also would be a very good resource for anybody. I thought this book was very good and I will probally read this book again. I recomend this book highly to anyone expecially if your a history lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Who was Paul Revere?

    his was a great read. The cover has a great feel to it, so it's comfortable to hold. The chapters are fairly short and easy to read. This period of history has so many people of interest. The author does a good job of introducing people, reminding us who they are when it's been awhile since they were first mentioned, and explaining how they intersected with Paul Revere's life.

    This is obviously not an in-depth scholarly biography. It is a well written, easy to read description of the character and history of a man we all know of, but don't know much about. This is a great book to learn about what life was like for the residents of Boston leading up to and during the American Revolution, but it is never boring. Highly recommended.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1