Customer Reviews for

Revolutionary Road

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

My New Favorite!

This book caught my eye this past summer when I was browsing through B&N. At 15, a book about broken marriage is not exactly my usual cup of tea, yet there was something about the story that intrigued me. Well, that, and the fact that Leo DiCaprio was in the film versio...
This book caught my eye this past summer when I was browsing through B&N. At 15, a book about broken marriage is not exactly my usual cup of tea, yet there was something about the story that intrigued me. Well, that, and the fact that Leo DiCaprio was in the film version. (:
I definitely did not go into reading this novel with high hopes. Hell, I wasn't even expecting to get through the whole thing. But man, was I wrong! Since buying it in August, I've read it three times - and I never re-read books! Ever. That, my friends, is how totally awesome it is.
What was so completely fantastic about Revolutionary Road was the characters. Everything about them was so real - so scarily real, even, that I kind of felt like I was reading a book about myself...(Note to eye-rolling adults: Yeah, I may only be 15, but I could still relate to April and Frank in a surprising number of ways. So ha.) Anywho. The two main characters, Frank and April, aren't exactly likable folks. In fact, they're both pretty messed up and kind of annoying at times. And yet you couldn't help but feel bad for them, sympathize with them, and even root for their happiness as the novel went on. I know alot of people hated April, but I actually preferred her to Frank.
In addition to the amazing characters, the writing is absolutely exquisite. Yates did a fantastic job with writing a natural dialogue and describing emotions and surroundings without whipping out some annoyingly impressive vocabulary. By the end of the novel, not only was I crying my eyes out, (Yeah, so there's a piece of advice for ya: Have tissues on hand.) but I was also wishing I could write something that touching and, well, freaking amazing.
After reading it, I sprinted my butt off down to the Blockbuster to rent the film. Sadly, it was not nearly as good as the book - as is often times the case. The performances were great, but there was just something missing that I couldn't quite put my finger on. However, if you're lazy and aren't a fan of reading, I suggest you watch the movie. It's pretty much spot on plotwise, though not as nearly emotionally devastating. Or, at least, that's my opinion.

So yeah, I'm going to stop blabbering now, as most people have probably already skipped to the next review anyways...All and all, Revolutionary Road is now one of my favorite books and has earned its own permanent spot on my bookshelf. I highly reccommend it!

posted by Ivy26 on May 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very hard to stay with it

I was halfway through and put it down. It took weeks of reading a few pages at a time to get through. I usually read a book in a couple of days.

posted by jnette617 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring!

    I read this book because it was on my TBR list & because my book club was reading it. I couldn't even finish it in time to join in on the discussion. I don't recommend it & have no desire to see the movie.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Very hard to stay with it

    I was halfway through and put it down. It took weeks of reading a few pages at a time to get through. I usually read a book in a couple of days.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Sorry

    I know this supposed to be a classic of some sort but I didnt like it. End felt like hurry I only have a few more pages to wrap it up. Sorry dont mean to be rude.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Ubtcfvt tvtxe,opnuvt,onuvtc tnucrcrQQmi rpzw,l

    Xe,ppmiby tnucrcr2!2,8:5& Q
    Ee cunuh vrclpexw2!8.;6-;6 tmitvcrvtqE)26;8,4'vmimqy6;bnuxenumo yy9
    Unybgtnu rzwzwhvctQ.u2;6!2?9-/?9*?980;6/7/6/0?8/7,kni
    Ubyno u
    pnyft 2}}P,onunoi.i7;6!0/7'5'4prctv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you have nothing better to read

    It's almost like the Feminine Mystic in novel form. I had a hard time feeling anything but indifference toward the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    DEAD ON ARRIVAL

    "Revolutionary Road" is the story of a couple who feel trapped in their traditional roles of mother/housewife, of father/provider. While Yates is a skilled writer, his main characters, Frank and April Wheeler, fail to illicit sympathy or even interest. This is truly unfortunate as the plot is a universal one. Many a young person, be that of the 1950s generation of "Revolutionary Road" or the 2009 generation, has a dream of becoming someone unique, a dream often dashed by the need of making a living.
    April and Frank Wheeler are a young couple who consider themselves artists of some kind or other. While reliving their parents' lifestyle of suburbia, replete with home, kids, and a mind-dulling job to pay for it, they ridicule the very life they're living. If truth be told, it's hard to feel empathy for the Wheelers. They're so completely self-involved, they have little time even for their children. When April Wheeler bombs in her community theater acting debut, she promptly gives up and blames everyone else but herself. Frank Wheeler, while protesting to despise his father's career choice, goes to work for the same firm. When April comes up with a nutty escape scheme so Frank can quit his job and "find himself," the jig is up. While he agrees, he has no real intentions to go through with it. When Frank confesses an office affair, April's non-reaction doesn't ring true. At this point, the story disintegrates into one useless discussion after another, one silly scene followed by another. April has an affair with a neighbor she despises. Another neighbor's crazy son, the author wants us to believe, is the only character that speaks to the truth, but actually none of the characters ring true. Tragedy follows tragedy as the story limps to an improbable ending.
    In "Revolutionary Road," the real tragedy is that Richard Yates never fell in love with his own characters. Since the writer didn't care to explore the true depths of his characters' emotions, I pronounce this novel DOA.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I was disappointed!

    The characters are boring, the story line is boring, until about half way through the book. The story line picks up, the characters become a little more interesting, but by then, I just wanted to get through the book. I had to force myself to finish the book.

    I usually like to read the book and then see the movie, knowing the book is ususally better than the movie, but I am going to pass on the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ZZZZZZzzzzzzz!

    I am an avid reader of all sorts of books and I literally had to force myself to continue reading this. It was sooo boring! Frank was so self-absorbed that he made me want to scream and April's character, I don't feel, was ever fully developed. I can't believe the writer made a nearly 400 page novel out of this story line. I was very disappointed after all the hype the book/movie received. Maybe the movie was better with DiCaprio and Winslett, but I will not bother to see it after reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2