Customer Reviews for

Revolutionary Summer: The Birth of American Independence

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Joseph Ellis is an extremely talented writer. Here he gives grea

Joseph Ellis is an extremely talented writer. Here he gives great insight into the people and actions of the Summer of 1776. The book is a masterpiece. I highly recommend it.

posted by JesseG1 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

interesting and disappointing at the same time

When I read the intro, I was hooked and ordered the book. The author is a good story teller, and I have always liked personal history (when you get to learn about the personal lives, struggles, and hopes of the people). So I read the book with relish at first, but when ...
When I read the intro, I was hooked and ordered the book. The author is a good story teller, and I have always liked personal history (when you get to learn about the personal lives, struggles, and hopes of the people). So I read the book with relish at first, but when the author stated something I had not heard before, I checked his citations. Many of them reference books the author has previously written, and some reference books written in the last 15 years. Some of these revelations really needed primary sources. There are some primary sources cited, but some of the abbreviations in them are undecipherable to me. So, I'm reading it more like historical fiction.

posted by 11325754 on July 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Joseph Ellis is an extremely talented writer. Here he gives grea

    Joseph Ellis is an extremely talented writer. Here he gives great insight into the people and actions of the Summer of 1776. The book is a masterpiece. I highly recommend it.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my first Joseph Ellis book and I loved it. His knowledge

    This is my first Joseph Ellis book and I loved it. His knowledge of history and ability to convey it in an entertaining and educational fashion is incredible. I highly recommend this book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book. Once I started it, I just couldn't p

    I really enjoyed this book. Once I started it, I just couldn't put it down. Joseph Ellis knows his way around history. He makes it fun to read. Five stars.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Joseph Ellis is a master storyteller. His portrait of the Americ

    Joseph Ellis is a master storyteller. His portrait of the American Revolution of 1776 is incredible. I really enjoyed how he detailed some of the not-so-famous people who were a part of the Summer of 1776.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Ellis is a master story-teller, and this may well be his best bo

    Ellis is a master story-teller, and this may well be his best book yet. He writes with grace and wit to tell the story of summer of 1776, shedding new light on both the well known events and the lesser know. So powerful.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    It's amazing to think that a story that we imagine that we know

    It's amazing to think that a story that we imagine that we know so well can be told in a way that has us hanging on in suspense! His best written book so far!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    A must read/re-read for the month of June...

    Follows the escalation from "insurgency" to the outbreak of the War for Independence in an easy-to-follow narrative format without overwhelming the reader with dry statistics. I recommend this to beginners in US history, and to those who may wish a quick "refresher."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    George Washington's Luck

    Thank goodness for George Washington & the fledgling Continental Army that the Howe brother's were more interested in negoitiating than fighting the war. The English were not able to think "outside the box" and destroy the continental army after Long Island. The English should have been more interested in destroying Washington's Amy than to control territory.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good easy read.

    I enjoyed the book and as a new American citizen I learnt some history that I didn't already know. Highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    interesting and disappointing at the same time

    When I read the intro, I was hooked and ordered the book. The author is a good story teller, and I have always liked personal history (when you get to learn about the personal lives, struggles, and hopes of the people). So I read the book with relish at first, but when the author stated something I had not heard before, I checked his citations. Many of them reference books the author has previously written, and some reference books written in the last 15 years. Some of these revelations really needed primary sources. There are some primary sources cited, but some of the abbreviations in them are undecipherable to me. So, I'm reading it more like historical fiction.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Among Ellis' Better Work

    Good structural analysis of the summer of 76, especially as to the Battke of New York.
    Thankfully, the sometines painfulky overly-academic writing style so common in many of Ellis' other works is largely absent here , though he does throw in the occasional "ethos" for good measure.
    An engaging short work on the subject but more knowledgeable readers should instead try McCullough's 1776.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    very good

    I felt like I was there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Worth a Read...

    Being a tory, this book came as no surprise when the author supports revolution. I thought some of his points were weak, and some of his "facts" debateable at best. If you are undecided as to which side you think had the right to stand with England or revolt, then give this book a look. If your a tory, don't bother.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is a very readable history of the early months of the Revolutionary War. You will be amazed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Great Summer Read

    I have read other books written by Joseph Ellis and seen him on documentaries about the Revolutionary War. He is one of the premier experts on this era of our history. This book captured my interest and held it throughout the book. He provides insight into the personalities of the founding fathers. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Ellis is a wonderful storyteller of this crucial period in our h

    Ellis is a wonderful storyteller of this crucial period in our history. I am a huge fan of the stories behind the American Revolution and Ellis' rendition did not disappoint me. We came so close in not becoming a country. Washington and Adams are brilliant men who fought against incredible odds to separate us from the most powerful country at that time to become our own country with our own beliefs. All information contained in this book is as close as we get to the detailed action of that summer. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Well written narrative of the simultaneous political and military events of the summer of 1776.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Outstanding. history buffs will love it.

    Quite an interesting look at leaders of the leaders of both armies. I hadn't thought of any of them quite in that light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Mr. Ellis has given us another superb read. Revolutionary Summer gives us the inside look as to the battles of summer of 1776.

    Don't miss this excellent book on our American Revolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great behind the scenes account

    Very well written and shows a different side to both the American & British struggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2