Customer Reviews for

Rework

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rework hits the nail on the head

Rework offers honest insight into the ways 37signals stays successful. The advice is practical and the writing style is clear and concise. You may not be able to completely remodel your business to adapt to their suggestions, but there are plenty of "Ah hah!" moments. T...
Rework offers honest insight into the ways 37signals stays successful. The advice is practical and the writing style is clear and concise. You may not be able to completely remodel your business to adapt to their suggestions, but there are plenty of "Ah hah!" moments. The book is bursting with examples on how to save time, raise morale, and keep your business healthy. While some ideas seem unconventional like "fire the workaholics", throwing out resumes, and under-doing the competition, as you read the explanations you can clearly see the value of their unique approaches to common problems businesses face. The book is a quick read and full of useful suggestions.

posted by Rob on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Don't do it

Too hip, Dot-Com Hippie Garbage.

posted by 3481494 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rework hits the nail on the head

    Rework offers honest insight into the ways 37signals stays successful. The advice is practical and the writing style is clear and concise. You may not be able to completely remodel your business to adapt to their suggestions, but there are plenty of "Ah hah!" moments. The book is bursting with examples on how to save time, raise morale, and keep your business healthy. While some ideas seem unconventional like "fire the workaholics", throwing out resumes, and under-doing the competition, as you read the explanations you can clearly see the value of their unique approaches to common problems businesses face. The book is a quick read and full of useful suggestions.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    About 1/2 way through and it hits home... over and over

    I work at a BIG MULTINATIONAL... and all the waste and slowness this book preaches to avoid, we have it just as this book describes. More than that they offer practices and ways to think about things related to making a living in software and succeed. However, it is NOT ABOUT BEING B-I-G. It is about being able to make a good living and get on with your life.

    More than that, things they discuss in the book I have even seen doing a little micro business. Where the micro business does some parts right it matches the book's dos. Then there are some things done wrong, and they match the book's don'ts.

    Perhaps something I love most is their harsh criticism of false heroics and a$$ in seat culture where we all "work" overtime. Yeah, there are times you do some real OT 'cause you are hot on the trail. However if you are always driving at 80%+ you won't have slack needed when disaster hits. They take on these hero myths and tear then down for the junk they are.

    If you are a modern, well read developer who has a dream of being their own boss some day, or just finding a way to wage some healthy culture war against stupidity at your current job... read this book. It will fire you up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I've never been so inspired

    This book is amazing. I've listened to it too many times to count and I've only had it for a couple of days. I did get the audiobook, but I would recommend either option because of its impact. It will help anyone looking to startup or reinvent the wheel. They approach everything "against the grain". This new way of thinking has changed the way I look to start my business and again I can't stop saying good things about it. It's a must read if you really want to get the ball rolling with any new startup.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    I feel very different from the other reviews. I thought many of

    I feel very different from the other reviews. I thought many of the ideas in this book were common sense. If there were any unique and inspiring ideas, the author sped through everything so quickly, as if it were impossible to expand on an idea. In short, I feel like I just read an outline of an aspiring business major.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Short, concise, and to the point

    Re-Work is all the stuff that you don't learn in business school that you might only learn in the real world through experience if you don't read this book. It's short and quick, but that's hardly a negative thing: they don't waste words telling you how to take a stand, avoid over-hiring, find the right people, avoid overloading your product, and grow your business. I read it in two days and i plan to re-read it to really internalize it because it's a great business book. It's so simple and straight-forward that you'd have never thought of all this. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Great read for any would-be entrepreneur!

    This a down-to-earth, informal account of what it is to run a world class business with a small business mentality. This eBook explores how to kick-start your own business, the perks and perils of being your own boss, when and how to grow your business, and the importance of having a grounded view of success. If you are about to embark on your own business, particularly an online business, this book will give you a new found persepective on what it means to be an entrepreneur, while avoiding the hardcore business jargon. A really great read - especially on your iPad!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Are You Ready For A Check-Up From The Neck-Up?

    Rework is about reworking you. This book will change your thinking, your goals, your outlook, the way you operate, and most of all this book will change your income. Forget what you learned in seminars and business school. Every reader will get an education in reality, and what it takes to be a success.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Don't do it

    Too hip, Dot-Com Hippie Garbage.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    This book is not good. I found that it just barely skimmed the

    This book is not good. I found that it just barely skimmed the surface of what I thought it would be about. I expected it to go into more depth. This is due partly to it's length [Barnes & Noble -- why do you list this book as 280 pages??] -- which is under 100 pages. Many of these are empty and devoid of text. I'm extremely annoyed that I paid $12.99 for this -- it should be have been $2.99.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good but cursory

    A good - though not deep - explanation of a new paradigm for businesses. Based on the authors' experiences in their own business, it offers ideas I wish more companies would apply in order to be able to be more flexible and responsive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out

    I have already listened it 2 times.The truly companion for my business.One of the best wisdom I have ever got in recent years-Just in time for modern times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Great Insight on Whats Wrong with Business

    Though I found some topics were over simplifed I found the book spot on. Many of the ideas expessed in the book I could closely relate to as I felt the sameway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Want a new way to think about work? Read this book.

    Innovative, interesting, counter-intuitive.

    Just read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Rework changes the paradigm

    As founder of TuneCloud.fm, to read fellow Chicago entrepeneurs smashing the classic approach to building and running a business is very refreshing. Rework the book is as concise and to the point as the philosophy.

    Build, release early, iterate often. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    HIghly Recommended!

    This book is so inspirational! Most business books are so bogged down with old fashioned jargon, this book has current concepts and great advice! You have to get this book if you're thinking about starting a business!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    A work pick-me-up

    "Rework" is easy to read and gives you encouragement to work hard and aspire to great heights. If you are already entrepreneurially bent, though, you will get little from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly Recommend for Business Thinkers and Entrepreneurs

    Jason Fried and his 37Signals colleagues offer this quick read full of fresh perspectives on building and growing a business, maximizing creative efficiency and nurturing a sticky culture for top talent.

    If you're reading authors like Daniel Pink, Jim Collins, Marcus Buckingham, Les McKeown and Matthew Dixon and following conferences like TED and Chicago Ideas Week, add this to your reading list! This is the roadmap for the next generation of small businesses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Lots of neat ideas

    Only a 100 pages, but full of strong ideas. You have probably heard of most of them, but still a nice inspiring read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great Tips

    This book provided great tips for ubderstanding how businesse today can grow and make something worthwile. I was surprised how many things mentioned related to many companies I have worked for. Highly recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    The book was different from other business books that I've read

    The book was different from other business books that I've read because it spoke from a small business experience point of view. Every idea and suggestion was based from something they are doing or something they have done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11