Customer Reviews for

Rhapsody: Child of Blood (Symphony of Ages Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Series!

Although this first book is a bit slow-starting, it is the beginning of one of the most original series of the fantasy genre! It contains strong, memorable characters, interesting plot-lines, and a great deal of clever dialog! It is one of the few series I made time to ...
Although this first book is a bit slow-starting, it is the beginning of one of the most original series of the fantasy genre! It contains strong, memorable characters, interesting plot-lines, and a great deal of clever dialog! It is one of the few series I made time to read twice - and that's saying something! If you like this series, you might also like the "Thief's Gamble" by Mckenna, the "Wayfarer Redemption" by Sara Douglass, and "Aware" by Glenda Larke.

posted by BluHawk on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

To be honest, I¿m a little shocked to see this book getting such rave reviews when I found myself so disappointed in it. While I can see the appeal of it I think its faults weigh it down, smothering any real promise the series held.

I¿ve read reviews applauding...
To be honest, I¿m a little shocked to see this book getting such rave reviews when I found myself so disappointed in it. While I can see the appeal of it I think its faults weigh it down, smothering any real promise the series held.

I¿ve read reviews applauding Haydon for her three-dimensional, realistically flawed characters, and couldn¿t disagree more. They all come across as stereotypes to me ¿ the sarcastic assassin, best in the world; his humor relief sidekick, a monster with a gold heart; and the selfless, achingly beautiful title character, the most powerful in the book ¿ characters who, with some work, could have come across as interesting and, more importantly, likeable. As it stands, however, I couldn¿t have cared less about any of them, quite a bad thing when nearly half the book focuses solely on their interactions with each other, and the two sequels only increased my annoyance, partially with Rhapsody.

Rhapsody is beautiful, and you better get used to hearing about it because the book never fails to remind you. It¿s not a natural beauty, however, but rather something gained through the plot, and enthralls anyone who sees her to the point of mindless lust and distraction. I¿ve seen incredibly beauty done well before but this serves no purpose except to make Rhapsody that much more special, and her mindless refusal to accept her changes quickly becomes aggravating.

Rhapsody is an annoying perfect character, even when her looks aren¿t taken into account. She¿s got powers that are unmatched; is selfless to the point of stupidity, which, even when commented on, works out in her favor; and is either proved right at the end or wins every confrontation. Who doesn¿t like to see their MC fail once and a while, to seriously struggle for something and lose? And don¿t let her prostitution history fool you; it barely left any lasting effect and one particular passage just proves her selflessness yet again, proving that this point in her history was just a ploy to make the reader feel sorry for her.

The plot didn¿t strike me as anything special and at times seems to lose itself or wander off, with the characters doing this-and-that despite the apparent urgency of their situation. The characters reactions to events were rather limited, and when I think back I can only recall Rhapsody usually being angry over one thing or another, stubbornly refusing to see the other person¿s point of view or let them explain him or herself. And how easily things to seem come to them; I never felt like they were really working for anything because the consequences either weren¿t there or were forgotten a few chapters later. Want to become the most powerful nation on the planet and uncover an ancient civilization? Accomplishable in a few easy months, with the added bonus of embarrassing anyone who tries to stop you in a crushing display of power.

On a positive note, while the writing can become overly descriptive and you¿ll hear the same prophecy three or four times, I found it easy enough to read and some of the descriptions were even pleasant. Considering the flaws, though, I do regret spending my money on this. I suggest renting it from a library first, if possible, as it has the ability to leave a bad taste in your mouth.

posted by Cygnea on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series!

    Although this first book is a bit slow-starting, it is the beginning of one of the most original series of the fantasy genre! It contains strong, memorable characters, interesting plot-lines, and a great deal of clever dialog! It is one of the few series I made time to read twice - and that's saying something! If you like this series, you might also like the "Thief's Gamble" by Mckenna, the "Wayfarer Redemption" by Sara Douglass, and "Aware" by Glenda Larke.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Exellent

    I first read this triligy several years ago and gound it a captivating, exciting, and imaginative tale. The characters are well drawn with a depth that brings each to vivid life. The tale is full of an immediacy but also full of mystery and deep drama which expands slowly over time. The pace is spot on with just the right degree of emotional depth drawing in the reader and engaging the heart while providing pulse pounding action, suspense, mystery, and emotional depth. I highly reccomend not only the triligy but also the following related books. ---------------------- I am excited the author finally converted her work to the Nook. I misplaced my original hard copies during a move and have waited quite awhile to obtain digital copies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Rhapsody Long Time Fan

    I love these books. The first three are wonderfull but you probably don't want to buy the hardcovers for the last three because second series is unfinished. I don't know if a new one is coming out or not (havent looked recently). But the first three are wonderful. 4 and 5 are good too but that I have seen the secon series is not finished. I have not yet red the 6th book (assassin king). I hope it is as good as her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Fantasy book loaded with love, passion, violence and all the goodies you are looking for.

    What a fantastic jumpstart to a great serious. Haydon is a master of generating in vivid detail the environment in which surrounds Rhapsody. You can picture your self right next to her playing the harp, saving children and slaying half man creatures. Each adventure Rhapsody forgoes turns into a highly detailed rendering of the best fanstasy world iv ever read about. Being a huge fan of fantasy books and a avid reading of hundreds of fantasy novels, Rhapsody by far tops the list. It marvelous how Haydon creates each character so unique from any others I have ever read. Haydon just nails the amazing details and the love and passion i have not found in any other fantasy novels, but she didnt leave out the blood and gore for the male readers who will also enjoy this stunning read of the most real fantasy world iv ever journeyed in through a book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing novel worthy of J.R.R. tolkien!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book was amazing, i took it camping with me and i didn't do anything while i was there until the book was finished. it keeps you on the edge of your seat, you get to know the characters at an early stage so that you fell everything that they feel... you really CONNECT with the characters.. the plot is amazing... it has amazing twists, and turns, it is very climatic- and her other novels and even her childrens books are just as great- i can't wait to read more from this author...!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I truly enjoyed this, over and over

    This book is definitely one of those I will always keep around and recommend to my friends. Although some doubt the characters, it's the story line that is beautiful in and of itself with the attention to detail in trying to recreate an entirely new world. Admittedly, no one can surpass the sort of world created by someone like Tolkein, but in that way, it works for this story. Yes, as one reviewer said, you do tend to hear a lot about just how beautiful the main character is, but there's a reason - it's one of her main insecurities and often functions as a reason for the story's conflicts (in other words, it wouldn't make sense having men start wars around one woman for no apparent reason apart from the fact that her beauty is hypnotic).<BR/>The story is beautiful and very complex and there are quite, albeit mostly supporting characters that are extremely complicated, but there's a reason and it's understandable when you read the first book. Their personalities aren't meant to be confusing - the point is that you're supposed to be worrying about the reaction the other characters have to the main three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Truly a well orchestrated Symphony

    Please note that this review goes for the entire series, but fear not, there are NO spoilers. First I must commend Haydon's genius for her powerful control not only of her characters' personalities and individualities, but also her amazing talent for having them grow on each other, and her command of verbal fluency for each. Second, I find the strange allure of a book series revolving around time, vibrations and history mindboggling. She has turned three things so trite (to me) into some of my favorite things. Bravo. Third, the plot is refreshingly interesting. It's rare to find a fantasy book where the story makes sense, doesn't contradict itself, yet adds new criteria with each and every page. Besides, Haydon has done a spectacular job at making a female character--a whore no less--into a main character that doesn't seem revolting at all--okay, maybe a little, but not much--an assassin portrayed with love, torn into by his past and plagued by the present, with only the future to comfort him, and a giant cannibal with a mean array of war ballads and a great source of comic relief. Haydon has turned the everlasting fantasy genre backwards, upside down, and inside out. Thank you for restoring my favorite genre back into something readable, plausible, and yet...fantastic. With all the meaning I can muster, -Leavaros Dapple

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Favorite book ever!

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Enjoyable Read

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    love the whole series

    I loved this series. These are my all time favorite books. The Assassin King was my least favorite but i loved Destiny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing series!

    Rhapsody is just the beginning of an epic tale of a love that lasts time, war, and the destruction of a world. If you want high fantasy this is the series that has it all. Haydon mixes the magic of music and the elements of the earth to create a story that is intricate and detailed without being overly obsessive about description

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very original

    When reading this book, everything is so vivid and new. I love the way it starts and throws you into the story. The middle was a little slow, but it just helps you sympathize with the characters. I love the comedy and naivety of Rhapsody, you just fall in love with her at first sight. I will continue to keep this book in my library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Beautiful

    I love this book and the series. I highly recommend this book to all fiction readers, even the ones that don't normally like 'sci-fi'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    The Best!!

    This was one of the most wonderful books I have ever read. I must have read it a hundred times and then the two that follow are just as great. I recommend this book to everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Read at your own risk. You might not be able to stop!

    This book is enthralling! Easily one of the best books i have read, and certainly different from the 'norm.' Easy to pick up, hard to put down. No word of a lie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Rhapsody Rocks!

    First and foremost, I am an avid fan of most science fiction writers. Elizabeth Haydon delivers a powerful, compelling story in this, the beginning of one of the best series of books I have ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Well Writen

    A very compeling book that will fold and bend your imagination to new levels. Where history, magic, mythology, and folklore begin an epic that will surely keep you enthraled. Currently waiting for Assassin King.... cannot wait to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Very pleased!

    Elizabeth has a way of writing that drew my attention so strongly to her in the book Rapsody to the last book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    LOVED IT!

    THIS SERIES IS JUST AWESOME!!! If you like fantasy this is a MUST read! Elizabeth Haydon does and excellent job at putting you in the story! Yeah there are somethings that I disliked, but if it was any different the other books wouldn't fall in line. LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    incredible

    This series is deeply compelling , with plot twists and turns that keep you interested throughout the books. you won't want to put these ones down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5