Customer Reviews for

Rhett Butler's People

Average Rating 3.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Rhett Butler's People" Well worth reading!

I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarka...
I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarkable. His extensive back story of Rhett is both compelling and touching. The plot is skillfully wound around, before and after the original book. I LOVED this book when I expected to hate it! I think Ms Mitchell would have approved. "Rhett Butler's People" is in a word WONDERFUL! If you love Scarlett and Rhett read this book. It makes perfect sense.

posted by ophelia021 on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay not what Margaret Mitchell would approve

The ending is very interesting it wasn't something that i was at the edge of my chair it mostly talked about "Rhett Kershaw Butler" and almost totally forgot about Scarlett the only interesting parts were the ending chapters and some at the start usually i had to drag m...
The ending is very interesting it wasn't something that i was at the edge of my chair it mostly talked about "Rhett Kershaw Butler" and almost totally forgot about Scarlett the only interesting parts were the ending chapters and some at the start usually i had to drag myself to read the book because it bored me to distraction.Maybe you might dissagree with me because im 12 years old.So i think it is just better to imagine what happennd at the end of gone with the wind

posted by prettydiva2198 on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Rhett Butler's People" Well worth reading!

    I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarkable. His extensive back story of Rhett is both compelling and touching. The plot is skillfully wound around, before and after the original book. I LOVED this book when I expected to hate it! I think Ms Mitchell would have approved. "Rhett Butler's People" is in a word WONDERFUL! If you love Scarlett and Rhett read this book. It makes perfect sense.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    A Canvas Painted With Masterly Strokes

    As with his 'Jacob¿s Ladder,' which I also read recently, 'Rhett Butler¿s People' is a masterly achievement. It¿s lamentable that those who make the predictable mistake of comparing this expansion to the original, and who, judging by their impatience, seem to prefer, for fiction in general, the literary equivalent of a video game, appoint themselves to judge a great novel within the limited scope of their own expectations. I suspect they have neither the appreciation for, nor the knowledge of, the staggering work involved in recapturing the social customs and political tenor of a bygone era, or for the textures, nuances, observations, and poetic cadences of the author¿s crisp and resonant language - and in particular his attention to the senses: the coppery scent of blood, the acrid smell of smoke or of dried manure, or the air smelling ¿like a burned pepper,¿ the ripple of a specific fabric or a stream¿s shallows, the hungers and thirsts, the sweat, the tears, the triumphs and heartbreaks. Like Howard Bahr in his Franklin trilogy, McCaig wields a brush that paints a complete canvas. His work is not for those who wouldn¿t know an anhinga from a mud hen and couldn¿t care less, or a camellia from a sprig of forsythia, or green baize from a wintergreen poultice. McCaig¿s eye misses nothing, whether it¿s an osprey seizing a wriggling fish from the Flint River, or the detail that cotton plants are thinned eight inches apart. Contemporary writers have become oblivious to natural ambiance. It¿s all so boringly manmade now: asphalt, glass, concrete. McCaig is an artist whose brush paints a diverse and complete canvas. He offers much more than a limited ¿read.¿ He gives us a fully realized world.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love GWTW. Like This.

    Timeline all mis-matched from GWTW, and alarming lack of Scarlett (even though she's in it.)

    But, hey, if you want Scarlett, read GWTW.

    If you want absorbing stories of Civil War battles and their soldiers, and Rhett's adventures whenever he went missing from Scarlett's life, enjoy this book.

    Even if you get annoyed with it, it's an enjoyable, sweeping read. I much liked the bittersweet story of Tunis Bonneau and Rhett, and Rhett's sister Rosemary is an engaging character. If it weren't for their stories, I'd have given it three stars instead of four.

    Melly, Ashley, and Scarlett fall flat as characters, as do Mammy and Prissy.

    Rhett, well, he holds his own since it's his story.

    Its even-handed, unromanticized treatment of the Confederacy and the Old South makes sure it will NEVER replace GWTW as THE definitive novel of the Old South. However, you'll find yourself drawn in to this saga by a premiere, expert writer with an obvious love for the South and a modern sensibility for its past and present.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A must read for any Gone With The Wind fan

    This book is great! It tells Rhett's side of the story. It begins before Gone With The Wind and continues after it. After I finished reading it I wanted to pick it up and read it again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Okay not what Margaret Mitchell would approve

    The ending is very interesting it wasn't something that i was at the edge of my chair it mostly talked about "Rhett Kershaw Butler" and almost totally forgot about Scarlett the only interesting parts were the ending chapters and some at the start usually i had to drag myself to read the book because it bored me to distraction.Maybe you might dissagree with me because im 12 years old.So i think it is just better to imagine what happennd at the end of gone with the wind

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't stand it! (Spoiler Alert)

    I read this book with what I thought were the lowest possible expectations. After Scarlett I thought that nothing could possibly be as horrible, then I read Rhett Butlers people. This book destroyed everything good and sacred about Gone With The Wind and then it burned down Tara. I believe that Mr. McCaig should be taken to the highest court for treason and have his right to ever be published again taken away. If any one enjoyed this book then I apologize for this review but I do not take it back. This book read like a dime store romance, and the characters were completely and utterly different. Oh and it turns the most raw and passionate moments in the history of literature into a rape scene. I hate this book with every part of my soul and the very essence of my being. the biggest waste of time, money, effort, paper, and ink. Oh and if you did enjoy it suggest you read my recommendations.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful book.

    I absolutely loved this book. I have also read 'Scarlett', the "official sequal", and I can honestly say that I cared for this book much more. Being able to see different aspects of the story, and especially being able to see it from Rhett Butler's point of view, made the original story that much better. I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone who loves "Gone With the Wind".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GOSH! NOT FOR GWTW FANS, AT LEAST NOT FOR ME.

    What has the author done to those characters I liked (or disliked) from Gone With the Wind?<BR/>Where did all the charm and magic go?<BR/>What a disappointment.<BR/>This is a bad book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Novel

    Rhett Butler was a very important character in Margaret Mitchell's GONE WITH THE WIND, but the main emphasis was related to the characher of Scarlett O'Hara. Captain Butler's family, which eluded us in GWTW, is now presented to us in a most intriging manner. We discover the reasons and the developments of Butler's character, when we learn of his past, his childhood and his personal feelings.<BR/>The author Donald McCaig does not disappoint us with his vivid illustrations, detailed descriptions and deeply moving insight. I am personally a history lover by nature, and I found his Civil War references to be not only interesting, but very authentic and historically correct. He transports us from the present, to another time in our nation's history when turmoil, sacrifice and heart-wrenching events either molded families together or tore them apart. I commend this author for such precise attention to the landscape, the structures, the cities and mostly to the characters, who are so totally believable. The South comes alive to us and we find ourselves involved in the War and in the struggles and heartbreaks of our nation.<BR/>GONE WITH THE WIND is a classic that will always stand the test of time. And as we read it, we felt completely fulfilled with the telling of that story, not sensing many unanswered questions. Who really was Belle Watling and why was her son in an orphanage? Who was her son's father? Who was Rhett's father? his mother? What were they like? Why was he not eager to join the Southern cause? <BR/>All the answers are found in RHETT BUTLER'S PEOPLE, a novel sure to keep you interested. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and would highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Cannot recommend this book

    I just finished reading this book after reading GWTW. I was almost embarrassed by the silly plots created by the author to tie in characters from the original book with this one. As one reviewer wrote, I too wonder if the author really read GWTW closely. The author's use of letters to reveal the thoughts and feelings of Melanie Hamilton was inconsistent with the character of Melanie Hamilton as was the whole storyline of Belle Whatling. In GWTW, Rhett identifies her at the end of the book as an "illiterate whore" and yet McCaig uses letters to and from Watling to develop his story. He also has Rhett baring his soul to his sister in the form of letters, mentioning relationships with mistresses and whores. I find this to be highly inconsistent with the norms of the day and really unbelievable. I am astonished the Mitchell estate would authorize a book so ridiculous.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Continuing the Story

    Having finished the new page-turner, RHETT BUTLER'S PEOPLE, can only say hurrah! It is most beautifully written and, from one who first read GONE WITH THE WIND at the age of 9, this book craftily and most successfully used the much loved phrases and situations in the original WIND in putting together the story of Rhett and Scarlet as most of who know the story so well have anticipated. The ending was masterful Very well done!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Hungry for more...

    This book was absolutely AWESOME, I could not put it down. When I finished it I was profoundly saddend because I want more. Of course there are a few differences but suttle ones. It is ok that Scarlett was not in it too much, I wanted every ounce of information I could get on Rhett. I can just dream a man such as him would exist. Any one who puts anything out of GWTW, I'm buying. Such a wonderful love story!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    Come on, nothing is ever going to compare with GWTW! But this is an attempt like some other novels (remember 'March'?) to take one of a great novel's characters and weave a background around him or her. Such is the case with this book. The prose is memorable and filled with atmosphere. A good read all-round.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Best sequel ever

    When I saw this book I thought I wouldnt read it as the sequel Scarlett was so bad. But due to curiosity I picked it up. I am a big GWTW fan and no it isnt as good as GWTW. But what could be? It is a good story that actually follows GWTW quite well. Read it with an open mind and if you loved GWTW. I think you will enjoy this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Read for its own merit

    First, let me say that I am a sucker for a new take on an old story. And Gone with the Wind was one of my favorites of all time 'the book and the movie'. When you read this book, you can't compare it to Gone with the Wind. You have to be prepared to read this as sort of a continuim to that. Once thats settled, the story is wonderful and the writing is charming and sweet. This author took up where Margaret Mitchell left off and did a great job with it. It was so nice to get reaquainted with these characters. I wish that someone would do a series. It could just go on and on forever. It is definitely recommended reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Gone With the Wind is my favorite book and movie. The first time I read GWTW, and the last lines 'Tomorrow is another day', I wanted more. So I rushed to Barnes and Nobles and bought Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley. After I read it, I tried to forget about it. Mitchell's Scarlett would NEVER sell Tara to Suellen! And being the GWTW fan I am, I ran to Barnes and Nobles and bought Rhett Butler's People the day it came out. After reading it, I feel so much better. It disregarded Ripley's sequel and gave me the ending I wanted. I highly recommend that any GWTW fan should read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    WHAT

    I have read GWTW several times as well as its sequel Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley; both books worked well tgether and are 2 of my favirites....but a part of me ALWAYS wanted to rewd Rhett's sideof the story...so when this bookcame out I rushed out to buyiton day one; I read the entire book although it is very well written; it was as if I were reading a completely different story and was sadly disappointed and shocked that Margaret Mitchell's people woulf okay this book when it was so off from GWTW and scarlett? Time linesand names didnt match in places and when you are writing a book that is a companion to one of our classics...details like that SHOULD BE IMPORTANT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    why is this book ten bucks

    i just bought this book from dollar general for 5 dollars.10 seems a little high for a nook book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you want more, this is a good substitute

    Nothing about this book brought me back to the magic of Gone with the Wind. However, if you're like me and just want more of the Gone with the Wind characters this is a good substitute. However, you should be prepared to be somewhat disappointed in how McCaig handles Mitchell's wonderful characters. The key to enjoying this book is to try to separate this story from the classic Gone with the Wind story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Oh Rhett...such a great story

    With Gone With the Wind as being one of my all time favorites, the book had some tall shoes to fill and I was definitely not disappointed. If you are a fan of this style of writing, era, or a history buff you will enjoy the book. If you are like me, a fan of the romantic story between Rhett and Scarlett, you will be thrilled to see more between them. Rhett was by far my favorite character in the original, I found Scarlett a little whiney at times, but loved Rhett! I always wondered where he disappeared to in the original and now we know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11