Customer Reviews for

Rhett Butler's People

Average Rating 3.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Rhett Butler's People" Well worth reading!

I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarka...
I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarkable. His extensive back story of Rhett is both compelling and touching. The plot is skillfully wound around, before and after the original book. I LOVED this book when I expected to hate it! I think Ms Mitchell would have approved. "Rhett Butler's People" is in a word WONDERFUL! If you love Scarlett and Rhett read this book. It makes perfect sense.

posted by ophelia021 on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay not what Margaret Mitchell would approve

The ending is very interesting it wasn't something that i was at the edge of my chair it mostly talked about "Rhett Kershaw Butler" and almost totally forgot about Scarlett the only interesting parts were the ending chapters and some at the start usually i had to drag m...
The ending is very interesting it wasn't something that i was at the edge of my chair it mostly talked about "Rhett Kershaw Butler" and almost totally forgot about Scarlett the only interesting parts were the ending chapters and some at the start usually i had to drag myself to read the book because it bored me to distraction.Maybe you might dissagree with me because im 12 years old.So i think it is just better to imagine what happennd at the end of gone with the wind

posted by prettydiva2198 on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't stand it! (Spoiler Alert)

    I read this book with what I thought were the lowest possible expectations. After Scarlett I thought that nothing could possibly be as horrible, then I read Rhett Butlers people. This book destroyed everything good and sacred about Gone With The Wind and then it burned down Tara. I believe that Mr. McCaig should be taken to the highest court for treason and have his right to ever be published again taken away. If any one enjoyed this book then I apologize for this review but I do not take it back. This book read like a dime store romance, and the characters were completely and utterly different. Oh and it turns the most raw and passionate moments in the history of literature into a rape scene. I hate this book with every part of my soul and the very essence of my being. the biggest waste of time, money, effort, paper, and ink. Oh and if you did enjoy it suggest you read my recommendations.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Cannot recommend this book

    I just finished reading this book after reading GWTW. I was almost embarrassed by the silly plots created by the author to tie in characters from the original book with this one. As one reviewer wrote, I too wonder if the author really read GWTW closely. The author's use of letters to reveal the thoughts and feelings of Melanie Hamilton was inconsistent with the character of Melanie Hamilton as was the whole storyline of Belle Whatling. In GWTW, Rhett identifies her at the end of the book as an "illiterate whore" and yet McCaig uses letters to and from Watling to develop his story. He also has Rhett baring his soul to his sister in the form of letters, mentioning relationships with mistresses and whores. I find this to be highly inconsistent with the norms of the day and really unbelievable. I am astonished the Mitchell estate would authorize a book so ridiculous.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    WHAT

    I have read GWTW several times as well as its sequel Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley; both books worked well tgether and are 2 of my favirites....but a part of me ALWAYS wanted to rewd Rhett's sideof the story...so when this bookcame out I rushed out to buyiton day one; I read the entire book although it is very well written; it was as if I were reading a completely different story and was sadly disappointed and shocked that Margaret Mitchell's people woulf okay this book when it was so off from GWTW and scarlett? Time linesand names didnt match in places and when you are writing a book that is a companion to one of our classics...details like that SHOULD BE IMPORTANT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    why is this book ten bucks

    i just bought this book from dollar general for 5 dollars.10 seems a little high for a nook book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am so disappointed in this book! I was so excited when I saw the title but after only a few pages I knew this man was not a writer. He seems to jump from this to that and does not know how to decribe settings or carry on conversations with his characters! I have only read 54 pages and I had to force myself to read that much! GWTW is my all time favorite book and I have read it many times. This book is of very poor quality writting. I cannot believe anyone authorized this book to be written. What is even worse, not only did I buy the book, I just got a copy in the mail from my brother for my birthday! Now what am I going to do with two such bad books! Maybe they will make good kindling for the fire place!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a history teacher and avid reader of Civil War fiction and non-fiction. This book is just really poorly written. The writer is not able to create any real passion or feeling in the book. There are events and relationships in the book that would have NEVER actually happened during this time period. If you are a lover of history don't waste your money! I could barely finish it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    I found the book too modern in scope and too much violence. Such

    I found the book too modern in scope and too much violence. Such a disappointment. I own a hard copy I'd gladly sell for little or nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Rhett and link

    Beeblah lokiknoenoeritrityuopwererdnrhdjrqjendjxkdmxndbf ddjdjdjsjdjdbxhckxkjshxydjfkhotojajsjajajakabahabdhxhskxjdjwjwhxjhathatahatahatabsddooossososknakknakkjdojoynonybobo.-gutthead

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Not a good book. I have just re-read Gone With the Wind and dec

    Not a good book. I have just re-read Gone With the Wind and decided to try this. I know this book and Scarlett were both authorized by the Margaret Mitchell estate. They must need the money badly as neither of these books even come close to GWTW. Having just re-read GWTW before starting this book, I found many discrepencies, you'd think they would at least have checked that. I found it boring, confusing and annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Crap

    No stars! This book should not be in any way connected to GWTW. I do not think the author even tried, he only saw dollar signs. The characters do not even remotely resemble Margaret Mitchell's beloved literary figures. Rhett moons about, Scarlett is a total idiot and don't get me started on the rest of the characters. A complete and total dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    A very crooked parallel to GWTW!

    This book is touted to 'parallel' GWTW. I would have a difficult time even relating it as 'loosly based on'. With all the 'research' that supposedly was done, a thorough read of the original work might have been helpful. There are so many timeline and storyline inconsistencies that it was shocking to think that the Mitchell trust authorized publication using the GWTW name. In addition, the story did not flow smoothly. Several times I turned the page to finish reading that chapter, only to find a new one started and that I had been jumped ahead or sideways by several years with no idea how I got there! If you are reading this as a GWTW fan, I can only urge you to forget everything you know about the original story. It would have been far less disappointing to me had I been able to do so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    disappointed

    I too, like most awaited the release of this book, but was greatly disapponted. I felt like I was back in school reading a novel that was forced on me by the system. How disgusted do you think Miss Mitchell would feel if she read what happened to her beloved characters. To lovers of Gone With The Wind, don't bother!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Disappointing

    After only a few pages, I decided that getting through this book would be done ONLY by forgetting it supposedly had anything to do with GWTW. Rhett and Scarlett were almost totally absent from this book. It was an ok read, but I'm not thrilled I bought the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Terrible Book

    Follow up to 'Gone With the Wind'? I was so disappointed. One of the worst books I have ever attempted to read. I even wonder how it got published or that the Mitchell heir's approved it. It was so unemotional. There is no feeling to this book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was very disappointed with this book! I found several discrepancies that were complete contradictions of people and events from Gone With the Wind, leading me to believe that the author barely glanced at the orginial novel. Like the other reviewers, I also expected more of the Rhett and Scarlett storyline. Don't waste your money on this one - check it out from your library if you must. Once again, a mediocre writer has proved that no one, repeat, no one, has yet earned the right to expand on such a classic work of literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Deceiving and Disappointing

    I was very disappointed in the book. The author got the names of some if the key characters wrong, changed the demographics of the Butler family, and rewrote the Rhett/Scarlett story. I can not believe he spent 12 years researching this. I can not believe the Margaret Mitchell Foundation sanctioned this. His characters were flat - even Rhett and Scarlett. The whole story was flat. What a shame. This could have been an amazing story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    How could the Mitchell Estate approve?

    Too many 'facts' from Gone with the Wind were changed...especially timelines. Did McCaig even read GWTW or just watch the movie? I hate what he did with the relationship btwn Melanie and Scarlett! Even reading the book as a separate work wouldn't make me like it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Not for GWTW fans

    This was not what I expected. The story was slow and uneventful. It jumped around and you had to go back to see what it followed. Very disappointed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Page 108 and not going any further

    As other reviewers have written, I think best to sum it up with... Did Donald McCaig, or his publishers for that matter, ever even read Gone With the Wind? Mr. McCaig apparently spent a lot of time researching for this book before writing. He seems to have forgotten to research the original. GWTW is a fictional novel, not a historically correct guideline to the old south. Lets get the focus off of how historically correct McCaig's book is in reference to the civil and look at how un-correct many of his references to the original are. I'm on page 108 and am putting the book down. I won't read any more, and I've never done that before. There's many a horrible book I've finished reading because I didn't have a fresh one on the shelf. Not this one. Gone With the Wind is too special to me to let this book sully any of it in my mind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    He could not have read the original book...

    I am a HUGE Gone with the Wind fact. Actually, I am an obsessed Gone with the Wind fan. I have a room in my house just for my collection and several copies of the book. I read the book and saw the movie when I was 10 years old. Since then I have read the book thousands of times. I am now 34 years old and know it by heart. The author of this book could not have read the original. Margaret Mitchell must be turning over in her grave because her family authorized it. I wonder if THEY have read the original. There were so many inconsistencies that I went back to look at them again to make sure I was reading correctly. Just to name a few, Scarlett and Rhett met the second time at the Atlanta bazzar, not while she was visiting relatives in South Carolina after Charles' death, the character of Melanie would have shown Scarlett the door had she known that Scarlett loved Ashley, Scarlett would never in a million years let Belle Watling come to Tara, Rhett was too proud to have ever come back to her just because she wrote that she needed him, and lastly she would never have just blown off the destruction of Tara at the end. I thought the book Scarlett was bad but at least it followed the original story. If you are a true GWTW fan, do NOT waste your time reading this book. And shame on the heir's of Margaret Mitchell for allowing such a cheap, inacurate, lifeless, passionless, fallacy of a book be a sequel to one of the greatest stories ever written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2