Customer Reviews for

Rhett Butler's People

Average Rating 3.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Rhett Butler's People" Well worth reading!

I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarka...
I admit I approached this sequel to "Gone With The Wind" with great trepidation after reading the truly dreadful "Scarlett" by Alexandra Ripley. Mr McCaig's sequel is cut from a very different cloth. His exceptional understanding of Ms Mitchell's characters is remarkable. His extensive back story of Rhett is both compelling and touching. The plot is skillfully wound around, before and after the original book. I LOVED this book when I expected to hate it! I think Ms Mitchell would have approved. "Rhett Butler's People" is in a word WONDERFUL! If you love Scarlett and Rhett read this book. It makes perfect sense.

posted by ophelia021 on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

GOSH! NOT FOR GWTW FANS, AT LEAST NOT FOR ME.

What has the author done to those characters I liked (or disliked) from Gone With the Wind?
Where did all the charm and magic go?
What a disappointment.
This is a bad book.

posted by MELKI on December 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love GWTW. Like This.

    Timeline all mis-matched from GWTW, and alarming lack of Scarlett (even though she's in it.)

    But, hey, if you want Scarlett, read GWTW.

    If you want absorbing stories of Civil War battles and their soldiers, and Rhett's adventures whenever he went missing from Scarlett's life, enjoy this book.

    Even if you get annoyed with it, it's an enjoyable, sweeping read. I much liked the bittersweet story of Tunis Bonneau and Rhett, and Rhett's sister Rosemary is an engaging character. If it weren't for their stories, I'd have given it three stars instead of four.

    Melly, Ashley, and Scarlett fall flat as characters, as do Mammy and Prissy.

    Rhett, well, he holds his own since it's his story.

    Its even-handed, unromanticized treatment of the Confederacy and the Old South makes sure it will NEVER replace GWTW as THE definitive novel of the Old South. However, you'll find yourself drawn in to this saga by a premiere, expert writer with an obvious love for the South and a modern sensibility for its past and present.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful book.

    I absolutely loved this book. I have also read 'Scarlett', the "official sequal", and I can honestly say that I cared for this book much more. Being able to see different aspects of the story, and especially being able to see it from Rhett Butler's point of view, made the original story that much better. I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone who loves "Gone With the Wind".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Novel

    Rhett Butler was a very important character in Margaret Mitchell's GONE WITH THE WIND, but the main emphasis was related to the characher of Scarlett O'Hara. Captain Butler's family, which eluded us in GWTW, is now presented to us in a most intriging manner. We discover the reasons and the developments of Butler's character, when we learn of his past, his childhood and his personal feelings.<BR/>The author Donald McCaig does not disappoint us with his vivid illustrations, detailed descriptions and deeply moving insight. I am personally a history lover by nature, and I found his Civil War references to be not only interesting, but very authentic and historically correct. He transports us from the present, to another time in our nation's history when turmoil, sacrifice and heart-wrenching events either molded families together or tore them apart. I commend this author for such precise attention to the landscape, the structures, the cities and mostly to the characters, who are so totally believable. The South comes alive to us and we find ourselves involved in the War and in the struggles and heartbreaks of our nation.<BR/>GONE WITH THE WIND is a classic that will always stand the test of time. And as we read it, we felt completely fulfilled with the telling of that story, not sensing many unanswered questions. Who really was Belle Watling and why was her son in an orphanage? Who was her son's father? Who was Rhett's father? his mother? What were they like? Why was he not eager to join the Southern cause? <BR/>All the answers are found in RHETT BUTLER'S PEOPLE, a novel sure to keep you interested. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and would highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    Come on, nothing is ever going to compare with GWTW! But this is an attempt like some other novels (remember 'March'?) to take one of a great novel's characters and weave a background around him or her. Such is the case with this book. The prose is memorable and filled with atmosphere. A good read all-round.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Gone With the Wind is my favorite book and movie. The first time I read GWTW, and the last lines 'Tomorrow is another day', I wanted more. So I rushed to Barnes and Nobles and bought Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley. After I read it, I tried to forget about it. Mitchell's Scarlett would NEVER sell Tara to Suellen! And being the GWTW fan I am, I ran to Barnes and Nobles and bought Rhett Butler's People the day it came out. After reading it, I feel so much better. It disregarded Ripley's sequel and gave me the ending I wanted. I highly recommend that any GWTW fan should read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rhett Butler's People by Donald McCaig

    This is a perfect book for me. The characters are wonderful and the story terrific. If you loved Gone With the Wind then you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Interesting follow up to GWTW

    I just finished Rhett Butler's People and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! I thought the author did a good job of going into more character development for the peripheral characters, as well as taking the story past GWTW's ending. However, with that being said, the one problem I had with the book is the ending itself- I feel as though the author took great liberties and that the story itself got somewhat fanciful. All in all, I would definitely recommend this book to any GWTW fan...it's much more cleanly written than 'Scarlett'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    Take it as it is... he's not Margaret Mitchell

    Okay, I didn't read the original GWTW. I know, sacrilege. But I did see the movie more times than I can count. And I did read this book which the review is about. There were some inconsistencies with the story that didn't seem to jive with previous information but of course I am not going to go into the details for fear of spoiling the book. However, if you take this book for what it is, a story about Rhett Butler, his life, his experiences, and the people who made him who he was, it was a very good book. I enjoyed it. And it moved along at a good pace, which is more than I could say for Scarlett, which I didn't think I was ever going to finish. (I did, FYI) Anyway, the characters are interesting although I did think he did a poor job with Belle Watling, she seemed to have more spunk in the movie. And Scarlett isn't in it that much, most of the Scarlett and Rhett stuff is glossed over so that more time can be devoted to Rhett's story. And the book IS called Rhett Butler's People. So you can imagine that it's probably about Rhett Butler and who? Oh right, his people. Worth reading if you like whole GWTW thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Wonderful companion to GWTW

    I enjoyed getting to know Rhett Butler as well as some of the other characters we only glimpsed in GWTW. Those expecting a romance novel will be disappointed. It is a book of historical fiction which skillfully intertwines actual historical events with the fictional events and characters of GWTW. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    This book is by far better than the book 'Scarlett'

    I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I am a 'Gone With the Wind' fan. I believe Margaret Mitchell would have enjoyed it, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    GWTW lover since I was 13 years old

    I hate to think how many times I have read GWTW. I was disappointed with inconsistencies in the book, but intrigued with how small little things from the book were worked in and explained. I have been reading the book all weekend and have been unable to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    While nothing can compare to the original this book takes a different approach to the same story. I found it an engaging read that answered many of the questions GONE WITH THE WIND left us wondering about. It covers such a long period of time that there are less romantic details leaving readers to make assumptions on their own. At some points the book becomes confusing due to all the different character plot lines being followed. Definitely better than the last sequel. Recommended as an interesting read but not a new classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Rhett's Perspective

    I enjoyed reading this novel so much I decided to purchase it on my Nook. Donald McCaig had definitely done his research on the Civil War period. This is a drastic difference from the other sequel "Scarlett." Instead of resuming the story where Margaret Mitchell left off, this is somewhat of a "sister novel" to the original masterpiece. Readers are able to delve deeper into Rhett's past and understand his psychology. He also expands on the stories of other minor characters. Donald McCaig offers a sense of closure at the end of the novel. While I personally might have made events a little differently, it was overall a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    As a HUGE GWTW fan (Love the book and movie) I was excited to re

    As a HUGE GWTW fan (Love the book and movie) I was excited to read &quot;Rhett Butler's People&quot;. But first I thought I would give &quot;Scarlett&quot; by Alexandra Ripley a shot. What a horrible idea. That book was such a train wreck that it made me leave this book on my shelf for months. I was so glad I finally decided to give it a try. It didn't bring back all the magic of GWTW (But nothing can compare to that book) but it came pretty damn close. I finally got my ending to &quot;After all tomorrow is another day&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Recommended

    Finally an ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    The Complete Story

    Gone With The Wind, an unparalleled literary classic, cannot be matched by any sequels yet Alexandra Ripley and Donald McCaig tried, against Margaret Mitchells wishes, to provide satisfactory conclusion for avid readers. While Ripley fails miserably even to the extent that the syntax and development of characterization differences could be identified by a middle school class, McCaig comes much closer to a fitting sequel. The book is not an attempt to greatly extend Mitchell's novel but rather provide another perspective and use elements of her novel to create unique spinoffs. Providing Rhett Butler's views to the same events that Mitchell relayed through a narratorial perspective along with the voice of Scarlett, this book fills in gaps and provides further insight into Rhett Butler. However, while entertaing and a fitting read, this novel is no literary classic. Perhaps the most vexing aspect is how totally and completely McCaig and Ripley ignored one another's books, particularly in regards to Rosemary's (Rhett's sister) life. Ripley leaves her a spinster forever while McCaig marries her, gives her a child, and makes her a widow. Nonetheless, if you are willing to overlook certain inconsistencies Rhett Butler's People is most definetely a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Different Look on a Favorite Character

    Bought for my time on a cruise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Easy Read

    I really was skeptical about this book because I love the movie "Gone with the Wind." I was scared this would be as detailed as the book GWTW but it was a really easy and fun read. The book shines a different light on the character of Rhett Butler. If you have not read GWTW and you read this you will still see the same story just from a different perspective. I enjoyed this book and it is a shorter alternative to GWTW for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Try it

    Didn't think this was going to work, what with GWTW being such a perfect book. But it turns out pretty good. Moves along at good clip too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Didn't Put it Down...

    I really enjoyed the book. As one reader suggested..just borrow it from your local library.I don't buy books anymore anyway but if I were to buy one then I would like to own this one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3