Customer Reviews for

Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Just What I Needed

    Such a great read! It is an in-your-face kind of book and gets you motivated to not just live comfortable like the American Dream tell you. A must-read for those looking for more in life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    Rhinestone Jesus, written by Kristen Welch, shares the story of

    Rhinestone Jesus, written by Kristen Welch, shares the story of what the Lord has done with one ordinary woman’s “yes” and how He brought about the extraordinary work of a maternity home in Kenya. This book is about to hit store shelves, and you will want it. Ever since I finished reading it, I’ve been contemplating its message. This idea of being willing to say “yes” to Jesus, no matter what that means. In the big, in the small, and in the not so pretty. You see, I’m just an ordinary mama, with no major ministries going on or maternity homes across the ocean that I’m trying to build, and that means I could easily dismiss Kristen’s story in this book because it’s not mine.

    But I’d be missing the point of the entire book. You see, no matter where we are in life, we are being called. Called to offer our “yes” to a Father who knows what is best for His children when we don’t have a clue what tomorrow may bring. And that’s a really scary thing sometimes. Kristen’s “down to earth”, honest voice throughout the book will help take away those fears, and encourage you that it’s God who is waiting to do the work, and He will do it in ways we can’t even imagine if we are just willing to offer Him our “yes.”

    Much easier said than done, isn’t it? That’s why I needed this book, and I believe every other woman does too. I am one weak woman, fully dependent on the Lord and always needing to rely on His grace and strength to help me in my mess each and every day. But when you read someone else’s story of saying “yes” and it’s presented as beautifully as Kristen’s, doesn’t it make you long to say “yes” more often? And don’t you feel a little braver when you know that others around you have been willing to say “yes” too?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I fo

    I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I found that the author and I have much more in common besides the "proper" spelling of our names, :) -we've also been married for about the same amount of time (and to pastors or former pastors) AND have daughters named Madison - who are about the same age! Who knew! :)


    Described as a "spiritual adventure story" she writes consistently about how her "YES" to Jesus continues to turn into much more than she had ever bargained for. It is written much like a memoir, and she seems very honest and transparent - telling story after story of her real family that is simply trying to do what they believe that God is calling them to do. Their "path" may not be everyone's; but it is inspiring regardless. She gives practical advice but primarily, it's very much a memoir of her journey to date.


    Inspiring and touching, I can easily recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Great read! This book reminded me of Jennie Allen┬┐s Anything. B

    Great read!

    This book reminded me of Jennie Allen’s Anything. Both were intense, uplifting and challenging. Kristen writes well and I had to follow her blog after reading some of her family’s adventures. I was also prompted to keep my eyes open for opportunities in my own life where I could set aside the societal desire for possessions and instead focus on helping others.

    I would definitely recommend this book for all mothers, for all Christians and for anyone who wonders where their mission field might be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Oh.My.Goodness! What a fabulous book! I thought th

    Oh.My.Goodness! What a fabulous book! I thought this was going to be another mommy blogging book when I stared it. And it was good – “My youngest child told me the other day that she wanted to be the president of the United States. ‘Really?’ I asked. ‘Because you want to change the world?’ ‘No,’ she answered. ‘I want to be the boss of you.’” And Kristen confesses that her family is THAT family – the one whose children throw tantrums in Target and the one who the emergency room nurses know by name and the one who struggles living godly lives, where the husband struggles with pornography and the wife struggles to not shop too much.
    BUT THEN Kristen took a trip to Africa with Compassion International that rocked her world. What could she do to change her world, she, just a mom with dirty laundry and dust bunnies galore. This is what she did and her response to other moms is “Dear moms, love God; love others. It’s a simple response to His great love for us. You don’t have to do something big for Him; just do something because your yes matters! He can make something beautiful from your life too.”
    What I loved about Kristen’s book was I didn’t leave it feeling guilty for not doing what she did or feeling like I should. Instead I felt like she was saying do something that is my passion that honors God. Fabulous book and I really want my book club and all my friends to read this one! Wish I could give it more stars than 5!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    Rhinestone Jesus is a delightful story that will encourage all f

    Rhinestone Jesus is a delightful story that will encourage all families on how to live a purposeful life honoring God and growing strong Christian children. Kristen, the children’s ministry leader, realized something was wrong when her husband Terrell , a youth pastor, asked her what happened that stopped them from being the dreamers they used to be. When he brought home a laptop and encouraged her to write, she began to see what purpose God had for her life that would enable her life to count. Although Kristen wanted things her way, she found she couldn’t be the Mom she wanted to be without God’s help. Even her marriage needed God’s help, for Terrell confessed he was addicted to pornography. For a while they suffered from infertility. Then Kristen was asked to go to Kenya with Compassion International and to blog on the poverty and needs there. What she saw changed her, caused her to cry even when cooking or bathing her children because in Kenya there isn’t much food, if any, for the poor to cook nor is there clean water to drink and to bathe in. What did her family start to make that could be sold to help Kenya’s poor? When the Kenyan post office wanted a large bribe to give Kristen the box that had been mailed to them, what did they do to get it? Did their family have arguments, dirty rooms, and meltdowns like most families? What were the twelve areas they decided their family should focus on to help them live counter culturally? What five points did she indicate help create a strong family? Fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    God *can* use you, but you have to be willing - will you say &qu

    God *can* use you, but you have to be willing - will you say "yes"?

    Real life, real struggle, real victory, real mess, real hope. A well written book recounting Kristen's (& her family's) journey to an impossible dream. Because she said yes. The beautiful thing about this book is she knows her "yes" necessarily looks different than my "yes" will or your "yes" - because we are different people. Because God has equipped us differently - and serving God wherever he has placed us is what makes us authentic. When we stop trying to fit Jesus in our life, and start fitting our life into Jesus. 




    If I have the leisure of nit-picking, I'd knock the book a half star to 4.5 because she quotes The Message paraphrase of the Bible is what is commonly used, not an actual translation. Since the half-star option isn't available, the overall content and message of the book definitely deserves 5 stars. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes I feel so sorry for the people who have to write what

    Sometimes I feel so sorry for the people who have to write what I affectionately call 'back cover blurps'. Somehow he or she has to find a way to take over 200 pages and smooshed it down into three or four paragraphs, and that is much harder than it looks.

    Truthfully, it was the front cover of the book that captured my attention first. I thought it looked fun and cute and like something I'd enjoy reading. I had no idea that life-changing pages awaited me. I had no clue just how deep this 'cute book' was going to take me, or how far I would travel as I journeyed with Kristen.

    You'll be astonished as you see what God has done through and with Kristen and her precious family. In fact, you'll be reading along, learning all about the Welch family, and you'll blink and find yourself in the midst of some of the most exciting and challenging world-changing work I've ever read about.

    But the beauty of it all is this: Kristen is just a mom and wife who passionately loves Jesus, and she's just married to a guy who is a husband and father and he also passionately loves Jesus. Her kids are just sons and daughters, brothers and sisters who passionately love Jesus and their mom and dad. Just regular Christian people with a passion for Jesus.

    My favorite chapter had to be "That Messy Peach Pie", because that absolutely took any guilt the enemy was trying to pile on my shoulders and shoved it down his lying throat! Kristen is genuine, real, and she's just like you and me. Follow her as she follows Christ, and do what she's encouraging us to do...

    ...find our own Kenya. I found mine seemingly by accident, when I agreed to be a mom to a young woman in crisis who had no living parent. I just became a mom again yesterday to a 20 something young girl who's been abandoned by her family. God is showing me my Kenya, and while I'm scared witless, I'm also so excited about where He's taking me.

    Get Kristen's book. Read "Rhinestone Jesus" for yourself. Then find your place to serve, and give it your whole heart for Him. My thanks to my friends at Tyndale Publishing for my complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

    "Rhinestone Jesus" is a life-changing read, and I highly, highly recommend it. Now, I'm off to sign up for Kristen's blog, We are THAT Family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    Love the honesty!!!!

    This book made me laugh and cry, sometimes both on the same page. I love how Kristen is honest about the things that go on in her life. She doesn't sweep it under the rug, but puts it out there for all of us to know that we are not alone! This book is also convicting to not try and do everything! Pick your 1 thing and stick to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book! I learned about the wonderful minist

    I really enjoyed this book! I learned about the wonderful ministry of Mercy House just this year. How amazing to read the story of how God brought it all together! The book is more than just the story of Kristen's journey. She wrestles through so many things that I wrestle through, too. She talks about loving the poor and yet living in rich America. How do you buy a couch when people around the world are dying of hunger. She talks about bringing her whole family into service together. She talks about the highs and lows of trying to follow Jesus with her whole heart. I was challenged and inspired by this book. It is very well written and well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    This book wrecked me in the best possible ways. When the book ca

    This book wrecked me in the best possible ways. When the book came I was in the midst my yes- well this one. I was planning and packing for a three month mission trip to Zambia, Africa with my husband and five year old daughter. I've followed Kristen's blog for years and "know" the story of Mercy House Kenya. In reading Kristin's story I feel like I lived it with her. From ministry, motherhood, marriage, and everything in between. The words resonated with me. It's a beautiful story of how Jesus is changing the world. Don't say no to God based on your circumstances! Say yes right there in your mess! Philippians 4:13. I can't wait to see how God continues this story! It's powerful stuff! Pray for your yes (even in the everyday) and follow hard after it. You're not alone in that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've read Kristen's blog for the last few years but this book is

    I've read Kristen's blog for the last few years but this book is a glimpse into her story beyond what you get on the blog. The story of her faith, her marriage, her family and her passion is encouraging and uplifting. There were many times when I whispered "me too" while reading.
    If you've ever felt scared to say "yes" to God, you need to read this book. You'll be encouraged, not because Kristen and her family are perfect, but because you'll see what God can do when we say "yes" no matter our own mess. (Because we're all messy.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    I LOVE sparkly, but Rhinestone Jesus bright above the rest. Duri

    I LOVE sparkly, but Rhinestone Jesus bright above the rest. During the adoption of our daughter, Zoie, one of my adoption friends encouraged me to read her twin sister’s blog saying…it’s kinda a big deal. That’s when I started reading Kristen Welch's blog, We Are THAT Family and it quickly became one of my favorite places to go. I have loved watching her journey as a struggling mom (aren’t we all) having the courage to say yes to God in her mess. God turned her ordinary into something extraordinary. What an honor joining her on this crazy adventure trekking through mommyhood madness, marriage restoration, loving big in Kenya and serving refugees in her community!
    Y’all this girl is CRAZY! I love crazy. Kristen has millions of people stop by her blog and runs her nonprofit, Mercy House in Kenya, which rescues pregnant girls in extreme poverty supported by bloggers. That’s crazy, too.
    I started reading Rhinestone Jesus as part of Kristen's launch team and loved it from page one! It revealed the behind the scenes about the girl who lived a sparkly, safe faith. I connected with her desire to be a "good girl", but never quite living up to the expectations I set for myself. I was 40 years old when I finally said yes in my mess… I did it afraid! I have never regretted a single second living the God-adventure He planned for my life…the moment I said YES! God has that for you, too!

    I wanted to share with you 3 reasons you should RUN & buy this book. Get ready for God to do something extraordinary with your yes.
    1. If you are wanting to do more for Jesus whatever season of life you are in. You can say YES!
    2. If you are in that in-between place, desperate to say YES to God but no knowing the exact question.
    3. If you want to let go of everything that is holding you back and start a God-adventure and really start living.

    I hope this book makes you laugh, and cry, and opens your heart to love big. Your small yes can change the world!
    Kari Gibson, blogger at My Crazy Adoption #yesinmymess #rhinestonejesus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    A beautiful story of a mom with a dream to open a house for moms

    A beautiful story of a mom with a dream to open a house for moms & children which began with saying "yes". This is an inspiring read which will make every reader stop making excuses & work towards their dream. Kristin helps us to realize that God can work through each one of us if we will just say "yes" and let Him do the rest.
    I was given a copy to review for my honest opinion. This book will move you to laughter, to tears and most importantly...to action. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Are you in that group that says "I'm just a mom, what can I

    Are you in that group that says "I'm just a mom, what can I do that will really matter?" Me too! But Kristen Welch shows you how just a simple "yes" where you are right now can make all the difference in the world. In a world where people are losing their focus on Jesus and what he wants us to do in this world. Have you ever felt like God was asking you to say "yes" to something but you just ignored it or said that there was no way that you could do that? Well, this book is definitely for you. And if you have ever heard about Mercy House Kenya and wanted to know more- this is how. Highly recommend this book for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    I've followed Kristen's blog, "We are THAT Family", fo

    I've followed Kristen's blog, "We are THAT Family", for years and was so excited when she announced the upcoming release of her latest book, "Rhinestone Jesus". As a member of her launch team, I received a complimentary copy and was able to read this amazing book before the official release, and I was so enthralled with its contents that I finished in no time at all. Kristen encourages us to live courageous, messy, bold lives for Christ and to be open to stretch our faith by being willing to say yes to God.

    Kristen and her husband, Terrell, are so transparent in writing about the struggles they faced in their marriage and throughout the process of starting and continuing to run Mercy House, a maternity home in Kenya. She truly speaks what she feels God is calling her to share with her readers...

    There is so much encouragement contained in the fourteen chapters and one of my favorite quotes is on page 152: "The bad in our lives gives God ample room to show up and prove His goodness. He doesn't promise we won't have hardships; He promises us we won't be alone in them."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Heartily recommended for anyone desiring to dip even a toe into

    Heartily recommended for anyone desiring to dip even a toe into the stream of possibility to dream of what God could do in and through them! With compassion, the written words allow one to glimpse into how God can show up in ones humanity and invade hardship and destitution for His glory. Having first met Kristen in 1992, when we shared the same dormitory hall in undergraduate school, her character even then was graced with a sincere passion to write truth and make a profound difference. Having just finished the book, the pages encapsulate her faith in God and obedience in the midst of sincere humility and transparency. One can see the beautiful transformations take place in multiple situations where to the human eye, it resembles nothing more than a "mess". In obedience, the theme of "yeses" become a beautiful portrayal of humanity and God's redeeming transformation and provision in a God-sized task and the story of His work of drawing others with like-minded hearts to make an eternal and global difference. It is practical embracing motherhood, marriage, family life, and reaching beyond the borders of home. It is profound in that Kristen's story, when given to God, becomes a profound example of what He can do with a "yes," even when that yes comes with personal cost and undeniable joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Rhinestone Jesus is a peak into Kristen's heart as she shares ca

    Rhinestone Jesus is a peak into Kristen's heart as she shares candidly how God turned her from a teenager on fire for God but content to live a "safe" Christian life, into a woman broken through life's challenges and unexpected experiences, now willing to say "yes" to God and trust Him in each moment, regardless of the outcome.

    The book is a call to authenticity in the Christian walk. She challenges us to push through the fears of "what if" and instead to ask "what next God?" as we move forward one step at a time in faith. 

    Kristen shares her personal struggles in ministry, motherhood, and marriage and paints a picture of God's incredible redemption through it all.

    Not just a memoir, the book walks the reader through his or her own journey of learning to say "yes" to God's call by providing thought provoking questions at the end of each chapter that beg for reflection and action. 

    She reminds us that "saying yes isn't really about doing it all, it's about saying yes right where you are." 

    This book is for you if:

    You've ever wondered if your ordinary life can make a significant difference in God's kingdom
    You're not sure if God can use your broken life for His glory
    You need some encouragement and a reminder that world-changers have sticky floors & dirty laundry on the floor too
    You want to be inspired by someone who said "yes" to God and it changed everything {in a good way!}

    Note: I received a complimentary pre-release copy of the book for review from Tyndale House Publishers.  All opinions are my own & I'm proud to recommend this book, as it had a powerful effect on my own journey of learning to say "yes" to God. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1